Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,110,257. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader than the claims in US 12,110,257.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No.11,459,277. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the wet elemental sulfur paste recited in applicant’s claims would inherently be formed according to the process recited in claims 1-22 of US 11,459,277.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertram et al (US 5,788.897). Bertram et al disclose a method for producing micron-sized sulphur granules by injecting an unbroken stream of molten sulfur into tempered water such that an explosive dispersion of the molten sulfur into fine sulfur granules occurs. (See the Abstract and col. 1, line 62 through col. 2, line 46.) Bertram et al disclose a broad pressure range of the molten sulfur of 200 psi to 3,000 psi at col. 2, lines 9-12. Bertram et al teach at col. 5, lines 16-24 that the product comprises sulfur granules and water. Bertram et al also disclose at col. 3, lines 1-6 that the process can produce particle sizes from 70 microns down to sub-micron sizes. The difference between the product disclosed by Bertram et al, and that recited in applicant’s claims, is that Bertram et al do not disclose that the spherical sulfur particles should be less than 45 microns in size, with a mean granules size of approximately 20-30 microns. It would have been obvious to modify the process of Bertram et al so as to form spherical sulfur particles of less than 45 microns in size, with a mean granule size of approximately 20-30 microns, since Bertram et al teach at col. 3, lines 1-6 that the process can produce particle sizes from 70 microns down to sub-micron sizes, depending upon the temperature of the water, the temperature of the sulfur, pressure of the discharging sulfur, the use of surfactants, and the rate of agitation of the target water solution.
Regarding claims 2 and 19, it would have been within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to form a sulfur paste having a suitable solids concentration in the process of Bertram et al.
Regarding claim 7, Bertram et al disclose at col. 3, lines 23-27 that the sulfur is heated to a temperature of between 150 and 159 C.
Regarding claim 8, Bertram et al teach at col. 3, lines 43 and 44 that the water is heated to a temperature of 15-98 C.
Regarding claims 11, 12 and 20, Bertram et al disclose at col. 5, lines 4-7 that carboxymethyl cellulose is present as a surfactant.
Regarding claims 3-6, 9, 10 and 13-18, it would not be expected that the method limitations recited therein would alter the chrematistics of the sulfur particles.
Claim Objections
.
Claim 2 is objected to in that the recitation of “an up to” is ungrammatical.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736