CTNF 18/821,390 CTNF 78669 DETAILED ACTION Oath/Declaration Oath and declaration filed on 8/30/2024 is accepted. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shutzberg et al (2025/0060597 A1) in view of Robertson et al (6,034,653) . Regarding claim 1, Shutzberg et al discloses (refer to 1-4C) a head-mountable electronic device (100) , comprising: a frame (102); a window coupled to the frame (102); a projector (307) (paragraph 0045) configured to guide light displayed at the window; and a securement arm (104a,104b) (paragraph 0035) extending from the frame, the securement arm comprising: a proximal portion (106a,106b) (paragraph 0037) connected to the frame (102) (paragraph 0037) ; a distal portion (108a,108b) connected to the proximal portion; and an expansion mechanism connecting the proximal portion to the distal portion. Shutzberg et al discloses all of the claimed limitations not explicitly disclose the expansion mechanism configured to extend the distal portion away from the proximal portion, the distal portion having a mass greater than a mass of the proximal portion. Robertson et al discloses expansion mechanism configured to extend the distal portion away from the proximal portion, the distal portion having a mass greater than a mass of the proximal portion (refer to figures 1- 4, expansion mechanism 110 and 120, headset device 10, column 3, lines 10-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide teaching of expansion mechanism in to the Shutzberg et al a head -mounted device minimum head support weight and the display pod is adjustable to accommodate various head size as taught by Robertson (column 1, lines 55-60). PNG media_image1.png 386 443 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2, Shutzberg et al discloses wherein the distal portion (108a and 108b) is configured to be disposed behind a user’s ear when the head-mountable electronic device is donned by the user. Regarding claim 3, Shutzberg et al discloses further comprising: a first electronic component (305) disposed in the distal portion; and a second electronic component (307) disposed in the proximal portion. Regarding claim 4, Shutzberg et al discloses wherein the expansion mechanism comprises an electric actuator. Regarding claim 5, wherein the expansion mechanism comprises a manual actuator. Regarding claim 6, wherein: the securement arm is a first securement arm; the distal portion is a first distal portion; the expansion mechanism is a first expansion mechanism; and the head-mountable electronic device further comprises: a second securement arm comprising a second proximal portion connected to a second distal portion at a second expansion mechanism. Regarding claim 7, further comprising a connection band comprising the first distal portion and the second distal portion, the connection band extending from the first proximal portion to the second proximal portion. Regarding claim 8, Shutzberg et al discloses (refer to 1-4C) a head-mountable electronic device (100) , comprising: a frame (102); a window coupled to the frame; a waveguide (307) configured to guide light displayed at the window; and a securement arm extending from the frame, the securement arm (104a,104b) (paragraph 0035) comprising: a proximal portion(106a,106b) (paragraph 0037) connected to the frame, the proximal portion comprising a first electronic component; a distal portion (108a,108b) connected to the proximal portion, the distal portion comprising a second electronic component electrically coupled to the first electronic component. Shutzberg et al discloses all of the claimed limitations not explicitly disclose the expansion mechanism adjustment mechanism configured to move the distal portion distally relative to the frame. Robertson et al discloses the expansion mechanism adjustment mechanism configured to move the distal portion distally relative to the frame (refer to figures 1- 4, expansion mechanism 110 and 120, headset device 10, column 3, lines 10-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide teaching of expansion mechanism in to the Shutzberg et al a head - mounted device minimum head support weight and the display pod is adjustable to accommodate various head size as taught by Robertson (column 1, lines 55-60). Regarding claim 12, combination of Shutzberg et al in view of Robertson et al discloses wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises a friction hinge pivotally attaching the distal portion to the proximal portion (see figure 1). Regarding claim 13, combination of Shutzberg et al in view of Robertson et al discloses wherein an inner surface of the distal portion comprises a hair coupler (see figure 1). Regarding claim 14, combination of Shutzberg et al in view of Robertson et al discloses herein: the securement arm is a first securement arm; the head-mountable electronic device further comprises a second securement arm extending from the frame; and the distal portion extends from the first securement arm to the second securement arm . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shutzberg et al (2025/0060597 A1) in view of Robertson et al (6,034,653) further in view of Dong et al (8,553,910 B1) . Regarding claim 15, Shutzberg et al discloses (refer to 1-4C) a head-mountable display device (100) , comprising: a frame (102) a window coupled to the frame(102) ; a projector (307) (paragraph 0045) configured to guide light displayed at the window; a first securement arm extending from the frame(104a,104b) (paragraph 0035) , the first securement arm including a first distal end; a second securement arm extending from the frame, the second securement arm including a second distal end (108a and 108b). Shutzberg et al in view of Robertson et al discloses all of the claimed limitations except an adjustable ballast extending between and secured to the first distal end and the second distal end; and an adjustment mechanism configured to change a position of the ballast relative to the frame. Dong et al disclose an adjustable ballast (pad 124) extending between and secured to the first distal end and the second distal end; and an adjustment mechanism configured to change a position of the ballast relative to the frame. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide teaching of an adjustable ballast in to the Shutzberg et al in view of Robertson et al a head mounted device to have wide variety of different configuration as taught by Dong et al ( lines 35-40). Regarding claim 16, Shutzberg et al in view of Robertson et al discloses wherein the adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust an angle of the adjustable ballast relative to the first securement arm and the second securement arm. Regarding claim 17, Shutzberg et al in view of Robertson et al discloses wherein the adjustment mechanism is configured to extend the adjustable ballast distally away from the first distal end and the second distal end. Regarding claim 18, Shutzberg et al in view of Robertson et al discloses wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises a friction fit between the adjustable ballast and the first distal end. Regarding claim 19, Shutzberg et al in view of Robertson et al discloses wherein: the adjustment mechanism is a first adjustment mechanism; and the head-mountable display device further comprises a second adjustment mechanism coupling the first securement arm to the frame. Regarding claim 20, Shutzberg et al (2025/0060597 A1) in view of Robertson et al wherein the second adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust an angle of the frame relative to the first securement arm . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 3. Claim s 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA 4. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: wherein: the adjustment mechanism comprises a dial coupled to the distal portion and the proximal portion; and the dial is configured to adjust an angle of the distal portion relative to the proximal portion when the dial is manipulated and wherein: the adjustment mechanism comprises a dial coupled to the distal portion or the proximal portion; and the dial is configured to adjust a distance between the distal portion and the proximal portion when the dial is manipulated and wherein: the adjustment mechanism comprises a notched strap coupled to the distal portion and the proximal portion; and the notched strap is configured to adjust a distance between the distal portion and the proximal portion when the distal portion is manipulated relative to the proximal portion . Conclusion 5. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MOHAMMED A HASAN whose telephone number is (571)272-2331. The examiner can normally be reached M-TH 6 AM -4 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Bumsuk Won can be reached at 571-272-2713. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MOHAMMED A HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 5/13/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/821,390 Page 2 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/821,390 Page 3 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/821,390 Page 4 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/821,390 Page 5 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/821,390 Page 6 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/821,390 Page 7 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/821,390 Page 8 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/821,390 Page 9 Art Unit: 2872