DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-13 are pending for consideration following applicant’s amendment filed 1/07/2026.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/07/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fahrner et al. (US Patent Application 2016/0169411).
Regarding Claim 1, Fahrner discloses a heated valve assembly (as shown in Figure 3 especially) comprising: a valve housing (indicated generally at 36) the interior of which defines a flow passage (A) between a first end (at 48) and a second end (at 50); and a valve assembly (including poppet 38) located in the flow passage (as shown in Figure 3), the valve assembly comprising: a valve seat (the portion of the interior walls 44 having the heating element 58 thereon as shown in Figure 3) extending across the flow passage (as shown in Figure 3) and inside of the housing (the valve seat is formed by a flange extending inwardly from interior surfaces of the housing as shown in Figure 3 in the same manner as achieved by applicant’s device; see annotated Figure 3 below indicating the valve seat housing); and a moveable valve member 38 movable in the flow passage relative to the valve seat (para. 0019), wherein the moveable valve member 38 is movable between a closed position and an open position (para. 0019); wherein in the close position the moveable valve member 38 is sealing engaged with the valve seat (via seal 60) to prevent flow of fluid in the flow passage past the valve assembly (flow prevention achieved by the interaction of the seal 60 with the seat); wherein in the open position the moveable valve member 38 is moved out of sealing engagement with the valve seat (as shown in Figure 3); and wherein the valve seat comprises: a valve seat housing (i.e. the portion of walls 44 defining the valve seat in the same manner as achieved by applicant’s device as shown in the annotated Figure 3 below; additionally, this portion houses the extension of the poppet as shown in Figure 3 in the same manner as achieved by applicant’s device) of thermally conductive material (it is noted that all materials have at least some degree of thermal conductivity as perfect thermal insulators are not physically attainable and furthermore applicant’s specification as filed does not provide a special definition for “thermally conductive” and therefore this term must be given its broadest reasonable interpretation; additionally, Fahrner discloses in para. 0013 the use of aluminum, titanium, and stainless steel and it is known that these metals are considered thermally conductive materials); and one or more heater elements 58 incorporated within the valve seat housing (as shown in Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Fahrner further discloses the valve seat housing is a flange extending inwardly from the valve housing (the valve seat housing as described above is formed as an inwardly extending flange as shown in the annotated Figure 3 above in the same manner as achieved by applicant’s device).
Regarding Claim 3, Fahrner further discloses the valve seat housing is an annular housing defining an opening therethrough (annular housing defining an opening therethrough as shown in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Fahrner further discloses the one or more heater elements 58 are press-fit into the valve seat housing (as described with respect to heating element 22 in Figure 2; para. 0015).
Regarding Claim 5, Fahrner further discloses the one or more heater elements 58 are secured in the valve seat housing by adhesive (as described with respect to heating element 22 in Figure 2; para. 0015).
Regarding Claim 8, Fahrner further discloses the one or more heater elements 58 comprises one or more annular heater elements (“ring-shaped”; para. 0019).
Regarding Claim 9, Fahrner further discloses a conductor (lead wires 32) arranged for providing power to the one or more heater elements 58 (as described in para. 0016 with respect to heating element 22).
Regarding Claim 10, Fahrner further discloses the assembly forms a check valve (Fahrner discloses the assembly may include a check valve as described in para. 0013).
Regarding Claim 11, Fahrner is seen as further disclosing the check valve is a bypass check valve (it is noted that any check valve is capable of being used as a “bypass check valve” as any check valve is capable of being used in a fluid line parallel to another line; the limitation of a “bypass check valve” is not recited with any other structure which is being bypassed and therefore it is seen that the prior art must only be capable of functioning as a bypass check valve; alternatively, Fahrner discloses in para. 0014 that the check valve receives bleed air from an aircraft engine and therefore the check valve is seen to operate as a bypass check valve as it handles fluid which bypasses the downstream portion of the engine).
Regarding Claim 12, Fahrner further discloses the assembly forms a check valve (Fahrner discloses the assembly may include a check valve as described in para. 0013) capable of use with a vacuum toilet (the limitation of “for a vacuum toilet” is a recitation of intended use only and the device of Fahrner is capable of being used with a vacuum toilet).
Regarding Claim 13, Fahrner is seen as disclosing a vacuum toilet (it is noted that the phrase “A vacuum toilet” is recited in the preamble only and therefore is merely the name given to the claimed device and is not accorded patentable weight; i.e. the body of the claim does not require any vacuum toilet features or structure) comprising: a bypass check valve as claimed in claim 11 (as described with respect to claim 11 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (US Patent Application 2023/0101662) in view of Edmunds et al. (US Patent 4,091,837).
Regarding Claim 1, Huber discloses a heated valve assembly comprising: a valve housing 20 the interior of which defines a flow passage (along longitudinal axis L as shown in Figure 7) between a first end 21 and a second end 22 (as shown in Figure 8); and a valve assembly (including umbrella valve body 32) located in the flow passage (as shown in Figure 5), the valve assembly comprising: a valve seat 31 extending across the flow passage (best shown in Figures 11 and 12) and inside of the valve housing (the valve seat extends inside of the valve housing to surround the flow passage); and a moveable valve member 32 movable in the flow passage relative to the valve seat 31 (para. 0050), wherein the moveable valve member 32 is movable between a closed position and an open position (para. 0050); wherein in the close position the moveable valve member is sealing engaged with the valve seat 31 to prevent flow of fluid in the flow passage past the valve assembly (prestressed to the closed position); wherein in the open position the moveable valve member is moved out of sealing engagement with the valve seat (in response to a differential pressure; para. 0050); and wherein the valve seat 31 comprises: a valve seat housing 31 of thermally conductive material (it is noted that all materials have at least some degree of thermal conductivity as perfect thermal insulators are not physically attainable and furthermore applicant’s specification as filed does not provide a special definition for “thermally conductive” and therefore this term must be given its broadest reasonable interpretation); and one or more heater elements (para. 0047) to heat the device.
Huber does not disclose the one or more heater elements incorporated within the valve seat housing.
Edmunds teaches a heated check valve assembly and further teaches one or more heater elements incorporated within a valve seat housing 83 (col. 6, lines 2-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Huber to include heating elements within the valve seat housing as taught by Edmunds for the purpose of preventing ice formation at the location of the engagement of the valve head and seat.
Regarding Claim 2, Huber further discloses the valve seat housing is a flange extending inwardly from the valve housing (best shown in Figure 1, the valve seat housing 31 is a flange extending inwardly from the interior surface of the valve housing in the same manner as achieved by applicant’s device).
Regarding Claim 3, Huber is seen as further disclosing the valve seat housing 31 is an annular housing (as shown in Figure 1, 31 forms a ring or annular housing around a through passage) defining an opening therethrough (opening covered by the valve member 32).
Regarding Claim 6, Huber further discloses the moveable valve member 32 is an umbrella-shaped element (para. 0048).
Regarding Claim 7, Huber further discloses the umbrella shaped element 32 is a flexible element having a disk-shaped part and a stem extending therefrom (the flexible disk-shaped part and stem extending therefrom as best shown in Figures 5 and 11; Huber discloses the umbrella valve formed of silicone).
Regarding Claim 8, Huber in view of Edmunds further discloses the one or more heater elements (as taught by Edmunds, the heater elements within the valve seat 83 as shown in Figure 8) comprises one or more annular heater elements (as shown in Figure 8 of Edmunds, the heater element is provided with 3 rings and therefore is seen to be annular).
Regarding Claim 9, Huber in view of Edmunds further discloses a conductor arranged for providing power to the one or more heater elements (Edmunds teaches the heater element is an electric heater element and therefore necessarily includes a conductor for providing power to the heater element).
Regarding Claim 10, Huber further discloses the assembly forms a check valve (as described in para. 0050, the umbrella valve 32 is prestressed to a closed position and opens when the upstream pressure is greater than the downstream pressure by a predetermined threshold thereby forming a check valve).
Regarding Claim 11, Huber further discloses the check valve 32 is a bypass check valve (as shown in Figure 1, the umbrella check valve 32 provides a bypass flow relative to the flow through the second valve provided in parallel with the umbrella check valve).
Regarding Claim 12, Huber further discloses the assembly forms a check valve (the umbrella valve of Huber forms a check valve as described above) capable of use with a vacuum toilet (the limitation of “for a vacuum toilet” is a recitation of intended use only and the device of Huber is capable of being used with a vacuum toilet).
Regarding Claim 13, Huber is seen as disclosing a vacuum toilet (it is noted that the phrase “A vacuum toilet” is recited in the preamble only and therefore is merely the name given to the claimed device and is not accorded patentable weight; i.e. the body of the claim does not require any vacuum toilet features or structure) comprising: a bypass check valve as claimed in claim 11 (as described with respect to claim 11 above).
Claims 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (US Patent Application 2023/0101662) in view of Fahrner et al. (US Patent Application 2016/0169411).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 6, 7, and 10-13, Huber discloses all of the elements of these claims as described above except Huber does not disclose the one or more heater elements incorporated within the valve seat housing.
Fahrner teaches a heated check valve assembly and further teaches one or more heater elements (22 or 58) incorporated within a valve seat housing (Figures 2 or 3, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Huber to include heating elements within the valve seat housing as taught by Fahrner for the purpose of preventing ice formation at the location of the engagement of the valve head and seat.
Regarding Claim 4, Huber in view of Fahrner further discloses the one or more heater elements (22 or 58 as taught by Fahrner) are press-fit into the valve seat housing (as taught by Fahrner; para. 0015).
Regarding Claim 5, Huber in view of Fahrner further discloses the one or more heater elements (22 or 58 as taught by Fahrner) are secured in the valve seat housing by adhesive (as taught by Fahrner; para. 0015).
Regarding Claim 8, Huber in view of Fahrner further discloses the one or more heater elements (22 or 58 as taught by Fahrner) comprises one or more annular heater elements (“ring-shaped” as taught by Fahrner; para. 0019).
Regarding Claim 9, Huber in view of Fahrner further discloses a conductor (lead wires 32 as taught by Fahrner) arranged for providing power to the one or more heater elements (as taught by Fahrner in para. 0016).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant argues that Fahrner teaches a valve heater, however the valve heater is outside of the walls of the body 20 (para. 0047). These arguments are not persuasive because it appears that these arguments are directed to Huber (US Patent Application 2023/0101662) rather than Fahrner (US Patent Application 2016/0169411). That is, Fahrner does teach a valve heater 58 within a valve seat as best shown in Figure 3. Applicant further argues that Huber teaches a heater 22 sits below a poppet. First, it is noted that these arguments appear to pertain to Fahrner rather than Huber. Furthermore, applicant argues that the heater is formed of resistive material and is used to heat a gas, not to keep the metal portion warm. These arguments are not persuasive because although Fahrner may not specifically disclose the heater heating the valve seat, this feature is inherently achieved by the heater which is positioned directly on the valve seat. Additionally, it is noted that applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims because the claims do not specifically recite the heater heating the valve seat as argued.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN F MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753