DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 2026-04-07 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 can be interpreted two ways changing the scope of the invention. Do the limitations in the claim mean the diagnostics data is stored in the first partition of the memory and that the additional diagnostic data that has already been stored in the second partition of the same memory is written to the additional memory as the condition for performing the pre-power-off-recording to the circular buffer? Do the limitations in the claim mean that both the diagnostic data and the additional diagnostic data (which are both already stored in the memory circuit) are written into the additional memory from the memory circuit as the condition for performing the pre-power-off-recording to the circular buffer?
Claim 12 is interpreted to mean pre-power off recording begins after the diagnostic data stored in the first partition and the additional diagnostic data stored in the second partition have both been written into an additional memory component; and that pre-power-off recording occurs just before the device is powered off (while the device is powered on).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 14, 21, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2014175864A1 by Jeansonne in view of JPH05257826A by Tohara.
Regarding claim 1, Jeansonne teaches a network device comprising ([0029] network controller [0005] network communication nodes):
memory circuitry ([0038] secondary nonvolatile memory 216) having a partition ([0063] buffer) configured to store diagnostic data from a time period after a network device power-on event ([0045] the boot block 210, can also control the storing of event data to the audit log 246 in response to certain events [0021] The boot block 210 is a part of the BIOS code, and is first executed when the computing system 200 starts up. [0063] the audit log 246 can be implemented as a wraparound buffer);
write the collected diagnostic data into the partition ([0063] buffer) of the memory (secondary nonvolatile memory 216) circuitry ([0038] Event data can be added to the audit log 246 in the secondary nonvolatile memory 216);
Jeansonne does not explicitly teach begin, based on an indication that power-on- recording is enabled; and stop collecting the diagnostic data at an end of the time period.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tohara teaches begin, based on an indication that power-on- recording is enabled, collecting the diagnostic data after the network device power-on event; and stop collecting the diagnostic data at an end of the time period. Tohara teaches processing circuitry ([0007] CPU (Central Processing Unit)) coupled to the memory circuitry ([0007] non-volatile EEPROM . . . memory) and configured to:
begin, based on an indication that power-on- recording is enabled, collecting the diagnostic data after the network device power-on event (the power-on bit is “1”, each storage data of the program RAM 4 and the data RAM 5 is saved . . . since the power-on bit is "0", the data save flag dsf is checked. Since the flag dsf is set, the storage data saved in the HDD 10 is loaded);
and stop collecting the diagnostic data at an end of the time period (If a power-off command is sent to the I / O port 13 in ST5, this process ends.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the buffer of Jeansonne per the power-on bit of Tohara to allow the modified invention to receive configuration commands from a terminal, command line interface (CLI), or user interface used by a network administrator who attempts to reconfigure the network device after an outage or power cycle to identify the cause of a malfunction.
Regarding claim 7, Jeansonne and Tohara teach the limitations of claim 1.
Jeansonne does not explicitly teach, wherein the indication that power-on-recording is enabled is stored in the partition of the memory circuitry and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to begin collecting the diagnostic data by accessing the indication from the partition of the memory circuitry and determining that power-on-recording is enabled based on the indication.
However, Tohara teaches wherein the indication that power-on-recording is enabled is stored in the partition of the memory circuitry and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to begin collecting the diagnostic data by accessing the indication from the partition of the memory circuitry and determining that power-on-recording is enabled based on the indication (EEPROM 3 stores 1-bit data save flag dsf in addition to fixed data such as program data for bootstrap. The data save flag dsf is set to "1" when the program data stored in the program RAM 4 and the data stored in the data RAM 5 are saved in the HDD 10; a reading of data from the HDD 10, a communication interface 12 that controls transmission and reception of data; the power-on bit is “1”, each storage data of the program RAM 4 and the data RAM 5 is saved . . . since the power-on bit is "0", the data save flag dsf is checked. Since the flag dsf is set, the storage data saved in the HDD 10 is loaded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the buffer of Jeansonne per the power-on bit of Tohara to allow the modified invention to receive configuration commands from a terminal, command line interface (CLI), or user interface used by a network administrator for the purpose of analyzing the network device’s performance during a power cycle.
Regarding claim 8, Jeansonne and Tohara teach the limitations of claim 1.
Jeansonne does not explicitly teach overwrite the indication that power-on-recording is enabled with the collected diagnostic data.
However, Tohara teaches overwrite the indication that power-on-recording is enabled with the collected diagnostic data ([0007] HDD interface 11 that controls writing of data to the HDD 10 and a reading of data from the HDD 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the buffer of Jeansonne per the power-on bit of Tohara to allow the modified invention to receive configuration commands from a terminal, command line interface (CLI), or user interface used by a network administrator who attempts to reconfigure the network device after an outage or power cycle to identify the cause of a malfunction.
Regarding claim 14, Jeansonne teaches wherein the memory circuitry and the additional memory circuitry each comprise non-volatile memory ([0008] Various types of system data can be stored in the non-volatile memory).
Regarding claim 21, Jeansonne teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media ([0091] machine-readable storage media) comprising instructions ([0090] Machine-readable instructions),
that when executed by one or more processors ([0090] processor) coupled to memory ([0038] secondary nonvolatile memory 216) circuitry having a partition ([0063] buffer) configured to store diagnostic data from a time period after a network device power-on event ([0045] the boot block 210, can also control the storing of event data to the audit log 246 in response to certain events [0021] The boot block 210 is a part of the BIOS code, and is first executed when the computing system 200 starts up. [0063] the audit log 246 can be implemented as a wraparound buffer),
write the collected diagnostic data into the partition ([0063] buffer) of the memory (secondary nonvolatile memory 216) circuitry ([0038] Event data can be added to the audit log 246 in the secondary nonvolatile memory 216);
Jeansonne does not explicitly teach begin, based on an indication that power-on-recording is enabled; and stop collecting the diagnostic data at an end of the time period.
However, Tohara teaches cause the one or more processors ([0007] CPU (Central Processing Unit)) to:
begin, based on an indication that power-on-recording is enabled, collecting the diagnostic data after the network device power-on event (the power-on bit is “1”, each storage data of the program RAM 4 and the data RAM 5 is saved . . . since the power-on bit is "0", the data save flag dsf is checked. Since the flag dsf is set, the storage data saved in the HDD 10 is loaded);
and stop collecting the diagnostic data at an end of the time period (If a power-off command is sent to the I / O port 13 in ST5, this process ends.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the buffer of Jeansonne per the power-on bit of Tohara to allow the modified invention to receive configuration commands from a terminal, command line interface (CLI), or user interface used by a network administrator for the purpose of analyzing the network device’s performance during a power cycle.
Regarding claim 24, Jeansonne teaches a method of performing diagnostic data collection into a partition ([0063] buffer) of memory ([0038] secondary nonvolatile memory 216) circuitry configured to store diagnostic data from a time period after a network device power-on event, the method comprising ([0045] the boot block 210, can also control the storing of event data to the audit log 246 in response to certain events [0021] The boot block 210 is a part of the BIOS code, and is first executed when the computing system 200 starts up.):
writing, by the network device, the collected diagnostic data into the partition ([0063] buffer) of the memory (secondary nonvolatile memory 216) circuitry ([0038] Event data can be added to the audit log 246 in the secondary nonvolatile memory 216 [0063] the audit log 246 can be implemented as a wraparound buffer);
Jeansonne does not explicitly teach beginning, by a network device and based on an indication that power-on-recording is enabled, collection of the diagnostic data after the network device power-on event; and stopping, by the network device, collection of the diagnostic data at an end of the time period.
However, Tohara teaches beginning, by a network device and based on an indication that power-on-recording is enabled, collection of the diagnostic data after the network device power-on event (the power-on bit is “1”, each storage data of the program RAM 4 and the data RAM 5 is saved . . . since the power-on bit is "0", the data save flag dsf is checked. Since the flag dsf is set, the storage data saved in the HDD 10 is loaded);
and stopping, by the network device, collection of the diagnostic data at an end of the time period (If a power-off command is sent to the I / O port 13 in ST5, this process ends.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the buffer of Jeansonne per the power-on bit of Tohara to allow the modified invention to receive configuration commands from a terminal, command line interface (CLI), or user interface used by a network administrator for the purpose of analyzing the network device’s performance during a power cycle.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over application WO2014175864A1 by Jeansonne in view of application JPH05257826A by Tohara and further in view of patent US7783303B1 by Lerner.
Regarding claim 2, Jeansonne and Tohara teach the limitations of claim 1.
Jeansonne and Tohara do not explicitly teach wherein the time period is prior to any network traffic forwarding operation performed by the network device after the network device power-on event.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lerner teaches wherein the time period is prior to any network traffic forwarding operation performed by the network device after the network device power-on event.
Lerner teaches wherein the time period is prior to any network traffic forwarding operation performed by the network device after the network device power-on event ([col 4 lines 14-18] diagnostic data collected by a wireless device, including the location data, can be transmitted in real-time or stored on the device for some period of time before being forwarded [col 2 lines 17-19] data can be generated at any time regardless of whether a problem has occurred).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the buffer of Jeansonne per the collection of diagnostic data in Lerner to allow the modified invention to record device behavior anomalies for the purpose of troubleshooting errors that occur during a power cycle.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over application WO2014175864A1 by Jeansonne in view of application JPH05257826A by Tohara and further in view of patent US7783303B1 by Lerner and further in view of application US20070288720A1 by Cholleti.
Regarding claim 3, The combined system of Jeansonne, Tohara, and Lerner teach the limitations of claim 2.
The combined system of Jeansonne, Tohara, and Lerner does not explicitly teach the time period, from which the diagnostic data is stored, overlaps a network device bootup time period prior to a network device operational time period.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cholleti teaches the time period, from which the diagnostic data is stored, overlaps a network device bootup time period prior to a network device operational time period. Cholleti teaches wherein the time period, from which the diagnostic data is stored, overlaps a network device bootup time period prior to a network device operational time period, during which network traffic forwarding operations are performed by the network device ([0149] store other data if needed during the bootup process [0088] prior to invoking a process' pre-handler mechanism).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the collection of diagnostic data the combined system of Jeansonne, Tohara, and Lerner per the storage of data during the bootup process in Cholleti to allow the modified invention to record device behavior anomalies.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over application WO2014175864A1 by Jeansonne in view of application JPH05257826A by Tohara and further in view of patent US7783303B1 by Lerner and further in view of application US20070288720A1 by Cholleti and further in view of application US20250343965A1 by Narayanan and further in view of application US20240323168A1 by Yang.
Regarding claim 4, the combined system of Jeansonne, Tohara, Lerner, Cholleti, and Narayanan teach the limitations of claim 3.
The combined system of Jeansonne, Tohara, Lerner, Cholleti, and Narayanan does not explicitly teach implement a system console that provides console log output during the network device bootup time period.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches console log output. Yang teaches implement a system console that provides console log output during the network device bootup time period and wherein the collected diagnostic data comprises the console log output ([0018] transferring console logs containing key information that may assist with debugging problems during VSI or bare metal boot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the audit log of the combined system of Jeansonne, Tohara, Lerner, Cholleti, and Narayanan per the console log of Yang to allow the modified invention to facilitate error handling.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over application WO2014175864A1 by Jeansonne in view of application JPH05257826A by Tohara and further in view of patent US7783303B1 by Lerner and further in view of application US20070288720A1 by Cholleti and further in view of application US20250343965A1 by Narayanan and further in view of application US20240323168A1 by Yang and further in view of patent US8555114B2 by Beebe.
Regarding claim 5, the combined system of Jeansonne, Tohara, Lerner, Cholleti, Narayanan, and Yang teaches the limitations of claim 4.
The combined system of Jeansonne, Tohara, Lerner, Cholleti, Narayanan, and Yang does not explicitly teach execute network device initialization software during the network device bootup time period.
However, Beebe teaches execute network device initialization software during the network device bootup time period. Beebe teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to execute network device initialization software during the network device bootup time period and wherein output based on the execution of the network device initialization software is provided as the console log output and is collected as the diagnostic data ([29] the system 10 provides "boot-up" information to the admin user, and is available from the communications device 12 WebUI and/or TUI rather than only via syslog [24] comprises syslog logging enhancements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the audit log of the combined system of Jeansonne, Tohara, Lerner, Cholleti, Narayanan, and Yang per the syslog of Beebe to allow the modified invention to provide console output to a network administrator for the administrator to review for event anomalies.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over application WO2014175864A1 by Jeansonne in view of application JPH05257826A by Tohara and further in view of patent US7783303B1 by Lerner and further in view of application US20070288720A1 by Cholleti and further in view of application US20250343965A1 by Narayanan and further in view of application US20240323168A1 by Yang and further in view of US20040006689A1 by Miller.
Regarding claim 6, the combined system of Jeansonne, Tohara, Lerner, Cholleti, Narayanan, and Yang teaches the limitations of claim 4.
The combined system of Jeansonne, Tohara, Lerner, Cholleti, Narayanan, and Yang does not explicitly teach a bootloader and a kernel.
However, Miller teaches wherein the network device initialization software comprises a bootloader and a kernel ([0005] boot from a compressed kernel [0050] store . . . a boot loader).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the boot code of the combined system of Jeansonne, Tohara, Lerner, Cholleti, Narayanan, and Yang per the kernel and boot loader of Miller to allow the modified invention to initialize a system operating system.
Claim(s) 9-11, 13, 15, 22, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over application WO2014175864A1 by Jeansonne in view of application JPH05257826A by Tohara and further in view of application US20240069726A1 by Virani.
Regarding claim 9, the combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara teaches write, after the diagnostic data stored in the partition of the memory circuitry has been written into the additional memory circuitry, an indication that power-on- recording for a subsequent network device power-on event is enabled into the partition of the memory circuitry (the power-on bit is “1”, each storage data of the program RAM 4 and the data RAM 5 is saved in the HDD 10. To be done. The data save flag dsf is "1". Is set to. Then, a power off command is sent. As a result, the second flip-flop 25 is reset, the SSR 26 is turned off, and the power supply unit 16 is turned off. After that, when the power switch 17 is closed and the power supply section 16 is turned on, the CPU 1 executes the processing shown in FIG. 3 again. At this time, the signal S1 input to the input terminal I0 of the I / O port 13 is low level “L”, That is, since the power-on bit is "0", the data save flag dsf is checked. Since the flag dsf is set, the storage data saved in the HDD 10 is loaded into the corresponding RAMs 4 and 5, respectively. Further, the data save flag dsf is reset to "0".).
The combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara does not explicitly teach additional memory circuitry.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Virani teaches additional memory circuitry.
Virani teaches additional memory circuitry coupled to the processing circuitry ([Fig. 5] First Memory Location 505 Second Memory Location 510 Non-Volatile Memory Array(s) 210).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the memory circuitry of the combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara per the memory locations of Virani to allow the modified invention to maintain persistent event logs during a power cycle.
Regarding claim 10, the combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara does not explicitly teach wherein the memory circuitry comprises a second partition configured to store additional diagnostic data from a time period prior to a network device power-off event.
However, Virani teaches wherein the partition of the memory circuitry is a first partition ([Fig. 5] memory location 510) of the memory circuitry, wherein the memory circuitry comprises a second partition ([Fig. 5] memory location 505) configured to store additional diagnostic data from a time period prior to a network device power-off event, and wherein the network device remains powered off between the network device power-off event and the network device power-on event ([0066] events associated with power on events or power reset events [0037] store or write the first type of event log data to a first memory . . . write the second type of event log data to a second memory [0020] event logs as “persistent” or “non-persistent.” [0026] store data persistently in non-volatile memory [0026] non-volatile memory configured to maintain stored data after the memory device 120 is powered off.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the memory circuitry of the combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara per the memory locations of Virani to allow the modified invention to maintain persistent event logs during a power cycle.
Regarding claim 11, the combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara does not explicitly teach write the collected diagnostic data stored in the first partition of the memory circuitry and the additional diagnostic data stored in the second partition of the memory circuitry into additional memory circuitry.
However, Virani teaches write, after the end of the time period, the collected diagnostic data stored in the first partition ([Fig. 5] memory location 510) of the memory circuitry and the additional diagnostic data stored in the second partition of the memory circuitry into additional memory circuitry ([0052] store the second log data in the non-volatile memory array(s) 210 of the memory device [0032] may include one or more non-volatile memory arrays 210) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the memory circuitry of the combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara per the memory locations of Virani to allow the modified invention to maintain persistent event logs during a power cycle.
Regarding claim 13, the combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara does not explicitly teach wherein the memory circuitry comprises a third partition configured to store network device hardware state information.
However, Virani teaches wherein the memory circuitry comprises a third partition configured to store network device hardware state information ([0059] status information 310 can indicate a state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the memory circuitry of the combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara per the memory locations of Virani to allow the modified invention to maintain persistent event logs during a power cycle.
Regarding claim 15, the combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara does not explicitly teach wherein the memory circuitry comprises ferroelectric random- access memory.
However, Virani teaches wherein the memory circuitry comprises ferroelectric random- access memory ([0003] ferroelectric RAM (FeRAM)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the memory circuitry of the combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara per the memory locations of Virani to allow the modified invention to maintain persistent event logs during a power cycle.
Regarding claim 22, the combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara teaches the limitations of claim 21.
Tohara teaches set, after the collected diagnostic data has been read from the partition of the memory circuitry, the indication that power-on recording is enabled for a subsequent network device power-on event (flag dsf is reset to "0"; flip-flop 25 is reset).
Tohara does not explicitly teach read the collected diagnostic data.
However, Virani teaches cause the one or more processors to: read the collected diagnostic data from the partition of the memory circuitry ([0050] data is read from the second memory location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the power-on bit of the combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara per the reading of memory of Virani to allow the modified invention to allow a network administrator to perform fault analysis.
Regarding claim 25, the combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara teaches the limitations of claim 24.
Tohara teaches collecting additional diagnostic data prior to a network power-off event, wherein the network device power-on event and the network device power-off event are part of a same network device power cycle (the power supply unit 16 is turned off again; If a power-off command is sent to the I / O port 13 in ST5, this process ends.).
Tohara does not explicitly teach writing the collected additional diagnostic data into an additional partition of the memory circuitry.
However, Virani teaches writing the collected additional diagnostic data into an additional partition of the memory circuitry ([0055] memory device 120 to write data stored in the buffer to the non-volatile memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the power-on bit of the combined system of Jeansonne and Tohara per the reading of memory of Virani to allow the modified invention to allow a network administrator to perform fault analysis.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over application WO2014175864A1 by Jeansonne in view of application JPH05257826A by Tohara and further in view of application US20240323168A1 by Yang.
Regarding claim 23, the combined system of Jeansonne and Yang teaches the limitations of claim 21.
The combined system of Jeansonne and Yang does not explicitly teach console output comprises information generated as part of network device initialization.
However, Yang teaches wherein the collected diagnostic data comprises console output provided by a system console and wherein the console output comprises information generated as part of network device initialization after the network device power-on event ([0018] transferring console logs containing key information that may assist with debugging problems during VSI or bare metal boot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the audit log of the combined system of Jeansonne and Yang per the console logs of Yang to allow the modified invention to facilitate error handling after a power cycle or anomaly in the device’s performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable over the prior art if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
US20240069726A1 by Virani teaches recording while the device is powered-on (pre-power-off-recording). Virani also teaches two partitions, the first memory location (implemented as a circular buffer) and the second memory location. Both memory locations write data to an additional non-volatile memory. Virani additionally teaches storing data from the first data stream in the first memory location (the circular buffer) after writing data stored in the circular buffer to another storage location.
The circular buffer implemented in the second memory location and the recording to the circular buffer beginning only after the diagnostic data in the first partition and the additional diagnostic data in the second partition have both been written to additional memory renders the allowable subject matter non-obvious.
Virani is essentially silent on whether the second memory location is implemented as a circular buffer. Further, the condition of beginning the recording after the data in both partitions is written to additional memory is also not taught by Virani.
Conclusion
Additional Prior Art Considered
US20250343965A1 by Narayanan teaches a recording dongle system connected to a console port of a networking device. The recording dongle system records console log information generated by the networking device.
/NOAH BEAMON/Examiner, Art Unit 2454
/OSCAR A LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2445