CTNF 18/821,580 CTNF 89309 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 , is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (US 2023/0188395 A1) . Regarding claims 1 and 15, Lim discloses: an information indication apparatus (fig.1 depicts a plurality of stations (STA) in a wireless communications network) , comprising: at least one processor (par.[0142] which describes a processor configured to execute instructions from a computer readable medium (CRM)) ; one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to (par.[0142] which describes the computer readable medium) : performing an information indication method, comprising: generating, a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) ( par.[0009] which teaches that the transmitting station generates a frame. The frame being a PPDU) , wherein the PPDU comprises sensing indication information (Abstract: describes an indication in the PPDU, par.[0011] recites, in part, “The frame includes an EDMG-Header-A field. A packet classification indicator is included in a reserved bit of the EDMG-Header-A field.) , and the sensing indication information indicates that the PPDU is a PPDU used for sensing measurement (par.[0011] which recites, in part, “The packet classification indicator includes information indicating that the frame is a sensing frame used for sensing.”) ; wherein the PPDU is a direction multi-gigabit (DMG) single carrier (SC) (par.[0032] describes 802.11ad which utilizes DMG-SC) mode PPDU, an enhanced direction multi-gigabit (EDMG) SC mode PPDU (par.[0090] describes a EDMG-SC) , or an EDMG orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) mode PPDU (par.[0090] describes an EDMG-OFDM) ; and a transceiver, configured to send the PPDU (par.[0037] describes a sensing transmitting device configured to transmit a sensing PPDU) . Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Lim discloses: wherein the PPDU is the EDMG SC mode PPDU (par.[0090] describes the EDMG-SC mode PPDU) , the EDMG SC mode PPDU comprises an EDMG-header-A field (fig.8 and par.[0059] describes the EDMG-Header-A field) , and the EDMG-header- A field carries the sensing indication information (par.[0011] which recites, in part, “. A packet classification indicator is included in a reserved bit of the EDMG-Header-A field”) . Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Lim discloses: wherein a reserved bit in the EDMG-header-A field carries the sensing indication information (par.[0011] which recites, in part, “A packet classification indicator is included in a reserved bit of the EDMG-Header-A field”) . Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Lim discloses: wherein the PPDU is the EDMG OFDM mode PPDU (par.[0090] describes an EDMG-OFDM) , the EDMG OFDM mode PPDU comprises an EDMG-header-A field (fig.8 and par.[0059] describes the EDMG-Header-A field) , and the EDMG- header-A field carries the sensing indication information (par.[0011] which recites, in part, “A packet classification indicator is included in a reserved bit of the EDMG-Header-A field”). Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Lim discloses: wherein a reserved bit in the EDMG-header-A field carries the sensing indication information (par.[0011] which recites, in part, “A packet classification indicator is included in a reserved bit of the EDMG-Header-A field”). Regarding claim 8, Lim discloses: receiving, a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) ( par.[0009] which teaches that the transmitting station generates a frame for transmission to a receiving station, see fig.1. The frame being a PPDU) , wherein the PPDU comprises sensing indication information (Abstract: describes an indication in the PPDU, par.[0011] recites, in part, “The frame includes an EDMG-Header-A field. A packet classification indicator is included in a reserved bit of the EDMG-Header-A field.) , and the sensing indication information indicates that the PPDU is a PPDU used for sensing measurement (par.[0011] which recites, in part, “The packet classification indicator includes information indicating that the frame is a sensing frame used for sensing.”) ; wherein the PPDU is a direction multi-gigabit (DMG) single carrier (SC) mode PPDU, an enhanced direction multi-gigabit (EDMG) SC mode PPDU (par.[0090] describes a EDMG-SC) , or an EDMG orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) mode PPDU (par.[0090] describes an EDMG-OFDM) ; and determining, based on the sensing indication information, the PPDU is the PPDU used for sensing measurements (par.[0085] describes the STA receiving the sensing frame can determine that the received frame is a sensing frame using the value of the reserved bits) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6, 13, and 20 , is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim as applied to independent claims 1, 8, and 15, in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0211973 A1) . Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, the disclosure of Lim teaches a plurality of PPDU for 802.11ad and 802.11ay, but may not disclose: wherein the PPDU is the DMG SC mode PPDU, the DMG SC mode PPDU comprises a DMG header field, and wherein an additional PPDU indication field and a training length indication field in the DMG header field carry the sensing indication information. In an analogous art, the disclosure of Chen teaches: wherein the PPDU is the DMG SC mode PPDU (par.[0070] discloses the DMG PPDU. The office notes that 802.11ad DMG PPDU is Single Carrier) , the DMG SC mode PPDU comprises a DMG header field (par.[0075] describes the DMG header field) , and wherein an additional PPDU indication field and a training length indication field in the DMG header field carry the sensing indication information (par.[0075] describes the sensing information being carried in the header portion of the DMG field) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the disclosures of Lim with the disclosure of Chen. The motivation/suggestion would have been to provide a method for determining in a specific 802.11 network a difference between the function of frames . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Au et al. (US 2020/0319324 A1) “Method, Apparatus, and System for Qualified Wireless Sensing” Lim et al. (US 2023/0198579 A1) “Method and Apparatus for Performing Sensing in Wireless LAN System” Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMAAL HENSON whose telephone number is (571)272-5339. The examiner can normally be reached M-Thu: 7:30 am - 6:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Derrick Ferris can be reached at (571)272-3123. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. JAMAAL HENSON Primary Examiner Art Unit 2411 /JAMAAL HENSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/821,580 Page 2 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/821,580 Page 3 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/821,580 Page 4 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/821,580 Page 5 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/821,580 Page 6 Art Unit: 2411