DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunham et al. (US 2016/0199249) in view of Burcham et al. 9US 9,491,231).
With respect to claims 1, 13 Dunham discloses a sexual aid apparatus (figs. 13, 14)comprising:
at least one button for controlling operation of the sexual aid apparatus based on received inputs (see para. 0031);
an electro-mechanical device configured to operate according to actuation of the at least one button to facilitate an achievement of a user orgasm during a session (see para. 0006);
a memory device storing an identifier and software or firmware that describes how the electro-mechanical device is to operate based on input from the at least one button (see para. 0034); and
a control engine (Fig. 2) configured to:
transmit an account request message including the identifier stored in the memory device (see para. 0027);
However, although Dunham discloses sending and receiving identifier of system, Dunham fails to explicitly disclose that such are related to the status of an account, and therefore fails to explicitly teach to receive an account status message responsive to transmission of the account request message, when the account status message is indicative of a subscription account associated with the identifier being active, enable the electro-mechanical device to operate according to one or more inputs from the at least one button, and when the account status message is indicative of the subscription account associated with the identifier being inactive, disable the electro-mechanical device from operating according to one or more inputs from the at least one button.
Burcham in the subject of mobile communications, discloses monitoring the subscription account status and provide for disabling the system (see Summary, see col. 7, line 39-col. 9, line 59).
It should be further noted, that Dunham further discloses to control the device remotely (see para. 0090-0092, 0138); including checking subscription in order to provide control (see 0043, 0138).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to receive an account status message responsive to transmission of the account request message, when the account status message is indicative of a subscription account associated with the identifier being active, enable the electro-mechanical device to operate according to one or more inputs from the at least one button, and when the account status message is indicative of the subscription account associated with the identifier being inactive, disable the electro-mechanical device from operating according to one or more inputs from the at least one button because doing so will allow for just providing service to paying user.
With respect to claim 2, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the identifier includes at least one of a microcontroller identifier, a MAC address, or a PCB identifier indicative of a hardware configuration of the sexual aid apparatus (see Dunham para. 0027).
With respect to claim 3, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the control engine is configured to transmit the account request message to an application on a user device (see Burcham col. 1, line 54 to col. 2, line 50).
With respect to claim 4, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses, wherein the application on the user device uses the identifier to determine whether the sexual aid apparatus is configured for a subscription service, and when the sexual aid apparatus is configured for a subscription service, the application transmits an API call to a server to receive the indication of the subscription account being active or inactive (see Burcham col. 5, lines 41-52).
With respect to claim 5, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the control engine receives the account status message from the application responsive to the application receiving a response from the server indicative of the subscription account being active or inactive (see Burcham col. 5, line 54-col. 6, line 46).
With respect to claim 6, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the subscription account includes user information, user payment information, balance information, and the identifier (see Burcham col. 4. Line 20, col. 6, line 46).
With respect to claim 7, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the control engine is configured to transmit the account request message to a server and receive the account status message from the server (see Burcham col. 5, lines 43-68).
With respect to claim 8, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the control engine is configured to transmit the account request message responsive to receiving an input from the at least one button (see col. 7, lines 41-53).
With respect to claim 9, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the control engine is configured to transmit the account request message at least one of daily, weekly or monthly (see Burcham col. 8, lines 6-29).
With respect to claim 10, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the control engine is configured to transmit the account request message at a date corresponding to when the subscription account is set to become inactive (see Burcham col. 8, lines 6-65).
With respect to claim 11, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the software or firmware defines a plurality of operations for the electro-mechanical device, and wherein only a subset of the plurality of operations are disabled when the account status message is indicative of the subscription account being inactive (See Dunhmam para. 0028) .
With respect to claim 12, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the control engine is further configured to disable the electro-mechanical device from operating according to one or more inputs from the at least one button when a cancellation message is received (see Burcham col. 4. Line 20, col. 6, line 46.)
With respect to claim 14, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses the subset of the plurality of operations corresponds to operating according to one or more control patterns that are stored in the memory device (see para. Dunham para. 0028)..
With respect to claim 15, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the subset of the plurality of operations corresponds to creating a control pattern for storage in the memory device (see para. 0078 Dunham).
With respect to claim 16, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the subset of the plurality of operations corresponds to transmitting at least one of control data or sensed physiological data to another sexual aid device (see Dunham para. 0037).
With respect to claim 17, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the subset of the plurality of operations corresponds to receiving at least one of control data or sensed physiological data from another sexual aid device (see Dunham para. 0037).
With respect to claim 18, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the account status message is received responsive to transmitting an account request message to at least one of an application on a user device or a server (see Burcham col. 4. Line 20, col. 6, line 46)..
With respect to claim 19, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the control engine is configured to receive the account status message at least one of daily, weekly or monthly (see Burcham col. 4. Line 20, col. 6, line 46)..
With respect to claim 20, Dunham in view of Burcham discloses wherein the control engine is configured to receive the account status message at a date corresponding to when the subscription account is set to become inactive (see Burcham col. 4. Line 20, col. 6, line 46)..
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M SANTOS RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797