DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recited “increasing a image size parameter” and “an image size parameter”. They should read “increasing the image size parameter” and “the image size parameter”.
Claim 7 recited “an image size parameter”. It should “the image size parameter”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a sending module, a receiving module and an adjustment module in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIN et al. (US 20180249062 A1), referred herein as JIN (from IDS) in view of MAENG et al. (US 20210358457 A1), referred herein as MAENG.
Regarding Claim 1, JIN in view of MAENG teaches a shooting calibration method, applied to a shooting calibration system, wherein the shooting calibration system comprises an electronic equipment and a wearable equipment, and the electronic equipment is communicated with the wearable equipment; the shooting calibration method comprises (JIN Abst: A photographing method using an external electronic device and an electronic device supporting the same; [0074] The optics adjusting unit 180 may measure an inter-pupil distance (IPD) of the user such that the user may watch an image suitable for his or her eye sight to adjust a distance of the lens and a location of the display of the external electronic device 100 that may be attached to or detached from the electronic device 100):
shooting, by the electronic equipment, a first target image, and sending the first target image to the wearable equipment (JIN FIG. 10: 1030; [0107] In operation 360, the electronic device (e.g., the processor 110) may obtain a second image from the external electronic device(s). The second image may be an image that is obtained by photographing the subject (e.g., a user wearing the electronic device) through a camera included in the external electronic device(s); [0123] in operation 532, the second electronic device 530 (e.g., the processor 210) may deliver the obtained preview image to the first electronic device 510);
receiving, by the wearable equipment, the first target image sent by the electronic equipment (JIN FIG. 10: 1010; [0124] In operation 513, the first electronic device 510 (e.g., the processor 110) that received the preview image may set a background for a virtual capture image. As an example, the first electronic device 510; [0186] Referring to FIG. 10, a first electronic device 1010 (e.g., the electronic device 100) may output a VR image 1011 included in the contents on a display); and
in response to that the first target image does not overlap with a second target image observed through the wearable equipment, adjusting an image JIN [0193] the electronic device may set an image, which is output in a current screen area 1210, of the VR image as a background 1230 of the virtual capture image. In some embodiments, the electronic device may set the image output in the selected at least a partial area as the background of the virtual capture image based on the user input for selecting at least a part of the screen area 1210; [0194] if the FOV of the VR image is changed, the electronic device may change (or reset) the background 1230 such that the background 1230 corresponds to the changed FOV. For example, the electronic device may determine a motion of an electronic device based on sensing data, may change the FOV of the VR image based on a direction and a change of the motion, and may change the structure of the background 1230 such that the background 1230 corresponds to the changed viewed of view of the VR image; [0197] According to an embodiment, the electronic device may merge the subject 1350 and the background 1330 by correcting the subject 1350 when the subject 1350 and the background 1330 are merged. For example, when the subject 1350 corresponds to a user who wears the electronic device, it looks as if the user was not actually in a virtual environment (or a VR environment) when the user wears the electronic device).
JIN does not but MAENG further teaches
adjusting an image
returning to execute a step of sending the first target image to the wearable equipment until the first target image overlaps with the second target image, and obtaining a target adjustment parameter (MAENG [0211] Here, the camera 121 may acquire the captured image by using the same camera setting value always. The camera setting values may include a shutter speed, an aperture, an ISO, a white balance, and the like. [0212] In addition, the processor 180 of the AI apparatus 100 acquires context information at the time of acquiring the captured image (S703); [0322] Although FIG. 13 shows only one cycle of calibrating the output position of the display panel (S1301 to S311), a plurality of cycles may be performed to calibrate the output position of the display panel. [0323] More specifically, operations (S1301 to S1311) of calibrating the output position of the display panel may be repeatedly performed, and the repetition may be stopped when the second offset is smaller than a predetermined reference value).
MAENG discloses an artificial intelligence apparatus for calibrating an output position of a display panel according to an embodiment includes a camera configured to capture an image displayed by the display panel, which is analogous to the present patent application.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified JIN to incorporate the teachings of JIN, and apply the method of calibrating an output position of a display panel to the photographing method using an external electronic device and an electronic device.
Doing so would be able to eliminate output position distortion between a plurality of display panels or between display elements in a single display.
Regarding Claim 8, JIN in view of MAENG teaches a shooting calibration system, comprising: an electronic equipment; and a wearable equipment communicated with the wearable equipment (JIN Abst: A photographing method using an external electronic device and an electronic device supporting the same; [0074] The optics adjusting unit 180 may measure an inter-pupil distance (IPD) of the user such that the user may watch an image suitable for his or her eye sight to adjust a distance of the lens and a location of the display of the external electronic device 100 that may be attached to or detached from the electronic device 100).
The metes and bounds of the claim substantially correspond to the limitations set forth in Claim 1; thus they are rejected on similar grounds and rationale as their corresponding limitations.
Regarding Claim 9, JIN in view of MAENG teaches an electronic equipment, comprising a camera, a memory, a processor, and a shooting calibration program stored in the memory, wherein when the shooting calibration program is executed by the processor, the shooting calibration method according to claim 1 is implemented (JIN Abst: A photographing method using an external electronic device and an electronic device supporting the same; [0006] An electronic device according to the related art may not support capturing of a picture containing an actual subject, for example, capturing of a selfie containing the appearance of the user in the virtual reality provide by virtual reality (VR) contents; [0074] The optics adjusting unit 180 may measure an inter-pupil distance (IPD) of the user such that the user may watch an image suitable for his or her eye sight to adjust a distance of the lens and a location of the display of the external electronic device 100 that may be attached to or detached from the electronic device 100).
Regarding Claim 10, JIN in view of MAENG teaches a storage medium, wherein the storage medium is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, a shooting calibration program is stored on the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and when the shooting calibration program is executed by a processor, the shooting calibration method according to claim 1 is implemented (JIN Abst: A photographing method using an external electronic device and an electronic device supporting the same; [0264] At least a part of devices (e.g., modules or functions thereof) or methods (e.g., operations) according to various embodiments of the disclosure may be implemented as instructions stored in a computer-readable storage medium in the form of a program module. In the case where the instructions are performed by a processor (e.g., the processor 1720), the processor may perform functions corresponding to the instructions. The computer-readable storage medium may be, for example, the memory 1730).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 2-7, JIN in view of MAENG teaches the shooting calibration method according to claim 1. However, in the context of claim 1 as a whole, the prior art does not teach all the limitations of claims 2-7. Therefore, claims 2-7, respectively would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of claim 1 and 2-7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230162398 A1
US 20120038663 A1
/Samantha (YUEHAN) WANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2617