DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to the communication received on 08/30/2024. The claims 1-20 are pending, of which the claim(s) 1 & 19 is/are in independent form.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 18, line 8, the phrase “decree” should be changed to “a degree”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 11- 13 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 11, line 5, the first recitation of “based on the daily average use time information” should be removed since it is merely a superfluous language.
Regarding claim 12, line 5, the recitation of “based on the absence schedule information, based on a time to perform the power saving” needs to have the its comma (after the word “information”) replaced with “and” or some other appropriate amendment is required.
Regarding claim 13, line 5 “based on the absence schedule information, based on a time to perform the power saving” needs to have the its comma replaced with “and” or some other appropriate amendment is required.
Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 3, 7- 10, 14, & 19- 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama et al. (JP 2014035115 A, Publication Date: 2014-02-24) in view of Takai (JP 2011211606 A, Publication Date: 2011-10-20).
Regarding claim 1, Sugiyama teaches an air conditioner comprising:
a detection sensor [Fig. 3 item 35, “human body detection sensor 35”] ([028-031]);
an air conditioning module [Fig. 2, “the air conditioner 3 is an apparatus used for indoor air conditioning” or “indoor unit 11”] configured to perform an air conditioning operation on a target space ([011-012]);
a memory [“storage unit 104”] storing at least one instruction; and at least one processor [“control unit 51 performs overall control of the indoor unit 11” + control unit 71+ “remote controller 5”] comprising processing circuitry, wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to execute the at least one instruction to: ([024-026, 032-034]);
detect [“human body detection sensor 35 detects infrared light emitted from an object”] a person in the target space using a sensor detection value of the detection sensor ([028-031, 039]), and
perform a power saving control operation [transitioning from ‘normal operation’ to first and second “process for energy saving operation” wherein “target set temperature to Tnoexist (0)”. For example, “the indoor unit 11 proceeds to step S12 when the absence detection of a person by the human body detection sensor 35 has passed for [Xnoexist] minutes or more”, “control part 51 determines absence of a person from a detection result of the human body detection sensor 35, and after lapse of predetermined waiting time, gradually changes a target set temperature with the lapse of time and transfers an operation mode to an energy saving operation mode”] to adjust at least one of wind strength or a set temperature of the air conditioning module, according to a power saving performing condition indicating a condition to perform a power saving control operation being satisfied [“person is absent from the detection result of the human body detection sensor, and when a predetermined waiting time has elapsed”], based on an absence time [“the absence detection of a person by the human body detection sensor 35 has exceeded [Xnoexist] minutes”, wherein “For example, 3 minutes is set as Xnoexist,” as shown in fig. 6] during which it is determined that a person is absent in the target space (Abstract, [006, 039-042]), and
in the power saving control operation, set [Fig. 8 clearly shows setting one power saving learning level having pluralities of the “set temperature” and corresponding time intervals from ST1 to ST4/Xend] one power saving 1learning level changed stepwise”] of the power saving control operationoperating at various target set temperature in Tnoexit(0) or “Tnoexist (j)” after exceeding of Xnoexit(0) in S12 will adjust the wind strength by changing operation of compressor or set temperature] at least one of the wind strength or the set temperature while the plurality of intermediate operation stages are being performed, according to the absence time ([038-043, 053, 059, 061-062]).
Sugiyama teaches:
Abstract:
The control part 51 determines absence of a person from a detection result of the human body detection sensor 35, and after lapse of predetermined waiting time, gradually changes a target set temperature with the lapse of time and transfers an operation mode to an energy saving operation mode repeating a combination of drive and stop of the compressor 42 several times based on comparison of a room temperature with the target set temperature
[0039] (Step S11) The indoor unit 11 determines whether or not the absence detection of a person by the human body detection sensor 35 has exceeded [Xnoexist] minutes. The indoor unit 11 returns to step S11 when the absence detection of the person by the human body detection sensor 35 has not elapsed for [Xnoexist] minutes or more. On the other hand, the indoor unit 11 proceeds to step S12 when the absence detection of a person by the human body detection sensor 35 has passed for [Xnoexist] minutes or more.
[0040], (Step S12) The indoor unit 11 changes the target set temperature to Tnoexist (0).
[0042] (Step S14) The indoor unit 11 determines whether or not [Xoff (0)] minutes or more has elapsed since the absence detection of the human body by the human body detection sensor 35. The indoor unit 11 proceeds to step S15 when [Xoff (0)] minutes or more has elapsed since the absence detection of the human body by the human body detection sensor 35. On the other hand, the indoor unit 11 returns to step S13 when [Xoff (0)] minutes or more has not elapsed since the absence detection of the human body by the human body detection sensor 35.
In summary, Sugiyama teaches setting one power saving learning level (changing setpoints at different times as shown in fig. 8) that includes pluralities of intermediate operation stages (“target set temperature is changed stepwise with the passage of time”) for the air conditioner power saving control operation ([073], Fig. 8).
However, as claimed and shown above with strikethrough emphasis, Sugiyama fails to teach:
its setting of one power saving learning level is from “among a plurality of power saving learning levels” and
the “adjust respective duration times of the plurality of intermediate operation stages” is “according to the set power saving learning level”.
Takai relates to gradually taking an appliance [“imaging device”, analogous to Sugiyama’s air conditioner] with a processor [“control unit C…has a plurality of power saving modes“] and memory from normal operating mode to the power saving mode via pluralities of intermediate modes each with known/different power consumption amount when person being absent condition [“sensor 13 does not
detect the proximity of the human body any more…control to change the stepwise transition speed to the plurality of power saving modes”] is satisfied, wherein the speed of transition from normal operating mode to the deepmost power saving mode varies depending on how quick the appliance needs to be returned [“imaging apparatus capable of recovering from a power saving mode to a normal use state within a suitable startup time“] to normal power mode (Abstract, Page 3).
Specifically, Takai teaches the processor of the appliance to perform a power saving control operation when determined that a person is absent from using the appliance, in the power saving control operation set one power saving learning level from among a plurality of power saving learning levels [“power saving mode” of “processes in steps S106 to S110” of fig. 5 or lines L1 shown with solid line or L2 shown with “broken line” of fig. 6], according to a performance history [for each state M1 to M7, “power saving is increased (deeper) in stages from the maximum power supply state (normal use state)”] of a plurality of intermediate operation stages [“FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating the contents of the power saving mode…In each power saving mode M1 to M7, step-by-step power saving that is gradually superimposed is performed.”] of the power saving control operation, adjust [“the stepwise transition speed of the power saving mode M1 .fwdarw. M7”
changing from slow/low to maximum/large depending on L1 or L2 line is selected of fig. 6] respective duration times of the plurality of intermediate operation stages, according to the set power saving learning level (Figs. 5- 6 & associated tests, pages 23- 6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined Takai and Sugiyama because they both related to performing power saving control operation via pluralities of intermediate operation stages and (2) modified the power saving control operation of Sugiyama to include missing limitations (steps of set one power saving learning level from among a plurality of power saving learning levels, according to a performance history of a plurality of intermediate operation stages of the power saving control operation, adjust respective duration times of the plurality of intermediate operation stages, according to the set power saving learning level) as in Takai. Doing so would allow dynamically changing transition speed from normal operation state to off state according to possible use state of the apparatus (air conditioner) and to realize power saving with good operability (Takai Page 5).
Regarding claim 2, Sugiyama in view of Takai teaches/suggests the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the plurality of power saving learning levels comprise: a basic level [slowest transition from Xnoexist time to Xend) as in M1 to M7 transition of Takai] , a first learning level, a second learning level, and a third learning level [fastest transition from Xnoexist to Xend], and the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to operate at one power saving learning level from among the plurality of power saving learning levels, according to the performance history [possibility of user being around and using the device] of the plurality of intermediate operation stages (Sugiyama [039, 059, 061], Takai page 3, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Sugiyama in view of Takai teaches/suggests the conditioner of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to: perform a preliminary determination stage [STO to ST1, “absence of a person is detected, for example, the time determined by Xnoexist is required”] to determine whether to perform power saving control, and in the preliminary determination stage, determine to perform the power saving control based on the absence time reaching a duration time of the preliminary determination stage while the set temperature and the wind strength of the air conditioning module are maintained, and the duration time of the preliminary determination stage is longer [PHOSITA can select STO to ST1 longer than St1 to ST2 or ST2 to ST3 or ST3 to ST4 depending on design choice/needs, see MPEP 2144.04 since applicant has not shown criticality of this stage needs to be longer] than the respective duration times of the plurality of intermediate operation stages (Sugiyama [068]).
Regarding claim 7, Sugiyama in view of Takai further teaches the air conditioner of claim 3, wherein the duration time of the preliminary determination stage is equal [“proximity state is detected (step S101)” is executed before performing slow or faster types of transitions for the air conditioner of Sugiyama ] in all the plurality of power saving learning levels, and the respective duration times of the plurality of intermediate operation stages vary according to the plurality of power saving learning levels (Sugiyama, Fig. 2; Takai, page 4).
Regarding claim 8, Sugiyama in view of Takai further teaches the air conditioner of claim 3, wherein the duration time of the preliminary determination stage is longer than each of the respective duration times of the plurality of intermediate operation stages, and the respective duration times of the plurality of intermediate operation stages are equal to each other (Sugiyama, Figs. 2, 8; Takai, page 4).
Regarding claim 9, Sugiyama in view of Takai further teaches the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein, in the plurality of intermediate operation stages, at least one of wind strength or a set temperature of the air conditioning module is differently set (Sugiyama, figs. 4- 8 clearly show different air conditioning setpoints at different times from Xnoexist to Xend).
Regarding claim 10, Sugiyama in view of Takai further teaches the air conditioner of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to increase [in cooling operation, changing setpoint to achieve power saving is implemented by increasing the setpoint] a set temperature of the air conditioning module in at least one intermediate operation stage while the plurality of intermediate operation stages are sequentially performed [see fig. 12], and based on the set temperature of the air conditioning module reaching a maximum reference temperature while the plurality of intermediate operation stages are sequentially performed, maintain the setting temperate at the maximum reference temperature (Sugiyama, [076-079]).
Regarding claim 14, Sugiyama in view of Takai further teaches the air conditioner of claim 1, further comprising: a communication module comprising communication circuitry, and wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to
receive, from an external device comprising an external detection sensor [e.g., “human body detection sensor 35 includes an infrared sensor”] via the communication module, a sensor detection value or a person detection result of the external detection sensor, and based on the sensor detection value or the person detection result of the external detection sensor, detect a person from the target space (Sugiyama [028-031]).
Regarding claims 19-20, Sugiyama in view of Takai teaches/suggests inventions claimed by these method and computer readable claims respectively for the similar reasons set forth supra in apparatus claim 1.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of Takai, and further in view of Narui et al., (US 20250164134 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Sugiyama in view of Takai teaches the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to
active usage of the air conditioner being less than a reference use time, select a power saving learning level of which duration time is shorter than [fastest transition from M1 to M7 idea of Takai in changing setpoints in air conditioner of Sugiyama to minimize power consumption] a level determined according to the performance history of the plurality of intermediate operation stages, from among the plurality of power saving learning levels (Sugiyama [038-040] & Takai Page 4).
Sugiyama in view of Takai fails to teach limitations shown above with strikethrough emphasis.
Narui relates to energy saving control with reduced degradation in comfort in an air conditioner. Specifically, Narui teaches conditioner of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to
obtain daily average use time information indicating a time during which the air conditioner is used [“average room occupancy time in a room can be calculated based on entry/exit history information of an entry/exit management system”] on average per day, and based on the daily average use time information, based on a daily average use time being less than [“when a room occupancy time is short… setting a strong energy saving control level is considered to cause no problem”] a reference use time, select a power saving learning level of which consumes the lest amount of power ([046-050]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined Narui and Sugiyama in view of Takai because they both related to performing power saving control in an air conditioner based on the predicted occupancy time of the controlled space and (2) modified the Sugiyama in view of Takai to include missing limitations as in Narui. Doing so would achieve additional power saving without causing comfort degradation to the user (Narui [0046]). Accordingly, the combination of Sugiyama, Takai, and Narui teaches each limitation of the claim and renders invention of this claim obvious to PHOSITA.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of Takai, and further in view of Brahme et al. (US 20220221178 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Sugiyama in view of Takai teaches the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to
obtain absence the absence detection of a person by the human body detection sensor 35 has passed for”]
based on the absence when no using of the apparatus is concluded based on inclination sensor and acceleration sensor information, “speed of the mode M1 .fwdarw. M7 is set to “maximum” (faster than “large”)”] than a level determined according to the performance history of the plurality of intermediate operation stages, from among the plurality of power saving learning levels (Sugiyama [038-042] & Takai, page 4).
Sugiyama in view of Takai teaches adjusting how quickly transitioning into low power mode from normal power mode is completed based on possibility of how quickly the appliances needs to be returned into normal mode again to provide service to the user.
However, Sugiyama in view of Takai still does not teach “obtain absence schedule information set by a user, the absence schedule information indicating a schedule in which the user is absent”
However, Brahme teaches an air conditioner comprising a processor to:
obtain absence schedule [“schedule 114 comprises information about when a user plans to be present or away from a space 106.”] information set by a user, the absence schedule information indicating a schedule in which the user is absent, and based on the absence schedule information, based on a time to perform the power saving control operation being a time corresponding to the absence schedule information, select an adaptive HVAC control mode for the air conditioner ([025, 034-036]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined Brahme and Sugiyama in view of Takai in view because they both related to transitioning an air conditioner into power saving modes when user is not using the air conditioner (is away from the conditioned space) and (2) modified the system/method of Sugiyama in view of Takai to receive absence schedule information set by a user as part of determining when the air conditioner needs to be used again (and hence select a power saving learning to match the timing of using again) as in Brahme. Doing so would increase the confidence level about when to begin transitioning away from the normal operation towards the low power modes to achieve power saving without compromising user’s convenience and to resume back to the normal operation for the air conditioner (Brahme [0041]).
Regarding claim 13, Sugiyama in view of Takai further teaches the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to
perform a preliminary determination stage [step S11] to determine whether to perform the power saving control operation (Sugiyama [039]),
obtain absence not checking against Tnoexit(o) but continuing Xoff(0) to Xend of “second process of the energy saving operation”] and perform [“follows the target set temperature corresponding to the time interval “] the plurality of intermediate operation stages, (Sugiyama, No in S15, [041-046]), and
in the preliminary determination stage, a set temperature and wind strength of the air conditioning module are maintained [“indoor unit 11 returns to step S11 when the absence detection of the person by the human body detection sensor 35 has not elapsed”] based on the absence time reaching the duration time of the preliminary determination stage, determining to perform the power saving control operation (Fig. 4, [039]).
Sugiyama in view of Takai fails to teach limitations shown above with strikethrough emphasis but are cured by Brahme as in claim 12. See Brahme paras. 025, 034-036.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined Brahme and Sugiyama in view of Takai in view because they both related to transitioning an air conditioner into power saving modes when user is not using the air conditioner (is away from the conditioned space) and (2) modified the system/method of Sugiyama in view of Takai to receive missing limitations as in Brahme. Doing so would increase the confidence level about when to begin transitioning away from the normal operation towards the low power modes to achieve power saving without compromising user’s convenience and to resume back to the normal operation for the air conditioner (Brahme [041]).
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of Takai, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20230109149 A1, Publication Date: 2023-04-06). The combination of Sugiyama, Takai, and Chen referred to as STC hereinafter.
Regarding claim 15, Sugiyama in view of Takai teaches The air conditioner of claim 1,
However, Sugiyama in view of Takai fails to teach the system to comprising a Wi-Fi module comprising Wi-Fi circuitry, and wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to detect a person from the target space is by using a channel state
information (CSI) value of a Wi-Fi signal received via the Wi-Fi module.
Chen relates to object/person detection inside a space 302 by receiving CSI data of a Wi-Fi signal and to control smart electronic devices 306-308 with power saving features ([002, 041-042, 063], Fig. 3). Specifically, Chen teaches comprising a Wi-Fi module comprising Wi-Fi circuitry [“AP 101 transmits a Wi-Fi”], and wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to detect a person from the target space using a channel state information (CSI) value [“STA 111 preprocesses the received CSI data…STA 111 performs presence detection, namely, determining whether a 3D space is occupied or empty.”] of a Wi-Fi signal received via the Wi-Fi module ([063-065, 0138]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined Chen and Sugiyama in view of Takai because they both related to detecting whether a space is occupied or not to control power mode of an appliance and (2) modified the system of Sugiyama in view of Takai to include a Wi-Fi circuitry, and have the processor to
execute the at least one instruction to detect a person from the target space using a channel state information (CSI) value of a Wi-Fi signal received via the Wi-Fi module as in Chen. Doing so would allow confirming the presence or absence of the occupant in the Sugiyama in view of Takai’s system before performing air conditioning power control using a backup/complementary person detection technique to improve detection accuracy and reliability as can be clear to PHOSITA.
Regarding claim 16, STC teaches the air conditioner of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to determine that a person is present in the target space based on the CSI value being equal to or greater than a CSI reference value, and to determine that a person is absent in the target space based on the CSI value being less than the CSI reference value (Chen, [0090, 0138]).
Regarding claim 17, STC teaches air conditioner of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to
generate a first message [“smart phone or server will make a final decision of occupancy state”] indicating that motion detect using a Wi-Fi signal cannot be performed, based on the Wi-Fi signal received by the Wi-Fi module from an access point (AP) not using a Wi-Fi network within a first frequency band or based on a quality of the Wi-Fi signal not [“processor 240 determines an evaluation metric csi.sub.metric is less than a predefined threshold csi.sub.thresh,” and determines the occupancy. Since, final decision about the occupancy has to be made by the phone or server means generating a message of quality of wi-fi signal not meeting a reference is being performed] satisfying a specified reference, and transmit the first message to a server via the Wi-Fi module (Chen, [091, 0102, 0138]).
Regarding claim 18, STC teaches air conditioner of claim 15, further comprising an output interface comprising circuitry, and wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to
generate a first message indicating that motion detect using a Wi-Fi signal cannot be performed, based on the Wi-Fi signal received by the Wi-Fi module from an AP not using a Wi-Fi network within a first frequency band [“cutoff frequency of 0.15 to 2 Hertz (Hz)”] or based on a quality of the Wi-Fi signal not satisfying a specified reference, and output [“a presence will be reported to be detected otherwise there is no presence be detected”] the first message via the output interface (Chen, [081, 0102, 0107, 0118]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4- 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Naka et al. (JP S6233239 A, attached FOR document) teaches upon requesting to enter into sleep mode for an air conditioner including a compressor performing multiple intermediate stages [“second shift temperature (S2)”, “the n-th shift temperature (Sn)”] of modes until reaching the final sleep mode (figs. 4-7 & associated texts).
2) Steinberg et al. (US 20100318227 A1) teaches upon requesting to activate the air conditioner, causing the air conditioner to arrive at normal setpoint by implementing pluralities of intermediate modes [“set at 66 for 10 minutes, 67 for12 minutes, 68 for 15 minutes, etc.”] with varying time length ([049]).
3) Zhang et al., (US 20240096713 A1) teaches adjusting respective duration times of the plurality of intermediate operation stages [“adjusting a length of time
during an intermediate step of the multi-step etch process”] of a multi-stage etch process ([010, 089]).
4) Kato (US 20060031692 A1) teaches performing pluralities of intermediate operation stages each with different level of power consumptions ([043, 0179]).
Contacts
/SANTOSH R POUDEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 “Power saving learning levels” are being described in specification as how quick the apparatus completes all transitioning (intermediary) steps into full power saving/off mode/state, wherein power consumption decreases in higher power saving learning levels. See, Spec, Pages 18, 40 and dependent claim 2.
2 Page 3: “When the proximity sensor 13 does not detect the proximity state, the power supply control unit 15 controls the stepwise transition speed of these power saving modes M1 to M7. FIG. 4 is a diagram showing the contents of the power supply control unit 15 changing the stepwise transition speed based on the detection results of the inclination sensor 18 and the acceleration sensor 17. As shown in FIG. 4, when the inclination sensor 18 detects that the imaging device 1 is in the horizontal direction (XY plane in FIG. 2) and the acceleration sensor 17 detects the acceleration in the horizontal direction, the operation continues. Therefore, the stepwise transition speed of the power saving mode M1 .fwdarw. M7 is set to “low” (slow). When the tilt sensor 18 detects that the imaging device 1 is in the vertical direction (X direction in FIG. 2) and the acceleration sensor 17 detects acceleration in the vertical direction, the imaging device 1 is, for example, a neck. Therefore, the stepwise transition speed of the power saving mode M1 .fwdarw. M7 is set to “medium” (faster than “small”). Further, when the acceleration sensor 17 detects acceleration regardless of the detection of the inclination sensor 18, the stepwise transition speed of the power saving mode M1 .fwdarw. M7 is set to “high” (faster than “medium”). Further, when the acceleration sensor 17 detects no acceleration regardless of the detection of the inclination sensor 18, the stepwise transition speed of the power saving mode M1 .fwdarw. M7 is set to “maximum” (faster than “large” & Page 5: In the case of the change L1, when the transition is made to the maximum power supply state from time t3, the power saving mode is shallow, so that it can be immediately restored. That is, the return time Δta in the case of the change L1 is shorter than the return time Δtb in the case of the change L2, and power saving with good operability is possible