DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding to the 35 U.S.C 112 rejection of claims 5, 12, and 13, the amendment has cured the basis of the 35 U.S.C 112 rejection. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C 112 rejection of claims 5, 12, and 13 is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-11, 13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kritzler (US 20190097896 A1) in view of Fallon (US 20160071319 A1).
As per claim 1, Kritzler teaches the claimed:
1. An arrangement, comprising
a system, including a plurality of electronic devices operationally interconnected and having a system configuration;
(Kritzler [0009]: “According to an embodiment the real-world object may be a computer rack where a first configuration of the computer rack is a placement of a plurality of computer components in the computer rack in a first specific order.”
Kritzler teaches the real-world object that can be a computer rack with a plurality of computer components, this corresponds to the system that is defined by a plurality of electronic devices that are operationally interconnected. Kritzler also teaches of a specific order these computer components must be in, which is the configuration of the system.)
Kritzler alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations.
However, Kritzler in combination with Fallon teaches the claimed:
a marker which is associated with the system, the marker being a unique digital system identifier for identifying the system; and
(Fallon [0009]: “In some embodiments, the processor is configured to identify the electronic device by extracting identification information from an image of a marker associated with the electronic device.”
Fallon [0024]: “determining unique identification information of the electronic device from the marker”)
a mobile device that includes
(Kritzler [0017]: “AR applications run on mobile devices.”)
a camera, configured to scan the marker associated with the system, said camera having a camera view,
(Kritzler [0017]: “Available mobile devices generally include at least one camera and a display. … Tracking requires the AR application to recognize the real-world object, which is to be augmented, in the camera view.”
Kritzler [0041]: “In an embodiment, markers may be used on one or more of the components. This would allow the AR application to identify each component in an object.”)
a display, and
(Kritzler [0017]: “Available mobile devices generally include at least one camera and a display.”)
a processor that is connectable to a memory storing characteristics of the system, the processor being configured to retrieve characteristics of the system from the memory, and the processing being connectable to the plurality of electronic devices,
(Fallon [0094]: “The computer system 1300 may include a processor 1302 connected to one or more memory devices”
Fallon [0068]: “may query an associated network and database or an internal database, use the unique ID to identify the device and its type”
Fallon [0071]: “is in communication with, searching a database for a device type matching that corresponding to the device identification number obtained”
Fallon [0019]: “The processor is configured to identify a specific electronic device from among the plurality of electronic devices”
Fallon teaches the system that includes a processor that is connected to memory devices, and the memory includes databases that are able to find and identify the device and its type, which will include all of its characteristics. Additionally, the processor incorporates the plurality of electronic devices, and therefore is connectable to them.)
wherein the mobile device is configured to display on said display an augmented and/or mixed reality (AR/MR) interface corresponding to one or more of the plurality of electronic devices of the system, along with information of the system and/or information of the one or more of the plurality of electronic devices, based on characteristics stored and retrieved from said memory and/or obtained from the connectable plurality of electronic devices.
(Kritzler [0008]: “In the AR application, associating the user input with the real-world object and superimposing in a viewable mobile device, augmented reality data over a depiction of the real-world object.”
Kritzler [0021]: “The mobile device 105 includes a camera or other imaging device, which may be directed toward the computer rack 101 to sense a digital image or representation of the computer rack 101.”
Kritzler [0025]: “Mobile device 203 provides user 201 with a representative view 207 of the 3D space 207. The representative view 207 includes a depiction 209 of real-world object 205.”
Kritzler [0031]: “… portions of the virtual overlay may act as buttons which initiate actions within the AR or MR application. These buttons can give access to digital information connected to the object.”
Kritzler [0032]: “For example, when user 201 clicks on the virtual object 401 corresponding to a component object “D”, the computer program may be adapted to generate or lookup from memory technical information relating to the virtual object “D” 401 selected by the user 201. Additional information may be displayed in an overlay panel 403.”
Kritzler teaches the mobile device that displays the depiction of the real-world object, which includes the configuration of the system and digital information, as stated in the passages above. This information was given by the “pre-processing” mentioned in the claimed limitation above for the structure and configuration of the system. In addition to that, the connectable computer components, also mentioned in the claim limitations above, gives digital information of the specific components in the computer rack system, as Kritzler describes.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the marker as taught by Fallon with the system of Kritzler in order to determine unique identification information of the electronic device or system.
As per claim 3, Kritzler teaches the claimed:
3. The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the marker is provided onto a rack, case, plate, or wall, or the marker is provided onto a separate card or token.
(Kritzler [0041]: “In an embodiment, markers may be used on one or more of the components. This would allow the AR application to identify each component in an object. The use of markers may provide the advantage of correctly identifying components.”
Kritzler indicates that the markers can be used on one or more of the components and is used to identify each component, this would indicate that a marker is provided onto the rack, which Kritzler uses as an example embodiment.)
As per claim 5, Kritzler and Fallon teach the claimed:
5. The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the memory is part of the mobile device.
(Fallon [0094]: “The computer system 1300 may include a processor 1302 connected to one or more memory devices”
Fallon [0008]: “The portable computing device comprises … a processor within the body.”
Since Fallon teaches the portable computing device that includes a processor within the body, and the memory is also connected to the processor, therefore, the memory is part of the portable computing device, which includes smartphones and mobile devices.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the memory for the mobile device as taught by Fallon with the system of Kritzler in order to operate the system more efficiently by having the memory part of the mobile device without having to use outside memory.
As per claim 7, Kritzler teaches the claimed:
7. The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the system is configured to have one or more additional electronic devices added thereto and/or have one or more of the plurality of electronic devices removed therefrom, and/or setting of the one or more of the plurality of electronic devices adapted, and thereby defining new characteristics of the system.
(Kritzler [0020]: “Multiple components may be arranged within a first cabinet or rack. However, a second cabinet rack may include more or fewer components, including additional components compared to the first cabinet or rack. Furthermore, the components contained in the second cabinet or rack may be arranged in a different order with respect to one another.”
Kritzler [0021]: “The mobile device 105 includes a camera or other imaging device, which may be directed toward the computer rack 101 to sense a digital image or representation of the computer rack 101. At a given point in time, user 103 may view an image or perceived view of computer rack 101 in a first view denoted (a), or may have viewed, computer rack 101 in a second, different configuration denoted (b).”
Kritzler [0022]: “… an AR application that was pre-processed or trained to recognize computer rack 101 in configuration (a), would not be able to recognize the computer rack 101 when it is in configuration (b), due to the elimination, addition and rearrangement of the objects contained in the computer rack 101.”
Kritzler teaches the different arrangements and configurations of the computer racks, and how there are different views, indicating new characteristics of the system. Kritzler gives an example of how a pre-processed application trained to recognize a first configuration would not be able to recognize a second configuration, thus giving more evidence of new characteristics to the system.)
As per claim 15, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 7, and thus is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 8, Kritzler teaches the claimed:
8. The arrangement according to claim 7, wherein said new characteristics of the system are stored in the memory.
(Kritzler [0017]: “To recognize real-world objects, the AR application must have some prior knowledge about the real-world object. Pre-processing involves the recording of point clouds or manipulation of 3D computer aided design (CAD) files associated with a given real-world object. Vision algorithms may take the processed information relating to the real-world object and be applied to a sensed environment or state representation to identify a real-world object contained in the image/scene.”
Kritzker [0022]: “As discussed above, an AR application that was pre-processed or trained to recognize computer rack 101 in configuration (a), would not be able to recognize the computer rack 101 when it is in configuration (b), due to the elimination, addition and rearrangement of the objects contained in the computer rack 101.”
Kritzler teaches that the AR application receives and recognizes the characteristics of a specific computer rack and not another, thus indicating that it is able to retrieve characteristics of the system from a memory. Additionally, Kritzler mentions two different configurations (a and b), this can correspond to the ‘old’ and ‘new’ characteristics of the system, thus the new characteristics are stored in memory after processing the information.)
As per claim 9, Kritzler teaches the claimed:
9. The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the mobile device is configured to display specifications, technical data, status and/or health data of one or more of the plurality of electronic devices.
(Kritzler [0031]: “… the virtual overlay, comprising the virtual outline 215 and the components selected from the possible component objects 301, portions of the virtual overlay may act as buttons which initiate actions within the AR or MR application. These buttons can give access to digital information connected to the object.”
Kritzler [0032]: “For example, when user 201 clicks on the virtual object 401 corresponding to a component object “D”, the computer program may be adapted to generate or lookup from memory technical information relating to the virtual object “D” 401 selected by the user 201. Additional information may be displayed in an overlay panel 403.”)
As per claim 10, Kritzler teaches the claimed:
10. The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the processor is adapted to trigger displaying, on the display, of the AR/MR interface for one or more of the plurality of electronic devices of the system, whenever said one or more of the plurality of electronic devices is displayed on the display of the mobile device.
(Kritzler [0021]: “The mobile device 105 includes a camera or other imaging device, which may be directed toward the computer rack 101 to sense a digital image or representation of the computer rack 101. At a given point in time, user 103 may view an image or perceived view of computer rack 101”
Kritzler [0025]: “Mobile device 203 provides user 201 with a representative view 207 of the 3D space 207. The representative view 207 includes a depiction 209 of real-world object 205. Depiction 209 is representative of what user 201 views through mobile device 203. Depiction 209 includes objects in view of the user, as well as any additional information in overlays or audio outputs provided by the AR application. Depiction 209 may display a capture or stream of environment captures sensed by the mobile device, such as a tablet computer, or may be a real-time view of the user's surroundings in the case of a mobile device embodied as a wearable device.”
Kritzler teaches the mobile device that provides the user with a representative view that is representative of the computer rack when it is directed toward the real-world object. Kritzler states that the mobile device can sense the real-world object and its surroundings, which then provides display on the AR interface with any additional in overlays or audio outputs.)
As per claim 11, Kritzler teaches the claimed:
11. The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein a layout of the AR/MR interface is adaptable such that corresponding information being displayed is movable on the display of the mobile device.
(Kritzler [0030]: “Referring now to FIG. 3, the representative view 207 seen by user 201 is updated to display a list of possible component objects 301. The list of possible component objects 301 contains representations of component objects that may be associated with the real-world object 205. Using the list of possible component objects 301, the user 201 builds a desired configuration for a specific real-world object 205. The interface displayed in the representative view 207 displays all the components available to real-world object 205 in a panel corresponding to the list of possible component objects 301. The user 201 may manipulate the cursor 211 to drag and drop 303 a component in the list 301 to one or more positions within the virtual outline 215.”)
As per claim 13, Kritzler teaches the claimed:
13. A method of using the arrangement according to claim 1, for providing support, in particular for troubleshooting and/or problem solving operations, related to one or more of the plurality of electronic devices, and/or the interconnection or interoperability between the plurality of electronic devices.
(Kritzler [0023]: “The user may build a customized virtual overlay for real-world objects at run time using spatial properties of the user's environment. In this way, the system may adapt to changing configurations. The described systems may be used for servicing, maintaining, managing inventory or repairing technical equipment, by way of non-limiting example.”)
As per claim 14, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 1 and 13, and thus is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 16, Kritzler and Fallon teach the claimed:
16. The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the memory is a separate device or a separate system of the arrangement.
(Fallon [0094]: “The computer system 1300 may include a processor 1302 connected to one or more memory devices 1304, such as a disk drive, solid state memory, or other device for storing data.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the memory as taught by Fallon with the system of Kritzler in order to offload memory intensive tasks to the separate memory device to improve overall system responsiveness.
As per claim 17, Kritzler and Fallon teach the claimed:
17. The arrangement according to claim 16, wherein the mobile device is configured to communicate with the memory over the cloud.
(Fallon [0094]: “a portable electronic device 405, SDM engine 1005, or cloud based device 1010 hosting a SDM engine may include a computerized control system. … The computer system 1300 may include a processor 1302 connected to one or more memory devices”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cloud system as taught by Fallon with the system of Kritzler in order to handle large volumes of data and provide flexibility whenever memory sizes change.
As per claim 18, Kritzler and Fallon teach the claimed:
18. The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the mobile device is configured to display on said display an augmented and/or mixed reality (AR/MR) interface corresponding to one or more of the plurality of electronic devices of the system with information of the system based on said characteristics stored and retrieved from said memory.
(Fallon [0068]: “The smartphone may query an associated network and database or an internal database, use the unique ID to identify the device and its type, and establish a connection with the device, either directly or through the associated network. Based on the device type, the corresponding elements of the device HMI are prepared and presented on the user's smartphone superimposed over or replacing an image of the device.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the mobile device as taught by Fallon with the system of Kritzler in order to display the on the device, elements of the electronic device that is stored in a memory database uniquely identified to it.
As per claim 19, Kritzler teaches the claimed:
19. The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the mobile device is configured to display on said display an augmented and/or mixed reality (AR/MR) interface corresponding to one or more of the plurality of electronic devices of the system with information of the system based on said characteristics obtained from the connectable plurality of electronic devices.
(Kritzler [0004]: “A system for enabling an augmented reality (AR) application includes a computer processor; a mobile device in communication with the computer processor; an environment sensing device in communication with the mobile device, and a memory in communication with the computer processor. The memory stores instructions executable on a computer processor and cause the computer processor to receive an input from a user indicative of a spatial property of a real-world object, track the real-world object with the AR application based on the user input, and display a visual overlay on an object in the user's field of view sensed by the environment sensing device containing the real-world object.”
Kritzler [0005]: “the real-world object may be a computer rack and a first configuration of the computer rack is a placement of a plurality of computer components in the computer rack in a first specific order.”)
As per claim 20, Kritzler and Fallon teach the claimed:
20. The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the characteristics stored and retrieved from said memory includes status information of the one or more of the plurality of electronic devices generated by scanning the marker.
(Fallon [0085]: “by scanning the various QR codes to identify a particular device, obtain status information for a device”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the memory as taught by Fallon with the system of Kritzler in order to receive and communicate in real time information regarding the device.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kritzler in view of Fallon in further view of Barros (US 10692289 B2).
As per claim 2, Kritzler and Fallon alone do not explicitly teach the claimed limitations.
However, Kritzler and Fallon in combination with Barros teaches the claimed:
2. The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the system is configured to use a physical position of the marker to localize the plurality of electronic devices of the system.
(Barros (col 6, line 48-52): “In some implementations, the marker 106A can be considered as an anchor marker. The RDF 122 can define the relative position of the marker 106B based on the detected position of the marker 106A”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the marker as taught by Barros with the system of Kritzler in order to determine the positions and locations of the objects based on the markers.
As per claim 4, Kritzler and Fallon alone do not explicitly teach the claimed limitations.
However, Kritzler and Fallon in combination with Barros teaches the claimed:
4. The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the marker is a QR-code, NFC tag, or RFID tag, or asset tag.
(Barros (col 6, line 64-col 7, line 1): “The markers 106A-D are recognizable by the sensor(s) on the device 110 so that they can be captured accordingly. One or more suitable forms of marker can be used. In some implementations, a code can be used. A code can be a digital code. For example, the marker can include a QR code”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the QR code as a marker as taught by Barros with the system of Kritzler in order to determine the positions and locations of specific components and provide this information instantly to users.
As per claim 14, the reasons and rationale for the rejection of claim 1 and 13 are incorporated herein. In particular, only additional features unique to claim 14 that were not present in claim 1 and 13 will be explicitly addressed here.
As per claim 14, Kritzler alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations.
However, Kritzler in combination with Barros teaches the claimed: (strikethrough taught in claims 1 and 13)
14.
retrieving characteristics of the system and/or one or more of the plurality of electronic devices from the memory, based on a signal generated by scanning the marker;
(Barros (col 8, line 34-38): “The signals from the sensor(s) 218 can be interpreted by one or more image analyzers 220. For example, the image analyzer 220 can read a visual symbol that includes a QR code and inform the AR system 214 about the information encoded in the symbol.”)
generating an augmented and/or mixed reality (AR/MR) interface corresponding to the system, based on said retrieved information; and
(Barros (col 9, line 25-29): “As such, the AR system can … recognize the location 118C as being the location where the marker 106C was originally captured, and can present the virtual object 222 in the AR environment 204 based on this recognition.”)
displaying on the display of the mobile device an image of the one or more of the plurality of electronic device of the system and part of the AR/MR interface corresponding to said one or more of the plurality of electronic devices when directing the camera of the mobile device towards one or more of the plurality of electronic devices of the system.
(Kritzler [0021]: “The mobile device 105 includes a camera or other imaging device, which may be directed toward the computer rack 101 to sense a digital image or representation of the computer rack 101.”
Kritzler [0025-0026]: “User 201 is in a 3D space (e.g. a room) containing a real-world object 205. By way of example, real-world object 205 may be a computer rack housing a number of varying computer-related components. Mobile device 203 provides user 201 with a representative view 207 of the 3D space 207. … The representative view 207 provides an interface between a computer processor and the user 201. Thus, the display of objects within the representative view 207 may be controlled by a computer processor within mobile device 203 or otherwise in communication with mobile device 203. Accordingly, an AR and/or MR application running on a computer processor may be in communication with the representative view 207.
Additionally, FIG. 2 shows an example of a user looking at a real-world object, in this case a computer rack, through the mobile device, and the device provides a representative view of the computer rack that includes AR/MR overlays.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the markers as taught by Barros with the system of Kritzler in order to generate an AR/MR interface specifically for the component with a marker that is specific to all of the information pertaining to the component.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kritzler in view of Fallon in further view of Salter (US 9501873 B2).
As per claim 6, Kritzler and Fallon alone do not explicitly teach the claimed limitations.
However, Kritzler and Fallon in combination with Salter teaches the claimed:
6. The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of electronic devices is not located in the camera view.
(Salter (col 4, line 16-25): “Storage subsystem 324 comprises instructions stored thereon that are executable by logic subsystem 322, for example, to receive and interpret inputs from the sensors, to identify location and movements of a user, to identify real objects in an augmented reality field of view and present augmented reality imagery therefore, to detect objects located outside a field of view of the user, and to present indications of positional information associated with objects located outside the field of view of the user, among other tasks.”
Salter teaches the display system that presents augmented reality imagery of what the user view, in addition to that, it is able to detect and present indications of objects and other components that are not within the view of the user.
Furthermore, as Kritzler [0041] teaches, scanning a marker that is only a part of the component also indicates that at least one of the plurality of electronic devices is not located in the camera view.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the AR system configured to provide info of objects outside of a user’s view as taught by Salter with the system of Kritzler in order to provide an AR/MR system that can assist a user in interacting with complex systems even when not all of the components are visible, which improves spatial awareness and efficiency.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kritzler in view of Fallon in further view of Wright (US 11417091 B2).
As per claim 12, Kritzler and Fallon alone do not explicitly teach the claimed limitations.
However, Kritzler and Fallon in combination with Wright teaches the claimed:
12. The arrangement according to claim 1, further comprising means for requesting remote support and/or assistance, wherein said means for requesting remote assistance is part of the mobile device, or of another computing device at least connectable to the mobile device, such that the another computing device is able to share a camera view of the mobile device including the AR/MR interface applied thereon.
(Wright (col 11, line 52-57): “Aspects of this disclosure may be performed using a number of different electronic devices. One such electronic device that can be used by a local user for a shared augmented reality session is a shared augmented reality device that can be embodied in the form of a “virtual looking glass”.”
Wright (col 12, line 7 - 14): “the device 800 may be configured to trigger a remote assistance session with a helper … The remote helper may be able to see through the camera 810, provide instructions using his/her voice and draw augmented reality annotations that appear to stick to objects within the local user's environment when looking at the objects through the “virtual looking glass” 800.”
Wright (col 12, line 22-23): “Remote help sessions can be run on an existing mobile devices”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the remote assistance as taught by Wright with the system of Kritzler in order to provide more assistance with real time guidance to enhance operational efficiency and reduce downtime.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA JUNGWOOK SUO/Examiner, Art Unit 2616
/DANIEL F HAJNIK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2616