DETAILED ACTION
for
FLUID FLOW SENSING APPARATUS AND RELATED METHOD
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration submitted on 08/30/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: it uses the phrases, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Fluid Flow Sensing Apparatus and Method For Use In Fluid Flow Controlling Apparatus Has Controlling Unit For Sensor Input To Set Sensitivity Of Micro-calorimetry Sensor Based On Control Input.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: [controlling means in claims 1, claim 2, claim 5 and more].
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nelson et al. [herein after Nelson] (US 11,385,086) “Submitted by applicant on IDS”.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Nelson discloses a fluid flow sensing apparatus and method having a fluid flow channel (100) having an inlet and an outlet; a microcalorimetry sensor (106) disposed in the fluid flow channel (100; Col. 9, line 58 to Col. 10 line 42); and a controlling means (110-114) for the microcalorimetry sensor (106; Col. 8, line 62 to Col. 9, line 3), controlling means (110) being configured to provide a sensor input to the microcalorimetry sensor (106; Fig. 1B) to set a sensitivity of the microcalorimetry sensor (106) based on a control input corresponding to a property of fluid (Fig. 1A; Col. 9, line 11 to Col. 10, line 3).
Regarding claim 2, Nelson further discloses the controlling means (110-114) being operable as non-feedback controlling means “non -limiting” for provision of the sensor input to the microcalorimetry sensor (Col. 8, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 3, Nelson further discloses the sensor input to the microcalorimetry sensor (106, 108) is selectable from a plurality of constant values (Col. 18, lines 8-13; “an adjustment factor may include a predetermined adjustment…measured by second sensor 108 for the type of the identified fluid”).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Nelson further discloses the sensor input is an electrical signal (Col. 9, lines 15-24).
Regarding claim 5, Nelson further discloses controlling means (110-114) being configured to set the sensitivity of the microcalorimetry sensor (106, 108) by providing the sensor input to set a power consumption of the microcalorimetry sensor (106, 108; Col. 9, lines 27-39).
Regarding claim 6, Nelson further discloses the sensor input is a voltage or a current (resistive heater RH; see Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 7, Nelson further discloses the electrical signal are a supply voltage for the microcalorimetry sensor (resistive heater RH; see Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 8, Nelson further discloses the property of the fluid is a type of the fluid. (see clam 4).
Regarding claim 9, Nelson further discloses the microcalorimetry sensor (108, Fig. 1B) having a heating element (resistive heater RH; see Fig. 1B); a first sensing element (“a first resistive temperature detector (RTD) layer or thermopile”; configured to measure a first temperature and disposed in a fluid flow direction upstream of the heating element; and a second sensing element “second RTD layer or thermopile” configured to measure a second temperature and disposed in a fluid flow direction downstream of the heating element (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 10, Nelson further discloses each of the first sensing element (106) and the second sensing element (108) having a resistance temperature detector (RTD) or thermopile “temperature with the RTD layers or thermopiles to determine the first measurement including the thermal diffusivity of a fluid in fluid flow path 10”.
Regarding claim 11, Nelson further discloses the controlling means (10-14) being further configured to receive a first output from the microcalorimetry sensor (106, 108), the first output being indicative of a flow rate of fluid flowing in the fluid flow channel (see claim 1 and Fig. 1B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. [herein after Nelson] (US 11,385,086) in view of PRETRE [herein after Pretre] (US 2016/0138951) “Submitted by applicant on IDS”.
Regarding claims 12-13, Nelson discloses a fluid flow controlling apparatus (see abstract) having: a first fluid flow channel (104) having an inlet and an outlet, a microcalorimetry sensor disposed in the first fluid flow channel, a controlling means (110-114) for the microcalorimetry sensor, the controlling means (110-114) being configured to provide a sensor input to the microcalorimetry sensor (106, 108) to set a sensitivity of the microcalorimetry sensor (106, 108) based on a control input corresponding to a property of fluid (Fig, 1B).
Nelson fails to explicitly disclose a second fluid flow channel having a respective inlet and a respective outlet, the fluid flow controlling apparatus being configured to split a fluid flow between the second fluid flow channel and the first fluid flow channel such that the first fluid flow channel is configured to receive a predefined proportion of fluid flowing through the second fluid flow channel.
Pretre discloses a second fluid flow channel (1) having a respective inlet and a respective outlet (Fig. 6), the fluid flow controlling apparatus (10) being configured to split a fluid flow between the second fluid flow channel (1; Fig. 5) and the first fluid flow channel (3) such that the first fluid flow channel being configured to receive a predefined proportion of fluid flowing through the second fluid flow channel (Fig. 6).
Pretre further discloses a mass flow controller (11, Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants invention was filed in the field of a fluid flow sensing apparatus, to modify Nelson, to include a second fluid flow channel, as taught by Pretre, for the benefit of providing a device which can determine specific quantities for the gas quality or energy consumption in domestic and industrial areas to more accurately identify the calorific value and the energy flow from the volumetric flow, thermal diffusivity and thermal conductivity.
Conclusion
See PTO- 892 Notice of References Cited for relevant references.
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855