DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 9, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christian Mergl et al. U.S. Patent 11,241,988 B2 (Mergl).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Mergl discloses a vibration motor assembly of a seat (Figure 1 and 39 Element 31), the vibration motor assembly comprising: a vibration motor (Element 6); and an upper housing (exterior housing of Element 5) disposed around the vibration motor to hold and fix the vibration motor (Figure 2-9 Element 5 with exterior shell that houses Element 6 best shown in Figure 1) , the upper housing configured to be fixed to a pad of the seat, wherein the upper housing comprises a holding part disposed a front surface of the upper housing to hold the vibration motor (Element 18’); wherein the upper housing comprises a fixing part located rearward relative to the holding part to cover and fix a rear surface of the vibration motor (Element 18).
Regarding claim 4, Mergl discloses the assembly wherein the upper housing is configured to be inserted in the seat and fixed to an inside of the pad (shown in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Mergl discloses a vibration motor assembly of a seat, the vibration motor assembly comprising: a vibration motor (Element 6); an upper housing (Element 5) disposed around the vibration motor to hold and fix the vibration motor, the upper housing configured to be fixed to a pad of the seat, wherein the upper housing comprises: a holding part disposed at a circumference of a front surface of the upper housing to hold a circumference of the vibration motor (Element 18 holding); and a fixing part covering and fixing a rear surface of the vibration motor (contour of the cavity within the seat cushion to accommodate the support and secured mounting of Element 5).
Regarding claim 16, Mergl discloses a vehicle comprising: a vehicle body; a seat disposed in the vehicle body (as shown in Figure 39 Element 31), the seat comprising a pad (Element 2); a vibration motor assembly (Element 5) attached to the seat, the vibration motor assembly comprising a vibration motor (Element 6), and an upper housing disposed around the vibration motor to hold and fix the vibration motor, wherein the upper housing is fixed to the pad and comprises: a holding part disposed at a front surface of the upper housing to hold the vibration motor (Element 18); and a fixing part (cavity of Element 2 housing Element 5 shown in Figure 40) covering and fixing a rear surface of the vibration motor; and a controller configured to control an operation of the vibration motor to provide a vibration to an occupant of the seat (Element 20 connection to a power supply control system).
Regarding claim 17, Mergl discloses vehicle wherein the fixing part is located rearward relative to the holding part to cover and fix a rear surface of the vibration motor (Figure 2-8 fixed portion of the rear portion of the Element 5 within the cavity; contour of Element 4).
Regarding claim 18, Mergl discloses vehicle further comprising a lower housing inserted into the pad (Figure 18-22 Element 12), and wherein the upper housing coupled to the lower housing to hold and fix the vibration motor (as shown in Figure 18-31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christian Mergl et al. U.S. Patent 11,241,988 B2 (Mergl).
Regarding claim 7, Mergl discloses the vibration motor assembly wherein the vibration motor and the upper housing are disposed in a seatback configured to support a back of an occupant, a seat cushion configured to support a buttocks of the occupant (Figure 39 Element 32 and 32). Mergl does not directly disclose a headrest configured to support a head of the occupant, a leg support configured to support a calf of the occupant, or a foot massager configured to massage a foot of the occupant. It would be obvious to provide a seating assembly that would accommodate the support of the head, leg, and foot of an occupant that will have the vibration motor extended on the seat surfaces. Such a modification would provide a means to duplication the parts of the vibration motors on more seat surfaces in contact with a user to improve comfort.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,103,451. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the structural limitations of the vibrating module with the vehicle seat is disclosed in the claimed invention as claimed in the issued patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHIN H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636