Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the part(s) that is/are meant to be designated by the subject matter "main body comprising: a seat bottom", recited in claim 13, has/have not been . It is noted that the description recites that the “attachment member 200 can form a bottom or base” (¶ 39); however, this does not provide proper antecedent basis for the aforementioned limitation.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 13 recites the "seat bottom" and "attachment member" of the main body as distinct elements, which is inconsistent with the description of the attachment member of the main body forming a bottom (¶ 39) in the instance that the term “bottom” describes the “seat bottom” as claimed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sedlack (US 2012/0292977).
Claim 1- Sedlack discloses a child car seat for a vehicle, the child car seat comprising:
a main body (14) comprising a seatback (16, 18) that extends in a vertical direction and at least one attachment member (22) that extends forward from the seatback in a front-rear direction (figs. 4- 5b, 7); and
a booster seat (12) comprising a seating surface (62, 104), a recess (72) below the seating surface that is configured to receive the at least one attachment member (figs. 3- 4, 6a- 7), and at least one foot (114) that extends downwards from the seating surface at a rear end of the seating surface (figs. 3, 6a), the at least one foot configured to support the rear end of the seating surface when the booster seat is decoupled from the at least one attachment member (the ridges 114 are structurally capable of functioning as the claimed “foot”, ¶ 52).
Claim 2- Sedlack discloses the child car seat of claim 1, wherein the at least one attachment member (22) comprises at least one opening (fig. 3, 5b, 7) that is configured to receive the at least one foot (114) when the booster seat is coupled to the at least one attachment member (fig. 3 shows that the ridges 114 are disposed between the base beam portions 26).
Claim 4- Sedlack discloses the child car seat of claim 1, wherein: the booster seat (12) defines a pair of lap belt openings that extend into a rear end of the booster seat (figs. 2 & 4 show that each armrest 54 defines a belt opening that extends down and rearward into the booster seat’s sidewalls), the lap belt openings each being configured to receive a lap belt portion of a harness of the child car seat (figs. 1b- 2 show the vehicle seatbelt provides a harness for the car seat); and the at least one foot (114) is disposed between the pair of lap belt openings (figs. 3, 6a).
Claim 5- Sedlack discloses the child car seat of claim 1, wherein the recess (72) extends into a rear end of the booster seat towards a front end of the booster seat, and into a lower end of the booster seat towards the seating surface (the recess is a connection support box with a substantially rectangular structure that “extends” as claimed, figs. 3-4 & 5d-6a).
Claim 6- Sedlack discloses the child car seat of claim 1, wherein: the at least one attachment member (22) has opposed outer sides, each outer side defining at least one engagement surface (fig. 5b shows one outer engagement surface of the member’s base beam portion 26); and the booster seat (12) comprises opposed inner side surfaces, each defining at least one engagement surface (fig. 6a shows one of the inner engagement surfaces of the seat’s sidewalls 96) that is configured to engage a corresponding one of the at least one engagement surface of the at least one attachment member (fig. 3) so as to guide movement of the booster seat towards the at least one attachment member as the booster seat is coupled to the at least one attachment member (figs. 3, 7).
Claim 7- Sedlack discloses the child car seat of claim 1, wherein: the at least one attachment member (22) has opposed outer sides (26), each outer side defining an opening (38) that includes at least one engagement surface (36) (fig. 5b, the base beams 26 of the attachment member 22 are laterally opposed and are “outer” relative to the seatback 18); and the booster seat (12) comprises opposed inner side surfaces, each defining a protrusion (78) defining at least one engagement surface (fig. 6a) that is configured to engage a corresponding one of the at least one engagement surface of the at least one attachment member (¶ 46) so as to guide movement of the booster seat towards the at least one attachment member as the booster seat is coupled to the at least one attachment member (figs. 3, 7), the protrusion (78) being received in the opening (38) of the attachment member (22).
Claim 8- Sedlack discloses a child car seat for a vehicle, the child car seat comprising:
a main body (14) comprising a seatback (16, 18) that extends in a vertical direction and at least one attachment member (22) that extends forward from the seatback in a front-rear direction (figs. 4- 5b, 7); and
a booster seat (12) comprising a seating surface (62, 104), a recess (72) below the seating surface that is configured to receive the at least one attachment member (figs. 3- 4, 6a- 7), and at least one foot (114) that extends downwards from the seating surface and into the recess (figs. 3 & 6a) at a rear end of the seating surface (figs. 3, 6a), the at least one foot configured to support the rear end of the seating surface when the booster seat is decoupled from the at least one attachment member (the ridges 114 are structurally capable of functioning as the claimed “foot”, ¶ 52);
wherein the at least one attachment member (22) has opposed outer sides (26), each outer side defining an opening (38) that includes at least one engagement surface (36) (fig. 5b, the base beams 26 of the attachment member 22 are laterally opposed and are “outer” relative to the seatback 18); and the booster seat (12) comprises opposed inner side surfaces, each defining a protrusion (78) defining at least one engagement surface (fig. 6a) that is configured to engage a corresponding one of the at least one engagement surface of the at least one attachment member (¶ 46) so as to guide movement of the booster seat towards the at least one attachment member as the booster seat is coupled to the at least one attachment member (figs. 3, 7), the protrusion (78) being received in the opening (38) of the attachment member (22).
Claim 9- Sedlack discloses the child car seat of claim 8, wherein the at least one attachment member (22) comprises at least one opening (fig. 3, 5b, 7) that is configured to receive the at least one foot (114) when the booster seat is coupled to the at least one attachment member (fig. 3 shows that the ridges 114 are disposed between the base beam portions 26).
Claim 11- Sedlack discloses the child car seat of claim 8, wherein: the booster seat (12) defines a pair of lap belt openings that extend into a rear end of the booster seat (figs. 2 & 4 show that each armrest 54 defines a belt opening that extends down and rearward into the booster seat’s sidewalls), the lap belt openings each being configured to receive a lap belt portion of a harness of the child car seat (figs. 1b- 2 show the vehicle seatbelt provides a harness for the car seat); and the at least one foot (114) is disposed between the pair of lap belt openings (figs. 3, 6a).
Claim 12- Sedlack discloses the child car seat of claim 8, wherein the recess (72) extends into a rear end of the booster seat towards a front end of the booster seat, and into a lower end of the booster seat towards the seating surface (the recess is a connection support box with a substantially rectangular structure that “extends” as claimed, figs. 3-4 & 5d-6a).
Claim 13- Sedlack discloses a child car seat installable on a vehicle seat, the child car seat comprising: a main body (14) and a booster seat (12) that couples to the main body;
wherein the main body (14) comprises: a seat bottom (fig. 5b), a seatback (16, 18) extending from the seat bottom in a vertical direction (fig. 4, the attachment member 22 includes a base beam portion 26 that extends forward from the seatback 18 and is capable of being a “seat bottom”), and at least one attachment member (22) positioned on the seatback (fig. 4) and extending forward from the seatback in a front-rear direction (the attachment member is positioned on the seatback via its lumbar beam portion 24, and extends forward therefrom via its base beam portion 26); and
wherein the booster seat comprises: a seating surface (62, 104), a bottom surface (106) opposing the seating surface and at least partially defining a recess (72) sized to receive the at least one attachment member (the recess is a connection support box with a substantially rectangular structure configured to house the base beam portion 26 of the attachment member, ¶ 52), and at least one foot (114) positioned at a rear end of the booster seat (fig. 6b) such that when the booster seat is decoupled from the main body and positioned directly on the vehicle seat, the at least one foot support the rear end of the booster seat on the vehicle seat (the ridges 114 are structurally capable of functioning as the claimed “foot” in the booster seat-only state, ¶ 52 & 54).
Claim 14- Sedlack discloses the child car seat of claim 13, wherein the at least one foot (114) at least partially defines the recess (the ridges are a part of the inner upper surface 106 of the connection support box 72 that defines the recess, ¶ 52).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636