DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For Claim 20 (penultimate line), the electronics design under test appears to have antecedent basis in the preceding line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sommers (US 2022/0116303).
For Claims 1, 11, and 20, Sommers teaches a method for data center switching fabric path emulation in an electronics design automation (EDA) environment, a system for data center switching fabric path emulation in an electronics design automation (EDA) environment, the system comprising: at least one processor and a memory (see paragraphs 31-32), and a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon executable instructions (see paragraphs 31-32); the method comprising:
generating emulated data center traffic (see paragraphs 4, 24, 39);
at a path emulation element, modifying the emulated data center traffic to emulate passing of the emulated data center traffic through a data center switching fabric (see paragraphs 24, 55, 60);
outputting, by the path emulation element, the modified emulated data center traffic to an EDA emulator emulating an electronics design under test (see paragraphs 6-7, 48, 91); and
receiving and storing a response of electronics design under test to the modified emulated data center traffic (see paragraph 48).
For Claims 2 and 12, Sommers teaches the method wherein generating emulated data center traffic includes generating emulated traffic of a data center processing an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) workload (see paragraphs 24, 39, 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sommers (US 2022/0116303) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2015/0172185).
For Claims 3 and 13, Sommers as applied above is not explicit as to, but Zhang teaches the method modifying the emulated data center traffic includes adding, to the emulated data center traffic, a packet timing parameter that controls a time at which a transactor of the EDA emulator provides an emulated data packet to the electronics design under test (see paragraph 12).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to manage timing as in Zhang when implementing the testing as in Sommers. The motivation would be to test how timing affects the system.
For Claims 10 and 19, Sommers as applied above is not explicit as to, but Zhang teaches the method wherein the path emulation element is implemented as a component of a transactor of the EDA emulator (see paragraph 12).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to configure the system as in Zhang when implementing the testing as in Sommers. One of ordinary skill would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of managing input and output in a known manner.
Claim(s) 4, 9, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sommers (US 2022/0116303) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Avci et al. (US 2016/0057061).
For Claims 4 and 14, Sommers as applied above is not explicit as to, but Avci teaches the method wherein the path emulation element is implemented as an inline device between a test traffic generator that generates the emulated data center traffic and the EDA emulator (see abstract, paragraphs 6-7, 44, Figure 4).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to implementing the path emulation as in Avci when configuring the system of Sommers. One of ordinary skill would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of managing the path emulation in a known manner.
For Claim 9, Sommers as applied above is not explicit as to, but Avci teaches the method wherein the path emulation element is integrated within a test traffic generator that generates the emulated data center traffic (see abstract, paragraph 44, Figure 4).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to implementing the path emulation as in Avci when configuring the system of Sommers. One of ordinary skill would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of managing the path emulation in a known manner.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sommers (US 2022/0116303) and Avci et al. (US 2016/0057061) as applied to claims 1, 4, 11, and 14 above, and further in view of Cillis et al. (US 2015/0234725).
For Claims 5 and 15, the references as applied above are not explicit as to, but Cillis teaches the method wherein the path emulation element is connected between virtual interfaces between the test traffic generator and the EDA emulator (see paragraphs 22-23, 37: virtual interfaces, emulation).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to configure path emulation as in Cillis when implementing the system of Sommers and Avci. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of managing path emulation in a known manner.
For Claims 6 and 15, Sommers as applied above Is not explicit as to, but Avci further teaches the method wherein the path emulation element is implemented using a network device (netdev), an emulated switch, or a filter connected between the virtual interfaces (see abstract, paragraphs 6-7, 44).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed implement the path as in Avci when implementing the system of Sommers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of managing path emulation in a known manner.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sommers (US 2022/0116303) and Avci et al. (US 2016/0057061) as applied to claims 1, 4, 11, and 14 above, and further in view of Shevade et al. (US 2020/0244556).
For Claims 7 and 17, the references as applied above are not explicit as to, but Shevade teaches the method wherein the path emulation element is located in a tunnel between the test traffic generator and the EDA emulator (see paragraph 82, Figure 14).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to manage path emulation as in Shevade when implementing the system of Sommers and Avci. One of ordinary skill would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of emulating a known type of path to test.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sommers (US 2022/0116303) and Avci et al. (US 2016/0057061) as applied to claims 1, 4, 11, and 14 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2015/0172185) and Sharma et al. (US 2013/0287033).
For Claims 8 and 18, the references as applied above are not explicit as to, but Zhang teaches the method wherein the path emulation element is configured to communicate emulator timing information from the EDA emulator to the test traffic generator (see paragraph 12).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to manage timing as in Zhang when implementing the testing as in Sommers. The motivation would be to dynamically test how timing affects the system.
The references as applied above are not explicit as to, but Sharma teaches the path emulation element is configured to propagate indications of backpressure (see paragraphs 27, 46).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to feedback backpressure indications as in Sharma when implementing the method of Sommers. The motivation would be to test how the system performs under varying loads.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dhanapal et al. (US 2014/0026123) teaches a system for testing using packet timing events.
/CASSANDRA L DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2466 6/9/2026
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466