DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the second tray includes: a first tray wall forming the second portion of the first cell, wherein the second heater comprises: a first curved portion which is disposed at the first tray wall; and a second curved portion which is disposed at the second tray wall, the first curved portion having a different length from the second curved portion, and a third tray wall forming the second portion of a third cell, a third portion which is disposed at the third tray wall, the third tray wall being disposed between the firsts tray wall and the second tray wall, and wherein the third portion has a different curvature from each of the first portion and the second portion” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “381” has been used to designate both second tray wall and third tray wall. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recite “wherein the second tray includes: a first tray wall forming the second portion of the first cell; and a second tray wall forming the second portion of the second cell, and wherein the second heater comprises: a first curved portion which is disposed at the first tray wall; and a second curved portion which is disposed at the second tray wall, the first curved portion having a different length from the second curved portion”. However, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claim are. It is unclear to the Examiner how wherein the second tray includes: a first tray wall forming the second portion of the first cell; and a second tray wall forming the second portion of the second cell, and wherein the second heater comprises: a first curved portion which is disposed at the first tray wall; and a second curved portion which is disposed at the second tray wall, the first curved portion having a different length from the second curved portion can be understood by the Examiner without proper illustration of the individual structures and how they communicate with each other. Clarity is advised.
Claim 8 recite “wherein the second tray includes: a first tray wall forming the second portion of the first cell, a second tray wall forming the second portion of the second cell, and a third tray wall forming the second portion of a third cell, the third tray wall being disposed between the firsts tray wall and the second tray wall, wherein the heater comprises: a first portion which is disposed at the first tray wall; a second portion which is disposed at the second tray wall; and a third portion which is disposed at the third tray wall, and wherein the third portion has a different curvature from each of the first portion and the second portion”. However, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claim are. It is unclear to the Examiner how wherein the second tray includes: a first tray wall forming the second portion of the first cell, a second tray wall forming the second portion of the second cell, and a third tray wall forming the second portion of a third cell, the third tray wall being disposed between the firsts tray wall and the second tray wall, wherein the heater comprises: a first portion which is disposed at the first tray wall; a second portion which is disposed at the second tray wall; and a third portion which is disposed at the third tray wall, and wherein the third portion has a different curvature from each of the first portion and the second portion can be understood by the Examiner without proper illustration of the individual structures and how they communicate with each other. Clarity is advised.
Claim 17 recite “wherein the second tray includes: a first tray wall forming the second portion of the first cell; and a second tray wall forming the second portion of the second cell, and wherein the second heater comprises: a first curved portion which is disposed at the first tray wall; and a second curved portion which is disposed at the second tray wall, the first curved portion having a same length as the second curved portion and the first curved portion having a different shape from the second curved portion”. However, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claim are. It is unclear to the Examiner how wherein the second tray includes: a first tray wall forming the second portion of the first cell; and a second tray wall forming the second portion of the second cell, and wherein the second heater comprises: a first curved portion which is disposed at the first tray wall; and a second curved portion which is disposed at the second tray wall, the first curved portion having a same length as the second curved portion and the first curved portion having a different shape from the second curved portion can be understood by the Examiner without proper illustration of the individual structures and how they communicate with each other. Clarity is advised.
Claims 2-7, 9-16 and 18-20 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cran et al (US 20210381738 A1, hereinafter Cran) in view of An et al (US 10928114 B2, hereinafter An) and Je et al (US 20170122644 A1, hereinafter Je).
Regarding claim 1, Cran teaches an ice maker (ice maker 1) comprising: a first tray (top mold 5) forming a first portion of a cell (portion 5b) that is a space in which a liquid is phase-changed into ice by cold (abstract); a second tray (bottom mold 6) forming a second portion of the cell (portion 6a), the cell including a first cell and a second cell that are arranged in a direction (as shown on figure 2).
Cran teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach a first heater configured to be turned on in at least a section after ice making is completed so that the ice is separated from the cell; a second heater configured to be turned on in at least partial section while the cold is supplied so that bubbles dissolved in the liquid within the cell moves from a portion, at which the ice is made, toward the liquid that is in a fluid state to make transparent ice.
However, An teaches a first heater (heater 130) configured to be turned on in at least a section after ice making is completed so that the ice is separated from the cell (heater 130 heating the ice making tray 110 so that the ice may be separated from the ice making tray 110, col 5 lines 43-45); a second heater (driving the heater 230, col 7 lines 59-60) configured to be turned on in at least partial section while the cold is supplied (during the primary heating S20, as described in col 9 lines 45-56) so that bubbles dissolved in the liquid within the cell moves from a portion, at which the ice is made, toward the liquid that is in a fluid state to make transparent ice (such that the air bubbles generated in the water are discharged to the outside through a water surface that is not frozen, col 9 lines 17-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ice maker of the teachings of Cran to include a first heater configured to be turned on in at least a section after ice making is completed so that the ice is separated from the cell; a second heater configured to be turned on in at least partial section while the cold is supplied so that bubbles dissolved in the liquid within the cell moves from a portion, at which the ice is made, toward the liquid that is in a fluid state to make transparent ice in view of the teachings of An in order to yield the predictable result of dissolving air bubbles to be pushed out toward upper water that is in a liquid state by a density difference.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach a heater case in which the second heater is provided, wherein the second tray includes: a first tray wall forming the second portion of the first cell; and a second tray wall forming the second portion of the second cell, and wherein the second heater comprises: a first curved portion which is disposed at the first tray wall; and a second curved portion which is disposed at the second tray wall, the first curved portion having a different length from the second curved portion.
However, Je teaches a heater case (supporting member 180) in which the second heater is provided (figure 11), wherein the second tray (ice maker tray 110) includes: a first tray wall (ice removal heater seat 130, figure 11) forming the second portion of the first cell (figure 11); and a second tray wall (ice removing supporter 181) forming the second portion of the second cell (as shown on figure 11), and wherein the second heater (ice removal heater 200) comprises: a first curved portion (bending portion 240b) which is disposed at the first tray wall (left portion, figure 13); and a second curved portion (bending portion 240a) which is disposed at the second tray wall (right portion, figure 13), the first curved portion (bending portion 240b) having a different length (as shown on figure 13) from the second curved portion (bending portion 240a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ice maker of the combined teachings to include a heater case in which the second heater is provided, wherein the second tray includes: a first tray wall forming the second portion of the first cell; and a second tray wall forming the second portion of the second cell, and wherein the second heater comprises: a first curved portion which is disposed at the first tray wall; and a second curved portion which is disposed at the second tray wall, the first curved portion having a different length from the second curved portion in view of the teachings of Je in order to yield the predictable result of providing an ice removal heater to increase heat transfer efficiency for the ice maker while reducing power consumption of the ice removal heater.
Further, it is understood, claim 1 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach wherein the first curved portion (bending portion 240b of Je) has a greater length (larger curve, as shown on figure 13 of Je) than the second curved portion (bending portion 240a of Je).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the first curved portion has a different shape from the second curved portion.
However, the Applicant has not disclosed that having “the first curved portion has a different shape from the second curved portion” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing an ice removal heater to increase heat transfer efficiency for the ice maker. Since it has been held that changes in shape has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, [In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)], see MPEP 2144.04 IV B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the bending portion 240b to have a different shape than bending portion 240a of Je and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable result of providing an ice removal heater to increase heat transfer efficiency for the ice maker.
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach wherein the second heater (ice removal heater 200 of Je) comprises a straight portion (longitudinal portions 230 of Je), the straight portion being disposed between the first curved portion and the second curved portion (as shown on figure 13 of Je).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein the second heater (ice removal heater 200 of Je) comprises a straight portion (longitudinal portions 230 of Je), the straight portion being disposed at both side of the first curved portion (both sides of bending portion 240b, as shown on figure 13 of Je).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein the first tray wall (ice removal heater seat 130, figure 11 of Je) has a portion surrounded by the first curved portion (portion surrounded by ice removal heater 200, as shown on figure 11 of Je).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the first curved portion has a different curvature from the second curved portion.
However, the Applicant has not disclosed that having “the first curved portion has a different curvature from the second curved portion” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing an ice removal heater to increase heat transfer efficiency for the ice maker. Since it has been held that changes in shape has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, [In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)], see MPEP 2144.04 IV B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the bending portion 240b curvature to have a different curvature than bending portion 240a of Je and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable result of providing an ice removal heater to increase heat transfer efficiency for the ice maker.
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach an ice maker (ice maker 1 of Cran) comprising: a first tray (top mold 5 of Cran) forming a first portion of a cell (portion 5b of Cran) that is a space in which a liquid is phase-changed into ice by cold (abstract of Cran); a second tray (bottom mold 6 of Cran) forming a second portion of the cell (portion 6a of Cran), the cell including a first cell and a second cell that are arranged in a direction (as shown on figure 2 of Cran), a first heater (heater 130 of An) configured to be turned on in at least a section after ice making is completed so that the ice is separated from the cell (heater 130 heating the ice making tray 110 so that the ice may be separated from the ice making tray 110, col 5 lines 43-45 of An); a second heater (driving the heater 230, col 7 lines 59-60 of An) configured to be turned on in at least partial section while the cold is supplied (during the primary heating S20, as described in col 9 lines 45-56 of An) so that bubbles dissolved in the liquid within the cell moves from a portion, at which the ice is made, toward the liquid that is in a fluid state to make transparent ice (such that the air bubbles generated in the water are discharged to the outside through a water surface that is not frozen, col 9 lines 17-19 of An); and a heater case (supporting member 180 of Je) in which the second heater is provided (figure 11 of Je), wherein the second tray (ice maker tray 110 of Je) includes: a first tray wall (ice removal heater seat 130, figure 11 of Je) forming the second portion of the first cell (figure 11 of Je); and a second tray wall (ice removing supporter 181 of Je) forming the second portion of the second cell (as shown on figure 11 of Je), and wherein the second heater (ice removal heater 200 of Je) comprises: a first curved portion (bending portion 240b of Je) which is disposed at the first tray wall (left portion, figure 13 of Je); and a second curved portion (bending portion 240a of Je) which is disposed at the second tray wall (right portion, figure 13 of Je).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach the first curved portion having a same length as the second curved portion and the first curved portion having a different shape from the second curved portion.
However, the Applicant has not disclosed that having “teach the first curved portion having a same length as the second curved portion and the first curved portion having a different shape from the second curved portion” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing an ice removal heater to increase heat transfer efficiency for the ice maker while reducing power consumption of the ice removal heater. Since it has been held that changes in shape has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, [In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)], see MPEP 2144.04 IV B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the bending portion 240b having the same length of bending portion 240a and the bending portion 240b having a different shape from bending portion 240a of Je and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable result of providing an ice removal heater to increase heat transfer efficiency for the ice maker while reducing power consumption of the ice removal heater.
Further, it is understood, claim 17 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claims 18 and 20, the combined teachings teach a refrigerator (refrigerator 1 of Je) comprising: a storage room (storerooms 20, 30 of Je); and an ice maker (ice maker 100 of Je) according to claim 1.
Claims 8-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little et al (US 10151519 B2, hereinafter Little) in view of An et al (US 10928114 B2, hereinafter An), Je et al (US 20170122644 A1, hereinafter Je) and Woo et al (US 20170211866 A1, hereinafter Woo).
Regarding claim 8, Little teaches an ice maker (1100) comprising: a first tray (1108U, figure 11c/11d) forming a first portion of a cell (figure 11c) that is a space in which a liquid is phase-changed into ice by cold (col 5 lines 35-41); a second tray (1108L, figure 11c/11d) forming a second portion of the cell (figure 11c), the cell including a first cell (left cell, figure 11c), a second cell (right cell, figure 11c) and a third cell (middle cell, figure 11c) that are arranged in a direction (as shown on figure 11c).
Little teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach a heater configured to be turned on in at least partial section while the cold is supplied so that bubbles dissolved in the liquid within the cell moves from a portion, at which the ice is made, toward the liquid that is in a fluid state to make transparent ice.
However, An teaches a heater (driving the heater 230, col 7 lines 59-60) configured to be turned on in at least partial section while the cold is supplied (during the primary heating S20, as described in col 9 lines 45-56) so that bubbles dissolved in the liquid within the cell moves from a portion, at which the ice is made, toward the liquid that is in a fluid state to make transparent ice (such that the air bubbles generated in the water are discharged to the outside through a water surface that is not frozen, col 9 lines 17-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ice maker of the teachings of Little to include a heater configured to be turned on in at least partial section while the cold is supplied so that bubbles dissolved in the liquid within the cell moves from a portion, at which the ice is made, toward the liquid that is in a fluid state to make transparent ice in view of the teachings of An in order to yield the predictable result of dissolving air bubbles to be pushed out toward upper water that is in a liquid state by a density difference.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the second tray includes: a first tray wall forming the second portion of the first cell, a second tray wall forming the second portion of the second cell.
However, Je teaches wherein the second tray (ice maker tray 110) includes: a first tray wall (ice removal heater seat 130, figure 11) forming the second portion of the first cell (figure 11), a second tray wall (ice removing supporter 181) forming the second portion of the second cell (figure 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ice maker of the combined teachings to include wherein the second tray includes: a first tray wall forming the second portion of the first cell, a second tray wall forming the second portion of the second cell in view of the teachings of Je in order to yield the predictable result of providing an ice removal heater to increase heat transfer efficiency for the ice maker while reducing power consumption of the ice removal heater.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach a third tray wall forming the second portion of a third cell, the third tray wall being disposed between the firsts tray wall and the second tray wall, wherein the heater comprises: a first portion which is disposed at the first tray wall; a second portion which is disposed at the second tray wall; and a third portion which is disposed at the third tray wall, and wherein the third portion has a different curvature from each of the first portion and the second portion.
However, Woo teaches a third tray wall (middle portion of ice tray 102, figure 8a) forming the second portion of a third cell (bottom portion of ice tray 102, figures 4a/4b), the third tray wall being disposed between the firsts tray wall (left tray portion of ice tray 102, figure 8a) and the second tray wall (right portion of ice tray 102, figure 8a), wherein the heater (heater 108) comprises: a first portion which is disposed at the first tray wall (disposed on the left portion of ice tray 102, figure 8a); a second portion which is disposed at the second tray wall (disposed on the right portion of ice tray 102, figure 8a); and a third portion which is disposed at the third tray wall (middle of heater 108 disposed in the middle portion of ice tray 102, figure 8a), and wherein the third portion has a different curvature (top portion of heater 108, as shown on figure 8a) from each of the first portion and the second portion (as shown on figure 8a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ice maker of the combined teachings to include a third tray wall forming the second portion of a third cell, the third tray wall being disposed between the firsts tray wall and the second tray wall, wherein the heater comprises: a first portion which is disposed at the first tray wall; a second portion which is disposed at the second tray wall; and a third portion which is disposed at the third tray wall, and wherein the third portion has a different curvature from each of the first portion and the second portion in view of the teachings of Woo in order to yield the predictable result of having the heat emitting density higher than that of other portions thereof, the ice may be evenly separated from an entire area of the ice tray.
Further, it is understood, claim 8 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the third portion has a smaller curvature than each of the first portion and the second portion.
However, the Applicant has not disclosed that having “wherein the third portion has a smaller curvature than each of the first portion and the second portion” does anything more than produce the predictable result of having the heat emitting density higher than that of other portions thereof, the ice may be evenly separated from an entire area of the ice tray. Since it has been held that changes in shape has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, [In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)], see MPEP 2144.04 IV B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the plane heater 108 so that the third portion has a smaller curvature than each of the first portion and the second portion of Woo and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable result of having the heat emitting density higher than that of other portions thereof, the ice may be evenly separated from an entire area of the ice tray.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach wherein the third portion has a straight portion (middle portion of heater 108 includes a straight portion, figure 8a of Woo) and each of the first portion and the second portion has a curved portion (left and right portion of heater 108 includes a curved portion, as shown on figure 8a of Woo).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach wherein the first portion (left portion of heater 108, figure 8a of Woo) has a different curvature (difference in curvature, as shown on figure 8a of Woo) from the second portion (right portion of heater 108, figure 8a of Woo).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach wherein the first portion (left portion of heater 108, figure 8a of Woo) has a different length (appearing to have different lengths, as shown on figure 8a of Woo) from the second portion (right portion of heater 108, figure 8a of Woo).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach, as modified, further comprising: another heater (heater 130 of An) configured to be turned on in at least a section after ice making is completed so that the ice is separated from the cell (heater 130 heating the ice making tray 110 so that the ice may be separated from the ice making tray 110, col 5 lines 43-45 of An), and a heater case (cover 160 of An, corresponding to supporting member 180 of Je) which is provided with the another heater (as shown on figure 5).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach a refrigerator (refrigerator 1 of Je) comprising: a storage room (storerooms 20, 30 of Je); and an ice maker (ice maker 100 of Je) according to claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 14, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Song et al (US 20130014536 A1). The prior art of record when considered as a whole, alone, or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “further comprising a first tray cover coupled to the first tray”. The closest prior art, Song teaches the lower tray 120 may include a tray case 121 defining an outer appearance, a tray body 123 mounted on the tray case 121 to form the recessed part 125 that is a space for making an ice piece, and a tray cover 126 for fixing and mounting the tray body 123 to the tray case 121.
Conclusion
/DARIO ANTONIO DELEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763