DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 13-17 in the reply filed on 03/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsunoda (JP-2018041826-A - of record).
Regarding claim 13, Tsunoda teaches a template, comprising a template substrate (120); a replication portion provided on the template substrate and having a first pattern (130); and a sacrificial layer provided on the replication portion (112), the sacrificial layer having a second pattern corresponding to the first pattern of the replication portion and having a higher etching rate than that of the replication portion (the etching rate of the sacrificial layer 112 be higher than the etching rate of the resin layer 130) (¶0032-0057).
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 13, the limitation “the template is usable in an imprint process by removing the sacrificial layer” is a recitation of intended use of the claimed template. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114(II). Here, Tsunoda teaches an apparatus which includes all the structural limitations of the claim, specifically the template comprising the sacrificial layer(¶0032-0057). Tsunoda further teaches an imprint mask manufacturing method wherein the sacrificial layer 112 can be removed by a wet etching method or a dry etching method (¶0032-0057).
Regarding claim 15, as applied to claim 14, the limitation “the sacrificial layer is removable by wet etching or dry etching” is a recitation of intended use of the claimed sacrificial layer. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114(II). Here, Tsunoda teaches an apparatus which includes all the structural limitations of the claim, specifically the template comprising the sacrificial layer (¶0032-0057). Tsunoda further teaches an imprint mask manufacturing method wherein the sacrificial layer 112 can be removed by a wet etching method or a dry etching method (¶0032-0057).
Regarding claim 16, as applied to claim 15, Tsunoda teaches a template wherein a material of the sacrificial layer is a cured resin (the sacrificial layer is made of a resin) (¶0032-0057). Examiner notes that “cured resin” is a recitation of a product-by-process claim limitation. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunoda (JP-2018041826-A - of record).
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 13, Tsunoda teaches a template further comprising a substrate (100) provided on the sacrificial layer (¶0032-0057).
The limitation “the substrate is removable from the sacrificial layer before the template is used in an imprint process.” A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114(II). Here, Tsunoda teaches an apparatus which includes all the structural limitations of the claim, specifically the template comprising the sacrificial layer and the substrate.
Nevertheless, in the alternative, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify template disclosed in Tsunoda such that the substrate is removable from the sacrificial layer before the template is used in an imprint process as instantly claimed with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that making known elements separable is within the skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743