Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grober (US 10440835 hereinafter Grober).
In regards to claim 1, Grober discloses;” A circuit board (Abstract) comprising: a build-up insulating layer including a plurality of layers stacked along a vertical direction (Col. 2, Lines 34-49); and a via electrode passing through an upper surface of the build-up insulating layer and a lower surface of the build-up insulating layer (Col. 2, Lines 34-49, Fig. 4 (shown)), wherein the via electrode includes: a through portion passing through the upper surface and the lower surface of the build-up insulating layer along the vertical direction (Fig. 2 (108, 151)); and a protruding portion protruding from the through portion along a horizontal direction perpendicular to the vertical direction (Fig. 4 (118)), and wherein the protruding portion is positioned between the upper surface and the lower surface of the build-up insulating layer (Fig. 4 (shows 118 is between the upper surface and lower surface of 102)).”
In regards to claim 2, Grober discloses; “The circuit board of claim 1, wherein a side surface of the via electrode has a step along the vertical direction (Fig. 4 (shown)).”
In regards to claim 3, Grober discloses;” The circuit board of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the protruding portion is positioned at an interface between the plurality of layers of the build-up insulating layer (Fig. 4 (shows via as an interface for 148).”
In regards to claim 9, Grober discloses;” The circuit board of claim 1, wherein the through portion of the via electrode has an inclination, and wherein the protruding portion protrudes from the slope of the through portion (Fig. 34 (shown)).”
In regards to claim 10, Grober discloses;” The circuit board of claim 9, wherein the through portion includes: a first slope in which a width in the horizontal direction gradually increases from an upper surface of the via electrode to a lower surface of the via electrode and a second slope in which a width in the horizontal direction gradually decreases from the upper surface of the via electrode to the lower surface of the via electrode (Fig. 4 (shown)).”
In regards to claim 11, Grober discloses;” The circuit board of claim 1, comprising: a lower pad connected to a lower surface of the via electrode; and an upper pad connected to an upper surface of the via electrode (Fig. 4 (148, 150)).”
In regards to claim 16, Grober discloses;” The circuit board of claim 2, wherein at least a portion of the protruding portion is positioned at an interface between the plurality of layers of the build-up insulating layer (Col. 2, Lines 34-49, Fig. 4 (shown)).”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 12-15, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL F MCALLISTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847