Claim Objections
2. Claim 5 is objected to because line 1 should read “the third segment of the second”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 22, the scope of the limitation “quick release locking mechanism” is not clear. What structure does this include or exclude? The specification only provides some non-limiting examples in paragraph [0035]. What exactly is the scope of “quick”? Is it actually a lock or just a connection? The specification makes it seem to be a connection only and not an actual lock.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barnts (US 2013/0142602 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Barnts discloses a cargo carrier (10) releasably coupled to a hitch (13) of a vehicle, the cargo carrier comprising: a frame including a first frame portion (47) releasably coupled (via 12) to the hitch and a second frame portion (104/106/108/22/18) that is movable relative to the first frame portion, the first frame portion (47) including a first segment (47) and the second frame portion including a second segment (104/106/108) translatable along at least a portion of a length of the first segment and a third segment (22/18) extending from the second segment; and a lifting assembly for alternatively raising and lowering the second frame portion relative to a grounded position, the lifting assembly including an electric motor (135) that receives electrical current from a power source (140), and a drive mechanism (128/132) driven by the electric motor to translate the second frame portion relative to the first frame portion to alternatively raise and lower the second frame portion relative to the grounded position, wherein the third segment (18) of the second frame portion is alternately connectable to a platform upon which cargo is storable and a power tool directly supported by the second frame portion without the platform (neither the platform nor the power tool are currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “is alternately connectable”, and Applicant has not argued to the contrary in the latest remarks), wherein the third segment of the second support frame portion is positioned below and extends along at least a portion of a length of a support surface of the platform to support the platform (platform is not being claimed in combination and there is no structure in Barnts that would physically prevent a user from choosing to rest or attach a platform atop the third segment 22/18 as only functionally claimed).
Regarding claim 2, Barnts discloses the cargo carrier of claim 1, wherein the power source is a battery pack (140) that is removable and interchangeable (see Figure 3 and [0029]) for use with a plurality of power tools in a power tool system all configured to use the battery pack (none of these additional tools are currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “interchangeable for use with”).
Regarding claim 3, Barnts discloses the cargo carrier of claim 1, wherein the drive mechanism includes an insert (132) defining a threaded aperture and a threaded rod (128) threadably engaged with the threaded aperture of the insert (see Figure 3 and [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Barnts discloses the cargo carrier of claim 3, wherein the threaded rod is configured to rotate and the insert is configured to translate relative to the first frame portion as the threaded rotates to allow the second frame portion to translate relative to the first frame portion to raise and lower the platform relative to the grounded position (see Figure 3 and [0027]).
Regarding claim 5, Barnts discloses the cargo carrier of claim 1, wherein the third segment (22/18) of the second frame portion defines a first interface (114/116), wherein each of the platform and the power tool (still not being claimed in combination) includes a coupler (also not being claimed in combination) having a second interface that is complementary to the first interface of the frame, and wherein a fastener (also not being claimed in combination) removably couples the first interface of the frame to the second interface of the coupler. There is no structure in Barnts that would physically prevent a user from choosing to attach a platform or a tool having a second interface atop the third portion 22/18 using the first interface 114/116 as only functionally claimed.
7. Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones et al. (US 5,482,424 A).
Regarding claim 1, Jones discloses a cargo carrier (see Figures) releasably coupled to a hitch (10) of a vehicle, the cargo carrier comprising: a frame including a first frame portion (22/24) releasably coupled (via 20) to the hitch and a second frame portion (36a/36b) that is movable relative to the first frame portion, the first frame portion (22/24) including a first segment (22) and the second frame portion including a second segment (36a) translatable along at least a portion of a length of the first segment and a third segment (36b) extending from the second segment; and a lifting assembly (32/34/28) for alternatively raising and lowering the second frame portion relative to a grounded position, the lifting assembly including an electric motor (32/34, see “connected to electrical system of the vehicle” in col. 3 lines 37-38) that receives electrical current from a power source (the vehicle), and a drive mechanism (30/38) driven by the electric motor to translate the second frame portion relative to the first frame portion to alternatively raise and lower the second frame portion relative to the grounded position, wherein the third segment (36b) of the second frame portion is alternately connectable to a platform upon which cargo is storable and a power tool directly supported by the second frame portion without the platform (neither the platform nor the power tool are currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “is alternately connectable”, and Applicant has not argued to the contrary in the latest remarks, though Jones does disclose a platform 40/42), wherein the third segment of the second support frame portion is positioned below and extends along at least a portion of a length of a support surface of the platform to support the platform (platform is not being claimed in combination though Jones does disclose platform 40/42 atop the third segment 36 as functionally claimed).
Regarding claim 3, Jones discloses the cargo carrier of claim 1, wherein the drive mechanism includes an insert (38) defining a threaded aperture and a threaded rod (30) threadably engaged with the threaded aperture of the insert (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, Jones discloses the cargo carrier of claim 3, wherein the threaded rod (30) is configured to rotate and the insert (38) is configured to translate relative to the first frame portion as the threaded rotates to allow the second frame portion to translate relative to the first frame portion to raise and lower the platform relative to the grounded position (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Jones discloses the cargo carrier of claim 1, wherein the third segment (36b) of the second frame portion defines a first interface (see interface in 36b for receiving the fastener that attaches the platform 40/42 in Figure 4), wherein each of the platform and the power tool (still not being claimed in combination, though Jones discloses a platform) includes a coupler (also not being claimed in combination, though Jones shows a hole in the platform for the fastener shown in Figure 4) having a second interface that is complementary to the first interface of the frame, and wherein a fastener (also not being claimed in combination, though Jones shows a fastener in Figure 4) removably couples the first interface of the frame to the second interface of the coupler. There is no structure in Jones that would physically prevent a user from choosing to attach a platform (as Jones shows) or a tool having a second interface atop the third portion 36b using the first interface as only functionally claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 2, 6-8, 13, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US 5,482,424 A) in view of Barnts (US 2013/0142602 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Jones discloses the cargo carrier of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the power source is a battery pack that is removable and interchangeable for use with a plurality of power tools in a power tool system all configured to use the battery pack (none of these additional tools are currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “interchangeable for use with”). Jones teaches the carrier being wired to the vehicle power system (see “connected to electrical system of the vehicle” in col. 3 lines 37-38).
Barnts teaches that it was already known in the art to provide the power source for a lift like that of Jones as a battery pack (140) that is removable and interchangeable (see Figure 3 and [0029]) for use with a plurality of power tools in a power tool system all configured to use the battery pack (none of these additional tools are currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “interchangeable for use with”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the power source for the Jones carrier as a removable and interchangeable battery pack, where such power source was already known to be suitable for such use, as taught by Barnts, and further to allow a user to add the Jones carrier to a vehicle without having to connect it to vehicle power system.
Regarding claim 6, Jones discloses a cargo carrier (see Figures) releasably coupled to a hitch (10) of a vehicle, the cargo carrier comprising: a frame including a first frame portion (22/24) releasably coupled (via 20) to the hitch and a second frame portion (36a/36b) that is movable relative to the first frame portion, the first frame portion (22/24) including a first segment (22) and the second frame portion including a second segment (36a) translatable along at least a portion of a length of the first segment and a third segment (36b) extending from the second segment; a platform (40/42) coupled to the second frame portion and including a support surface upon which cargo is storable (cargo not currently being claimed in combination); and a lifting assembly (32/34/28) for alternatively raising and lowering the second frame portion relative to a grounded position, the lifting assembly including an electric motor (32/34, see “connected to electrical system of the vehicle” in col. 3 lines 37-38) that receives electrical current from a power source (the vehicle), and a drive mechanism (30/38) driven by the electric motor to translate the second frame portion relative to the first frame portion to alternatively raise and lower the second frame portion relative to the grounded position, wherein the third segment (36b) of the second frame portion is positioned below and extends along at least a portion of a length of the support surface of the platform to support the platform (see Figures).
Jones fails to disclose a battery pack powering the motor. Jones teaches his carrier being connected to electrical system of the vehicle (see col. 3 lines 37-38). Barnts teaches that it was already known in the art to provide the power source for a lift like that of Jones as a battery pack (140) that is removable and interchangeable (see Figure 3 and [0029]) for use with a plurality of power tools in a power tool system all configured to use the battery pack (none of these additional tools are currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “interchangeable for use with”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the power source for the Jones carrier as a removable and interchangeable battery pack, where such power source was already known to be suitable for such use, as taught by Barnts, and further to allow a user to add the Jones carrier to a vehicle without having to connect it to vehicle power system.
Regarding claim 7, Jones as modified above would include the cargo carrier of claim 6, wherein the battery pack is removable and interchangeable, as taught by Barnts (see Figure 3 and [0029]), for use with a plurality of power tools in a power tool system all configured to use the battery pack (none of these additional tools are currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “interchangeable for use with”).
Regarding claim 8, Jones as modified above would include the cargo carrier of claim 1, wherein Jones discloses the drive mechanism includes an insert (38) defining a threaded aperture and a threaded rod (30) threadably engaged with the threaded aperture of the insert (see Figure 4), and wherein the threaded rod (30) is configured to rotate and the insert (38) is configured to translate relative to the first frame portion as the threaded rotates to allow the second frame portion to translate relative to the first frame portion to raise and lower the platform relative to the grounded position (see Figure 4).
Regrading claim 13, Jones as modified above would include the cargo carrier of claim 6, but so far fails to include wherein the lifting assembly further includes a housing in which the electric motor is located, and a user interface on the housing having user controls to selectively operate the electric motor to alternatively raise and lower the platform relative to the grounded position. Jones shows the motor (32) in what may or may not be a housing (see Figures) and does not specify how a user controls the lift. Assuming he lacks a housing, Barnts teaches that it was already known in the art for a lift like that of Jones to include a housing (126) in which the electric motor is located (see Figure 3), and a user interface (134,136) on the housing having user controls to selectively operate the electric motor to alternatively raise and lower the platform relative to the grounded position (see Figure 7 and [0027]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the modified Jones carrier with a housing in which the electric motor is located, and a user interface on the housing having user controls, as taught by Barnts, the motivation being to protect the motor and allow a user to operate the lift.
Regarding claim 22, to the degree the claim is understood, Jones as modified above would include the cargo carrier of claim 6, wherein Jones further discloses the third segment (36b) of the second frame portion is coupled to the second segment (36a) by a quick release locking mechanism (see nut and bolt in Figure 4 of Jones). The nut and bolt could be quickly removed with a single wrench.
10. Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US 5,482,424 A) in view of Barnts (US 2013/0142602 A1) as applied above, further in view of Hutchins (US 2005/0129490 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Jones as modified above would include the cargo carrier of claim 6, but so far fails to include wherein the platform includes a ramp.
Regarding claim 12, Jones as modified above fails to include the cargo carrier of claim 11, and also fails to include wherein the ramp is pivotable between the deployed position and the stowed position.
Hutchins teaches that it was already known to provide a lift platform with a pivotable ramp (15) to assist in loading the platform. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the modified Jones carrier platform with a pivotable ramp, as taught by Hutchins, the motivation being to make it easier for a user to load the platform.
11. Claims 21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US 5,482,424 A) in view of Barnts (US 2013/0142602 A1) as applied above, further in view of Hannigan (US 2024/0246492 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Jones as modified above would include the cargo carrier of claim 6, but so far fails to include wherein the second segment is coupled to the first segment by a fastener extending through both the first segment and the second segment when the second frame portion is in a raised position to maintain the second frame portion in the raised position during transport. Jones does not appear to show any other coupling between the first (22/24) and second segments (36a/36b) other than the threaded lift mechanism (38) itself. Hannigan teaches that it was already known to provide the first and second (14 and 16) segments of a lift mechanism like that of Jones with a fastener (48) extending through both in order to secure the carrier in the raised position and improve safety during operation of the vehicle (see [0032]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided a fastener extending through the first and second segments of the modified Jones carrier, the motivation being to secure the carrier in the raised position and improve safety during operation of the vehicle, as taught by Hannigan.
Regarding claim 25, Jones as modified above would include a cargo carrier releasably coupled to a hitch of a vehicle, the cargo carrier comprising: a frame including a first frame portion releasably coupled to the hitch and a second frame portion that is movable relative to the first frame portion, the first frame portion including a first segment and the second frame portion including a second segment movable along a length of the first segment and a third segment extending from the second segment, as originally taught by Jones; a platform coupled to the second frame portion upon which cargo is storable, as originally taught by Jones; a power tool battery pack, as taught by Barnts; and a lifting assembly for alternatively raising and lowering the second frame portion and the platform relative to a grounded position, the lifting assembly including an electric motor, as originally taught by Jones, that receives electrical current from the power tool battery pack, as taught by Barnts, and a drive mechanism driven by the electric motor to move the second frame portion relative to the first frame portion to alternatively raise and lower the platform relative to the grounded position, as originally taught by Jones, wherein the second segment is coupled to the first segment by a fastener extending through both the first segment and the second segment when the second frame portion is in a raised position to maintain the second frame portion in the raised position during transport, as taught by Hannigan.
12. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US 5,482,424 A) in view of Barnts (US 2013/0142602 A1) as applied above, further in view of Faynor (US 10,266,123 B1).
Regarding claim 23, Jones as modified above would include the cargo carrier of claim 6, but so far fails to include wherein the second segment and the third segment are coupled via a brace extending therebetween, wherein at least a portion of the brace is positioned between opposite ends of the first segment when the second frame portion is in a raised position. Jones shows the third segment (36b) bolted to the second segment (36a) but discloses no criticality to such coupling design. Faynor teaches that it was also known for a third segment (34/44) to be coupled to a second segment (34a) via a brace (50) extending therebetween, wherein at least a portion of the brace is positioned between opposite ends of the first segment (30) due to a slot (52) in the first segment (see Figures 3-5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have replaced the bolted coupling of Jones with a brace reinforced coupling like that of Faynor as a simple substitution of one known coupling for another in order to achieve the predictable result of a reinforced coupling.
13. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US 5,482,424 A) in view of Hannigan (US 2024/0246492 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Jones discloses the cargo carrier of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the second segment is coupled to the first segment by a fastener extending through both the first segment and the second segment when the second frame portion is in a raised position to maintain the second frame portion in the raised position during transport. Jones does not appear to show any other coupling between the first (22/24) and second segments (36a/36b) other than the threaded lift mechanism (38) itself. Hannigan teaches that it was already known to provide the first and second (14 and 16) segments of a lift mechanism like that of Jones with a fastener (48) extending through both in order to secure the carrier in the raised position and improve safety during operation of the vehicle (see [0032]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided a fastener extending through the first and second segments of the Jones carrier, the motivation being to secure the carrier in the raised position and improve safety during operation of the vehicle, as taught by Hannigan.
14. Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US 5,482,424 A) in view of Barnts (US 2013/0142602 A1) and Hannigan (US 2024/0246492 A1) as applied above, further in view of Faynor (US 10,266,123 B1).
Regarding claim 26, Jones as modified above would include the cargo carrier of claim 25, but so far fails to include wherein the second segment and the third segment are coupled via a brace extending therebetween, wherein at least a portion of the brace is positioned between opposite ends of the first segment when the second frame portion is in a raised position. Jones shows the third segment (36b) bolted to the second segment (36a) but discloses no criticality to such coupling design. Faynor teaches that it was also known for a third segment (34/44) to be coupled to a second segment (34a) via a brace (50) extending therebetween, wherein at least a portion of the brace is positioned between opposite ends of the first segment (30) due to a slot (52) in the first segment (see Figures 3-5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have replaced the bolted coupling of the modified Jones carrier with a brace reinforced coupling like that of Faynor as a simple substitution of one known coupling for another in order to achieve the predictable result of a reinforced coupling.
Response to Arguments
15. Applicant’s arguments filed 8/26/26 with respect to claims 1-5 and Barnts have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments hinge on the structural relationship between the third segment of the of the second frame portion and the platform but the platform is still not being claimed in combination.
16. Applicant’s remaining arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive but are also moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the most recent claim amendments.
Conclusion
17. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
18. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 10/28/26