DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show "the process moving onto the next leaf node which becomes the current leaf node for step 47 in figure 4" as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8 10, 11, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson (US20180365879A1) in view of Bruce (US20220392147A1).
Regarding claim 1, Peterson teaches a method of operating a graphics processing system when rendering a frame that represents a view of a scene comprising one or more objects using a ray tracing process, the graphics processing system comprising:
a graphics processor comprising a programmable execution unit; and a local memory, the method comprising: “Ray tracing systems can be configured to render images” (Peterson, 0001) and “a memory configured to store ray data for a ray to be processed in the ray tracing system” (Peterson, 0033).
executing, by the programmable execution unit of the graphics processor, a program to render a frame that represents a view of a scene comprising one or more objects using the ray tracing process; “The rays may be processed by performing intersection testing of the rays with geometry of a 3-D scene to be rendered” (Peterson, 0002) and “FIG. 2 shows an example of a scene 202 which includes two surfaces 204.sub.1 and 204.sub.2. This is a very simple example, and in other examples there would likely be many more surfaces and objects within the scene. FIG. 2 shows two light sources 206.sub.1 and 206.sub.2 which illuminate objects in the scene” (Peterson, 0096).
performing a traversal of a ray tracing acceleration data structure indicative of the distribution of geometry for the scene being rendered, the ray tracing acceleration data structure comprising a plurality of nodes, each node associated with a respective one or more volumes within the scene, the plurality of nodes comprising a plurality of internal nodes and a plurality of end nodes that may be intersected by a ray, wherein one or more internal nodes are associated with at least one end node, to determine, by testing the ray for intersection with the volumes represented by the nodes of the acceleration data structure, a first internal node of the plurality of nodes that will be intersected by a ray; “Each non-leaf node is therefore in an embodiment a parent node for a respective set of plural child nodes with the parent node volume encompassing the volumes of its respective child nodes” (Bruce, 0033). “The ray-volume intersection testing thus in an embodiment takes as input a node of the ray tracing acceleration data structure that is desired to be tested (which node will typically be a parent or non-leaf node) against and then tests one or more rays in the group of plural rays that are performing the traversal together for intersection against one or more volumes associated with the node being tested” (Bruce, 0078). “Once it has been determined by performing such a traversal operation for a ray which end nodes represent geometry that may be intersected by a ray, the actual geometry intersections for the ray for the geometry that occupies the volumes associated with the intersected end nodes can be determined accordingly, e.g. by testing the ray for intersection with the individual units of geometry (primitives) defined for the scene that occupy the volumes associated with the leaf nodes” (Bruce, 0037). “The ray tracing acceleration data structure traversal operation therefore involves traversing the nodes of the ray tracing acceleration data structure, testing rays for intersection with the volumes associated with the nodes” (Bruce, 0032).
determining a first end node associated with the first internal node that will be intersected by a ray; “The acceleration structure 124 may comprise a plurality of linked nodes (interpreted as internal nodes), where each node can represent a portion of the scene space. Nodes may for example be bounding boxes of sets of one or more primitives (interpreted as end nodes). In other examples, nodes may be spheres representing the position of a portion of geometry in the scene. The intersection testing logic 106 can perform intersection testing of rays against the nodes of the scene hierarchy” (Peterson, 0092).
requesting data associated with the first end node from the local memory; “The local ray memory 112 may act as a cache for the ray data which is passed between the ray tracing unit 102 and the ray data memory 126” (Peterson, 0093) and “In step S702 the intersection testing logic 106 receives ray data from the local ray memory 112 for a ray that is to be intersection tested against geometry in the scene. The ray data includes the ray direction data compressed (e.g. in the octahedral vector format), and includes a clipping distance for the ray which may be scaled as a result of step S505. The intersection testing logic 106 also receives data describing the position of geometry in the scene, which may for example involve receiving primitive data from the geometry cache 114 or receiving the scene hierarchy 124 from the scene hierarchy unit 110” (Peterson, 0123).
and determining, by testing the ray for intersection with the first end node, if the first end node is intersected by the ray. “The bounding boxes may be nodes of the scene hierarchy 124 received from the scene hierarchy unit 110” (Peterson, 0133). “The sphere(s) may be node(s) of the scene hierarchy 124 received from the scene hierarchy unit 110” and “the intersection testing logic 106 may be considered to comprise a sphere intersection tester configured to perform intersection testing on the ray by identifying an intersection of the ray with a sphere representing the position of a portion of geometry in the scene” (Peterson, 0134).
requesting a prefetch of data associated with a second node of the plurality of nodes to be stored in the local memory; “In cases where the node may be associated with up to six child nodes, that means that up to three separate memory transactions would be required to fetch all of the child node data” (Bruce, 0229).
Peterson and Bruce are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor of data processing. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine system of Peterson with types of nodes of Bruce in order to Ray tracing allows for realistic images to be rendered but often requires high levels of processing power and large working memories, such that ray tracing can be difficult to implement for rendering images in real-time (e.g. for use with gaming applications), particularly on devices which have tight constraints on silicon area, cost and power consumption, such as on mobile devices (e.g. smart phones, tablets, laptops, etc.) (Peterson, 0001).
Regarding claim 2, the method of claim 1, Bruce teaches further comprising: determining the data associated with the first end node is not in the local memory and fetching the data associated with the first end node from an external memory.
“If the data is already present locally, e.g. within a cache, it can be fetched from that location accordingly. On the other hand, if the data is not present locally, it must be obtained from memory” (Bruce, 0460).
“In the present embodiment the data is stored in memory in an encoded form, as described above and as shown in FIG. 13. Thus, the child node volume data is in the present embodiments obtained from memory in such encoded form (step 1402)” (Bruce, 0461).
“For example, where a cache system is used to transfer data from external memory to the graphics processor, the cache is in an embodiment arranged, and the cache lines are in an embodiment sized, in order to facilitate fetching blocks of data in this manner” (Bruce, 0214).
“The child node volume data is in the present embodiments obtained from memory in such encoded form (step 1402), e.g. by reading in the data structure 1300 shown in FIG. 13” (Bruce, 0461).
Regarding claim 6, the method of claim 1, Peterson teaches in which the local memory is cache memory. “The memory in which the ray data is stored may be a local on-chip memory, and may be considered to be a cache” (Peterson, 0023).
Regarding claim 7, the method of claim 1, Bruce teaches in which the ray tracing acceleration data structure comprises a tree structure comprising a plurality of branches associated with a respective plurality of end nodes, wherein each non-end node in the tree structure is a parent node for a respective set of one or more child nodes, each non-end node thereby being associated with a corresponding respective set of child volumes. “The ray tracing acceleration data structure can thus be (and in an embodiment is) traversed by proceeding down the branches of the tree structure and testing the rays against the child volumes associated with a node at a first level of the tree structure to thereby determine which child nodes in the next level of the tree structure should be tested, and so on, down to the level of the respective leaf nodes at the end of the branches of the tree structure” (Bruce, 0034) and “each non-leaf node is therefore in an embodiment a parent node for a respective set of plural child nodes with the parent node volume encompassing the volumes of its respective child nodes” (Bruce, 0033).
Regarding claim 8, The method of claim 1, in which the end nodes represent respective subsets of primitives defined for the scene that occupies the volume that the end node corresponds to. “Thus it may represent the geometry in terms of individual graphics primitives, or sets of graphics primitives, e.g. such that each leaf node of the tree structure represents a corresponding subset of the graphics primitives defined for the scene that occupies the volume that the leaf node corresponds to” (Bruce, 0170).
Peterson, Damron, and Bruce are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor of data processing. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine system of Peterson, second node of Damron, and external memory of Bruce in order to improve techniques for performing ray tracing using a graphics processor (Bruce, 0008).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is directed to a method claim with the similar limitations as claim 1 As such, claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is directed to a method claim with the similar limitations as claim 2. As such, claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is directed to a method claim with the similar limitations as claim 6 As such, claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is directed to a method claim with the similar limitations as claim 7. As such, claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is directed to a method claim with the similar limitations as claim 8. As such, claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson (US20180365879A1) and Bruce (US20220392147A1) as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Damron (US6782454B1).
Regarding claim 3, the method of claim 1, Bruce teaches further comprising:
requesting the prefetched data associated with the second node from the local memory; "The graphics processor may thus issue a request to the memory system for the required child node volume data (step 1401). If the data is already present locally, e.g. within a cache, it can be fetched from that location accordingly. On the other hand, if the data is not present locally, it must be obtained from memory" (Bruce, 0460).
determining, by testing the ray for intersection with the second node, if the second node is intersected by the ray. “Wherein the ray tracing process uses a ray tracing acceleration data structure indicative of the distribution of geometry for the scene to be rendered to determine geometry for the scene that may be intersected by a ray being used for a ray tracing operation, the ray tracing acceleration data structure comprising a plurality of nodes, each node associated with a respective one or more volumes within the scene, the ray tracing process comprising performing for a plurality of rays a traversal of the ray tracing acceleration data structure to determine, by testing the rays for intersection with the volumes represented by the nodes of the acceleration data structure” (Bruce, 0027).
Bruce does not explicitly teach the below claimed limitation. However, Damron teaches the claimed limitation:
requesting a prefetch of data associated with a further node of the plurality of nodes, to be stored in the local memory from an external memory; “a main-memory and a prefetch engine configured to prefetch data from a plurality of locations in main-memory in response to a prefetch request from the processor. When the data in the main-memory has a linked-data-structure having a plurality of nodes each with data stored therein, the prefetch engine is configured to traverse the linked-data-structure and prefetch data from the nodes” (Damron, col. 2, line 37) and “a main-memory having a linked-data-structure with a plurality nodes with data stored therein” (Damron, col. 3, line 42).
Peterson, Damron, and Bruce are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor of data processing. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine system of Peterson, second node of Damron, and external memory of Bruce in order to improve techniques for performing ray tracing using a graphics processor (Bruce, 0008).
Regarding claim 4, the method of claim 3, Bruce teaches in which the second node and/or the further node is either a further end node associated with the first internal node to be tested for an intersection with the ray, or a further internal node that will be intersected by the ray. “When a ray (or group of rays) is to be tested for intersection against a set of child node volumes associated with a (non-leaf/internal) node (interpreted as further nodes)” (Bruce, 0217).
Peterson, Damron, and Bruce are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor of data processing. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine system of Peterson, second node of Damron, and external memory of Bruce in order to improve techniques for performing ray tracing using a graphics processor (Bruce, 0008).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is directed to a method claim with the similar limitations as claim 3. As such, claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is directed to a method claim with the similar limitations as claim 4. As such, claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds.
Claim(s) 5, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson (US20180365879A1), in view of Bruce (US20220392147A1), further in view of Damron (US6782454B1), as applied to claim 3 and 12 above respectively, and further in view of Pankratz (US20240112392A1).
Regarding claim 5, the method of claim 3, Peterson, Damon, and Bruce do not teach the claimed limitations. However, Prankratz teaches the claimed limitations in which the second node and/or the further node is based on its relative location in the ray tracing acceleration data structure, preferably wherein the second node and/or the further node is the next node in the ray tracing acceleration data structure. “At least one first node of an accelerated hierarchy structure representing an approximate volume of a group of the geometric shapes and a second node representing a volume of one of the geometric shapes, casting a second ray in the space, selecting, for the second ray, a starting node of traversal based on locations of intersection of the first ray and the second ray and an identifier which identifies one or more nodes intersected by the first ray and traversing, for the second ray, the accelerated hierarchy structure beginning at the starting node” (Pankratz, 0021). “The spatial representation 402 of the BVH is illustrated in the left side of FIG. 4 and the tree representation 404 of the bounding volume hierarchy is illustrated in the right side of FIG. 4” (Prankratz, 0044). “A conventional ray intersection test would be performed by traversing through the tree 404, and, for each non-leaf node tested, eliminating branches below that node if the test for that non-leaf node fails” (Prankratz, 0045).
Peterson, Bruce, Damron, and Pankratz are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor of data processing. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine system of Peterson, second node of Damron, and second node of Pankratz in order to produce more physically accurate results.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is directed to a method claim with the similar limitations as claim 5. As such, claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds.
Claim(s) 9, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson (US20180365879A1) in view of Damron (US6782454B1) as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Huang (US20200364053A1).
Regarding claim 9, the method of claim 1, Peterson and Damron do not explicitly teach the claimed limitation. However, Huang explicitly teaches prefetch request queue, further comprising: queuing the prefetch request. “A prefetching request queue, used for storing the generated data prefetching requests” (Huang, 0024).
Peterson, Damron, and Huang are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor of data processing. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine system of Peterson, second node of Damron, and queue of Huang in order to prefetch more accurately and efficiently using the breadth first search, thereby improving the performance of GPU to solve a graph computation problem.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is directed to a method claim with the similar limitations as claim 9, As such, claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds.
Conclusion
/B.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614