DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2024 and 9/12/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because “10” in Fig. 3 should have been “14” instead.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“a rotation axis of the first rotating piece rotating around the main shaft is located on a side that the main shaft that faces the flexible display, and a rotation axis of the second rotating piece rotating around the main shaft is located on the side of the main shaft that faces the flexible display; or a rotation axis of the first rotating piece rotating around the main shaft is located on a side of the main shaft that faces away from the flexible display, and a rotation axis of the second rotating piece rotating around the main shaft is located on the side of the main shaft that faces away from the flexible display” in claim 30.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 29 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 29 recites “…a first rotating piece, a first mounting plate…. a second rotating piece, a second mounting plate…”, which should have been “…a first rotating piece, the first mounting plate… a second rotating piece, the second mounting plate…” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-27 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 26 and 36 recite “a first bracket… the first magnetic piece is disposed on the first bracket….a second bracket… the second magnetic piece is disposed on the second bracket…”. However, claims 20 and 29 already claimed that the first magnetic piece is disposed on the first rotating piece and the second magnetic piece is disposed on the second rotating piece. This would mean claims 20 and 29 are based on embodiment in Figs. 6, 7, 9 where the rotating assemblies do not have brackets. Note claims 26 and 36 introducing brackets and changed the magnetic pieces to be disposed on the brackets (shown in Figs. 2-3) is incompatible embodiment, since Figs. 2-3 do not show magnetic pieces 1413 and 1423 disposed on the rotating pieces 1411 and 1412 (can also see the rotating pieces 1411 and 1421 in Fig. 8). Claim 27 and 37 further confuse the embodiment again to recite the rotating pieces and the brackets are integral structure. In summary, claims 20 and 29 are the embodiment shown in Figs. 6, 7 and 9, claims 26 and 36 switched to another embodiment shown in Figs. 2-3, then claims 26 and 37 switched back to embodiment shown in Figs. 6, 7, 9. Thus, claims 26-27 and 36-37 are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fan (US 2024/0401387).
Regarding claim 20, Fan discloses a hinge mechanism (1000, Figs. 2-11), configured to be used in a foldable electronic device ([0066]: “…hinge 1000 applied in a foldable display device…”), wherein the hinge mechanism comprises:
a main shaft (250, Figs. 3a-3c, 9; [0110]);
a first rotating assembly (210a, Fig. 10); and
a second rotating assembly (210b, Fig. 10), wherein the first rotating assembly and the second rotating assembly are disposed opposite to each other on two sides of the main shaft (as shown in Figs. 10 and 11);
wherein the first rotating assembly (210a) comprises a first rotating piece (220a, Fig. 10), a first mounting plate (230a), a first magnetic piece (227 of 210a), and a first magnetic fitting piece (236 of 210a), wherein the first rotating piece and the first mounting plate are separately rotatably connected to the main shaft (as shown in Figs. 10-11), a rotation axis of the first rotating piece relative to the main shaft is parallel to and does not overlap a rotation axis of the first mounting plate relative to the main shaft (as shown in Figs. 10-11), and the first rotating piece is slidably connected to the first mounting plate (see slide motions in Figs. 3a-3c, 10 and 11), and wherein the first magnetic piece is on the first rotating piece, the first magnetic fitting piece is on the first mounting plate, and the first magnetic piece is configured to magnetically attract and fit the first magnetic fitting piece (as shown in Figs. 3a-3c, 10 and 11);
wherein the second rotating assembly (210b) comprises a second rotating piece (220b, Fig. 10), a second mounting plate (230a), a second magnetic piece (227 of 210b), and a second magnetic fitting piece (236 of 210b), wherein the second rotating piece and the second mounting plate are separately rotatably connected to the main shaft (as shown in Figs. 10-11), a rotation axis of the second rotating piece relative to the main shaft is parallel to and does not overlap a rotation axis of the second mounting plate relative to the main shaft (as shown in Figs. 10-11), and the second rotating piece is slidably connected to the second mounting plate (see slide motions in Figs. 3a-3c, 10 and 11), and wherein the second magnetic piece is disposed on the second rotating piece, the second magnetic fitting piece is disposed on the second mounting plate, and the second magnetic piece is configured to magnetically attract and fit the second magnetic fitting piece (as shown in Figs. 3a-3c, 10 and 11); and
wherein the hinge mechanism is configured in a manner that:
when the first mounting plate slides relative to the first rotating piece in a direction away from the main shaft, and the second mounting plate slides relative to the second rotating piece in a direction away from the main shaft, the first magnetic piece and the first magnetic fitting piece move away from each other and provide a first resistance force for relative sliding between the first rotating piece and the first mounting plate, and the second magnetic piece and the second magnetic fitting piece move away from each other and provide a second resistance force for the second rotating piece and the second mounting plate (away motion from Fig. 11 to Fig. 10); or
when the first mounting plate slides relative to the first rotating piece in a direction towards the main shaft, and the second mounting plate slides relative to the second rotating piece in a direction towards the main shaft, the first magnetic piece and the first magnetic fitting piece magnetically approach each other to drive relative sliding between the first rotating piece and the first mounting plate, and the second magnetic piece and the second magnetic fitting piece magnetically approach each other to drive relative sliding between the second rotating piece and the second mounting plate (toward motion from Fig. 10 to Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 21, Fan discloses the hinge mechanism according to claim 20, and Fan further discloses wherein both the first magnetic piece and the first magnetic fitting piece are permanent magnets; or the first magnetic piece is a permanent magnet, and the first magnetic fitting piece is an electromagnet; and wherein both the second magnetic piece and the second magnetic fitting piece are permanent magnets; or the second magnetic piece is a permanent magnet, and the second magnetic fitting piece is an electromagnet (227 and 236 are permanent magnets shown in Figs. 2-6 and 10-11).
Regarding claim 22, Fan discloses the hinge mechanism according to claim 20, and Fan further discloses wherein a first interface of the first magnetic piece (side interface of 227 of 210a) is in contact with the first magnetic fitting piece (236 of 210a) through attraction and fitting, and the hinge mechanism is configured in a manner that, when the first mounting plate slides relative to the first rotating piece, the first magnetic piece and the first magnetic fitting piece move away from or approach each other in a direction parallel to the first interface (self-explanatory in Figs. 10 and 11); and a second interface of the second magnetic piece (side interface of 227 of 210b) is in contact with the second magnetic fitting piece (236 of 210b) through attraction and fitting, and the hinge mechanism is configured in a manner that, when the second mounting plate slides relative to the second rotating piece, the second magnetic piece and the second magnetic fitting piece move away from or approach each other in a direction parallel to the second interface (self-explanatory in Figs. 10 and 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan, and further in view of Shi (CN 212624631).
Regarding claim 23, Fan teaches the hinge mechanism according to claim 20, and Fan further teaches wherein a first interface of the first magnetic piece (side interface of 227 of 210a) is in contact with the first magnetic fitting piece (236 of 210a) through attraction and fitting, and the hinge mechanism is configured in a manner that, when the first mounting plate slides relative to the first rotating piece, the first magnetic piece and the first magnetic fitting piece move away from or approach each other in a direction parallel to the first interface (self-explanatory in Figs. 10 and 11); and a second interface of the second magnetic piece (side interface of 227 of 210b) is in contact with the second magnetic fitting piece (236 of 210b) through attraction and fitting, and the hinge mechanism is configured in a manner that, when the second mounting plate slides relative to the second rotating piece, the second magnetic piece and the second magnetic fitting piece move away from or approach each other in a direction parallel to the second interface (self-explanatory in Figs. 10 and 11).
Fan teaches parallel direction, but not perpendicular direction. However, Shi further teaches an interface of a magnetic piece (interface of 61 that contact 62, see Figs. 9, 11) is in contact with a magnetic fitting piece (62, Figs. 9, 11) through attracting and fitting, and a hinge mechanism (hinge shown in Figs. 9 and 11) is configured in a manner that, when a rotating mounting (21, Figs, 9, 11) slides relative to a first rotating piece (4, Figs. 9, 11), the magnetic piece and the magnetic fitting piece move away from or approach each other in a direction perpendicular to the interface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the perpendicular direction in Fan, as taught by Shi, in order to prevent friction from sliding.
Claims 29-33 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (US 2024/0401387) in view of Shi (CN 212624631).
Regarding claim 29, Fan teaches an electronic device (Figs. 2-11), comprising:
a flexible display ([0066]: “…hinge 1000 applied in a foldable display device…”; 700, Figs. 7, 8);
a hinge mechanism (1000, Figs. 2-11);
wherein the hinge mechanism comprises a main shaft (250, Figs. 3a-3c, 9; [0110]), a first rotating assembly (210a, Fig. 10), and a second rotating assembly (210b, Fig. 10), and the first rotating assembly and the second rotating assembly are disposed opposite to each other on two sides of the main shaft (as shown in Figs. 10 and 11);
wherein the first rotating assembly (210a) comprises a first rotating piece (220a, Fig. 10), a first mounting plate (230a), a first magnetic piece (227 of 210a), and a first magnetic fitting piece (236 of 210a), wherein the first rotating piece and the first mounting plate are separately rotatably connected to the main shaft (as shown in Figs. 10-11), a rotation axis of the first rotating piece relative to the main shaft is parallel to and does not overlap a rotation axis of the first mounting plate relative to the main shaft (as shown in Figs. 10-11), and the first rotating piece is slidably connected to the first mounting plate (see slide motions in Figs. 3a-3c, 10 and 11), and wherein the first magnetic piece is disposed on the first rotating piece, the first magnetic fitting piece is disposed on the first mounting plate, and the first magnetic piece is configured to magnetically attract and fit the first magnetic fitting piece (as shown in Figs. 3a-3c, 10 and 11);
wherein the second rotating assembly (210b) comprises a second rotating piece (220b, Fig. 10), a second mounting plate (230a), a second magnetic piece (227 of 210b), and a second magnetic fitting piece (236 of 210b), wherein the second rotating piece and the second mounting plate are separately rotatably connected to the main shaft (as shown in Figs. 10-11), a rotation axis of the second rotating piece relative to the main shaft is parallel to and does not overlap a rotation axis of the second mounting plate relative to the main shaft (as shown in Figs. 10-11), and the second rotating piece is slidably connected to the second mounting plate (see slide motions in Figs. 3a-3c, 10 and 11), and wherein the second magnetic piece is disposed on the second rotating piece, the second magnetic fitting piece is disposed on the second mounting plate, and the second magnetic piece is configured to magnetically attract and fit the second magnetic fitting piece (as shown in Figs. 3a-3c, 10 and 11); and
wherein the hinge mechanism is configured in a manner that:
when the first mounting plate slides relative to the first rotating piece in a direction away from the main shaft, and the second mounting plate slides relative to the second rotating piece in a direction away from the main shaft, the first magnetic piece and the first magnetic fitting piece move away from each other and provide a first resistance force for relative sliding between the first rotating piece and the first mounting plate, and the second magnetic piece and the second magnetic fitting piece move away from each other and provide a second resistance force for the second rotating piece and the second mounting plate (away motion from Fig. 11 to Fig. 10); or
when the first mounting plate slides relative to the first rotating piece in a direction towards the main shaft, and the second mounting plate slides relative to the second rotating piece in a direction towards the main shaft, the first magnetic piece and the first magnetic fitting piece magnetically approach each other to drive relative sliding between the first rotating piece and the first mounting plate, and the second magnetic piece and the second magnetic fitting piece magnetically approach each other to drive relative sliding between the second rotating piece and the second mounting plate (toward motion from Fig. 10 to Fig. 11).
Fan does not explicitly teach a first housing; a second housing; and wherein the first housing is fastened to a first mounting plate, the second housing is fastened to a second mounting plate, and the flexible display continuously covers the first housing, the second housing, and the hinge mechanism, and is separately fastened to the first housing and the second housing. Shi teaches a first housing (102, Figs. 9-11); a second housing (103, Figs. 9-11); and wherein the first housing is fastened to a first mounting plate (21, Figs. 9-11), the second housing is fastened to a second mounting plate (31, Figs. 9-11), and a flexible display (101, Fig. 7-11) continuously covers the first housing, the second housing, and the hinge mechanism, and is separately fastened to the first housing and the second housing (as shown in Figs. 7-11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first housing; a second housing; and wherein the first housing is fastened to a first mounting plate, the second housing is fastened to a second mounting plate, and the flexible display continuously covers the first housing, the second housing, and the hinge mechanism, and is separately fastened to the first housing and the second housing in Fan, as taught by Shi, in order to protect internal components of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 30, Fan in view of Shi teaches the electronic device according to claim 29, and Fan further teaches wherein: a rotation axis of the first rotating piece rotating around the main shaft is located on a side that the main shaft that faces the flexible display, and a rotation axis of the second rotating piece rotating around the main shaft is located on the side of the main shaft that faces the flexible display; or a rotation axis of the first rotating piece rotating around the main shaft is located on a side of the main shaft that faces away from the flexible display, and a rotation axis of the second rotating piece rotating around the main shaft is located on the side of the main shaft that faces away from the flexible display (both rotation axes 220a and 220b are on sides of 250 faces and faces away the flexible display 700).
Regarding claim 31, Fan in view of Shi teaches the electronic device according to claim 29, and Fan further teaches wherein both the first magnetic piece and the first magnetic fitting piece are permanent magnets; or the first magnetic piece is a permanent magnet, and the first magnetic fitting piece is an electromagnet; and wherein both the second magnetic piece and the second magnetic fitting piece are permanent magnets; or the second magnetic piece is a permanent magnet, and the second magnetic fitting piece is an electromagnet (227 and 236 are permanent magnets shown in Figs. 2-6 and 10-11).
Regarding claim 32, Fan in view of Shi teaches the electronic device according to claim 29, and Fan further teaches wherein a first interface of the first magnetic piece (side interface of 227 of 210a) is in contact with the first magnetic fitting piece (236 of 210a) through attraction and fitting, and the hinge mechanism is configured in a manner that, when the first mounting plate slides relative to the first rotating piece, the first magnetic piece and the first magnetic fitting piece move away from or approach each other in a direction parallel to the first interface (self-explanatory in Figs. 10 and 11); and
wherein a second interface of the second magnetic piece (side interface of 227 of 210b) is in contact with the second magnetic fitting piece (236 of 210b) through attraction and fitting, and the hinge mechanism is configured in a manner that, when the second mounting plate slides relative to the second rotating piece, the second magnetic piece and the second magnetic fitting piece move away from or approach each other in a direction parallel to the second interface (self-explanatory in Figs. 10 and 11).
Regarding claim 33, Fan in view of Shi teaches the electronic device according to claim 29, and Fan further teaches wherein a first interface of the first magnetic piece (side interface of 227 of 210a) is in contact with the first magnetic fitting piece (236 of 210a) through attraction and fitting, and the hinge mechanism is configured in a manner that, when the first mounting plate slides relative to the first rotating piece, the first magnetic piece and the first magnetic fitting piece move away from or approach each other in a direction parallel to the first interface (self-explanatory in Figs. 10 and 11); and a second interface of the second magnetic piece (side interface of 227 of 210b) is in contact with the second magnetic fitting piece (236 of 210b) through attraction and fitting, and the hinge mechanism is configured in a manner that, when the second mounting plate slides relative to the second rotating piece, the second magnetic piece and the second magnetic fitting piece move away from or approach each other in a direction parallel to the second interface (self-explanatory in Figs. 10 and 11).
Fan teaches parallel direction, but not perpendicular direction. However, Shi further teaches an interface of a magnetic piece (interface of 61 that contact 62, see Figs. 9, 11) is in contact with a magnetic fitting piece (62, Figs. 9, 11) through attracting and fitting, and a hinge mechanism (hinge shown in Figs. 9 and 11) is configured in a manner that, when a rotating mounting (21, Figs, 9, 11) slides relative to a first rotating piece (4, Figs. 9, 11), the magnetic piece and the magnetic fitting piece move away from or approach each other in a direction perpendicular to the interface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the perpendicular direction in Fan, as taught by Shi, in order to prevent contact friction from sliding.
Regarding claim 38, Fan in view of Shi teaches the electronic device according to claim 33, and Fan further teaches wherein the first rotating piece and the second rotating piece are centro-symmetrically or axial-symmetrically with respect to the main shaft (as shown in Figs. 2, 10 and 11 of Fan).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-25, 28 and 34-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 26-27 and 36-37 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re claims 24-28, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the hinge mechanism according to claim 24, in particular, the first rotating piece comprises a first arc-shaped rotating block and a first slider that are fastened to each other, and the first arc-shaped rotating block is located on a side of the first slider and that is closest to the main shaft; the first magnetic piece is connected to the first slider; a first arc-shaped guiding groove extends in a side of the main shaft that faces the first rotating piece, and the first arc-shaped rotating block is accommodated in the first arc-shaped guiding groove and is slidable in the first arc-shaped guiding groove to implement rotatable connection between the first rotating piece and the main shaft; a first sliding groove extends in the first mounting plate, and the first slider is accommodated in the first sliding groove and is slidable in the first sliding groove to implement slidable connection between the first rotating piece and the first mounting plate; the second rotating piece comprises a second arc-shaped rotating block and a second slider that are fastened to each other, and the second arc-shaped rotating block is located on a side of the second slider that is closest to the main shaft; the second magnetic piece is connected to the second slider; a second arc-shaped guiding groove extends in a side of the main shaft that faces the second rotating piece, and the second arc-shaped rotating block is accommodated in the second arc-shaped guiding groove and is slidable in the second arc-shaped guiding groove to implement rotatable connection between the second rotating piece and the main shaft; and wherein a second sliding groove extends in the second mounting plate, and the second slider is accommodated in the second sliding groove and is slidable in the second sliding groove to implement slidable connection between the second rotating piece and the second mounting plate.
Re claims 34-37, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the electronic device according to claim 34, in particular, wherein the first rotating piece comprises a first arc-shaped rotating block and a first slider that are fastened to each other, and the first arc-shaped rotating block is located on a side of the first slider that is closest to the main shaft; the first magnetic piece is connected to the first slider; a first arc-shaped guiding groove extends in a side that is of the main shaft and that faces the first rotating piece, and the first arc- shaped rotating block is accommodated in the first arc-shaped guiding groove and is slidable in the first arc-shaped guiding groove to implement rotatable connection between the first rotating piece and the main shaft; and a first sliding groove extends in the first mounting plate, and the first slider is accommodated in the first sliding groove and is slidable in the first sliding groove to implement slidable connection between the first rotating piece and the first mounting plate; and wherein the second rotating piece comprises a second arc-shaped rotating block and a second slider that are fastened to each other, and the second arc-shaped rotating block is located on a side of the second slider that is closest to the main shaft; the second magnetic piece is connected to the second slider; a second arc-shaped guiding groove extends in a side of the main shaft that faces the second rotating piece, and the second arc-shaped rotating block is accommodated in the second arc-shaped guiding groove and is slidable in the second arc-shaped guiding groove to implement rotatable connection between the second rotating piece and the main shaft; and a second sliding groove extends in the second mounting plate, and the second slider is accommodated in the second sliding groove and is slidable in the second sliding groove
to implement slidable connection between the second rotating piece and the second mounting plate.
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841