DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,387 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of claim 1 by USPAT 12,102,387 B2 anticipates the limitations of claim 1 of the present application.
Instant Application 18/821,470
U.S. Patent No. 12,102,387 B2
Claim 1. A diagnostic device for use in performing refractive errors assessment and neurodegenerative disorders screening, comprising: a display configure to render dynamically adjusted, binocular or dichoptic visual stimuli to a user; a varifocal optics system orientated between the display and the user’s eyes; an ocular reflex analyzer emitting light signals towards the user’s eyes and obtaining light signal reflected from selected part of the eye to measure eye accommodation during an on-going visual stimulation; and an eye tracking system configured to track movement of the user’s eyes.
Claim 1. A diagnostic device for use in performing refractive errors assessment and neurodegenerative disorders screening, comprising: a display configure to render dynamically adjusted, binocular or dichoptic visual stimuli to a user; a varifocal optics system orientated between the display and the user's eyes, the varifocal optics system including a pair of metalenses, each metalens being associated with a corresponding eye of the user; an ocular reflex analyzer emitting light signals towards the user's eye s and obtaining light signal reflected from selected part of the eye to measure eye accommodation during an on-going visual stimulation; and an eye tracking system configured to track movement of the user's eyes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2011/0157550 A1) in view of Langston (US Patent Publication Number 2011/0160603 A1).
Chen teaches, as in independent claim 1, a diagnostic device (100) for use in performing refractive errors assessment and neurodegenerative disorders screening (Fig. 1 and 6F), comprising: a display (130) configured to render dynamically adjusted, binocular or dichoptic visual stimuli to a user ( ¶0040 “dynamic visual stimulus… evaluation processes of embodiments of APS 100 include ocular analysis & assessments, such as those involving binocular refraction condition” and ¶0059 “APS system 100 is a binocular refractive test”); a varifocal optics system (160) orientated between the display (130) and the user’s eyes, an ocular reflex analyzer (180) emitting light signals towards the user’s eye and obtaining light signal reflected from selected part of the eye to measure eye accommodation during an on-going visual stimulation (“housings 160 and 180 to reflect/direct the irradiation 140 to the eyes and reflect/direct the resulted ocular signals back to the image detector 150” Figure 6F and 6G shows the measurement being done as the user watches the animation) and an eye tracking system configured to track movement of the user’s eyes (¶0040 “APS 100 applies advanced photoscreening technology along with eye tracking”), Chen fails to teach a diagnostic device for use in performing neurodegenerative disorders screening. In a related art, Langston teaches a diagnostic device for use in performing neurodegenerative disorders screening (¶0022 “provides a method for screening a subject for a neurodegenerative disorder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a diagnostic device performing refractive errors assessment, as taught by Chen, with a diagnostic device performing neurodegenerative disorders, as taught by Langston, for the purpose of providing a device capable of screening subjects for Parkinson's disease or Parkinson's-like disease that would be useful in insuring that appropriate treatments are promptly provided (¶0004).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lu (US Patent Number 12,635,675 B2) teaches a diagnostic device performing neurodegenerative disorders screening.
Sulai (US Patent Number 10,520,742 B1) teaches an optical device comprising an eye tracking system.
Ouderkirk (US Patent Publication Number 2020/0064627 A1) teaches an optical device comprising an eye tracking system.
JOURNEY F. SUMLAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
10 June 2026
/RICKY L MACK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872