Claims 1-2 are rejected
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from IDS(s) received 10/27/2025 and 01/29/2026 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 2 recite the phrase “A method for immunomodulation in inflammatory processes…” and further contain “…to act on the subject’s inflammatory condition.” The phrases are interpreted in the manner that claims 1 and 2 are focused on reducing inflammation thus being an anti-inflammatory composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEMCHENKO (RU2569742C1; published 2014), in view of Chen (CN107205441A published 2017). Citations refer to translated copies provided by Espacenet, which have been attached to this action.
Demchenko discloses a pharmaceutical “capsule… fat-soluble vitamins are included in the capsule core, such as vitamins A… and/or carotenoids (provitamin A or lycopene or astaxanthin or lutein or zeaxanthin or mixtures thereof)… and/or non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (ibuprofen or ketoprofen or others)…” (Claim 11). Varga discloses β-caryophyllene as a plant-derived FDA approved food additive with anti-inflammatory properties towards chronic and binge alcohol-induced liver injury and inflammation (Background and Aims).
Ben-Shabat discloses the immunomodulation and anti-inflammatory properties of cannabidiol (Introduction lines 14-18).
Leonel discloses the anti-inflammatory nature of tributyrin on ulcerative colitis (Abstract).
Chen discloses “a composition… compris(ing): … and one or more carotenoids selected from the group consisting of: lycopene, astaxanthin, beta-carotene, lutein, zeaxanthin, and canthaxanthin” (Claim 1). The use of the carotenoids in this invention is to reduce inflammation symptoms in bovine models.
The references above fail to teach the combination of the anti-inflammatory compounds listed above into one composition.
Demchenko, Varga, Ben-Shabbat, Leonel, and Chen are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as they are focused on anti-inflammatory treatments to different patient groups. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Demchenko to incorporate the teachings of Varga, Ben-Shabbat, Leonel, and Chen to provide “a method for immunomodulation in inflammatory processes” (Claims 1 and 2). Doing so would aid in the anti-inflammatory effect, thereby improving the available anti-inflammatory therapeutics.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 and 9 of copending Application No. 18763849 (filed 2024 July 17, priority claimed 2022 January 05). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in the copending application, the compositions listed in Claims 1 and 8 are comprised of identical compounds with synergistic effects to reduce effects of inflammation as claimed in Claim 1 of examined application. Differences in compositions between the two mentioned claims are deemed obvious as the inclusion of vitamin A and cannabidiol together as stated in the examined claims would be expected to have synergistic effect on reducing inflammation to one of ordinary skill in the art given Varga, Ben-Shabat, Leonel, and Reifen.
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 and 8 of copending Application No. 18763849 in view of Demchenko (RU2569742C1; published 2014) and in view of Chen (CN107205441A published 2017). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in the copending application, the compositions listed in Claims 1 and 8 are comprised of identical compounds with synergistic effects to reduce effects of inflammation as claimed in Claim 1 of examined application. Demchenko discloses a pharmaceutical “capsule… fat-soluble vitamins are included in the capsule core, such as vitamins A… and/or carotenoids (provitamin A or lycopene or astaxanthin or lutein or zeaxanthin or mixtures thereof)… and/or non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (ibuprofen or ketoprofen or others)…” (Claim 11). Varga discloses β-caryophyllene as a plant-derived FDA approved food additive with anti-inflammatory properties towards chronic and binge alcohol-induced liver injury and inflammation (Background and Aims). Chen discloses “a composition… compris(ing): … and one or more carotenoids selected from the group consisting of: lycopene, astaxanthin, beta-carotene, lutein, zeaxanthin, and canthaxanthin” (Claim 1). The use of the carotenoids in this invention is to reduce inflammation symptoms in bovine models. To a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Demchenko to incorporate the teachings of Varga, Ben-Shabbat, Leonel, and Chen to provide “a method for immunomodulation in inflammatory processes” (Claims 1 and 2). Applying at least KSR prong A, combining would aid in the anti-inflammatory effect, thereby improving the available anti-inflammatory therapeutics.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/E.G.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621