DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “the queue statistics report” in line 1. It is unclear whether it is referring to a) “the first queue statistics report” or b) “the second queue statistics report”. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2023/0319886 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method for managing network traffic within a coordination group (CG) [see paragraphs [0096]- [0098], [0104]-[0115], [0118]-[0122], [0123]-[0144], [0146]-[0156], [0157]-[0161], [0162]-[0180], [0182]-[0189] and Fig. 6, [0195]-[0209] and Fig. 8, [0210]-[0232] and Fig. 9, [0244]-[0251] and Fig. 14; a method for coordinated multi-AP (MAP) sounding procedures using shared TXOP], comprising:
receiving, by a follower network device in the CG, a reporting criterion from a leader network device in the CG [see paragraphs [0163]-[0180]; see paragraphs [0199]-[0209] and Fig. 8; also see paragraphs [0216]-[0221] and Fig. 10; receiving, by a shared AP (a follower network device) in the coordinated multi-AP, a frame to request the coordinated multi-AP related information (SINR/SNR/Pathloss measurement between each pair of AP-STA, spatial reuse (SR) table which indicate the potential SR APs allowed by a STA, and MCS table which indicate the potential allowed MCS when a pattern of APs are transmitting with certain powers) from a sharing AP (a leader network device) in the coordinated multi-AP];
sending, by the follower network device, a first queue statistics report to the leader network device [see paragraphs [0163]-[0180]; see paragraphs [0199]-[0209] and Fig. 8; also see paragraphs [0222]-[0227] and Fig. 10; sending, by the shared AP, a SR table report, a full SNR/Pathloss/RSSI measurement report, and an MCS report to the sharing AP];
monitoring, by the follower network device, at least one of one or more channel conditions of a wireless network within the CG or one or more queue depth (QDepth) progresses related to the follower network device [see paragraph [0202]; monitoring, by the shared AP, the SINR, pathloss, RSSI or other type of channel quality measurements];
detecting, by the follower network device, a deviation from the reporting criterion based on the monitoring [see paragraphs [0202], [0228]; detecting, by the shared AP, a transmit power deviation based on the monitoring]; and
sending, by the follower network device, a second queue statistics report to the leader network device [see paragraph [0230]-[0231]; the shared AP may report, to the sharing AP, an outer loop rate control information for reported STAs if the reported STAs are experiencing different fading channels].
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses wherein the reporting criterion comprises a channel coherence time (Tc), comprising: a set of values that define thresholds for the one or more channel conditions, and an expiration time indicating when the set of values should be reassessed or when the Tc expires [see para. 118-122, 195-209, 214-232; a predetermined minimum required MCS (PMRM) level; Table 6: SR table report for a given PMRM; A value 1 may indicate that the STA may allow the AP to transmit when it may receive its desired AP; Table 7: SNR/Pathloss/RSSI measurement report; Each entry in Table 7 may indicate the SNR/Pathloss/RSSI between the pair of AP-STA. A value 0 may be used to indicate the link quality between the pair is below a predefined threshold; Table 8: MCS report; MCS_1,1=x corresponds to a SNR threshold SNR_x and MCS_2,1=SNR_y; MCS_K,1=x may correspond to a SNR threshold SNR_x,1 for STA 2-1, but MCS_K,N=x may correspond to a different SNR threshold SNR_x, N, for STA 2-N].
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses wherein detecting the deviation comprises at least one of: detecting changes in the one or more channel conditions exceeding the thresholds defined in the Tc, or detecting the expiration time being reached [see para. 104-115, 118-122, 199-209, 224-246; The sharing AP may use this information, to further derive what would be a suitable MCS under a specific AP TX pattern if the transmitting APs' power are deviated from the know power; the shared AP may report an outer loop rate control information for reported STAs if the reported STAs are experiencing different fading channels].
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses subsequent to detecting the deviation, collecting queue status data from one or more client devices, each associated with the follower network device, wherein the queue status data are included within the second queue statistics report [see para. 118-122, 123-144, 199-209, 210-232; the shared AP may report an outer loop rate control information for reported STAs if the reported STAs are experiencing different fading channels. For example, MCS_K,1=x may correspond to a SNR threshold SNR_x,1 for STA 2-1, but MCS_K,N=x may correspond to a different SNR threshold SNR_x, N, for STA 2-N. The SNR threshold SNR_{MCS}_{STA id}, or values represent the mapping may be reported].
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses wherein the reporting criterion comprises a QDepth threshold [see para. 118-122, 123-144, 195-209, 210-232; a predetermined minimum required MCS (PMRM) level, minimum TX duration or number of PPDUs, a SNR threshold].
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses wherein detecting the deviation comprises detecting at least one of the one or more QDepth progresses exceeding the QDepth threshold [see para. 118-122, 123-144, 195-209, 210-238; detecting the SINR exceeding the predetermined minimum required SNR].
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses wherein the first queue statistics report comprises a sequence number of a packet, and wherein the packet is a first packet in a queue at a time of generating the first queue statistics report, and is awaiting to be transmitted by a client device to the follower network device [see para. 118-122, 146-156, 195-209, 210-232; minimum number of PPDU, and wherein the PPDU is a first packet in a queue at a time of generating the SR table report/the full SNR/Pathloss/RSSI measurement report/the MCS report, and is awaiting to be transmitted by a STA to the shared AP].
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses wherein the first queue statistics report comprises a timestamp of a packet, and wherein the packet is a first packet in a queue at a time of generating the first queue statistics report, and is awaiting to be transmitted by a client device to the follower network device [see para. 104-115, 118-122, 123-144, 146-156, 157-161, 162-180, 182-189, 199-209, 210-232, 244-251; minimum TX duration of a PPDU, and wherein the PPDU is a first packet in a queue at a time of generating the SR table report/the full SNR/Pathloss/RSSI measurement report/the MCS report, and is awaiting to be transmitted by a STA to the shared AP].
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses wherein the follower network device comprises an access point (AP), and the leader network device comprises at least one of an AP, a router, or a wireless controller (WLC) [see para. 118-122, 123-144, 199-209, 210-232; a coordinating/sharing/master AP (leader network device), and a coordinated/shared/member/participating/secondary/slave AP (follower network device)].
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses wherein the one or more channel conditions comprise at least one of signal strength, noise level, interference pattern, channel utilization, and bit rate [see para. 118-122, 123-144, 199-209, 210-232; SNR/Pathloss/RSSI, PMRM level].
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses wherein the queue statistics report comprises at least one of current queue statuses, traffic load data related to devices associated with the follower network device, or changes in the one or more channel conditions [see para. 118-122, 123-144, 199-209, 210-232; fading channels, channel availability].
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses wherein the leader network device adjusts resource allocations within the CG based on the second queue statistic report [see para. 118-122, 195-209, 214-232; adjusts resource allocations within the coordinated multi-AP based on the second queue statistic report].
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses wherein the first and second queue statistics reports are sent by the follower network device out of a scheduled transmission opportunity (TXOP) [see para. 118-122, 195-209, 214-232; the SR table report, the full SNR/Pathloss/RSSI measurement report, the MCS report, and the outer loop rate control information report are sent by the shared AP out of a scheduled TXOP].
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses a system of a follower network device within a coordination group (CG) [see paragraphs [0096]- [0098], [0104]-[0115], [0118]-[0122], [0123]-[0144], [0146]-[0156], [0157]-[0161], [0162]-[0180], [0182]-[0189] and Fig. 6, [0195]-[0209] and Fig. 8, [0210]-[0232] and Fig. 9, [0244]-[0251] and Fig. 14, claim 11; a shared AP within a coordinated multi-AP], comprising:
one or more computer processors; and one or more memories collectively containing one or more programs, which, when executed by the one or more computer processors, perform operations [see para. 277, claim 11; a processor and a memory containing one or more programs, which, when executed by the processor, perform operations], the operations comprising:
receiving a reporting criterion from a leader network device in the CG [see paragraphs [0163]-[0180]; see paragraphs [0199]-[0209] and Fig. 8; also see paragraphs [0216]-[0221] and Fig. 10; receiving a frame to request the coordinated multi-AP related information (SINR/SNR/Pathloss measurement between each pair of AP-STA, spatial reuse (SR) table which indicate the potential SR APs allowed by a STA, and MCS table which indicate the potential allowed MCS when a pattern of APs are transmitting with certain powers) from a sharing AP (a leader network device) in the coordinated multi-AP];
sending a first queue statistics report to the leader network device [see paragraphs [0163]-[0180]; see paragraphs [0199]-[0209] and Fig. 8; also see paragraphs [0222]-[0227] and Fig. 10; sending a SR table report, a full SNR/Pathloss/RSSI measurement report, and an MCS report to the sharing AP];
monitoring at least one of one or more channel conditions of a wireless network within the CG or one or more queue depth (QDepth) progresses related to the follower network device [see paragraph [0202]; monitoring the SINR, pathloss, RSSI or other type of channel quality measurements];
detecting a deviation from the reporting criterion based on the monitoring [see paragraphs [0202], [0228]; detecting a transmit power deviation based on the monitoring]; and
sending a second queue statistics report to the leader network device [see paragraph [0230]-[0231]; the shared AP may report, to the sharing AP, an outer loop rate control information for reported STAs if the reported STAs are experiencing different fading channels].
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses wherein the reporting criterion comprises a channel coherence time (Tc), comprising: a set of values that define thresholds for the one or more channel conditions, and an expiration time indicating when the set of values should be reassessed or when the Tc expires [see para. 118-122, 195-209, 214-232; a predetermined minimum required MCS (PMRM) level; Table 6: SR table report for a given PMRM; A value 1 may indicate that the STA may allow the AP to transmit when it may receive its desired AP; Table 7: SNR/Pathloss/RSSI measurement report; Each entry in Table 7 may indicate the SNR/Pathloss/RSSI between the pair of AP-STA. A value 0 may be used to indicate the link quality between the pair is below a predefined threshold; Table 8: MCS report; MCS_1,1=x corresponds to a SNR threshold SNR_x and MCS_2,1=SNR_y; MCS_K,1=x may correspond to a SNR threshold SNR_x,1 for STA 2-1, but MCS_K,N=x may correspond to a different SNR threshold SNR_x, N, for STA 2-N].
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses wherein, to detect the deviation, the one or more programs, which, when executed by the one or more computer processors, perform the operations comprising: detecting changes in the one or more channel conditions exceeding the thresholds defined in the Tc, or detecting the expiration time being reached [see para. 104-115, 118-122, 199-209, 224-246; The sharing AP may use this information, to further derive what would be a suitable MCS under a specific AP TX pattern if the transmitting APs' power are deviated from the know power; the shared AP may report an outer loop rate control information for reported STAs if the reported STAs are experiencing different fading channels].
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses wherein the reporting criterion comprises a QDepth threshold [see para. 118-122, 123-144, 195-209, 210-232; a predetermined minimum required MCS (PMRM) level, minimum TX duration or number of PPDUs, a SNR threshold], and wherein, to detect the deviation, the one or more programs, which, when executed by the one or more computer processors, perform the operations comprising detecting at least one or more QDepth progresses within the follower network device exceeding the QDepth threshold [see para. 118-122, 123-144, 195-209, 210-238; detecting the SINR exceeding the predetermined minimum required SNR].
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media containing, in any combination, computer program code that, when executed by operation of a computer system [see para. 277, claim 11; a computer-readable medium containing computer program code that, when executed by a processor], performs operations comprising:
receiving, by a follower network device in a coordination group (CG), a reporting criterion from a leader network device in the CG [see paragraphs [0163]-[0180]; see paragraphs [0199]-[0209] and Fig. 8; also see paragraphs [0216]-[0221] and Fig. 10; receiving, by a shared AP (a follower network device) in the coordinated multi-AP, a frame to request the coordinated multi-AP related information (SINR/SNR/Pathloss measurement between each pair of AP-STA, spatial reuse (SR) table which indicate the potential SR APs allowed by a STA, and MCS table which indicate the potential allowed MCS when a pattern of APs are transmitting with certain powers) from a sharing AP (a leader network device) in the coordinated multi-AP];
sending, by the follower network device, a first queue statistics report to the leader network device [see paragraphs [0163]-[0180]; see paragraphs [0199]-[0209] and Fig. 8; also see paragraphs [0222]-[0227] and Fig. 10; sending, by the shared AP, a SR table report, a full SNR/Pathloss/RSSI measurement report, and an MCS report to the sharing AP];
monitoring, by the follower network device, at least one of one or more channel conditions of a wireless network within the CG or one or more queue depth (QDepth) progresses related to the follower network device [see paragraph [0202]; monitoring, by the shared AP, the SINR, pathloss, RSSI or other type of channel quality measurements];
detecting, by the follower network device, a deviation from the reporting criterion based on the monitoring [see paragraphs [0202], [0228]; detecting, by the shared AP, a transmit power deviation based on the monitoring]; and
sending, by the follower network device, a second queue statistics report to the leader network device [paragraph [0230]-[0231]; the shared AP may report, to the sharing AP, an outer loop rate control information for reported STAs if the reported STAs are experiencing different fading channels].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu et al. (US 2022/0167265 A1), see Fig. 5-6, para. 7-8, 25-39, discloses dynamic AP selection by a coordinator in a coordinated AP group.
/BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469