DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (Claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 7/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A (Figures 3A-3B) in the reply filed on 7/22/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims are generic, and thus no species are disclosed. This is not found persuasive. The applicants’ argument that there are no species appears to be based on describing the features of a genus claim. In election of species, it is possible for an independent claim to read on multiple embodiments (i.e. a genus claim). However, the details of the dependent claims or future claim amendments can vary in scope based on the specific species recited. Thus, the presence of an independent claim that reads on multiple embodiments does not negate the fact that the dependent claims could further specify different features of the different species. When the recited species are mutually exclusive, as detailed previously, the claims are properly restricted (See MPEP 806.04 for a further detailed explanation of how an election of species requirement works and to better understand the relationship between genus claims and species). Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
The applicant then argues on page 7 of the reply that species A-C are not patently distinct species. The figures of species A-C have been copied below for easy comparison, wherein the figures clearly illustrates very different structural configurations that are clearly distinct from one another. Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 7/22/2026 are as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending;
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from consideration;
Claims 1-18 are being examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
“Gap” between the first and second plate (Claims 1 and 11). Figures 3A-3B illustrates two plates contacting each other, but it fails to show how the device operates to induce a gap, and how said gap is formed between the structural components. Further, figures 3A-3B fails to show how the actuator operates to move the plate to form the gap. Thus, the claimed features of the gap are not properly illustrated.
“Second actuator” (Claims 3 and 13). Figure 3A only has a single actuator labeled. Due to the poor image quality, it is unclear if the illustrated actuator is singular or plural.
“the actuator is configured to overcome a preload force of the preload springs in the first configuration” (Claims 5 and 15).
“the actuator is configured to overcome a preload force of the preload springs in the second configuration” (Claims 6 and 16).
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 3A has “310” pointing to two different elements;
Figures 3A-4C, 5B, 5C contain poor image quality and fuzzy lines, rendering the images difficult to decipher and comprehend. The applicant should submit proper line drawings of the invention (See 37 CFR 1.84(l) which states: “(l) Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning”);
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Currently, no claim limitations invoke 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 14 recite “a set of fasteners that couple the first plate to the first plate”. It is unclear how a fastener can couple the same plate to itself. Thus, the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as couple the first plate to the second plate.
The remaining claims are rejected as being dependent upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10-12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Myers (US3463224).
Re Claim 1. Myers teaches a thermal switch assembly (Figure 3), comprising:
a first plate (84) configured to be mechanically coupled to a first instance of hardware (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20. The plate is capable of being mechanically coupled to hardware, and thus reads on the limitation);
a second plate (86) configured to be mechanically coupled to a second instance of hardware (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20. The plate is capable of being mechanically coupled to hardware, and thus reads on the limitation); and
an actuator (88) mechanically coupled to at least one of the first plate and the second plate (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20), wherein:
in a first configuration, a gap is formed (when 88 is contracted) between the first plate and the second plate (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20); and
in a second configuration (as seen in Figure 3), at least a part of the first plate contacts at least a part of the second plate, thereby permitting heat transfer between the first plate and the second plate (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20).
Re Claim 11. Myers teaches a system (Figure 3), comprising:
a thermal manager (fluid within 88) (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20);
a thermal switch assembly (Figure 3), the thermal switch assembly comprising (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20):
a first plate (84) configured to be mechanically coupled to a first instance of hardware (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20. The plate is capable of being mechanically coupled to hardware, and thus reads on the limitation);
a second plate (86) configured to be mechanically coupled to a second instance of hardware (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20. The plate is capable of being mechanically coupled to hardware, and thus reads on the limitation); and
an actuator (88) controlled by the thermal manager, the actuator mechanically coupled to at least one of the first plate and the second plate (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20), wherein:
in a first configuration, a gap is formed (when 88 is contracted) between the first plate and the second plate (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20); and
in a second configuration (as seen in Figure 3), at least a part of the first plate contacts at least a part of the second plate, thereby permitting heat transfer between the first plate and the second plate (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20).
Re Claims 2 & 12. Myers teaches the actuator includes one of a piezoelectric actuator, a linear actuator, a lead/ball screw actuator, a mechanical cam actuator, or a chain and sprocket assembly (88 is a linear actuator. Figure 3).
Re Claim 4 & 14. Myers teaches the thermal switch assembly further comprises a set of fasteners (rods at 96) that couple the first plate to the first plate, wherein each fastener has an associated preload spring (96 or 92) (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20).
Re Claim 5 & 15. Myers teaches the actuator is configured to overcome a preload force of the preload springs in the first configuration (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20).
Re Claim 6 & 16. Myers teaches the actuator is configured to overcome a preload force of the preload springs in the second configuration (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20).
Re Claim 10. Myers teaches the actuator is insulated (via walls 82) from at least one of the first plate or the second plate (Figure 3; Column 3 lines 7-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers (US3463224).
Re Claims 3 & 13. Myers teaches the actuator is a first actuator (88 in Figure 3) but fails to specifically teach the thermal switch assembly further comprises a second actuator.
However, Myers illustrates in a different embodiment that the thermal switch can have a plurality of actuators (22 in Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add additional actuators, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI, B).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers (US3463224) in view of Marland (US6276144B1).
Re Claim 7 & 17. Myers fails to specifically teach a surface of the part of the first plate and a surface of the second plate each include a coating to reduce emissivity between the first plate and the second plate.
However, Marland teaches a thermal switch with two contact faces (316 and 334), wherein a surface of the part of the first plate (316) and a surface of the second plate (334) each include a coating (gold or silver plating, wherein a plating is a coating) to reduce emissivity between the first plate and the second plate (Figure 4; Column 7 lines 10-20). Marland teaches the benefit of the coating is to increase conductance through the thermal switch.
Therefore, in view of Marland's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a coating to the surfaces of Myers to increase the thermal conductance through the thermal switch when in the on state (Marland Column 7 lines 10-20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select an appropriate coating material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 8, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers (US3463224) in view of Im (US2018/0209750A1).
Re Claim 8 & 18. Myers teaches a thermal manager (fluid within 88) but fails to specifically teach the thermal manager is electrically coupled to the actuator, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the thermal manager to perform a set of operations, comprising: evaluating an environment condition to determine a configuration for the thermal switch assembly; and based on the determined configuration for the thermal switch assembly, controlling the actuator, thereby causing the actuator to be in either the first configuration or the second configuration.
However, Im teaches it is known to have the thermal manager (200) be electrically coupled to the actuator (190a), comprising: a processor (270); and a memory (271) storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the thermal manager to perform a set of operations, comprising: evaluating an environment condition (i.e. temperature T1 or T2) to determine a configuration for the thermal switch assembly; and based on the determined configuration for the thermal switch assembly, controlling the actuator, thereby causing the actuator to be in either the first configuration or the second configuration (Figures 4-6; Paragraphs 56-71). When Im is combined with Myers, the resulting combination would be the bellows actuator (88) of Myers would be replaced with the actively controlled actuator of Im to provide active control of the thermal switch.
Therefore, in view of Im's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the passive bellow actuator of Myers with an active actuator of Im that comprises an electrically coupled thermal manager in order to provide active switching of the device, thereby improving the operation of the thermal switch. The active switching will allow for more precise temperature control of the thermal switch, thereby making such a change beneficial to the thermal switch assembly.
Re Claim 9. Myers as modified by Im teach wherein determining the configuration for the thermal switch assembly comprises evaluating at least one of: a temperature of the thermal switch assembly; a temperature (T1 of Im) corresponding to the first instance of hardware; or a temperature (T2 of Im) corresponding to the second instance of hardware (Myers Figure 3, Column 3 lines 7-20; Im Figures 4-6; Paragraphs 56-71).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763