DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application No. 18/821,347 filed on 06/03/2026. Claim(s) 9, 11-40 and 46-177 are canceled. Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 41-45, and 178-183 is/are pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants assert on P.8 that “Applicant has amended the independent claims to recite, inter alia, displaying a content feed with primary content and supplemental content having an animation with anchor points in a first configuration (first distance from an edge and first area occupied); determining scrolling characteristics (speed, acceleration rate, direction), a viewing time, and a screen buffer characteristic; and, based on a scrolling operation and those factors, adjusting the supplemental content by modifying the anchor points to a second configuration in which the supplemental content is closer to the edge and occupies a smaller area.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Prior limitation(s) already presented in previously filed claims continue to be met by Doherty in view of Kumawat. The recently amended and pending claims, under broadest reasonable interpretation continues to be taught by the combination of Doherty in view of Kumawat. Please see the Office Action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 10, 41-43, 45, 178, and 180-181 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty et al. (US 2018/0197575) in view of Kumawat (US 10,997,770).
Consider claims 1 and 41, Doherty teaches a method and system comprising:
circuitry (Paragraph 0085-0086) configured to:
display a content feed comprising primary content and supplemental content, wherein the supplemental content comprises an animation in a first configuration (Paragraph 0015 teaches interactive advertisement inserted into a webpage or other document rendered in a window displayed on a computing device, e.g. a smartphone, a laptop, and/or any other mobile computing device. Various events such as scroll events that move the visual element within the window, swipe events that shift visual advertising content within the visual element, and/or other interactions that modify advertising content rendered within the visual element, may occur. Paragraph 0019 teaches packaging the interactive advertisement with a visual element that can later be inserted inline within a document, e.g., a webpage or mobile application. Paragraph 0050-0054 teaches a visual element indexing through frames in a set of frames at a rate proportional to a scroll-rate of a scroll-event), wherein, in the first configuration, the supplemental content is displayed at a first distance to an edge of an area displaying the content feed, and wherein, in the first configuration, the supplemental content occupies a first area of the area displaying the content feed (Figs.1A, 2-4; Paragraph 0015 teaches tracking scroll events that move the visual element within the window, swipe events that shift visual advertising content within the visual element, and/or other interactions that modify advertising content rendered within the visual element. Paragraph 0018 teaches a scroll event that moves the interactive visual ad vertically within a window rendered on a display of a computing device. Paragraph 0019 teaches packaging the interactive advertisement with a visual element that can later be inserted inline within a document, e.g., a webpage or mobile application. Paragraph 0050 teaches moving the visual element vertically within a window of the computing device. Paragraph 0052 teaches different vertical positions of the visual element assigned to particular frame in a set of frames. Paragraph 0053 teaches visual elemental moving from bottom of the window toward the top of the window in response to a scroll-down event, or in reverse during a scroll up event. First configuration, could be supplemental content being displayed around the middle of the display, further away from the edge of area, like the images show in, including, but not limited to S156-Fig.2, frame 5 – Fig.4, where supplement content occupies a first area);
determine scrolling characteristics of the primary content and the supplemental content being displayed, wherein the scrolling characteristics include/comprise a speed of scrolling, an acceleration rate of the scrolling, and a direction of the scrolling (Paragraph 0053 teaches forward playback of a segment of a digital video represented in the set of frames at a frame rate corresponding to a speed at which the visual element is drawn from a bottom of the window toward the top of the window, i.e., a “scroll-down event”; as a rewind function or reverse playback of the same segment of the digital video at a frame rate corresponding to a speed at which the visual element is drawn from a top of the window toward the bottom of the window, i.e., a “scroll-up event”; and as pausing playback of the segment of the digital video in the absence of a scroll event at the window. Paragraph 0065 teaches a number of discrete scroll events at scroll speeds less than a threshold scroll speed or within a scroll speed range corresponding to historical peak user engagement. Paragraph 0066 teaches user interactions such as user rapidly scrolling, e.g. faster than a threshold speed, slowly scrolling, scrolling up and then scrolling down. Paragraph 0072 teaches multiple different advertisement formats, e.g., with multiple frames and different scroll directions; and serve these different interactive advertisements, of different formats, to various user);
determine a viewing time of the supplemental content (Paragraph 0044 teaches assigning a unique timestamp to each frame. Upon insertion of an instance of the visual element and the video file into a webpage or other document, the visual element can link a unique timestamp corresponding to one frame in the video file to a unique range of positions occupied by the visual element within a window rendered on a display of a computing device navigating to the webpage. Paragraph 0065 teaches a number of times the visual element enters and exits the window; a maximum duration the advertisement remains continuously within the window; and/or a total duration the advertisement is shown within the visual element during a single access to the webpage containing the visual element at the computing device; etc. The visual element can also track: a duration of time that the visual element is shown within the window while the webpage or other document is accessed at the computing device. Paragraph 0073 teaches in response to a first engagement metric of a first interactive advertisement exceeding a second engagement metric of a second interactive advertisement, the ad platform can selectively serve the first interactive advertisement preferentially, i.e., in lieu of serving the second interactive advertisement to a computing device, during a time window);
determine a characteristic of a screen buffer (Paragraph 0050-0054, 0060-0061); and
based at least in part on a scrolling operation, the scrolling characteristics of the primary content and the supplemental content being displayed, the viewing time, the characteristic of the screen buffer, and an effect of the scrolling operation on the area displaying the content feed, adjust the supplemental content in the content feed by modifying the animation to be in a second configuration different from the first configuration (Paragraph 0050-0054; Paragraph 0060-0061; Paragraph 0065, 0073), wherein, in the second configuration, the supplemental content is displayed at a second distance closer to the edge of the area displaying the content feed than the first distance, and wherein, in the second configuration, the supplemental content occupies a second area of the area displaying the content feed smaller than the first area (Figs.1A, 2-4; Paragraph 0015 teaches tracking scroll events that move the visual element within the window, swipe events that shift visual advertising content within the visual element, and/or other interactions that modify advertising content rendered within the visual element. Paragraph 0018 teaches a scroll event that moves the interactive visual ad vertically within a window rendered on a display of a computing device. Paragraph 0019 teaches packaging the interactive advertisement with a visual element that can later be inserted inline within a document, e.g., a webpage or mobile application. Paragraph 0050 teaches moving the visual element vertically within a window of the computing device. Paragraph 0052 teaches different vertical positions of the visual element assigned to particular frame in a set of frames. Paragraph 0053 teaches visual elemental moving from bottom of the window toward the top of the window in response to a scroll-down event, or in reverse during a scroll up event. Second configuration, could be supplemental content being displayed at the edge of the area, like the images shown in, including, but not limited to S150-Fig.2 or 2nd image of frame 20 in Fig.4. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, one can see this second area of the display that the supplemental content occupies is smaller than the first area that is occupied in S156-Fig.2, frame 5 – Fig.4);
Doherty does not explicitly teach wherein animation is an animation having one or more anchor points in a first configuration;
modifying the one or more anchor points of the animation to be in a second configuration different from the first configuration.
In an analogous art, Kumawat teaches wherein animation is an animation having one or more anchor points in a first configuration; modifying the one or more anchor points of the animation to be in a second configuration different from the first configuration (Col 4: lines 22-48 teaches an animation system capable of providing various different animations, where glyph points may be positioned at endpoints or control points of the segments of the glyph. Col 11: line 61 – Col 2: line 2 teaches animation system where glyph has a quadratic Bezier curve, which includes one control point and two anchor points. Col 13: lines 20-23, Col 14: lines 37-41 teaches anchor points P1 and P3. Col 15: lines 20-54 teaches setting a value of first anchor point 640 to A=(A.x, A.y), such that x-coordinate of first anchor point 640 is A.x=P1.x and y-coordinate is A.y=P1.y. Second anchor point C=(C.x, C.y). Col 17: lines 5-18 teaches an example where there may be thirty anchor points 640, where each anchor point is used as a glyph point. Col 17: lines 24-29, Col 18: lines 11-17 teaches animation may be generated in real time, generating keyframes for the animation based on the glyph points. Figs.12-17, 26-29 teaches animations at different timepoints based on their glyph/anchor points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Doherty to include based at least in part on detecting the video embedded within the primary content being displayed is beyond the at least the portion of the screen buffer allocated to the video, displaying a modified video, as taught by ADVENTIVE, for the advantage of providing a great way to boost view-through rates (ADVENTIVE – P.1-2), helping to better ensure visibility and play through rates for designated video(s).
Consider claims 2 and 42, Doherty and Kumawat teach wherein:
the screen buffer comprises the primary content and the supplemental content (Doherty - Paragraph 0015, 0019; Paragraph 0050);
the characteristic of the screen buffer comprises a size of the screen buffer (Doherty - Paragraph 0050-0051); and
the adjusting the supplemental content in the content feed is based at least in part on the scrolling characteristics of the primary content and the supplemental content being displayed and the size of the screen buffer (Doherty - Paragraph 0050-0054; Paragraph 0060-0061; Paragraph 0065, 0073).
Consider claims 3 and 43, Doherty and Kumawat teach wherein:
the adjusting the supplemental content in the content feed comprises: determining boundaries of the supplemental content relative to a display screen; identifying an amount of vertical screen space above and below the boundaries of the supplemental content; and based at least in part on the amount of vertical screen space above and below the boundaries of the supplemental content being below a threshold, changing content of the supplemental content (Doherty - Paragraph 0050-0054; Paragraph 0060-0061).
Consider claims 5 and 45, Doherty and Kumawat teach wherein the scrolling characteristic comprises at least one of a scroll depth, a bounce rate, a load time, a size of a feed buffer, a size of the screen buffer, a size of an available memory, an eye gaze characteristic, a touchscreen input (Doherty - Figs.1A, 2, 3; Paragraph 0015), a scroll pattern, a user interaction via a user device, a scroll position, a time on a page, or an end-of-scroll indicator.
Consider claim 6, Doherty and Kumawat teach wherein the content feed includes a video, and wherein the adjusting the supplemental content in the content feed comprises: adjusting a video playout speed of the video based at least in part on a scrolling speed with respect to content in the content feed (Doherty - Paragraph 0050-0054).
Consider claim 10, Doherty and Kumawat teach wherein the adjusting the supplemental content in the content feed comprises: dynamically adjusting rendering of images contained in the content feed (Doherty - Paragraph 0050-0054).
Consider claim 178, Doherty and Kumawat teach wherein: the animation is displayed in a first size when the one or more anchor points are in the first configuration; and the animation is displayed in a second size different from the first size when the one or more anchor points are in the second configuration (Kumawat - Figs.17, 26-28, 29 teaches animations at different timepoints based on their glyph/anchor points. We can see that animation may be at a first size then a second size later on).
Consider claim 180, Doherty and Kumawat teach wherein:
the supplemental content further comprises a first message corresponding to the animation when the one or more anchor points are in the first configuration; the supplemental content further comprises a second message according to the animation when the one or more anchor points are in the second configuration; and the second message is based at least in part on the adjusting (Kumawat - Figs.12-17, 26-29 teaches animations at different timepoints based on their glyph/anchor points. Where message(s) shown with different effect corresponds to the animation for each anchor point).
Consider claim 181, Doherty and Kumawat teach wherein the supplemental content comprises a media content item and the animation comprises a character of the media content item (Doherty – Paragraph 0044, 0073; Kumawat - Figs.12-17, 26-29 teaches animations at different timepoints based on their glyph/anchor points. Where the words are made up with character(s) which is part of the media content item).
Claim(s) 4 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty et al. (US 2018/0197575), in view of Kumawat (US 10,997,770), in view of Sirpal et al. (US 2013/0080970).
Consider claims 4 and 44, Doherty and Kumawat teach wherein: the adjusting the supplemental content in the content feed comprises: determining boundaries of the supplemental content relative to a display screen; identifying an amount of screen space to a first side of and to a second side of the boundaries of the supplemental content; and based at least in part on the amount of screen space to the first side of and to the second side of the boundaries of the supplemental content being below a threshold, changing content of the supplemental content (Doherty - Paragraph 0050-0054; Paragraph 0060-0061).
In an analogous art, Sirpal teaches wherein a first side is a left side and wherein a second side is a right side; scrolling is applicable in both landscape and portrait mode (Figs.22-23; Paragraph 0418).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Doherty and Kumawat to include wherein a first side is a left side and wherein a second side is a right side; scrolling is applicable in both landscape and portrait mode, as taught by Sirpal, for the advantage of enabling scrolling to be applicable to both landscape and portrait mode in a similar manner (Sirpal – Paragraph 0418), enabling the user to navigate and go through content however they wish.
The combination of Doherty, Kumawat, and Sirpal teaches identifying an amount of horizontal screen space to a left side of and to a right side of the boundaries of the supplemental content; and based at least in part on the amount of horizontal screen space to the left side of and to the right side of the boundaries of the supplemental content being below a threshold, changing content of the supplemental content.
As Doherty already taught identifying the amount of screen space at the boundaries of the content, in the direction it is being scrolled, thus changing the supplemental content. Sirpal teaches scrolling of content can be applicable to both landscape and portrait mode. Therefore, the combination provides for a combined system where when content is scrolled in landscape mode, the combination would take into account the screen space at the boundaries of the content, in order to appropriate change the content as it is being scrolled horizontally from left to right in landscape mode, just as when it is scrolled vertically from up to down in portrait mode.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty et al. (US 2018/0197575), in view of Kumawat (US 10,997,770), and further in view of ADVENTIVE.
Consider claim 7, Doherty and Kumawat teach wherein the adjusting the supplemental content in the content feed comprises: displaying a video embedded within the primary content being displayed; detecting when the video embedded within the primary content being displayed is beyond at least a portion of the screen buffer allocated to the video; and based at least in part on detecting the video embedded within the primary content being displayed is beyond the at least the portion of the screen buffer allocated to the video, displaying a modified video (Doherty - Paragraph 0050-0054; Paragraph 0060-0061).
Doherty and Kumawat do not explicitly teach based at least in part on detecting the video embedded within the primary content being displayed is beyond the at least the portion of the screen buffer allocated to the video, displaying a modified video.
In an analogous art, ADVENTIVE teaches based at least in part on detecting the video embedded within the primary content being displayed is beyond the at least the portion of the screen buffer allocated to the video, displaying a modified video (P.1-3, 12-13 teaches when a user scrolls past a video ad made sticky, and the unit moves out of the viewable area of the screen, the video automatically pops out and anchors to a specified location on screen. The video will load in-article initially, and once the in-feed video has been scrolled past, the video pop up in the lower right hand corner of the screen by default. The positioning can be adjusted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Doherty to include based at least in part on detecting the video embedded within the primary content being displayed is beyond the at least the portion of the screen buffer allocated to the video, displaying a modified video, as taught by ADVENTIVE, for the advantage of providing a great way to boost view-through rates (ADVENTIVE – P.1-2), helping to better ensure visibility and play through rates for designated video(s).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty et al. (US 2018/0197575), in view of Kumawat (US 10,997,770), in view of ADVENTIVE, and further in view of Obara et al. (US 10,063,911), and further in view of Ganschow et al. (US 2020/0245017).
Consider claim 8, Doherty, Kumawat, and ADVENTIVE teach wherein the displaying the unfinished portion of the video in the picture-in-picture window is played, and wherein the displaying the unfinished portion of the video in the picture-in-picture window is played (ADVENTIVE - P.1-3, 12-13; Doherty - Paragraph 0050-0054; Paragraph 0060-0061), content with video appears in the content feed (Doherty - Paragraph 0044, 0046, 0053), but do not explicitly teach the picture-in-picture window is played with an accelerated adjusted speed, picture-in-picture window is played with an accelerated adjusted speed until a next content with video appears.
In an analogous art, Obara teaches a picture-in-picture window is played with an accelerated adjusted speed, the picture-in-picture window is played with an accelerated adjusted speed (Col 5: lines 21-25 teaches video playback at the PIP window being at a faster playback rate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Doherty, Kumawat, and ADVENTIVE to include a picture-in-picture window is played with an accelerated adjusted speed, the picture-in-picture window is played with an accelerated adjusted speed, as taught by Obara, for the advantage of enabling the user to quickly go through content, allowing them to still ascertain the gist of the content, in a shorter/condensed amount of time.
Doherty, Kumawat, ADVENTIVE, and Obara do not explicitly teach the window is played until a next content with video appears.
In an analogous art, Ganschow teaches a window is played until a next content with video appears (Paragraph 0146-0150).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Doherty, Kumawat, ADVENTIVE, and Obara to include a window is played until a next content with video appears, as taught by Ganschow, for the advantage of providing advertising conflict avoidance, where advertising conflict between overlays and video advertisement is avoided (Ganschow – Paragraph 0146), ensuring there isn’t any unnecessary overlap that may detract from intended content.
Claim(s) 179 and 182 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty et al. (US 2018/0197575), in view of Kumawat (US 10,997,770), and further in view of Dickens (US 10,593,124).
Consider claim 179, Doherty and Kumawat teaches wherein: the animation is displayed in a first mode when the one or more anchor points are in the first configuration; and the animation is displayed in a second mode different from the first mode when the one or more anchor points are in the second configuration (Kumawat - Figs.12-17, 26-29 teaches animations at different timepoints based on their glyph/anchor points), but do not explicitly teach the animation is displayed in a first orientation when the one or more anchor points are in the first configuration; and the animation is displayed in a second orientation different from the first orientation when the one or more anchor points are in the second configuration.
In an analogous art, Dickens teaches animation is displayed in a first orientation when one or more anchor points are in a first configuration; and the animation is displayed in a second orientation different from the first orientation when the one or more anchor points are in the second configuration (Col 8: lines 13-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Doherty and Kumawat to include animation is displayed in a first orientation when one or more anchor points are in a first configuration; and the animation is displayed in a second orientation different from the first orientation when the one or more anchor points are in the second configuration, as taught by Dickens, for the advantage of enabling the animation to continue to track and/or constrained according to anchor point(s), maintaining consistency and predictability.
Consider claim 182, Doherty and Kumawat teach wherein each of the one or more anchor points is indicative of respective position information (Kumawat – Col 15: lines 20-54), but do not explicitly teach anchor points is indicative of respective rotation information.
In an analogous art, Dickens teaches anchor points is indicative of respective rotation information (Col 8: lines 21-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Doherty and Kumawat to include animation is displayed in a first orientation when one or more anchor points are in a first configuration; and the animation is displayed in a second orientation different from the first orientation when the one or more anchor points are in the second configuration, as taught by Dickens, for the advantage of enabling the animation to continue to track and/or constrained according to anchor point(s), allowing animation to be displayed properly, maintaining consistency and predictability.
Claim(s) 183 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty et al. (US 2018/0197575), in view of Kumawat (US 10,997,770), and further in view of Armatures – Blender 4.1 Manual (hereinafter referred to as Blender4.1).
Consider claim 183, Doherty and Kumawat do not explicitly wherein each of the one or more anchor points comprises two or more anchor points, wherein one of the two or more anchor points is connected to another one of the two or more anchor points, wherein any two of the two or more anchor points are connected to each other with varying strength and rigidity to simulate different features, and wherein each of the two or more anchor points has an adjustable position variable and an adjustable rotation variable to alter the display of the animation.
In an analogous art, Blender4.1 teaches wherein each of the one or more anchor points comprises two or more anchor points, wherein one of the two or more anchor points is connected to another one of the two or more anchor points, wherein any two of the two or more anchor points are connected to each other with varying strength and rigidity to simulate different features, and wherein each of the two or more anchor points has an adjustable position variable and an adjustable rotation variable to alter the display of the animation (Please refer to the attached NPL document Armatures – Blender 4.1 Manual. Note that the entirety of the Blender 4.1 manual which qualifies as prior art in its entirety was not provided, only the relevant portions. Therefore, including, but not limited to the relevant portions provided in the attached NPL document, the limitations are met by the following descriptions taught. Claimed anchor points are met by the head and tail points of the bone object. Claimed strength is met by the bones influence/IK stretch. Claimed rigidity is met by stiffness and various constraints that can be applied. Claimed anchor point adjustable position variable is met by Transform – Head/Tail X, Y, Z coordinates that can be set. Claimed anchor point adjustable rotation is met by Transform – Roll rotation variable that can be set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Doherty and Kumawat to include wherein each of the one or more anchor points comprises two or more anchor points, wherein one of the two or more anchor points is connected to another one of the two or more anchor points, wherein any two of the two or more anchor points are connected to each other with varying strength and rigidity to simulate different features, and wherein each of the two or more anchor points has an adjustable position variable and an adjustable rotation variable to alter the display of the animation, as taught by Blender4.1, for the advantage of providing the user and/or the system greater flexibility over how an animation is to be played out, providing the user and/or system with the utmost control to execute on the planned vision.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zuverink et al. discloses shrinking the display size of a document during scrolling operation in (US 2013/0326398).
Ramanthan discloses when browser is at the top of the page, advertisement instance is shown at full size. When user scrolls down, advertisement is resized in (US 2011/0035263).
Adobe Animate – Classroom in a Book teaches animation of armatures using Inverse Kinematics with bones, where physics may be simulated with springiness, where strength and rigidity is simulated in the animation, and users can also adjust the position and rotation of bones.
Conclusion
/JASON K LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425