DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 12, 14-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0125517 (Gomi) (cited by Applicant).
Claim 1:
The cited prior art describes a robot control system, comprising: (Gomi: see the robot and robot control unit as illustrated in figure 3 and as described in claim 1)
one or more robots configured to perform work on a material including a content; and (Gomi: “FIG. 3 is a plan view showing a process layout according to the present embodiment. Referring to FIG. 3, there are shown a dual arm robot 10, a package conveying unit 11, a packing material cutting unit 12, a scrap removal unit 13, a content unloading conveyor 14, a cardboard unloading conveyor 15, a cardboard storage device 16, a plastic bag recovery device 17 and a plastic bag storage box 18.” Paragraph 0023)
circuitry configured to: (Gomi: see the control unit as described in paragraph 0007)
cause the one or more robots to move at least one of a cutter and the material so that a cut is made in the material with the cutter; and (Gomi: “The packing material cutting unit 12 is a cutting device installed in a conveying route along which the secondary package 5 is conveyed by the package loading conveyor 19. The packing material cutting unit 12 forms an incision in the cardboard box 4 of the secondary package 5 using an edged tool or the like. In this connection, the packing material cutting unit 12 forms an incision in the portion of the cardboard box 4 other than the lower surface thereof. Preferably, the packing material may be cut by the packing material cutting unit 12 in any location other than the location where the primary package 3 is taken out by the dual arm robot 10 and the location where the foodstuff 1 is taken out by the dual arm robot 10. Alternatively, an incision may be formed on the lower surface of the cardboard box 4 by the packing material cutting unit 12, and then the secondary package 5 may be rotated so that the incision can lie at the lateral side or the upper side.” Paragraph 0026)
cause the one or more robots to rotate the material so that the cut faces downward. (Gomi: see the flipping of the package as illustrated in figure 5; “Next, the primary taking-out control unit 110 controls the dual arm robot 10 to rotate the secondary package 5 to have the incision 8 face downward so that the primary package 3 can be taken out through the incision 8 onto the content unloading conveyor 14 under the own weight of the primary package 3 (see the lower view in FIG. 5). For example, if the incision 8 is formed at the upper side of the cardboard box 4, the primary taking-out control unit 110 controls the dual arm robot 10 to rotate the secondary package 5 by 180 degrees.” Paragraph 0032)
Claim 2:
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first robot; and (Gomi: see one arm of the dual arm robot 10 as illustrated in figure 4)
a second robot; (Gomi: see the second arm of the dual arm robot 10 as illustrated in figure 4)
wherein the circuitry is configured to:
cause the first robot to rotate the material so that the cut faces downward; and (Gomi: see the arms 10 working together to flip the package as illustrated in figure 5; “Next, the primary taking-out control unit 110 controls the dual arm robot 10 to rotate the secondary package 5 to have the incision 8 face downward so that the primary package 3 can be taken out through the incision 8 onto the content unloading conveyor 14 under the own weight of the primary package 3 (see the lower view in FIG. 5). For example, if the incision 8 is formed at the upper side of the cardboard box 4, the primary taking-out control unit 110 controls the dual arm robot 10 to rotate the secondary package 5 by 180 degrees.” Paragraph 0032)
cause the second robot to rotate the material in cooperation with the first robot so that the cut faces downward. (Gomi: see the arms 10 working together to flip the package as illustrated in figure 5; “Next, the primary taking-out control unit 110 controls the dual arm robot 10 to rotate the secondary package 5 to have the incision 8 face downward so that the primary package 3 can be taken out through the incision 8 onto the content unloading conveyor 14 under the own weight of the primary package 3 (see the lower view in FIG. 5). For example, if the incision 8 is formed at the upper side of the cardboard box 4, the primary taking-out control unit 110 controls the dual arm robot 10 to rotate the secondary package 5 by 180 degrees.” Paragraph 0032)
Claim 4:
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to cause the one or more robots to move at least one of the cutter and the material so that the cut capable of forming a planar opening is made in the material with the cutter. (Gomi: “The packing material cutting unit 12 is a cutting device installed in a conveying route along which the secondary package 5 is conveyed by the package loading conveyor 19. The packing material cutting unit 12 forms an incision in the cardboard box 4 of the secondary package 5 using an edged tool or the like. In this connection, the packing material cutting unit 12 forms an incision in the portion of the cardboard box 4 other than the lower surface thereof. Preferably, the packing material may be cut by the packing material cutting unit 12 in any location other than the location where the primary package 3 is taken out by the dual arm robot 10 and the location where the foodstuff 1 is taken out by the dual arm robot 10. Alternatively, an incision may be formed on the lower surface of the cardboard box 4 by the packing material cutting unit 12, and then the secondary package 5 may be rotated so that the incision can lie at the lateral side or the upper side.” Paragraph 0026)
Claim 5:
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 4, wherein the circuitry is configured to cause the one or more robots to move at least one of the cutter and the material so that a graphic drawn by the cut made in the material becomes an open graphic. (Gomi: see the cutting of the package 5 and the opening of the cut slit (i.e., open graphic) as illustrated in figure 5; “The packing material cutting unit 12 is a cutting device installed in a conveying route along which the secondary package 5 is conveyed by the package loading conveyor 19. The packing material cutting unit 12 forms an incision in the cardboard box 4 of the secondary package 5 using an edged tool or the like. In this connection, the packing material cutting unit 12 forms an incision in the portion of the cardboard box 4 other than the lower surface thereof. Preferably, the packing material may be cut by the packing material cutting unit 12 in any location other than the location where the primary package 3 is taken out by the dual arm robot 10 and the location where the foodstuff 1 is taken out by the dual arm robot 10. Alternatively, an incision may be formed on the lower surface of the cardboard box 4 by the packing material cutting unit 12, and then the secondary package 5 may be rotated so that the incision can lie at the lateral side or the upper side.” Paragraph 0026)
Claim 6:
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to control the one or more robots supporting the material so that the material deforms when the material is rotated or after the material is rotated. (Gomi: see the rotating of the primary package 3 to dump out the foodstuff 1 and the foodstuff 1 deforming as the foodstuff 1 is emptied under its own weight as illustrated in figure 6 and as described in paragraph 0034)
Claim 7:
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 6, wherein the circuitry is configured to control the one or more robots supporting the material so that the material is bent when the material is rotated or after the material is rotated. (Gomi: see the rotating of the primary package 3 to dump out the foodstuff 1 and the foodstuff 1 deforming as the foodstuff 1 is emptied under its own weight as illustrated in figure 6 and as described in paragraph 0034)
Claim 9:
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 5, wherein the circuitry is configured to cause the one or more robots to rotate the material so that a flap created by formation of the planar opening is turned upward. (Gomi: see the cutting of the package 5 and the opening of the cut slit (i.e., open graphic) with the box flaps opening upward as illustrated in figure 5; “The packing material cutting unit 12 is a cutting device installed in a conveying route along which the secondary package 5 is conveyed by the package loading conveyor 19. The packing material cutting unit 12 forms an incision in the cardboard box 4 of the secondary package 5 using an edged tool or the like. In this connection, the packing material cutting unit 12 forms an incision in the portion of the cardboard box 4 other than the lower surface thereof. Preferably, the packing material may be cut by the packing material cutting unit 12 in any location other than the location where the primary package 3 is taken out by the dual arm robot 10 and the location where the foodstuff 1 is taken out by the dual arm robot 10. Alternatively, an incision may be formed on the lower surface of the cardboard box 4 by the packing material cutting unit 12, and then the secondary package 5 may be rotated so that the incision can lie at the lateral side or the upper side.” Paragraph 0026)
Claim 12:
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry is configured to:
detach any one robot of the first robot or the second robot from the material after the material is rotated and at least a part of the content is discharged from the material; and (Gomi: see the placement of the cardboard box 4 on the conveyer 15 and storage in the cardboard storage device 16 and detachment by of the robot 10 from the box 4 as illustrated in figure 3 and as described in paragraph 0033)
cause, of the first robot and the second robot, a robot different from the detached one robot to convey the material. (Gomi: see the conveyor 15 moving the box 5 to the cardboard storage device 16 as illustrated in figure 3 and as described in paragraph 0033)
Claim 14:
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to:
control the one or more robots so that the cut is made by the cutter in the material placed on a support section supporting the material from below; and (Gomi: “Alternatively, an incision may be formed on the lower surface of the cardboard box 4 by the packing material cutting unit 12, and then the secondary package 5 may be rotated so that the incision can lie at the lateral side or the upper side.” Paragraph 0026)
cause the one or more robots connected to the support section to support the material. (Gomi: “Alternatively, an incision may be formed on the lower surface of the cardboard box 4 by the packing material cutting unit 12, and then the secondary package 5 may be rotated so that the incision can lie at the lateral side or the upper side.” Paragraph 0026)
Claim 15:
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to cause the one or more robots to support the material with a supporting force based on a force for the one or more robots to support the material in a downward direction. (Gomi: see the holding of the package (i.e., supporting the package from the downward force of gravity) as illustrated in figure 5; “Next, the primary taking-out control unit 110 controls the dual arm robot 10 to rotate the secondary package 5 to have the incision 8 face downward so that the primary package 3 can be taken out through the incision 8 onto the content unloading conveyor 14 under the own weight of the primary package 3 (see the lower view in FIG. 5). For example, if the incision 8 is formed at the upper side of the cardboard box 4, the primary taking-out control unit 110 controls the dual arm robot 10 to rotate the secondary package 5 by 180 degrees.” Paragraph 0032)
Claim 17:
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected based on the same reasons and rationale.
17. A robot controller capable of controlling
one or more robots each configured to perform work on a material including a content,
the robot controller being configured to:
cause the one or more robots to move at least one of a cutter and the material so that a cut is made in the material with the cutter; and
cause the one or more robots to rotate the material so that the cut faces downward.
Claim 18:
Claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected based on the same reasons and rationale.
18. A robot control method of controlling one or more robots each configured to perform work on a material including a content, the robot control method comprising:
causing the one or more robots to move at least one of a cutter and the material so that a cut is made in the material with the cutter; and
causing the one or more robots to rotate the material so that the cut faces downward.
Claim 20:
Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 4 and is rejected based on the same reasons and rationale.
20. The robot control system according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry is configured to cause the one or more robots to move at least one of the cutter and the material so that the cut capable of forming a planar opening is made in the material with the cutter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0125517 (Gomi) (cited by Applicant) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0219857 (Tsujimori).
Claim 3:
Gomi does not explicitly describe a plurality of cuts as described below. However, Tsujimori teaches the plurality of cuts as described below.
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to cause the one or more robots to move at least one of the cutter and the material so that a plurality of cuts including the cut are made in the material with the cutter. (Tsujimori: see the various cuts S3-1, S3-2, S3-3 as illustrated in figure 7 and as described in paragraphs 0103, 0104, 0107)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Gomi, namely, an unpacking device, with the known techniques of Tsujimori, namely, unpacking device, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Gomi to cut and empty a package with the teachings of Tsujimori to cut and empty a package would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved material handling system. In other words, the combination of references provides for a package cutting with various cuts and emptying system based on the teachings of a package cutting and emptying system in Gomi and the teachings of a package cutting and empty system using various cuts in Tsujimori.
Claim 8:
Gomi does not explicitly describe tilting as described below. However, Tsujimori teaches the tilting as described below.
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to control the one or more robots supporting the material so that the material is tilted in another direction different from a direction of rotation. (Tsujimori: see the twist box S5 as illustrated in figure 7 and as described in paragraphs 0110, 0111; “In this case, the box 33 may be twisted so as to become sideways, or may be twisted so as to stand upright.” Paragraph 0111)
Gomi and Tsujimori are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 16:
Gomi does not explicitly describe an additional cut as described below. However, Tsujimori teaches the additional cut as described below.
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to cause the one or more robots to move at least one of the cutter and the material so that an additional cut is made in the material with the cutter when the material is rotated or after the material is rotated. (Tsujimori: see the various cuts S3-1, S3-2, S3-3 as illustrated in figure 7 and as described in paragraphs 0103, 0104, 0107; “Moreover, the cutting operation at Step S3-3 is also carried out by moving the box 33 in the vertical plane including the extending surface of the point of the cutting blade 41.” Paragraph 0107)
Gomi and Tsujimori are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 19:
Gomi does not explicitly describe a plurality of cuts as described below. However, Tsujimori teaches the plurality of cuts as described below.
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry is configured to cause the one or more robots to move at least one of the cutter and the material so that a plurality of cuts including the cut are made in the material with the cutter. (Tsujimori: see the various cuts S3-1, S3-2, S3-3 as illustrated in figure 7 and as described in paragraphs 0103, 0104, 0107)
Gomi and Tsujimori are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0125517 (Gomi) (cited by Applicant) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0306973 (Edwards).
Claim 10:
Gomi does not explicitly describe weight as described below. However, Edwards teaches the weight as described below.
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to:
acquire weight information on a weight of the material; and (Edwards: “The set of sensor devices 122 can also include weight sensors for generating weight data associated with items removed from a case or items placed into a tote. The weight data can be used to identify an item and/or determine when a tote is full.” Paragraph 0043; “The set of weight sensors 1514 is a set of one or more weight sensor devices, such as scales. A weight sensor can be included inside a tote, on the conveyor device, on a robotic picker device, on a robotic tote transfer device or anywhere else associated with the set of robotic decanting devices. The set of weight sensors 1514 generate weight data 1516 associated with a case, a tote and/or an item.” Paragraph 0087)
cause the one or more robots to rotate the material based on the weight information. (Edwards: see the place items in selected totes 1712 and tote full 1714 determination based on weight as illustrated in figure 17 and as described in paragraphs 0096, 0043; “The set of sensor devices 122 can also include weight sensors for generating weight data associated with items removed from a case or items placed into a tote. The weight data can be used to identify an item and/or determine when a tote is full.” Paragraph 0043) (Gomi: see the flipping of the package as illustrated in figure 5; “Next, the primary taking-out control unit 110 controls the dual arm robot 10 to rotate the secondary package 5 to have the incision 8 face downward so that the primary package 3 can be taken out through the incision 8 onto the content unloading conveyor 14 under the own weight of the primary package 3 (see the lower view in FIG. 5). For example, if the incision 8 is formed at the upper side of the cardboard box 4, the primary taking-out control unit 110 controls the dual arm robot 10 to rotate the secondary package 5 by 180 degrees.” Paragraph 0032)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Gomi, namely, an unpacking device, with the known techniques of Edwards, namely, a decanting system, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Gomi to cut and empty a package with the teachings of Edwards to cut and empty a case would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved material handling system. In other words, the combination of references provides for a package cutting and emptying system using various inputs based on the teachings of a package cutting and emptying system in Gomi and the teachings of a case cutting and empty system using weight measurements as input in Edwards.
Claim 11:
Gomi does not explicitly describe weight as described below. However, Edwards teaches the weight as described below.
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 10, wherein the circuitry is configured to:
acquire measurement result information on a measurement result obtained by a measuring unit of a container to which the content is transferred; and (Edwards: “The set of sensor devices 122 can also include weight sensors for generating weight data associated with items removed from a case or items placed into a tote. The weight data can be used to identify an item and/or determine when a tote is full.” Paragraph 0043; “The set of weight sensors 1514 is a set of one or more weight sensor devices, such as scales. A weight sensor can be included inside a tote, on the conveyor device, on a robotic picker device, on a robotic tote transfer device or anywhere else associated with the set of robotic decanting devices. The set of weight sensors 1514 generate weight data 1516 associated with a case, a tote and/or an item.” Paragraph 0087)
cause the one or more robots to rotate the material based on the measurement result information. (Edwards: see the place items in selected totes 1712 and tote full 1714 determination based on weight as illustrated in figure 17 and as described in paragraphs 0096, 0043; “The set of sensor devices 122 can also include weight sensors for generating weight data associated with items removed from a case or items placed into a tote. The weight data can be used to identify an item and/or determine when a tote is full.” Paragraph 0043) (Gomi: see the flipping of the package as illustrated in figure 5; “Next, the primary taking-out control unit 110 controls the dual arm robot 10 to rotate the secondary package 5 to have the incision 8 face downward so that the primary package 3 can be taken out through the incision 8 onto the content unloading conveyor 14 under the own weight of the primary package 3 (see the lower view in FIG. 5). For example, if the incision 8 is formed at the upper side of the cardboard box 4, the primary taking-out control unit 110 controls the dual arm robot 10 to rotate the secondary package 5 by 180 degrees.” Paragraph 0032)
Gomi and Edwards are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 10.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0125517 (Gomi) (cited by Applicant) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0130025 (Schaafsma).
Claim 13:
Gomi does not explicitly describe rotating as described below. However, Schaafsma teaches the rotating as described below.
The cited prior art describes the robot control system according to claim 12, wherein the circuitry is configured to cause the different robot to rotate the material so that at least a part of the cut faces upward, and then convey the material. (Schaafsma: see the empty cases with cut side up on the empty case refuse conveyor 30 as illustrated in figures 2, 3, 6 and as described in paragraphs 0033, 0045)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Gomi, namely, an unpacking device, with the known techniques of Schaafsma, namely, a case unpacking device, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Gomi to cut and empty a package with the teachings of Schaafsma to cut and empty a case would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved material handling system. In other words, the combination of references provides for a package cutting and emptying system with empty case processing based on the teachings of a package cutting and emptying system in Gomi and the teachings of a package cutting and empty system with empty case processing in Schaafsma.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 11,161,640 describes an unpacking system.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0162174 describes an automated box opening apparatus.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0063042 describes an automated container cutting system.
/Christopher E. Everett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117