DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong, US 20190373652 in view of Desai, US 20170290034.
For claim 1. Hong teaches: A method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 159-169)
receiving resource reservation information that indicates a group of resources; (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 167-169, “Specifically, a processor of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE processor) may control an RF unit of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE RF unit) to receive configuration information regarding a plurality of transmission (Tx) resource pools for sidelink communication and a plurality of reception (Rx) resource pools for sidelink communication among radio resources on a cell (e.g., a carrier) to be used for sidelink.”)
determining subresources, from the group of resources, for the WTRU to use for transmitting data, wherein the determining subresources is based on an identification (ID) that is assigned to the WTRU; (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 167-169, “The UE processor may determine a part (a Tx resource group) among the plural Tx resource pools and a part (an Rx resource group) among the plural Rx resource pools, based on the configuration information, the first UE ID, or the second UE ID. The UE processor may control the UE RF unit to perform sidelink transmission to the second UE using a Tx resource pool belonging to the Tx resource group. The UE processor may control the UE RF unit to perform sidelink reception from the second UE using an Rx resource pool belonging to the plural Rx resource groups.”)
Hong doesn’t teach: determining a distance, wherein the distance is determined based on a geographical area that a second WTRU is located in; and transmitting the data on the determined subresources on a condition that the determined distance is less than a transmission range value.
Desai from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: determining a distance, wherein the distance is determined based on a geographical area that a second WTRU is located in; and transmitting the data on the determined subresources on a condition that the determined distance is less than a transmission range value. (Desai, fig 13, paragraph 110, “At block 1304, the UE autonomously detects when the recipient is in range of the UE, selects resources to transmit the data to the recipient, and transmits the data to the recipient on the selected resources, after which, the method 1300 may end.”; paragraph 32, “In other embodiments, whether the intermediary mobile wireless device is sufficiently proximate to the recipient is determined according to the geo-location of the intermediary mobile wireless device and/or the recipient. The determination of what constitutes proximity may be determined autonomously by the intermediary mobile wireless device or by the TP.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Desai into Hong, since Hong suggests a technique for communicating data from UE to a recipient, and Desai suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique determining whether the UE is sufficiently proximate to the recipient according to the geo-location of the UE and/or the recipient and performing such communicating when the recipient is within range of the UE to improve reliability of communication (Desai, paragraph 39) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 2. Hong and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Hong further teaches: wherein the ID assigned to the WTRU is a group member ID. (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 167-169, “The UE processor may determine a part (a Tx resource group) among the plural Tx resource pools and a part (an Rx resource group) among the plural Rx resource pools, based on the configuration information, the first UE ID, or the second UE ID”; paragraph 141-142, “To select a part of Tx pools, the remote UE may perform a modulo operation based on a source or destination layer-2 ID. Based on the derived modulo value, the remote UE may select a group of Tx pool(s) having a group ID or a group index matching the derived modulo value.”)
For claim 3. Hong and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Hong further teaches: wherein the resource reservation information is a sidelink control information (SCI). (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 167-169, “Specifically, a processor of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE processor) may control an RF unit of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE RF unit) to receive configuration information regarding a plurality of transmission (Tx) resource pools for sidelink communication and a plurality of reception (Rx) resource pools for sidelink communication among radio resources on a cell (e.g., a carrier) to be used for sidelink.”; paragraph 19-20, “In each aspect of the present invention, when the first UE is a remote UE and the second UE is a relay UE, the configuration information may be received from the second UE. In each aspect of the present invention, when the first UE is a relay UE and the second UE is a remote UE, the first UE may receive the configuration information from a base station (BS) and transmit the configuration information to the second UE.”)
For claim 4. Hong and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Hong further teaches: wherein the resource reservation information is received over a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 167-169, “Specifically, a processor of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE processor) may control an RF unit of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE RF unit) to receive configuration information regarding a plurality of transmission (Tx) resource pools for sidelink communication and a plurality of reception (Rx) resource pools for sidelink communication among radio resources on a cell (e.g., a carrier) to be used for sidelink.”; paragraph 19-20, “In each aspect of the present invention, when the first UE is a remote UE and the second UE is a relay UE, the configuration information may be received from the second UE.”; paragraph 124, “As an example, a Tx UE, which is participating in sidelink communication, transmits a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) on a time-frequency resource corresponding to an arbitrary Tx pool among the common Tx pools and an Rx UE attempts to receive the PSCCH and a physical sidelink shared channel that carries corresponding data on a time-frequency resource of each of the common Rx pools (see Section 9 of 3GPP TS 36.211 and Section 14 of 3GPP TS 36.213)”)
For claim 5. Hong and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Hong further teaches: wherein the resource reservation information comprises resources for a plurality of WTRUs. (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 167-169, “Specifically, a processor of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE processor) may control an RF unit of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE RF unit) to receive configuration information regarding a plurality of transmission (Tx) resource pools for sidelink communication and a plurality of reception (Rx) resource pools for sidelink communication among radio resources on a cell (e.g., a carrier) to be used for sidelink. The UE processor may determine a part (a Tx resource group) among the plural Tx resource pools and a part (an Rx resource group) among the plural Rx resource pools, based on the configuration information, the first UE ID, or the second UE ID. The UE processor may control the UE RF unit to perform sidelink transmission to the second UE using a Tx resource pool belonging to the Tx resource group. The UE processor may control the UE RF unit to perform sidelink reception from the second UE using an Rx resource pool belonging to the plural Rx resource groups.”)
For claim 6. Hong and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Hong doesn’t teach: wherein the geographical area that the second WTRU is located in is received in the resource reservation information.
Desai from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the geographical area that the second WTRU is located in is received in the resource reservation information. (Desai, fig 13, paragraph 110, “At block 1304, the UE autonomously detects when the recipient is in range of the UE, selects resources to transmit the data to the recipient, and transmits the data to the recipient on the selected resources, after which, the method 1300 may end.”; paragraph 32, “In other embodiments, whether the intermediary mobile wireless device is sufficiently proximate to the recipient is determined according to the geo-location of the intermediary mobile wireless device and/or the recipient. The determination of what constitutes proximity may be determined autonomously by the intermediary mobile wireless device or by the TP.”; paragraph 133-134, “The second control data provides second scheduling information to the second mobile wireless device for the retransmission of the one or more of the plurality of content data packets to the end device. The second scheduling information includes time and frequency resources for retransmission by the second mobile wireless device of the one or more of the plurality of content data packets to the end device when the mobile wireless device is within a fourth proximity of the end device. In various embodiments, the control data instructs the mobile wireless device to autonomously determine when to retransmit the one or more of the plurality of content data packets to the end device… In various embodiments, the control data instructs the mobile wireless device to retransmit the one or more of the plurality of content data packets according to when the mobile wireless device is in a TP specified geo-location.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Desai into Hong, since Hong suggests a technique for communicating data from UE to a recipient, and Desai suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique determining whether the UE is sufficiently proximate to the recipient according to the geo-location of the UE and geo-location of the recipient which is included in a scheduling resources control information and performing such communicating when the recipient is within range of the UE to improve reliability of communication (Desai, paragraph 39) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 7. Hong and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Hong doesn’t teach: wherein the transmission range value is received in the resource reservation information.
Desai from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the transmission range value is received in the resource reservation information. (Desai, fig 13, paragraph 110, “At block 1304, the UE autonomously detects when the recipient is in range of the UE, selects resources to transmit the data to the recipient, and transmits the data to the recipient on the selected resources, after which, the method 1300 may end.”; paragraph 32, “In other embodiments, whether the intermediary mobile wireless device is sufficiently proximate to the recipient is determined according to the geo-location of the intermediary mobile wireless device and/or the recipient. The determination of what constitutes proximity may be determined autonomously by the intermediary mobile wireless device or by the TP.”; paragraph 133-134, “The second control data provides second scheduling information to the second mobile wireless device for the retransmission of the one or more of the plurality of content data packets to the end device. The second scheduling information includes time and frequency resources for retransmission by the second mobile wireless device of the one or more of the plurality of content data packets to the end device when the mobile wireless device is within a fourth proximity of the end device. In various embodiments, the control data instructs the mobile wireless device to autonomously determine when to retransmit the one or more of the plurality of content data packets to the end device.”; scheduling information clearly includes proximity (range) information since “The second scheduling information includes time and frequency resources for retransmission by the second mobile wireless device of the one or more of the plurality of content data packets to the end device when the mobile wireless device is within a fourth proximity of the end device.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Desai into Hong, since Hong suggests a technique for communicating data from UE to a recipient, and Desai suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique determining whether the UE is sufficiently proximate to the recipient based on proximity (range) information received in a resource scheduling information and according to the geo-location of the UE and/or geo-location of the recipient and performing such communicating when the recipient is within range of the UE to improve reliability of communication (Desai, paragraph 39) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 8. Hong and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Hong further teaches: wherein the determining subresources is further based on a modulo operation. (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 167-169, “The UE processor may determine a part (a Tx resource group) among the plural Tx resource pools and a part (an Rx resource group) among the plural Rx resource pools, based on the configuration information, the first UE ID, or the second UE ID”; paragraph 141-142, “To select a part of Tx pools, the remote UE may perform a modulo operation based on a source or destination layer-2 ID. Based on the derived modulo value, the remote UE may select a group of Tx pool(s) having a group ID or a group index matching the derived modulo value.”)
For claim 9. A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a receiver; a processor; and a transmitter, wherein: (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 159-169)
the receiver is configured to receive resource reservation information that indicates a group of resources; (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 167-169, “Specifically, a processor of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE processor) may control an RF unit of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE RF unit) to receive configuration information regarding a plurality of transmission (Tx) resource pools for sidelink communication and a plurality of reception (Rx) resource pools for sidelink communication among radio resources on a cell (e.g., a carrier) to be used for sidelink.”)
the processor is configured to determine subresources, from the group of resources, for the WTRU to use to transmit data, wherein the subresources are determined based on an identification (ID) that is assigned to the WTRU; (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 167-169, “The UE processor may determine a part (a Tx resource group) among the plural Tx resource pools and a part (an Rx resource group) among the plural Rx resource pools, based on the configuration information, the first UE ID, or the second UE ID. The UE processor may control the UE RF unit to perform sidelink transmission to the second UE using a Tx resource pool belonging to the Tx resource group. The UE processor may control the UE RF unit to perform sidelink reception from the second UE using an Rx resource pool belonging to the plural Rx resource groups.”)
Hong doesn’t teach: the processor is further configured to determine a distance, wherein the distance is determined based on a geographical area that a second WTRU is located in; and the transmitter is configured to transmit the data on the determined subresources on a condition that the determined distance is less than a transmission range value.
Desai from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: the processor is further configured to determine a distance, wherein the distance is determined based on a geographical area that a second WTRU is located in; and the transmitter is configured to transmit the data on the determined subresources on a condition that the determined distance is less than a transmission range value. (Desai, fig 13, paragraph 110, “At block 1304, the UE autonomously detects when the recipient is in range of the UE, selects resources to transmit the data to the recipient, and transmits the data to the recipient on the selected resources, after which, the method 1300 may end.”; paragraph 32, “In other embodiments, whether the intermediary mobile wireless device is sufficiently proximate to the recipient is determined according to the geo-location of the intermediary mobile wireless device and/or the recipient. The determination of what constitutes proximity may be determined autonomously by the intermediary mobile wireless device or by the TP.”; fig 19-20, processor, interfaces, transmitter, receiver)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Desai into Hong, since Hong suggests a technique for communicating data from UE to a recipient, and Desai suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique determining whether the UE is sufficiently proximate to the recipient according to the geo-location of the UE and/or the recipient and performing such communicating when the recipient is within range of the UE to improve reliability of communication (Desai, paragraph 39) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 10. Hong and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 9, and Hong further teaches: wherein the ID assigned to the WTRU is a group member ID. (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 167-169, “The UE processor may determine a part (a Tx resource group) among the plural Tx resource pools and a part (an Rx resource group) among the plural Rx resource pools, based on the configuration information, the first UE ID, or the second UE ID”; paragraph 141-142, “To select a part of Tx pools, the remote UE may perform a modulo operation based on a source or destination layer-2 ID. Based on the derived modulo value, the remote UE may select a group of Tx pool(s) having a group ID or a group index matching the derived modulo value.”)
For claim 11. Hong and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 9, and Hong further teaches: wherein the resource reservation information is a sidelink control information (SCI). (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 167-169, “Specifically, a processor of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE processor) may control an RF unit of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE RF unit) to receive configuration information regarding a plurality of transmission (Tx) resource pools for sidelink communication and a plurality of reception (Rx) resource pools for sidelink communication among radio resources on a cell (e.g., a carrier) to be used for sidelink.”; paragraph 19-20, “In each aspect of the present invention, when the first UE is a remote UE and the second UE is a relay UE, the configuration information may be received from the second UE. In each aspect of the present invention, when the first UE is a relay UE and the second UE is a remote UE, the first UE may receive the configuration information from a base station (BS) and transmit the configuration information to the second UE.”)
For claim 12. Hong and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 9, and Hong further teaches: wherein the resource reservation information is received over a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 167-169, “Specifically, a processor of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE processor) may control an RF unit of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE RF unit) to receive configuration information regarding a plurality of transmission (Tx) resource pools for sidelink communication and a plurality of reception (Rx) resource pools for sidelink communication among radio resources on a cell (e.g., a carrier) to be used for sidelink.”; paragraph 19-20, “In each aspect of the present invention, when the first UE is a remote UE and the second UE is a relay UE, the configuration information may be received from the second UE.”; paragraph 124, “As an example, a Tx UE, which is participating in sidelink communication, transmits a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) on a time-frequency resource corresponding to an arbitrary Tx pool among the common Tx pools and an Rx UE attempts to receive the PSCCH and a physical sidelink shared channel that carries corresponding data on a time-frequency resource of each of the common Rx pools (see Section 9 of 3GPP TS 36.211 and Section 14 of 3GPP TS 36.213)”)
For claim 13. Hong and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 9, and Hong further teaches: wherein the resource reservation information comprises resources for a plurality of WTRUs. (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 167-169, “Specifically, a processor of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE processor) may control an RF unit of the first UE (hereinafter, a UE RF unit) to receive configuration information regarding a plurality of transmission (Tx) resource pools for sidelink communication and a plurality of reception (Rx) resource pools for sidelink communication among radio resources on a cell (e.g., a carrier) to be used for sidelink. The UE processor may determine a part (a Tx resource group) among the plural Tx resource pools and a part (an Rx resource group) among the plural Rx resource pools, based on the configuration information, the first UE ID, or the second UE ID. The UE processor may control the UE RF unit to perform sidelink transmission to the second UE using a Tx resource pool belonging to the Tx resource group. The UE processor may control the UE RF unit to perform sidelink reception from the second UE using an Rx resource pool belonging to the plural Rx resource groups.”)
For claim 14. Hong and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 9, however Hong doesn’t teach: wherein the geographical area that the second WTRU is located in is received in the resource reservation information.
Desai from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the geographical area that the second WTRU is located in is received in the resource reservation information. (Desai, fig 13, paragraph 110, “At block 1304, the UE autonomously detects when the recipient is in range of the UE, selects resources to transmit the data to the recipient, and transmits the data to the recipient on the selected resources, after which, the method 1300 may end.”; paragraph 32, “In other embodiments, whether the intermediary mobile wireless device is sufficiently proximate to the recipient is determined according to the geo-location of the intermediary mobile wireless device and/or the recipient. The determination of what constitutes proximity may be determined autonomously by the intermediary mobile wireless device or by the TP.”; paragraph 133-134, “The second control data provides second scheduling information to the second mobile wireless device for the retransmission of the one or more of the plurality of content data packets to the end device. The second scheduling information includes time and frequency resources for retransmission by the second mobile wireless device of the one or more of the plurality of content data packets to the end device when the mobile wireless device is within a fourth proximity of the end device. In various embodiments, the control data instructs the mobile wireless device to autonomously determine when to retransmit the one or more of the plurality of content data packets to the end device… In various embodiments, the control data instructs the mobile wireless device to retransmit the one or more of the plurality of content data packets according to when the mobile wireless device is in a TP specified geo-location.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Desai into Hong, since Hong suggests a technique for communicating data from UE to a recipient, and Desai suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique determining whether the UE is sufficiently proximate to the recipient according to the geo-location of the UE and geo-location of the recipient which is included in a scheduling resources control information and performing such communicating when the recipient is within range of the UE to improve reliability of communication (Desai, paragraph 39) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 15. Hong and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 9, however Hong doesn’t teach: wherein the transmission range value is received in the resource reservation information.
Desai from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the transmission range value is received in the resource reservation information. (Desai, fig 13, paragraph 110, “At block 1304, the UE autonomously detects when the recipient is in range of the UE, selects resources to transmit the data to the recipient, and transmits the data to the recipient on the selected resources, after which, the method 1300 may end.”; paragraph 32, “In other embodiments, whether the intermediary mobile wireless device is sufficiently proximate to the recipient is determined according to the geo-location of the intermediary mobile wireless device and/or the recipient. The determination of what constitutes proximity may be determined autonomously by the intermediary mobile wireless device or by the TP.”; paragraph 133-134, “The second control data provides second scheduling information to the second mobile wireless device for the retransmission of the one or more of the plurality of content data packets to the end device. The second scheduling information includes time and frequency resources for retransmission by the second mobile wireless device of the one or more of the plurality of content data packets to the end device when the mobile wireless device is within a fourth proximity of the end device. In various embodiments, the control data instructs the mobile wireless device to autonomously determine when to retransmit the one or more of the plurality of content data packets to the end device.”; scheduling information clearly includes proximity (range) information since “The second scheduling information includes time and frequency resources for retransmission by the second mobile wireless device of the one or more of the plurality of content data packets to the end device when the mobile wireless device is within a fourth proximity of the end device.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Desai into Hong, since Hong suggests a technique for communicating data from UE to a recipient, and Desai suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique determining whether the UE is sufficiently proximate to the recipient based on proximity (range) information received in a resource scheduling information and according to the geo-location of the UE and/or geo-location of the recipient and performing such communicating when the recipient is within range of the UE to improve reliability of communication (Desai, paragraph 39) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 16. Hong and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 9, and Hong further teaches: wherein the subresources are determined based on a modulo operation. (Hong, fig 10, paragraph 167-169, “The UE processor may determine a part (a Tx resource group) among the plural Tx resource pools and a part (an Rx resource group) among the plural Rx resource pools, based on the configuration information, the first UE ID, or the second UE ID”; paragraph 141-142, “To select a part of Tx pools, the remote UE may perform a modulo operation based on a source or destination layer-2 ID. Based on the derived modulo value, the remote UE may select a group of Tx pool(s) having a group ID or a group index matching the derived modulo value.”)
Conclusion
/KHOA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462