DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 01/03/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “and provisioning them according the LAN configuration.”. This renders the claim unclear as there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear as to which elements “them” is referring back to.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “and connecting the router to a modem at the client site that is connected to the WAN.”. This renders the claim unclear as there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear as to what element “that” is referring back to as being connected to the WAN.
All dependents are also rejected as having the same deficiencies as the claim from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0180016 Al (Bugwadia) in view of US 2015/0100673 Al (Asati).
Regarding Claim 1:
Bugwadia teaches A method, performed by a router at a (Fig 1, access point 132) including a plurality of electronic devices (Fig 1, client devices 134-136), ([0018] Fig 1, a network management system 104, which includes a management server 106 having a device configuration server functionality, may be coupled for communication over a network, such as the Internet 120, to a network device 108, here shown as a first remote wireless network device 1.) comprising:
connecting to a wide area network (WAN); ([0107] FIG. 6, the first network 604 is coupled to a wide area network (WAN) 606.)
([0023] When device identification based configuration is used, the device identifier such as the device serial number may provide unambiguous information as to any one or combination of hardware, software, and firmware characteristics of the network device. [0061][0076] determine if the requesting device should be sent a configuration information based on a network device identity ID.)
downloading a local area network (LAN) configuration for the plurality of electronic devices at the client site from the server; ([0076]-[0083][0095] The server essentially waits in a loop for configuration request to be received (step 403), and when a receives requests to configure a device (step 45) it may optionally authenticate the received request (step 407) and then determine if the requesting device should be sent a configuration information based on a network device identity ID (step 409) or based on a network policy (step 411). [0079] The management side system server sends the configuration information to requesting device (step 421) optionally but advantageously with authentication.)
and identifying the plurality of devices at the client site and provisioning them according the LAN configuration. ([0026][0027][0036][0037] [0036] The remote device then receives a configuration information for itself and may optionally but advantageously also receive configuration information for any attached devices, such as for example for one or more access points coupled with the remote network switch (step 145). Finally, the remote device and network use the configuration information sent or pushed down to the remote device for further operation on the network (step 145). The full configuration for a network device that is or includes a network switch may include configuration information as to how to run its access points (APs) or mobility points (MPs), what SSIDs (service set identifiers) to provide, what Virtual Local Area Networks (VLANs) to configure, who to allow access to and what that access should be, and any other information that provides the desired operation of the configured device.)
Bugwadia teaches on a network device identity ID such as serial no. ([0023][0076]). However, Bugwadia is silent on sending a serial number associated with the router to a server over the WAN.
Asati teaches, in the same field of endeavor, methods for dynamic host configuration protocol (DHCP) router configuration, Abstract.
Asati teaches sending a serial number associated with the router (ie. CE router) to a server (ie. PE router) over the WAN; ([0039] the DHCP initiation message may comprise a DHCPDISCOVER message, a DHCPREQUEST message or a DHCPINFORM message, and may include a unique identifier value of the sender, such as a MAC address or serial number of the CE router 110. [0040] The CE router 110 is programmed to broadcast the DHCP initiation message, using DHCP client logic, just after Layer 2 connectivity is established on either all or one or more designated interfaces. As a result, the DHCP initiation message will reach the PE router 112 through one of the interfaces.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Bugwadia per Asati to include sending a serial number associated with the router to a server over the WAN. It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide the server system with device identification which allows for efficiency for verification when processing a device request.
Regarding Claim 2:
Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) teaches the method of Claim 1 as described.
Bugwadia teaches wherein the LAN configuration is created at the server and associated with the serial number associated with the router. ([0023] When device identification based configuration is used, the device identifier such as the device serial number may provide unambiguous information as to any one or combination of hardware, software, and firmware characteristics of the network device. [0037] When the requesting network device sends its request message out, upon receipt the management system performs either a configuration data base look up or a configuration information generation based on one or more of the network device identification, network configuration policies, and/or on the basis of any combination of these with possible other factors. [0061][0076] determine if the requesting device should be sent a configuration information based on a network device identity ID.)
Regarding Claim 3:
Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) teaches the method of Claim 2 as described.
Bugwadia teaches wherein the LAN configuration is created using a template (ie. configuration database look up) stored on the server. ([0037] When the requesting network device sends its request message out, upon receipt the management system performs either a configuration data base look up or a configuration information generation based on one or more of the network device identification, network configuration policies, and/or on the basis of any combination of these with possible other factors. [0065] database look up table.)
Regarding Claim 4:
Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) teaches the method of Claim 1 as described.
Bugwadia teaches wherein the plurality of electronic devices include smart televisions and appliances, mobile devices, tablets, laptops, cable boxes, switches, access points, doorbell cameras, thermostats, light bulbs, speaker systems or garage door openers. ([0026][0027][0037] the full configuration for a network device that is or includes a network switch may include configuration information as to how to run its access points (APs) or mobility points (MPs), what SSIDs (service set identifiers) to provide, what Virtual Local Area Networks (VLANs) to configure, who to allow access to and what that access should be, and any other information that provides the desired operation of the configured device.)
Regarding Claim 5:
Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) teaches the method of Claim 1 as described.
Bugwadia teaches wherein connecting to a WAN at the client site comprises: connecting the router to a power source; ([0042][0046] plug in, power up) and connecting the router to a modem at the client site (ie. access point) that is connected to the WAN. ([0108] FIG. 6, a second network 608 is coupled to the first network 604 through the WAN 606. An AP controller 610, an AP 612, and network services engine 614 are coupled to the second network 608.)
Regarding Claim 6:
Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) teaches the method of Claim 5 as described.
Bugwadia teaches wherein connecting to a WAN further comprises: assigning an Internet Protocol (IP) address to the router using a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP); or prompting a user to enter a Static WAN IP address. ([0046] When the network device powers-up and begins to boot or on a reset boot or other initiation phase, and is activated in an autoconfiguration mode, if it does not have an IP address ( or optionally, even if it does) it sends a DHCP request to a DHCP server to obtain a first or a new IP address.)
Regarding Claim 21: {not software per se as specification states: [0022] A router is a networking device that connects a LAN to a WAN. The router includes a plurality of ports that may include both physical wired connections as well as wireless connections. Electronic devices at the client site are connected to a port so that the router can forward data traffic between the electronic devices and the WAN.}
Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) teaches the method of Claim 1 as described.
Bugwadia teaches A system comprising: a master router performing the method of claim 1; (Fig 1, client devices 134-136), ([0018] Fig 1, a network management system 104, which includes a management server 106 having a device configuration server functionality, may be coupled for communication over a network, such as the Internet 120, to a network device 108, here shown as a first remote wireless network device 1.) and one or more child routers provisioned with configuration information by the master router, ([0019] Network switch 108 may as shown here be coupled to one or a plurality of access points 132. [0026] The configuration information sent to a network switch can include configuration information for the access point or access points that communicate with the network through the switch. [0036] The remote device then receives a configuration information for itself and may optionally but advantageously also receive configuration information for any attached devices, such as for example for one or more access points coupled with the remote network switch (step 145). Finally, the remote device and network use the configuration information sent or pushed down to the remote device for further operation on the network (step 145).) wherein the configuration information includes a service set identifier (SSID). ([0026][0027][0037] the full configuration for a network device that is or includes a network switch may include configuration information as to how to run its access points (APs) or mobility points (MPs), what SSIDs (service set identifiers) to provide, what Virtual Local Area Networks (VLANs) to configure, who to allow access to and what that access should be, and any other information that provides the desired operation of the configured device.)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0180016 Al (Bugwadia) in view of US 2015/0100673 Al (Asati) further in view of US 2025/0048483 Al (Cheng).
Regarding Claim 7:
Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) teaches the method of Claim 1 as described.
Bugwadia teaches on device connectivity issues ([0047][0097]). However, Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) is silent on determining whether the router can resolve the connection problem; and issuing commands to the one or more electronic devices to resolve the connection problem.
Cheng teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on identifying path switch failure conditions, Abstract.
Cheng teaches detecting a connection problem between the router (ie. relay UE) and one or more electronic devices of the plurality of electronic devices (ie. remote UE); determining whether the router can resolve the connection problem; ([0096] The remote UE 505 and/or the relay UE 505 may detect one or more path switch failure conditions, and may perform one or more actions to resolve the path switch failure condition. [0127] Fig 9, As shown in connection with reference number 925, the relay UE 510 may transmit, and the remote UE 505 may receive, an indication of a cell reselection, or an indication of a failure to enter the connected state. [0128] In some aspects, as described above in connection with reference number 815, in the second example for the path switch failure condition, the remote UE 505 may execute a path switch.) and issuing commands (ie. reconfiguration message, path switch command) to the one or more electronic devices to resolve the connection problem. ([0100][0128] the remote UE 505 may transmit a reconfiguration complete message to the relay UE 510. The reconfiguration completion message may include an identifier of the network node 515. In this case, the relay UE 510 may perform one or more actions to complete the path switch.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) by modifying Bugwadia per Asati to include determining whether the router can resolve the connection problem; and issuing commands to the one or more electronic devices to resolve the connection problem. It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide resiliency and efficiency by providing automated resolutions for connectivity problems.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0180016 Al (Bugwadia) in view of US 2015/0100673 Al (Asati) further in view of US 2025/0048483 Al (Cheng) more in view of US 2018/0212979 Al (Nakamura).
Regarding Claim 8:
Bugwadia (as modified by Asati & Cheng) teaches the method of Claim 7 as described.
Bugwadia teaches on device connectivity issues ([0047][0097]). However, Bugwadia (as modified by Asati & Cheng) is silent on wherein detecting a connection problem includes: detecting that the one or more electronic devices has physically connected to a port different from the port designated in the LAN configuration; and changing the LAN configuration to reflect the changed physical connections.
Nakamura teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a monitoring program which manages predetermined events, Abstract.
Nakamura teaches wherein detecting a connection problem includes: detecting that the one or more electronic devices has physically connected to a port different from the port designated in the LAN configuration; and changing the LAN configuration to reflect the changed physical connections. ([0055] The port configuration table is configured from management information including the identifier of the port, the IP address of the port, the current status of the port, and the type of the port. When the event response module 212 determines that an unauthorized event has occurred, the event response module 212 blocks the ports in the following order; … when the status of the port is changed, the event response module 212 updates and registers the new status ( status after the change) in the port configuration table.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Bugwadia (as modified by Asati & Cheng) by modifying Bugwadia per Nakamura to include wherein detecting a connection problem includes: detecting that the one or more electronic devices has physically connected to a port different from the port designated in the LAN configuration; and changing the LAN configuration to reflect the changed physical connections. It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide automation for real-time updating of the LAN configuration, allowing for accuracy in the network mapping topology.
Regarding Claim 9:
Bugwadia (as modified by Asati & Cheng) teaches the method of Claim 7 as described.
Bugwadia teaches on device connectivity issues ([0047][0097]). However, Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) is silent on issuing commands to first electronic device to switch to another port.
Cheng teaches issuing commands to first electronic device to switch to another port. ([0100][0128] the remote UE 505 may transmit a reconfiguration complete message to the relay UE 510. The reconfiguration completion message may include an identifier of the network node 515. In this case, the relay UE 510 may perform one or more actions to complete the path switch.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) by modifying Bugwadia per Cheng to include issuing commands to first electronic device to switch to another port. It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide resiliency and efficiency by providing automated resolutions for connectivity problems.
Bugwadia teaches on device connectivity issues ([0047][0097]). However, Bugwadia (as modified by Asati & Cheng) is silent on detecting that a first electronic device has blocked a port designated in the LAN configuration for use by a second electronic device.
Nakamura teaches detecting that a first electronic device has blocked a port designated in the LAN configuration for use by a second electronic device. ([0055] The port configuration table is configured from management information including the identifier of the port, the IP address of the port, the current status of the port, and the type of the port. When the event response module 212 determines that an unauthorized event has occurred, the event response module 212 blocks the ports in the following order; … when the status of the port is changed, the event response module 212 updates and registers the new status ( status after the change) in the port configuration table.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Bugwadia (as modified by Asati & Cheng) by modifying Bugwadia per Nakamura to include detecting that a first electronic device has blocked a port designated in the LAN configuration for use by a second electronic device. It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide automation for detecting need for updating of the LAN configuration, allowing for accuracy in the network mapping topology.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0180016 Al (Bugwadia) in view of US 2015/0100673 Al (Asati) further in view of US 2008/0043640 Al (Smith).
Regarding Claim 10:
Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) teaches the method of Claim 1 as described.
Bugwadia teaches wherein connecting to the WAN further comprises implementing a secure virtual local area network (VLAN). ([0108] FIG. 6, a second network 608 is coupled to the first network 604 through the WAN 606. An AP controller 610, an AP 612, and network services engine 614 are coupled to the second network 608. [0087] Each of the network devices that have been configured to requests initial or new configuration information can send a message back to the system server in a secure manner. [0027][0028] VLANs.)
Bugwadia teaches on secure VLANs. ([0027][0028]). However, Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) is silent on implementing a Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Smith teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on systems and methods are disclosed for automatically configuring, managing, and maintaining a VPN using a public network such as the Internet, Abstract.
Smith teaches implementing a Virtual Private Network (VPN). ([0015] receiving a request at the management device from the network device for a VPN configuration file via the network connection; and transmitting the VPN configuration file from the management device to the network device via the network connection; wherein at least one VPN is automatically reconfigured upon local processing of at least one of the device configuration file, the VPN configuration file, and combinations thereof.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) by modifying Bugwadia per Smith to include implementing a Virtual Private Network (VPN). It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide further guarantees of network security when utilizing Internet/public data paths.
Regarding Claim 11:
Bugwadia (as modified by Asati & Smith) teaches the method of Claim 10 as described.
Bugwadia teaches creating a remote LAN or remote wireless LAN (WLAN) including the remote router; creating a network bridge between the remote LAN with the LAN at the client site; ([0108] FIG. 6, a second network 608 is coupled to the first network 604 through the WAN 606. An AP controller 610, an AP 612, and network services engine 614 are coupled to the second network 608. [0087] Each of the network devices that have been configured to requests initial or new configuration information can send a message back to the system server in a secure manner. [0027][0028] VLANs.)
assigning a port to a selected VLAN of network at the clients site (ie. network identifier and/or SSID of the access point) to the remote router; and communicating with the plurality of electronic devices using the remote router. ([0027] The system and network can also provide virtual LANs with the user and client device staying on the same VLAN even though roaming through an area. [0028] Where the network device comprises a switch, the access point and switch are configured to permit all client devices that can find the network or SSID to connect to it. Frequently, access points will broadcast their network identifier and/or SSID. [0037] The full configuration for a network device that is or includes a network switch may include configuration information as to how to run its access points (APs) or mobility points (MPs), what SSIDs (service set identifiers) to provide, what Virtual Local Area Networks (VLANs) to configure, who to allow access to and what that access should be, and any other information that provides the desired operation of the configured device.)
Bugwadia teaches on secure VLANs. ([0027][0028]). However, Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) is silent on creating a remote VPN in a remote router.
Smith teaches creating a remote VPN in a remote router. ([0015] receiving a request at the management device from the network device for a VPN configuration file via the network connection; and transmitting the VPN configuration file from the management device to the network device via the network connection; wherein at least one VPN is automatically reconfigured upon local processing of at least one of the device configuration file, the VPN configuration file, and combinations thereof.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) by modifying Bugwadia per Smith to include creating a remote VPN in a remote router. It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide further guarantees of network security when utilizing Internet/public data paths.
Regarding Claim 12:
Bugwadia (as modified by Asati & Smith) teaches the method of Claim 11 as described.
Bugwadia teaches on secure VLANs. ([0027][0028]). However, Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) is silent on terminating the network bridge when: a set time limit has expired; a set period of idle time has elapsed; or a client has revoked access to the LAN at the client site.
Smith teaches terminating the network bridge when: a set time limit has expired; a set period of idle time has elapsed; or a client has revoked access to the LAN at the client site. ([0084] Reconfiguration of the VPN will be required if there is a change in the external network address of any VPN member. Such a change may occur if the external network address is dynamic, it may change due to a timeout from the ISP, removing power from network device 118, or on a regular basis set by the ISP (e.g., every 24 hours).)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) by modifying Bugwadia per Smith to include terminating the network bridge when: a set time limit has expired; a set period of idle time has elapsed; or a client has revoked access to the LAN at the client site. It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide resource conservation, by allowing timeout of VPN sessions, freeing up access point interfaces.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0180016 Al (Bugwadia) in view of US 2015/0100673 Al (Asati) further in view of US 2018/0260433 Al (Ichihashi).
Regarding Claim 13:
Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) teaches the method of Claim 1 as described.
Bugwadia teaches on secure VLANs. ([0027][0028]). However, Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) is silent on receiving a virtual machine (VM) selection from a user interface; retrieving an image of the VM; and provisioning the VM in the router.
Ichihashi teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on a parent template including a plurality of designation conditions applicable to at least one virtual machine, Abstract.
Ichihashi teaches receiving a virtual machine (VM) selection from a user interface; retrieving an image of the VM; and provisioning the VM in the router. ([0024] Fig 2, the user of the management server 10 operates the inputting apparatus 30 to input an instruction for creation of a virtual machine image to the management server 10. [0055] In OP112, the CPU 11 functions as a creation unit and creates a virtual machine image in accordance with the designation condition of the child template ( corresponding to "(6) Create image" of FIG. 4). After a virtual machine image is created, the CPU 11 ends the process of the present flow chart. [0056] The virtual machine image created by the process described above is distributed and applied to the virtual machine ( corresponding to "(7) distribute image" of FIG. 4), and the virtual machine is activated ( corresponding to "(8) activate VM" of FIG. 4).)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) by modifying Bugwadia per Ichihashi to include receiving a virtual machine (VM) selection from a user interface; retrieving an image of the VM; and provisioning the VM in the router. It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide preconfigured VMs, allowing for efficiency for implementation of VMs in VLANs/VPNs.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0180016 Al (Bugwadia) in view of US 2015/0100673 Al (Asati) further in view of US 2021/0288898 Al (Shen).
Regarding Claim 14:
Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) teaches the method of Claim 1 as described.
Bugwadia teaches on secure VLANs and WAN connections. ([0027][0028]). However, Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) is silent on performing a speed test of the WAN connection at a selected interval; if bandwidth utilization is higher than a high threshold, delaying the speed test; and if the bandwidth utilization is lower than a low threshold, shorten the selected interval.
Shen teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on determining bandwidth capacity in a WAN path, Abstract.
Shen teaches performing a speed test of the WAN connection at a selected interval; if bandwidth utilization is higher than a high threshold, delaying the speed test; and if the bandwidth utilization is lower than a low threshold, shorten the selected interval. ([0035] After completion of a controlled speed test and a QoE performance measurement, if the performance score (vQoE score) is between 8-10 (indicating a GREEN performance grade), the system may commence to verify the bandwidth by initiating another controlled speed test wherein the next incremental load (e.g., 0.5 Mbps) may be applied to the WAN path 152, 154. Once the test load has been successfully increased and the QoE performance has been measured a predetermined number of times (e.g., 5 times) without performance downgrade (vQoE score remains GREEN) and with no Service Level Agreement (SLA) violations, the shaper rate of the QoS shaper 170 may then be increased by the total determined amount.) The testing interval is shortened when the levels stay within the green range.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Bugwadia (as modified by Asati) by modifying Bugwadia per Shen to include performing a speed test of the WAN connection at a selected interval; if bandwidth utilization is higher than a high threshold, delaying the speed test; and if the bandwidth utilization is lower than a low threshold, shorten the selected interval. It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide reliability of WAN connectivity by testing connections based on predefined ranges.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0180016 Al (Bugwadia) in view of US 2008/0043640 Al (Smith).
Regarding Claim 22:
Bugwadia teaches A method, performed by a remote router (Fig 1, remote router 108) registered with a router at a client site (Fig 1, access point 132) including a plurality of electronic devices (Fig 1, client devices 134-136), ([0018] Fig 1, a network management system 104, which includes a management server 106 having a device configuration server functionality, may be coupled for communication over a network, such as the Internet 120, to a network device 108, here shown as a first remote wireless network device 1.) the method comprising:
connecting to a wide area network (WAN); ([0107] FIG. 6, the first network 604 is coupled to a wide area network (WAN) 606.)
downloading a local area network (LAN) configuration for the plurality of electronic devices at the client site from a server; ([0076]-[0083][0095] The server essentially waits in a loop for configuration request to be received (step 403), and when a receives requests to configure a device (step 45) it may optionally authenticate the received request (step 407) and then determine if the requesting device should be sent a configuration information based on a network device identity ID (step 409) or based on a network policy (step 411). [0079] The management side system server sends the configuration information to requesting device (step 421) optionally but advantageously with authentication.)
and establishing a secure virtual local area network (VLAN) to the router at the client site. ([0108] FIG. 6, a second network 608 is coupled to the first network 604 through the WAN 606. An AP controller 610, an AP 612, and network services engine 614 are coupled to the second network 608. [0087] Each of the network devices that have been configured to requests initial or new configuration information can send a message back to the system server in a secure manner. [0027][0028] VLANs.)
Bugwadia teaches on secure VLANs. ([0027][0028]). However, Bugwadia is silent on establishing a Virtual Private Network (VPN) to the router at the client site.
Smith teaches establishing a Virtual Private Network (VPN). ([0015] receiving a request at the management device from the network device for a VPN configuration file via the network connection; and transmitting the VPN configuration file from the management device to the network device via the network connection; wherein at least one VPN is automatically reconfigured upon local processing of at least one of the device configuration file, the VPN configuration file, and combinations thereof.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Bugwadia per Smith to include establishing a Virtual Private Network (VPN). It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide further guarantees of network security when utilizing Internet/public data paths.
Conclusion & Contact Information
/RACHEL J HACKENBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454