DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
After further review, the restriction requirement is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16: Scope of claim is unclear, since parent claim 1 requires the electrode to be a defibrillation electrode, but claim 16 appears to broaden the function to other possibilities.
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 16: Fails to include all limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9-17, 19-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ferrari (US 5,571,165).
Regarding claims 1, 16, Ferrari discloses the same invention as claimed (Figures 1 and 2 shown above for example), including a radio transmissive electrode for providing electrotherapeutic defibrillation to a patient (abstract), the electrode comprising: a backing pad (Figure 2: 33/34); a conductive layer disposed upon the backing pad (Figure 2: 21; sheet electrode member 21 does contact backing pad despite intervening structures 27, 27’, 35a, 36a, etc); a bonding layer disposed upon the conductive layer (Figure 2: lower bonding layer 27 as shown); and a leadwire comprising a stripped end length (Figure 2: 35a, 36a), at least a portion of the stripped end length being disposed upon the bonding layer, such that the bonding layer is interposed between the conductive layer and the stripped end length (Figure 2: bonding layer 27 is between conductive layer 21 and stripped end length 35a).
Regarding claim 2, Ferrari discloses a second bonding layer as recited (Figure 2: 27’).
Regarding claim 9, 19-22, Ferrari discloses adhesives as recited (Col. 4, lines 32-36).
Regarding claim 10, Ferrari discloses conforming around the leadwire as recited (Figure 1; Col. 4, lines 17-67).
Regarding claims 11-13, Ferrari discloses the leadwire includes a conductive carbon element (Col. 5, lines 55-67) and plurality of stripped extensions as recited (Figure 1).
Regarding claims 14-15, Ferrari discloses the electrode may be either radiolucent or radiotransparent as recited (Col. 2, lines 29-40).
Regarding claim 17, Ferrari discloses Ag/AgCl as recited (Col. 3, line 2).
Regarding claim 23, Ferrari discloses a thickness as recited (Col. 4, lines 17-67).
Regarding claim 24-26, Ferrari discloses the bonding layer is a conductive, double-sided adhesive that is radiotransmissive and mechanically rigid as recited (Col. 4, lines 17-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrari (US 5,571,165) in view of Wroblewski (US 2024/0366134).
Regarding claim 18, Ferrari does not explicitly disclose the details of the Ag/AgCl composition. However, Wroblewski teaches providing more than 50% of Ag and less AgCl as recited (Paragraph 45), in order to optimize conductivity versus costs. In addition, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) and MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this instance, the prior art shows the general conditions of selecting Ag/AgCl to make a radiotransmissive electrode, and using a particular ratio of Ag/AgCl would have amounted to discovering an optimum or workable range by routine experimentation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ferrari as taught by Wroblewski to include the details of the Ag/AgCl composition as recited, in order to optimize conductivity versus costs, and since using a particular ratio of Ag/AgCl would have amounted to discovering an optimum or workable range by routine experimentation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jones (US 2012/0253162) shows an electrode with a wire directly affixed to a conductive layer and with one bonding layer.
Gadsby (US 2003/0074042) shows a backing pad, wire, and conductive layer towards the patient side relative to the wire.
Hyatt (US 2014/0073896) shows an electrode with an energy blocking layer and conductive layer towards the patient side relative to the wire.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796