DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. Applicant’s Amendment to the Claims filed July 31, 2026 and the Request for Continued Examination filed August 21, 2026 are received and entered.
2. Claims 1, 9, and 13 are amended. Claims 1 – 20 are pending and are under examination in this action.
Response to Arguments / Amendment
4. On pages 19 – 20 of the Response, Applicant argues that the disclosures of Mai is “completely different from a touch firmware notifying a target touch controller to configure the display area as the target touch display area”, as recited in amended claim 1.
The Office finds Applicant’s argument unpersuasive for at least the following reasons. Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Specifically, all Applicant has done in this argument is quote Mai and then summarily state that the claim language is different. There has been no attempt to demonstrate why the claimed language is different from the citations of Mai. Instead, the Office is asked to simply believe Applicant’s conclusory statement without question.
Unfortunately, that is not nearly enough to constitute a persuasive argument to overcome a properly articulated rejection.
Additionally, Mai was relied upon only as an example of well-known and conventional teachings of touch inputs being received and processed by a touch firmware which then transmits information, such as coordinates, to a controller / processor which, in conjunction with an operating system performs an operation corresponding to the detected touch inputs. This type of configuration is extremely common as a basic configuration of touch display devices.
Applicant has provided no argument or evidence rebutting this well-known and conventional finding.
For at least the reasons set forth above, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
5. On page 20 of the Response, Applicant argues that, with regard to the cited teachings of Cho, “[T]oggling power to preexisting regions of fixed location and extent does not amount to determining and configuration a target touch display area as recited in amended claim 1”.
The Office finds Applicant’s argument unpersuasive for at least the following reasons. Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Specifically, all Applicant has done in this argument is quote Cho and then summarily state that the claim language is different. There has been no attempt to demonstrate why the claimed language is different from the citations of Cho. Instead, the Office is asked to simply believe Applicant’s conclusory statement without question.
Unfortunately, that is not nearly enough to constitute a persuasive argument to overcome a properly articulated rejection.
For at least the reasons set forth above, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
6. On page 21 of the Response, Applicant argues that “Cho actually discloses different regions of a single display panel rather than multiple touch display screens”.
The Office finds Applicant’s argument unpersuasive for at least the following reasons. Applicant’s specification is not so clear as to define “multiple touch display screens” as anything other than areas on which content may be displayed. It is curious that Applicant used the term “display panel” for Cho but did not discuss how many display panels are referred to in their own specification. Perhaps it is because the specification is not clear as to what is meant by the term “screen”.
Applicant discloses in paragraph [0024] of the Specification as originally filed that “the display screen of the electronic device can include 3 screens”. This disclosure implies that a single display panel may be divided into different “screens” that are merely separate regions of a singular panel. Accordingly, the Office’s interpretation of the claims and application of Cho is consistent with Applicant’s own specification.
For at least the reasons set forth above, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
7. On page 21 of the Response, Applicant argues that “Cho cannot disclose or suggest per-screen sizes and resolutions for the recited matching/correspondence”.
The Office finds Applicant’s argument unpersuasive for at least the following reasons. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Specifically, the only recitation of any “matching” or “correspondence” of claim 1 is in line 18. However, this recitation is provided in the alternative and is therefore not a required element of the claim.
For at least the reasons set forth above, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
8. On page 22 of the Response, Applicant argues that the rejection of the claims is improper because “an obviousness rejection cannot rest on conclusory statements”.
The Office finds Applicant’s argument unpersuasive for at least the following reasons. Through the Office Action, the Examiner clearly set forth the particular teachings relied upon for each reference, and provided an articulated reasoning why a combination of those teachings would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Specifically, the Examiner repeatedly referenced known teachings and predictable results.
It is the height of irony that Applicant baselessly accuses the Office of only providing conclusory statements when the entirety of Applicant’s arguments contained in this response are merely conclusory statements. Applicant’s response is riddled with quotations of the prior art but almost no explanation as to how the prior art as applied in the previous rejection is in any way, shape, or form different from Applicant’s claimed language, aside from just an assertion that a difference exists.
Instead of taking a kitchen sink approach and throwing every argument they can think of to see what sticks, perhaps Applicant should consider explaining why the claimed elements, in view of supporting description in the specification, may be patentably distinct from the prior art teachings and rejections.
For at least the reasons set forth above, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
9. On page 22 of the Response, Applicant argues that “[F]illing an admitted gap with the arrangement recited in the claim is hindsight”.
The Office finds Applicant’s argument unpersuasive for at least the following reasons. Please see MPEP §2145(X)(A) which refers to case law that has held that “[a]ny judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from Applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper”.
Applicant has provided no evidence that any portion of the previous rejections was based on “knowledge gleaned only from Applicant’s disclosure”.
For at least the reasons set forth above, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
11. Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the manner in which Applicant has recited these features is backwards and overly convoluted such that the claims are simultaneously vague and more overly complex than necessary to capture the scope of Applicant’s purported invention. As such, this claim lacks sufficient clarity and precision to “serve the notice function” by “providing clear warning to others as to what constitutes infringement of the patent.” See MPEP §2173.02(II).
A claim is supposed to be a single sentence that clearly and concisely sets forth Applicant’s purported invention. However, there is nothing about claim 1 that is either clear or concise.
For example, the recitation of “a plurality of touch display screens” is introduced in line 17 which is after the introduction of the “first touch display screen” and the “at least one second touch display screen”. If the “plurality” includes the “first” and the “at least one second”, then the “plurality” recitation should be introduced first to clearly tie these features together in a logical and clear manner.
Additionally, this claim includes the following recitations: “a first touch display screen” (line 4), “at least one second touch display screen” (line 4), “a target touch display area” (line 5), “a display area of the first touch display screen” (line 8-9), “a display area of the at least one second touch display screen” (line 9), “a target touch display screen” (lines 15-16), “a target combination of a plurality of touch display screens” (lines 16-17), “a display area of the determined target touch display screen” (lines 19-20), “display areas of the plurality of touch display screens included in the determined target combination” (lines 20-21). Additionally, there are five separate unique “target” recitations and three unique “part” recitations.
These recitations together are overly complex and convoluted, raising questions about which of the “screens”, “areas”, “targets”, and “parts” are actually referring to the same element or are related to one another. There is a mess of undefined relationships and correlations that are too difficult to untangle.
Moreover, Applicant’s specification is unhelpful in disentangling these terms and their meanings. What should be a simple disclosure regarding the “first touch display screen” and the “at least one second display screen” is unclear in the specification and drawings as well. Specifically, it is not clear whether Applicant’s disclosure is referring to a single display having different areas which are referred to as screens (an interpretation which appears to be supported by paragraph [0024] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed), whether there are a plurality of physically separate and distinct display screens (such as multiple computer monitors), or whether there is another alternative that was intended by Applicant’s disclosure.
While the Office is obligated to interpret the claims in light of the specification as originally filed, Applicants are obligated to keep the claims clear and concise in order to provide sufficient notice to the public.
It is clear that in this case, that public notice is lacking and thus this claim is rejected under 35 USC 112(b).
Regarding claims 9 and 13, these claims are rejected for at least the same reasons set forth above with regard to claim 1 for lacking sufficient clarity and precision to “serve the notice function” by “providing clear warning to others as to what constitutes infringement of the patent.” See MPEP §2173.02(II).
Regarding claims 2 – 8, 10 – 12, and 14 – 20, these claims are rejected based on the respective dependence from claims 1, 9, and 13.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “a plurality of touch display screens” in line 17 lacks sufficient antecedent basis. This recitation is provided after the “first touch display screen” and the “at least one second touch display screen” are introduced in line 4. Accordingly, it is unclear whether the “plurality of touch display screens” includes the first touch display screen” and the “at least one second touch display screen” or whether it refers to a different “touch display screen”.
Additionally, the recitation of “the touch display parameter” in lines 21 – 22 lacks sufficient antecedent basis. This recitation is provided after the “touch display parameter” in line 12 and the “changed touch display parameter” in line 18. Accordingly, it is unclear whether the “touch display parameter” of lines 21 – 22 refers to the previous “parameter” recitations from line 12, line 18, or instead refers to a different “parameter”.
For at least these reasons, claim 1 is rejected as being indefinite.
Regarding claims 9 and 13, these claims are rejected for at least the same reasons set forth above with regard to claim 1 for lacking sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claims 2 – 8, 10 – 12, and 14 – 20, these claims are rejected based on the respective dependence from claims 1, 9, and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 1 – 5, 8 – 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0285449) in view of Nam (U.S. Pub. 2013/0307801), as evidenced by Mai et al. (U.S. Pub. 2013/0120286).
Regarding claim 1, Cho teaches: a control method, performed at an electronic device, comprising:
obtaining screen change information of the electronic device (FIGS. 1, 9; paragraphs [0025], [0066], [0074] – [0077]; in steps s20 and s30, a state of foldable display unit 12 of foldable display device 11 is detected as being in a folded state or an unfolded state. Additionally, a change in orientation between portrait and landscape may also be detected. The folding state and orientation are both “screen change information” of foldable display device 11), the electronic device comprising a first touch display screen and at least one second touch display screen (FIGS. 1, 3, 4, 9; paragraphs [0025], [0043], [0075]; foldable display unit 12 is interpreted as having a first screen [left side to the left of the folding center axis 14] and a second screen [right side to the right of the folding center axis 14] due to foldable display unit 12 being foldable along the folding center axis 14); and
configuring a target touch display area of the electronic device at least based on the screen change information to respond to a target touch operation using the configured target touch display area (FIGS. 3, 4, 9; paragraphs [0037], [0038], [0043], [0075], [0077]; touch sensor units of first, second, and third touch areas of the foldable display unit 12 are activated and deactivated in steps s40 – s70 based on whether the foldable display device 11 is folded or unfolded. Additionally, the particular location and size of the first through third touch areas are changed based on orientation. The touch sensor units and corresponding areas that are activated constitute the “target touch display area”);
wherein, the target touch display area is at least a part of a display area of the first touch display screen and/or a display area of the at least one second touch display screen, and the target touch display area is configured differently based on different screen change information (FIGS. 3, 4; paragraphs [0026], [0037] – [0043]; foldable display unit 12 may be a touch sensitive display unit in which displayed content is provided. Accordingly, the “target touch display area”, as determined by the folded state and orientation of the foldable display device 11, is at least part of a display area of the device. For example, the” target touch display area” may have a first configuration of activated areas 32 and 33 when the device is unfolded and horizontal [first screen change information]. The “target touch display area” may have a second configuration of activated areas 35 and 36 when the device is unfolded and vertical [second screen change information]. The “target touch display area” may have a third configuration of activated area 43 when the device is folded and horizontal [third screen change information]), and
wherein, in response to the screen change information comprising configuration update information representing that a touch display parameter of the electronic device changes to a new value (FIG. 3; paragraphs [0036] – [0041]; a change in orientation [configuration update information] of the foldable display unit 12 results in different configurations of touch sensor areas as illustrated), the configuration the target touch display area comprises
determining, based on the screen change information and sizes and/or resolutions of the first touch display screen and the at least one second touch display screen, a target touch display screen (FIGS. 3, 4; paragraph [0038], [0044], [0055], [0065]; a size of the foldable display device 11, and therefore a size of each touch display screen, may be used to determine the particular size of the touch areas, such as areas 44 and 45 in FIG. 4. Accordingly, a size of each touch display screen is determined as part of the process to determine the particular size of the touch areas. The particular touch sensor units of foldable display unit 12 which are activated, and thus what touch inputs the “touch controller” can detect, are determined by the orientation of the device. When the device is rotated from horizontal [FIG. 3] to vertical [FIG. 3], the “target screen” would be determined to include touch areas 34 – 36 that matches the orientation [touch display parameter], where touch areas 34 – 36 would have sizes based on the determined size of each touch display screen) or a target combination of a plurality of touch display screens whose display area size and/or resolution matches the changed touch display parameter (This recitation is provided in the alternative and is therefore not a required element of the claim. Accordingly it is given no patentable weight because an alternative recitation is rejected), and
configuring, as the target touch display area, at least a part of a display area of the determined target touch display screen (FIGS. 3, 4; paragraph [0038], [0044], [0055], [0065]; as set forth in the example above, when the device is rotated from horizontal [FIG. 3] to vertical [FIG. 3], the “target screen” would include touch areas 34 – 36 that matches the orientation [touch display parameter], where touch areas 34 – 36 would have sizes based on the determined size of each touch display screen) or at least parts of display areas of the plurality of touch display screens included in the determined target combination, wherein the touch display parameter comprises a touch area size and/or a touch resolution (This recitation is provided in the alternative and is therefore not a required element of the claim. Accordingly it is given no patentable weight because an alternative recitation is rejected).
Cho fails to explicitly disclose: the configuration update information is received via a touch driver interface or a configuration interface of an application.
However, Cho discloses a display device that has touch areas that change sizes according to user input (FIG. 3; paragraphs [0036] – [0041]).
Additionally, in a related field of endeavor, Nam discloses a display device that allows a user to change the sizes of a touch area according to user input (FIG. 4C; paragraph [0065]).
With regard to claim 1, Nam teaches: the configuration update information is received via a touch driver interface or a configuration interface of an application (FIG. 4C; paragraphs [0045], [0051], [0065]; a user may change the size of an active touch area between boundaries 443 and 445 by, for example, touching boundary 445 for a predetermined amount of time and dragging the boundary 445 to intended position 449. This process allows a user to set a range in which their thumb can reach displayed objects for touch interaction which would ensure more accurate touch detection. The boundaries 443 and 445 are a type of interface [touch driver interface or configuration interface of an application] due to their ability to be interacted with by a user to set a touch sensing area).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the known teachings of Cho and Nam to yield predictable results. More specifically, the teachings of a foldable display device that changes the size and arrangement of active touch areas based on the size of the device and other information, as taught by Cho, are known. Additionally, the teachings of a display device that changes the size and arrangement of an active touch area based on user specific adjustments to the touch area size, as taught by Nam, are known as well. The combination of the known teachings of Cho and Nam would yield the predictable results of a foldable display device that changes the size and arrangement of active touch areas based on the size of the device and other information including user specific adjustments to the touch area size. In other words, it would have been obvious to incorporate the additional parameter of user customization to determine the size and/or location of active touch areas, as taught by Nam, into the device of Cho. Such a modification merely provides an additional parameter or type of information to determine the size and location of active touch areas. This requires nothing more than using known teachings and known methods to produce predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the known teachings of Cho and Nam to yield the aforementioned predictable results.
Neither Cho nor Nam explicitly disclose: wherein, after the target touch display screen or the target combination is determined, a touch firmware of the electronic device notifies a target touch controller to configure the display area of the determined target touch display screen or the display areas of the plurality of touch display screens included in the determined target combination as the target touch display area (This recitation is provided in the alternative and is therefore not a required element of the claim. Accordingly, it is given no patentable weight because an alternative recitation is rejected as set forth below).
However, it was well-known and conventional in the art for touch inputs to be received and processed by a touch firmware which then transmits information, such as coordinates, to a controller / processor which, in conjunction with an operating system, performs an operation corresponding to the detected touch inputs. For evidence, please see Mai (FIGS. 1, 2; paragraphs [0030], [0031]).
This configuration of firmware and controller / processor operations to detect locations of touch inputs and determine corresponding operations, as taught by Mai, are well-known.
As set forth above, the combination of the known teachings of Cho and Nam would yield the predictable results of a foldable display device that changes the size and arrangement of active touch areas based on the size of the device and other information including user specific adjustments to the touch area size. When the well-known and conventional teachings in the art, as evidenced by Mai, are applied to the combination of Cho and Nam, the following predictable result is obtained. After a user specifies adjustments to the touch area size, as taught by the combination of Cho and Nam, touch firmware subsequently designates specified coordinates of the device as being within the user determined touch area, and a controller / processor configures the display area according to the user specified adjustments and designated touch area. This requires nothing more than using the well-known and conventional combination of firmware and controller / processor, as taught by Mai, to implement the user specific adjustments to a touch area size, as taught by Cho and Nam.
It would have been obvious to implement the well-known and conventional teachings of Mai to the combination of Cho and Nam to yield predictable results. Specifically, Cho and Nam are silent regarding the specifics of implementing and applying the size changes of active touch areas in response to user input. Mai discloses that coordinates of touch inputs are detected by touch firmware and are transmitted to a controller / processor of an operating system for executing a corresponding operation. In order for the changes of size areas of active touch areas, as taught by the combination of Cho and Nam, to be implemented as described, there must be some modification to the coordinate mapping and display composition of the device with regard to the user specified active touch areas. Utilizing the well-known and conventional combination of firmware and controller / processor, as taught by Mai, to implement the user specific adjustments to a touch area size, as taught by Cho and Nam, is therefore obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. This requires nothing more than using known teachings and known methods to produce predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the known teachings of Cho and Nam to yield the aforementioned predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, a control apparatus (FIG. 1; paragraph [0025]; foldable display device 11) comprising:
a processor (FIG. 8; paragraphs [0065], [0068]; controller 103 controls sensor unit 102 and display unit 101 and may activate or deactivate touch sensors corresponding to touch areas).
Cho fails to explicitly disclose: a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform functions.
However, it was well-known and conventional in electronic devices for a memory to store instructions that are executed by a processor to perform disclosed functions.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to include such a memory in the device of Cho to execute instructions to perform the functions described therein. Such a feature is inherent / implicit in the disclosure of Cho in order for Cho to function as described.
The remainder of claim merely includes functional recitations of the control method steps of claim 1 rejected above. Accordingly, the remainder of this claim is rejected for at least the same reasons set forth above with regard to claim 1. A duplication of the above rejection is not provided in this Office Action for the purpose of brevity.
Regarding claim 13, Cho teaches: an electronic device (FIG. 1; paragraph [0025]; foldable display device 11) comprising:
a display screen (FIG. 8; paragraph [0062]; foldable display unit 101);
a target touch controller (FIG. 8; paragraph [0065]; sensor unit 102 may sense user touch input and transmit corresponding information to controller 103); and
a processor configured to perform operations (FIG. 8; paragraphs [0065], [0068]; controller 103 controls sensor unit 102 and display unit 101 and may activate or deactivate touch sensors corresponding to touch areas).
The remainder of claim is identical in scope to the control method steps of claim 1 rejected above. Accordingly, the remainder of this claim is rejected for at least the same reasons set forth above with regard to claim 1. A duplication of the above rejection is not provided in this Office Action for the purpose of brevity.
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 14, Cho teaches: wherein obtaining the screen change information of the electronic device includes:
determining pose change information of the at least one second touch display screen that moves relative to the first touch display screen of the electronic device, the at least one second touch display screen moving relative to the first touch display screen from an edge of the first touch display screen, and determining the pose change information as the screen change information (FIGS. 1, 3, 4, 9; paragraphs [0025], [0043], [0075]; foldable display unit 12 is interpreted as having a first screen [left side to the left of the folding center axis 14] and a second screen [right side to the right of the folding center axis 14] due to foldable display unit 12 being foldable along the folding center axis 14 thereby requiring a physical separation between the first screen [left side] and second screen [right side]. A change in folded state [pose] is determined in steps s20 and s30 where, when the foldable display unit 12 changes from an unfolded state [FIG. 3] to a folded state [FIG. 4]. This occurs when the second screen [right side] moves relative to the first screen [left side] away from an edge thereof by being rotated backwards to the position of FIG. 4); and
wherein configuring the touch display area of the electronic device based on the screen change information includes in response to the screen change information indicating that the at least one second touch display screen of the electronic device moves from a first pose to a second pose, configuring at least a part of display area of the second touch display screen and/or the first touch display screen as the target touch display area of the electronic device (FIGS. 3, 4, 9; paragraphs [0043], [0045], [0075]; when the foldable display unit 12 changes from an unfolded state [FIG. 3, first pose] to a folded state [FIG. 4, second pose] in steps s20 and s30, touch sensors in the first area 41 and second area 42 are deactivated as are touch sensors on the back of the foldable display device 11 in step s40. Only touch sensors in the third area 43 on the front of the foldable display device 11 are activated in steps s50. Accordingly, a part of the first screen including third area 43 is configured as the “target touch display area” while all other touch sensors on the first and second screens are deactivated).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 15, Cho teaches: wherein configuring the display area matching the touch display parameter as the target touch display area of the electronic device includes:
configuring the target touch display area using the target touch controller of the electronic device (FIGS. 3, 4; paragraphs [0038], [0055], [0065]; sensor unit 102 [touch controller] may sense user touch input and transmit corresponding information to controller 103. The particular touch sensor units of foldable display unit 12 which are activated, and thus what touch inputs the “touch controller” can detect, are determined by the orientation of the device. When the device is rotated from horizontal [FIG. 3] to vertical [FIG. 3], the “target screen” would include touch areas 34 – 36 that matches the orientation [touch display parameter], where touch areas 34 – 36 would have sizes based on the determined size of each touch display screen), the target touch controller belonging to or not belonging to the target touch display screen (This last recitation is meaningless and non-limiting because it covers all possible arrangements of the target touch controller relative to the target touch display screen).
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 16, Cho teaches: wherein configuring at least a part of display area of the at least one second touch display screen and/or the first touch display screen as the target touch display area of the electronic device includes obtaining the target reference information and hardware configuration information of the second screen, and configuring at least a part of display area of the at least one second touch display screen and/or the first touch display screen as the target touch display area based on the target reference information and the hardware configuration information (FIGS. 4, 6; paragraphs [0038], [0043], [0044], [0055]; the determined folding state of the foldable display device 11 is the “target reference information” that determines the particular size and location of the “target touch display area” set forth above. Additionally, a size [hardware configuration information] of the foldable display device 11 may be used to determine the particular size of the areas 44 and 45. Accordingly, the particular configuration of the “target touch display area” is based on both the “target reference information” and the “hardware configuration information” set forth above).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Cho teaches: wherein configuring at least a part of display area of the at least one second touch display screen and/or the first touch display screen as the target touch display area of the electronic device includes obtaining target reference information and configuring at least part of the display area of at least one second touch display screen and/or the first touch display screen as the target touch display area based on the target reference information (FIGS. 3, 4, 6; paragraphs [0038], [0043], [0055]; the determined folding state of the foldable display device 11 is the “target reference information” that determines the particular size and location of the “target touch display area” set forth above. Specifically, when the foldable display device 11 is unfolded [FIG. 3], the “target touch display area” includes second area 32 and third area 33. Additionally, when the foldable display device 11 is folded [FIG. 4], only third area 43 on the front of the foldable display device 11 is activated. The area in which content is displayed is thus configured to be presented only in the “target touch display area”), and wherein configuring the at least a part of display area of the at least one second screen and/or the first screen as the target touch display area includes at least one of:
in response to the target reference information representing that target to-be-displayed content has a first attribute parameter, configuring the display area of the first touch display screen as the target touch display area;
in response to the target reference information representing that the target to-be-displayed content has a second attribute parameter, configuring the display area of the first touch display screen and the at least one second screen as the target touch display area (FIG. 3; as set forth above, different folding states lead to different configurations. The unfolded state is interpreted as the “second attribute parameter” and includes a display area of both the “first screen” and the “second screen” as the “target touch display area”);
in response to the target reference information representing that the target to-be-displayed content has a third attribute parameter, configuring a first display area of the at least one second screen as the target touch display area, the first display area being a part of display area of the second screen and being configured to display a controllable object of the target to-be-displayed content;
in response to the target reference information representing that the target to-be-displayed content has a fourth attribute parameter, configuring the first touch display screen and a second display area of one second screen as the target touch display area, the second display area including a part of display area of the first touch display screen and a part of display area of the second screen and being configured to control an output parameter of the target to-be-displayed content; or
based on attribute parameters of the target to-be-displayed content represented by the target reference information and display configuration parameter of the second screen, configuring at least a part of display area of the at least one second touch display screen and/or the first touch display screen as the target touch display area (The remainder of this claim is recited in the alternative and is therefore optional and not required).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Cho teaches: wherein the target touch display screen includes the at least two touch display screens of the first touch display screen and the at least one second touch display screen (FIG. 3; paragraphs [0037], [0038], [0043], [0075], [0077]; as set forth above with regard to claim 1, the touch sensor units and corresponding areas that are activated constitute the “target touch display area” which may include both the “first touch display screen” and the “second touch display screen” as illustrated in FIG. 3), wherein configuring the touch display area of the electronic device at least based on the screen change information includes at least one of:
adjusting a control range of a first touch controller of the first touch display screen of the electronic device based on a size and/or resolution of the target touch display screen to obtain the target touch display area, wherein the target screen includes the first screen and the at least one second screen of the electronic device, the target touch display area includes at least two touch areas, and the first touch controller simultaneously responds to touch operations applied on the at least two touch areas (FIGS. 3, 4; paragraphs [0038], [0055], [0065]; sensor unit 102 [touch controller] may sense user touch input and transmit corresponding information to controller 103. The particular touch sensor units of foldable display unit 12 which are activated, and thus the “control range” of the “touch controller”, is determined by whether the device is folded or unfolded. When the device is unfolded [FIG. 3], the “target screen” includes the “first screen” [left side] and the “second screen” [right side]. The “target screen” thus includes second area 32 and third areas 33. Additionally, sensor unit 102 [touch controller] would simultaneously monitor and respond to touch inputs in each of the active touch areas); or
providing a size and/or resolution of the target touch display screen of the electronic device to second touch controllers of the target touch display screen to allow the second touch controllers to adjust a control range of the second touch controllers to obtain the target touch display area, wherein the target touch display area includes at least two touch areas, and the at least two touch areas respond to the touch operations applied on the at least two touch areas through the second touch controllers, respectively (The remainder of this claim is recited in the alternative and is therefore optional and not required).
14. Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Nam as evidenced by Mai, as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. 2017/0357473).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, neither Cho nor Nam nor Mai explicitly disclose: wherein obtaining the screen change information of the electronic device includes obtaining running application change information of the electronic device, and determining the screen change information based on the running application change information; wherein configuring the touch display area of the electronic device based on the screen change information includes in response to a target application running on the electronic device changing, configuring the target touch display area of the electronic device based on an operation parameter of the target application.
However, Kim teaches: wherein obtaining the screen change information of the electronic device includes obtaining running application change information of the electronic device, and determining the screen change information based on the running application change information (FIGS. 4D, 5A, 6A; paragraphs [0176], [0192], [0206]; the particular size and arrangement of touch reception areas 420, 520, and 620 depends on a particular application being executed [running application change information]. For example: touch reception area 420 corresponds to a camera application, touch reception area 520 corresponds to a video call application, and touch reception 620 corresponds to a web browser application); and
wherein configuring the touch display area of the electronic device based on the screen change information includes in response to a target application running on the electronic device changing, configuring the target touch display area of the electronic device based on an operation parameter of the target application (FIGS. 4D, 5A, 6A; paragraphs [0176], [0192], [0206]; when the application currently being executed changes, the touch reception area changes as well. For example, when the executed application changes from the camera application to the web browser application, the touch reception area changes from 420 to 620. The particular application being executed [target application] determines the size [operation parameter] of the current touch reception area [target touch display area]).
The combination of Cho and Kim teaches: wherein configuring the target touch display area of the electronic device based on the operation parameter of the target application includes obtaining touch configuration parameters of screens of the electronic device, determining the target screen matching the operation parameter of the target application based on the touch configuration parameter to configure the target touch display area and a touch parameter of the target touch display area using the target touch controller of the electronic device (Kim; FIGS. 4D, 5A, 6A; paragraphs [0176], [0192], [0206]; as set forth above, current touch reception area [target touch display area] is configured based on the size [operation parameter] thereof and the particular application being executed [target application]. Cho; FIG. 4; paragraphs [0044], [0065]; a size of the foldable display device 11, and therefore a size [touch configuration parameter] of each touch display screen, may be used to determine the particular size of the touch areas, such as areas 44 and 45 in FIG. 4. Sensor unit 102 [touch controller] may sense user touch input and transmit corresponding information to controller 103. When these teachings are combined, the particular touch sensor units of foldable display unit 12 which are activated, the size thereof, and thus what touch inputs the “touch controller” can detect, are determined by what application is currently being executed), the target touch controller belonging to or not belonging to the target screen (This last recitation is meaningless and non-limiting because it covers all possible arrangements of the target touch controller relative to the target touch display screen).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the known teachings of Cho, Nam, Mai, and Kim to yield predictable results. More specifically, the teachings of a foldable display device that changes the size and arrangement of active touch areas based on the size of the device and other information, as taught by Cho, are known. Additionally, the teachings of a display device that changes the size and arrangement of an active touch area based on a current application being executed, as taught by Kim, are known as well. The combination of the known teachings of Cho and Kim would yield the predictable results of a foldable display device that changes the size and arrangement of active touch areas based on the size of the device and other information including a current application being executed. In other words, it would have been obvious to incorporate the additional parameter of a current application to determine the size and/or location of active touch areas, as taught by Kim, into the device of Cho. Such a modification merely provides an additional parameter or type of information to determine the size and location of active touch areas. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the known teachings of Cho, Nam, Mai, and Kim to yield the aforementioned predictable results.
15. Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho and Nam as evidenced by Mai, as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, in view of Kang (U.S. Pub. 2021/0255766).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, neither Cho nor Nam nor Mai explicitly disclose: wherein obtaining the screen change information of the electronic device includes obtaining use object change information of the electronic device, and determining the screen change information based on the use object change information; wherein configuring the touch display area of the electronic device based on the screen change information includes in response to the use object of the electronic device changes, configuring the target touch display area of the electronic device based on user portrait information and/or a quantity of at least one target use object; and wherein configuring the target touch display area of the electronic device based on user portrait information and/or quantity of the at least one target use object includes at least one of: in response to the at least one target use object being unique, configuring the target touch display area based on the user portrait information of the at least one target use object; or in response to the at least one target use object being not unique, configuring the first touch display screen and the at least one second touch display screen of the electronic device as the target touch display area.
However, Kang teaches: wherein obtaining the screen change information of the electronic device includes obtaining use object change information of the electronic device, and determining the screen change information based on the use object change information (FIG. 5; paragraphs [0080], [0086], [0088]; a particular user’s use history is received to determine output layout information 20. Output layout information 20 includes a particular size or width of a touch area based on the particular user’s touch history. Each user may have different size or width of touch areas based on their own personal touch history);
wherein configuring the touch display area of the electronic device based on the screen change information includes in response to the use object of the electronic device changes, configuring the target touch display area of the electronic device based on user portrait information and/or a quantity of at least one target use object (FIG. 5; paragraphs [0080], [0086], [0088]; as set forth above, a particular user’s use history is received to determine output layout information 20 which includes a particular size or width of a touch area. When a different user utilizes the device, the output layout information 20, and thus the particular size or width of a touch area, changes based on the different user’s personalized use history [user portrait information]); and
wherein configuring the target touch display area of the electronic device based on user portrait information and/or quantity of the at least one target use object includes at least one of:
in response to the at least one target use object being unique, configuring the target touch display area based on the user portrait information of the at least one target use object (FIG. 5; paragraphs [0080], [0086], [0088]; each user has a unique personalized use history. Accordingly, when the user changes, the particular size or width of a touch area [target touch display area] of the output layout information 20 is based on the current user’s personalized use history [user portrait information]);
or in response to the target use object being not unique, configuring the first touch display screen and the at least one second touch display screen of the electronic device as the target touch display area (The remainder of this claim is recited in the alternative and is therefore optional and not required).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the known teachings of Cho, Nam, Mai, and Kang to yield predictable results. More specifically, the teachings of a foldable display device that changes the size and arrangement of active touch areas based on certain information, as taught by Cho, are known. Additionally, the teachings of a display device that changes the size and arrangement of a touch area based on a current user’s personalized use history, as taught by Kang, are known as well. The combination of the known teachings of Cho and Kang would yield the predictable results of a foldable display device that changes the size and arrangement of active touch areas based on the certain information including a current user’s personalized use history. In other words, it would have been obvious to incorporate the additional parameter of a current user’s personalized use history to determine the size of active touch areas, as taught by Kang, into the device of Cho. Such a modification merely provides an additional parameter or type of information to determine the size of active touch areas. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the known teachings of Cho, Nam, Mai, and Kang to yield the aforementioned predictable results.
Conclusion
/RYAN A LUBIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626