Detailed Action
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-15 following claim amendments in the reply filed on 09/10/2026 is acknowledged. Examiner would like to point out that applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, and because applicants’ did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Amended Claims 1-15 are pending in this application and is now under consideration for examination.
RE: Priority
Applicants’ claim for the benefit of a prior-filed applications under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) or under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged. This application is a CON of 18/641,275 filed on 04/19/2024, now ABN, which is a CON of 17/570,312 filed on 01/06/2022 now US PAT 12,195,392, which is a CON of 16/781,622 filed on 02/04/2020, now, ABN, which is a CON of 15/066,692 filed on 03/10/2016, now, ABN, which claims benefit of Provisional Applications: 62/200,288 filed on 08/03/2015; 62/188,556 filed on 07/03/2015; and 62/130,854 filed on 03/10/2015. However, please note that the instant claims are only granted the priority date of 15/066,692 filed on 03/10/2016; specifically the subject-matter of claims 1 and11 i.e., “the calcium carbonate bonds are formed from biological activity of the urease-producing cells at a pressure that is greater than ambient pressure”.
Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dosier GK., (US 8,951,786 B1) and further in view of Kucharski et al., (US 8,182,604 B2), Paul VG., (PhD., Thesis., Missouri Univ. Sci. Technol., 2014, pages 1-257), Wilson et al., (US 10,125,303 B2) and Nemati et al., (Enz. Microbial Technol., 2003, Vol. 33: 635-642).
Regarding claims 1-7 and 12-15, Dosier GK., (US 8,951,786 B1) disclose a method for producing construction material utilizing loose pieces of aggregate, enzyme producing bacteria, an amount of urea and an amount of calcium ions. A first solution is prepared which includes urease which is formed by enzyme producing bacteria. A second solution is prepared which includes urea and calcium ions. The first and second solutions are added to the loose aggregate. The calcium ions contribute to the formation of calcium carbonate wherein the calcium carbonate fills and bonds between at least some of the gaps between the loose pieces of aggregate forming a solid construction material (Abstract and entire document).
Regarding claims 2-5, Dosier GK., in Fig. 1-2, disclose incubating the aggregate mixture includes incubating the aggregate mixture while the aggregate mixture is within a formwork that includes one or more porous panels and wherein: the one or more porous panels include a perforated panel or a bottom panel, porous mold and compacting device.
Regarding claims 1, 6-8 and 12-15, Dosier GK., in Fig. 3 and 5 and in the following sections disclose various aggregates, enzyme producing cells and said composition further comprising polymers; see col. 3, lines 29-48; col. 4, lines 35-67; Col. 5, lines 55-67 to Col. 6, lines 1-10 (reproduced below):
US 8,728,365 B2
Col. 3, lines 29-48
Col. 4, various aggregates; and Claim 14
Col. 5, lines 55-67 to Col. 6, lines 1-10
Dosier GK., is silent regarding in said method the calcium carbonate bonds are formed from biological activity of the urease-producing cells at a pressure that is greater than ambient pressure… wherein: the calcium carbonate bonds are formed at a pressure that is greater than ambient pressure and less than 100 psi (as in claims 1 and 11); further comprising: adding a suspension or pump-able slurry of the urea-producing cells and wherein: the second composition comprises a pumpable slurry (as in claims 8-9) and wherein: a urease concentration during incubation of the aggregate mixture is between 0.1 and 100 mg/ml (as in claim 10).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, the following references provide teaching suggestion and motivation for optimal pressure for the calcium carbonate bonds are formed from biological activity of the urease-producing cells at a pressure that is greater than ambient pressure… wherein: the calcium carbonate bonds are formed at a pressure that is greater than ambient pressure and less than 100 psi:
Kucharski et al., (US 8,182,604 B2), discloses microbial biocementation methods and compositions comprising separately (i) urease producing micro-organism; (ii) urea; and (iii) calcium ions and are combined to form the biocement (Abstract; Summary of Invention, Col. 1, lines 42-67; col. 5, lines 15-61; and entire document); Kucharski et al., in said method specifically teach calcium carbonate bonds are formed from biological activity of the urease-producing cells at a pressure of 7.5 psi (see Example 3, reproduced below). Applicants’ are directed to the following sections Kucharski et al., (US 8,182,604 B2):
US 8,182,604 B2
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Paul VG., (PhD., Thesis., Missouri Univ. Sci. Technol., 2014, pages 1-257), provide teaching suggestion and motivation regarding optimal pressure for the production of calcium carbonate and biomineralization ranging from 20 psi (first ¶ page 4); `9 psi (see last ¶ page 8); (i) 14.7 psi and (ii) <20 psi (Batch Reactor, ¶ 2.7.2, page 29; and entire document).
Regarding claims 8-9, Wilson et al., (US 10,125,303 B2) provide teaching suggestion and motivation regarding pumpable slurry compositions comprising: an aqueous carrier; an aggregate; urea; a calcium source; and a calcium carbonate producing agent comprising a microbe, an enzyme, or a combination comprising at least one of the foregoing; wherein the microbe comprises Sporosarcina pasteurii; Bacillus megaterium, Sporosarcina ureae; Pseudomonas aeruginosa; Proteus Vulgaris; Bacillus sphaericus; Myxococcus xanthus; Leuconostoc mesenteroides; Bacillus subtilis; Deleya halophila; Halomonas eurihalina, Proteus mirabilis; or Helicobacter pylori (see Abstract; Fig. 1-3; Col. 1, lines 25-55; claims; and entire document).
Regarding claim 10, Nemati et al., (Enz. Microbial Technol., 2003, Vol. 33: 635-642) provide teaching suggestion and motivation regarding optimization of enzyme concentration for calcium carbonate formation in Biomineralization (see Abstract; Fig. 1, page 637; Urease concentration ranging from 0.05-0.1 g/L, Results, ¶ 3.1, page 638; Fig. 3-4, page 639, enzyme concentrations in the range 0.01 g/L-0.1 g/L; Fig. 6, page 640; and entire document) and conclude increased calcium carbonated formation can be achieved via optimization of enzyme concentration: “The proportional increase of reactants and enzyme concentrations up to a certain level (urea, CaCl2·2H2O and urease: 36, 90 and 0.3 g l−1, respectively), as well as multiple injection of reaction medium had a marked effect on the extent of plugging, observed as a decrease in permeability of porous media” (Discussion, pages 641-642).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine and modify the teachings of Dosier GK., by the methods of Kucharski et al., Paul VG., and Nemati et al., that suggest the advantages of optimization of pressure and enzyme concentration for calcium carbonate bonds are formed from biological activity of the urease-producing cells at a pressure that is greater than ambient pressure and utilize the pumping slurry as suggested by the teachings Wilson et al., in the claimed method for manufacturing a construction material of the instant invention and the cited combined references Dosier GK., Kucharski et al., Paul VG., Wilson et al., and Nemati et al., also provide the structural and functional elements of the instant invention (Teaching, Suggestion, Motivation and Expectation of Success).
Given this extensive teaching in prior art (Dosier GK., Kucharski et al., Paul VG., Wilson et al., and Nemati et al.,) i.e., “ a method for manufacturing a construction material, comprising: providing an aggregate mixture that includes a plurality of aggregate particles, urease-producing cells or cell spores thereof, a first composition comprising nutrients, and a second composition comprising a calcium source and a nitrogen source; and incubating the aggregate mixture for a period of time to form calcium carbonate bonds between at least a subset of the plurality of aggregate particles, the calcium carbonate bonds are formed from biological activity of the urease-producing cells at a pressure that is greater than ambient pressure…” and as claimed in claims 1-15 is not of innovation but of ordinary skill in the art and the expectation of success is extremely high i.e., “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at, 82 USPQ2d at 1397”.
Therefore, claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dosier GK., (US 8,951,786 B1) and further in view of Kucharski et al., (US 8,182,604 B2), Paul VG., (PhD., Thesis., Missouri Univ. Sci. Technol., 2014, pages 1-257), Wilson et al., (US 10,125,303 B2) and Nemati et al., (Enz. Microbial Technol., 2003, Vol. 33: 635-642).
Allowable Subject Matter/Conclusion
None of the claims are allowable.
/GANAPATHIRAMA RAGHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652