DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 9 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
MLD acronym is being used for the first time in claims 1 and 17.
BA acronym is being used for the first time in claims 5 and 9.
Each acronym should be expanded at least once when first used in the claim set.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 12, 13, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (US-PGPUB 2023/0094149).
Regarding claim 1, Smith teaches an access point (AP) device comprising: a controller configured to determine a frame exchange context for a plurality of frame exchanges with a non-AP device roaming from a current serving AP MLD affiliated with a roaming MLD group identifying address to a new serving AP MLD affiliated with the roaming MLD group identifying address [Para 16, frame exchange is configured to a device that is roaming from one access point to another access point]; and a wireless transceiver configured to conduct the frame exchanges with the non-AP device based on the frame exchange context [Fig. 4A, 406, transceiver is used for frame exchange with the device].
Regarding claim 2, Smith teaches a common Media Access Control (MAC) address that is used to identify a group of AP MLDs for association or key negotiation with the non-AP device and to identify the new serving AP MLD to which the non-AP device is roamed to [Fig. 4A and 4B].
Regarding claim 3, Smith teaches information for downlink (DL) frame transmission from the new serving AP MLD to the non-AP device [Para 33].
Regarding claim 7, Smith teaches information for uplink (UL) frame reception at the new serving AP MLD from the non-AP device [Para 42].
Regarding claim 12, Smith teaches a non-AP MLD [Fig. 1, 104].
Regarding claim 13, Smith teaches the controller is further configured to determine the frame exchange context for the frame exchanges between the new serving AP MLD and the non-AP device based on a frame exchange context for a plurality of frame exchanges between the current serving AP MLD and the non-AP device [Fig. 4A and 4B].
Regarding claim 15, Smith teaches the current serving AP MLD and the new serving AP MLD [Para 16].
Regarding claim 16, Smith teaches an AP MLD compatible with an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 protocol [Para 19].
Regarding claim 17, Smith teaches an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) compatible with an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 protocol, the AP MLD comprising: a controller configured to determine a frame exchange context for a plurality of frame exchanges with a non-AP MLD roaming from a current serving AP MLD affiliated with a roaming MLD group identifying address to a new serving AP MLD affiliated with the roaming MLD group identifying address, wherein the roaming MLD group identifying address is used to identity a group of AP MLDs for association or key negotiation with the non-AP MLD [Para 16, Fig. 4A and 4B]; and a wireless transceiver configured to conduct the frame exchanges with the non-AP MLD based on the frame exchange context [Fig. 4A, 406].
Regarding claim 18, Smith teaches information for downlink (DL) frame transmission from the new serving AP MLD to the non-AP MLD or information for uplink (UL) frame reception at the new serving AP MLD from the non-AP MLD [Para 33 and 42].
Regarding claim 20, Smith teaches a method for wireless communications, the method comprising: at a group of access point (AP) multi-link devices (MLDs) identified by a roaming MLD group identifying address, determining a frame exchange context for a plurality of frame exchanges with a non-AP device roaming from a current serving AP MLD affiliated with the roaming MLD group identifying address to a new serving AP MLD affiliated with the roaming MLD group identifying address [Para 16]; and conducting the frame exchanges with the non-AP device based on the frame exchange context [Fig. 4A and 4B].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US-PGPUB 2023/0094149) in view of Nayak et al. (USPN 12,720,418).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Smith teaches an AP device and an AP MLD as discussed in rejection of claims 2 and 17.
However, Smith does not teach information regarding whether the non-AP device’s/MLD’s emergency preparedness communications service (EPCS) is enabled.
Nayak teaches information regarding whether the non-AP device’s/MLD’s emergency preparedness communications service (EPCS) is enabled [Abstract].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine if EPCS is enabled so that coordination with other access points can be done in case of emergency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8-10 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jiang (US-PGPUB 2024/0196298) teaches determining a new serving cell when the acquisition of the location information of the user equipment does not meet the preset condition.
Kumar et al. (USPN 11,785,514) teaches obtaining reselection parameters defining biases to favor connectivity of a user equipment (UE) to a preferred radio access technology (RAT) connectivity capable cell over a non-preferred RAT connectivity capable cell, where the reselection parameters include current serving cell reselection offsets and new serving cell selection offsets.
Rudolf et al. (USPN 9,258,690) teaches indicator that identifies a call as an emergency call may consist of a bit of a flag located in a medium access control frame or an information element that includes an emergency call flag or a reason code. An access point (AP) adds location information to the emergency call.
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464