Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou (CN 216546553).
In re claim 17, Zhou discloses a vehicle drive system (as shown in Figure 4) comprising a motor drive system (100) configured to output a first drive torque (motor torque), the motor drive system comprising: a drive motor (102) configured to output a motor torque (via power output 118); and a drive gear system (as shown in Figures 2 and 3) configured to receive the motor torque and output the first drive torque; and a pedal drive system (403, 404; as shown in Figure 4) comprising a spindle system comprising a spindle body (113), the drive gear system comprising a gear reduction stage (103-105) comprising: concentric gears comprising: a first concentric gear (103) disposed concentric to the spindle body of the pedal drive system; and a second concentric gear (104) disposed concentric to the spindle body of the pedal drive system (as shown in Figure 1).
In re claim 18, Zhou further discloses wherein the spindle system configured to receive a pedal input torque (from pedals) and output a second drive torque (pedal + motor torques).
In re claim 19, Zhou further discloses comprising a third concentric gear (108) disposed concentric to the spindle body of the pedal drive system.
In re claim 20, Zhou further discloses wherein the first drive torque is configured to generate a torque that is delivered to a chainring (119) of a chain drive system of a bicycle, and wherein a torque that is delivered to a chainring is configured to drive the chain drive system to drive rotation of a wheel of the bicycle (as shown in Figure 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The specific limitations of “the mid-drive gear box system comprising a gear reduction stage comprising: two or more concentric gears, each concentric gear of the two or more concentric gears is disposed concentric to a spindle body of the spindle system of the pedal drive system; and a parallel axis idler gearset comprising: a first idler gear configured to engage a first gear of the gear reduction stage and a second gear of the gear reduction stage and to transmit torque from the first gear to the second gear; and a second idler gear configured to engage the first gear of the gear reduction stage and the second gear of the gear reduction stage and to transmit torque from the first gear to the second gear” is not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner’s opinion. The Examiner notes that the prior art does not teach a motorized bicycle having a gear reduction stage comprising two concentric gears with a parallel axis idler gearset comprising two idler gears as claimed to transmit torque.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references cited on the attached PTO-892 teach motorized bicycles of interest.
/MICHAEL R STABLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/KEVIN HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611