DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 30, 2024, August 07, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piechowiak et al. (US 2018/0184203 A1) in view of Pedersen (US 2017/0195791 A1).
As to claim 1, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device [2 on FIG. 1] adapted to be worn by a user [“The hearing device is worn by the user.” Paragraph 0015], the hearing device comprising:
an input unit comprising first and second input transducers for providing first and second electric input signals, respectively [“The hearing device comprises of a first input transducer and a second input transducer.” Paragraphs 0020 and 0023]; and
a processor [6 on FIG. 1] connected to the input unit, wherein said first input transducer is a vibration sensor [“The input signal is a vibration sensor.” Paragraph 0156] and said second input transducer is a microphone [“The input transducer is an outer transducer, a microphone.” Paragraph 0150], wherein said hearing device is configured to provide that said first and second input transducers are located on said user so that they experience first and second acoustic environments, respectively [“There is an advantage for the user to receive the voice signal and not the surrounding sounds.” Paragraph 0150], when the user wears the hearing device, the first and second acoustic environments being acoustically different than one another [“The input sensor is arranged to be completely in the ear canal and the other transducer input is an outer transducer.” Paragraphs 0150, 0155 and 0156].
Piechowiak fails to disclose a beam forming arrangement for the input.
However, Pedersen teaches wherein the processor comprises one or more beamformers, each providing a spatially filtered signal by filtering and summing at least the first and second electric input signals [“The combination of the input sensor and the acoustic input is arranged in a beamforming algorithm.” Paragraph 0056].
Piechowiak and Pedersen are analogous because they are all directed to hearing device management system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Piechowiak reference with the teaching of Pedersen, so that the inputs signal would combine using the beamforming algorithm in the hearing device of Piechowiak, would have been combined into a directional signal, for the obvious purpose of providing the user a directional pattern towards the user’s mouth, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 2, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first acoustic environment is defined as an environment where an own voice signal of the user primarily originates from vibrating parts of the bones and skin or tissue [“The voice processing unit is filtering out the surrounding sounds and noise from the environment. The vibrating parts conduct the voice signal through the body by the user’s bone. The examiner choses the bone’s limitations for the simple or.” Paragraphs 0129, 0154].
As to claim 3, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 2, wherein more than 50% of the own voice signal originates from vibrating parts of the bones and skin or tissue. [“The vibrating parts conduct the voice signal through the body by the user’s bone which is more than 50% of the body. The examiner choses the bone’s limitations for the simple or.” Paragraphs 0129, 0154].
As to claim 4, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 2, wherein an airborne transmission channel exists between said vibrating parts and said first input transducer [“Air cavities are in the user’s body.” Paragraph 0031].
As to claim 5, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 4, wherein said airborne transmission channel between said vibrating parts and said first input transducer is between 0 and 10 mm long [“The body-conducted voice signal is at least a partly air-transmitted signal, which is between zero and ten millimeters.” Paragraph 0031].
As to claim 6, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the second acoustic environment is defined as an environment where the own voice signal primarily originates from the user’s mouth or nose and is transmitted through air from said mouth or nose to the second input transducer(s) [“The voice processing unit is filtering out the surrounding sounds and noise from the environment. The vibrating parts conduct the voice signal through the body by the user’s bone. The examiner choses the mouth’s limitations for the simple or.” Paragraphs 0129, 0154].
As to claim 7, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 1 comprising an in the ear (ITE) part that fully or partially acoustically blocks the ear canal between the first and second acoustic environments [“The ear canal has a sound inlet positioned at the tip portion of the in the ear canal. The examiner choose the first limitation because of the simple or.” Paragraph 0053].
As to claim 8, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first and second acoustic environments are acoustically different from each other in that the first and second acoustic environments are separated by one or more objects that prohibit or diminish exchange of acoustic energy between them [“The input sensor is arranged to be completely in the ear canal and the other transducer input is an outer transducer.” Paragraphs 0150, 0155 and 0156].
As to claim 9, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first and second acoustic environments are acoustically different from each other in that the first and second acoustic environments are at least partially isolated from each other [“The input sensor is arranged to be completely in the ear canal and the other transducer input is an outer transducer.” Paragraphs 0150, 0155 and 0156].
As to claim 10, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 9 wherein the first and second acoustic environments are separated by an object for attenuating acoustic transmission between the first and second acoustic environments [“The input sensor is arranged to be completely in the ear canal and the other transducer input is an outer transducer.” Paragraphs 0150, 0155 and 0156].
As to claim 11, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 10, but fails to disclose a seal.
However, Pedersen teaches wherein said object comprises a seal [”The housing is occluding the ear canal volume and acoustically seal the ear canal volume.” Paragraph 0064].
Piechowiak and Pedersen are analogous because they are all directed to hearing device management system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Piechowiak reference with the teaching of Pedersen, so that the inputs signal would combine using the seal in the hearing device of Piechowiak, would have been close the environmental sound, for the obvious purpose of providing the user a protection for the outside noise, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 12, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first and second acoustic environments are acoustically different from each other in that a transition region between the first and second acoustic environments is implemented by a minimum distance in the ear canal between the first and second input transducers [“The input sensor is arranged to be completely in the ear canal and the other transducer input is an outer transducer.” Paragraphs 0150, 0155 and 0156].
As to claim 13, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 12 wherein said minimum distance in the ear canal between the first and second input transducers is in the region between 5 mm and 20 mm [“The body-conducted voice signal is at least a partly air-transmitted signal, which is between zero and ten millimeters.” Paragraph 0031].
As to claim 14, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 12 wherein said transition region between the first and second acoustic environments is configured to change the acoustic conditions of an acoustic signal impinging on an input transducer located on each side of the transition region [“The input sensor is arranged to be completely in the ear canal and the other transducer input is an outer transducer.” Paragraphs 0150, 0155 and 0156].
As to claim 15, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 14 wherein said change of the acoustic conditions of an acoustic signal impinging on an input transducer located on each side of the transition region comprises a change of directional properties, and/or spectral properties, and/or signal-to-noise-ratio (SNR) [“These environmental noise problems are mitigated to a certain extent using microphones with directional properties.” Paragraph 0046].
As to claim 16, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 12 wherein said transition region between the first and second acoustic environments is implemented by an object which fully or partially occludes the ear canal [“The input sensor is arranged to be completely in the ear canal and the other transducer input is an outer transducer.” Paragraphs 0150, 0155 and 0156].
As to claim 17, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 14 but fails to disclose a seal.
However, Pedersen teaches wherein said object comprises a sealing element [”The housing is occluding the ear canal volume and acoustically seal the ear canal volume.” Paragraph 0064].
Piechowiak and Pedersen are analogous because they are all directed to hearing device management system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Piechowiak reference with the teaching of Pedersen, so that the inputs signal would combine using the seal in the hearing device of Piechowiak, would have been close the environmental sound, for the obvious purpose of providing the user a protection for the outside noise, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 18, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 17 wherein said sealing element comprises one or more openings allowing a certain exchange of air and sound with the environment to decrease a sense of occlusion by the user [“The input sensor is arranged to be completely in the ear canal and the other transducer input is an outer transducer.” Paragraphs 0150, 0155 and 0156].
As to claim 19, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 1 wherein the processor is configured to receive the first and second electric input signals and to provide a combined signal as a linear combination of the first and second electric input signals, wherein the combined signal comprises an estimate of the user’s own voice [“The voice of the user is streamed to the second user and vice versa.” Paragraph 0008].
As to claim 20, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 1, but fails to disclose a beam forming arrangement for the input.
However, Pedersen teaches wherein one of the beamformers is an own voice beamformer and wherein the spatially filtered signal comprises an estimate of the user’s own voice [“The combination of the input sensor and the acoustic input is arranged in a beamforming algorithm.” Paragraph 0056].
Piechowiak and Pedersen are analogous because they are all directed to hearing device management system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Piechowiak reference with the teaching of Pedersen, so that the inputs signal would combine using the beamforming algorithm in the hearing device of Piechowiak, would have been combined into a directional signal, for the obvious purpose of providing the user a directional pattern towards the user’s mouth, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 21, Piechowiak discloses a hearing device according to claim 1 comprising a hearing aid, a headset, an earphone or headphone, an ear protection device or a combination thereof [“The hearing device may be a hearing aid a headset.” Paragraphs 0014 and 0045].
As to claim 22, Piechowiak discloses a method [Paragraph 0002] of operating a hearing device [2 on FIG.] adapted to be worn by a user [“The hearing device is worn by the user.” Paragraph 0015], the hearing device comprising an input unit comprising first and second input transducers for providing first and second electric input signals, respectively [“The hearing device comprises of a first input transducer and a second input transducer.” Paragraphs 0020 and 0023], and a processor [6 on FIG. 1] connected to the input unit, wherein said first input transducer is a vibration sensor and said second input transducer is a microphone[“There is an advantage for the user to receive the voice signal and not the surrounding sounds.” Paragraph 0150]; and
providing that said first and second input transducers are located on said user so that the user experiences first and second acoustic environments, respectively, when the user wears the hearing device, the first and second acoustic environments being acoustically different than one another [“The input signal is a vibration sensor, the input transducer is an outer transducer, a microphone.” Paragraphs 0150, 0155 and 0156] ;
Piechowiak fails to disclose a beam forming arrangement for the input.
However, Pedersen teaches wherein the processor comprises one or more beamformers , the method comprising: providing from each beamformer a spatially filtered signal by filtering and summing at least the first and second electric input signals [“The combination of the input sensor and the acoustic input is arranged in a beamforming algorithm.” Paragraph 0056].
Piechowiak and Pedersen are analogous because they are all directed to hearing device management system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Piechowiak reference with the teaching of Pedersen, so that the inputs signal would combine using the beamforming algorithm in the hearing device of Piechowiak, would have been combined into a directional signal, for the obvious purpose of providing the user a directional pattern towards the user’s mouth, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 23, Piechowiak discloses a method according to claim 22 wherein the first acoustic environment is defined as an environment where the own voice signal primarily originates from vibrating parts of the bones and skin or tissue [“The voice processing unit is filtering out the surrounding sounds and noise from the environment. The vibrating parts conduct the voice signal through the body by the user’s bone. The examiner choses the bone’s limitations for the simple or.” Paragraphs 0129, 0154], and wherein the second acoustic environment is defined as an environment where the own voice signal primarily originates from the user’s mouth or nose and is transmitted through air from said mouth or nose to the second input transducer(s) [“The voice signal emanates from the user’s mouth. The vibrating parts conduct the voice signal through the body by the user’s bone. The examiner choses the mouth’s limitations for the simple or.” Paragraphs 0027].
As to claim 24, Piechowiak discloses a method according to claim 22 wherein the first and second acoustic environments are acoustically different from each other in that the first and second acoustic environments are separated by one or more objects that prohibit or diminish exchange of acoustic energy between them [“The input sensor is arranged to be completely in the ear canal and the other transducer input is an outer transducer.” Paragraphs 0150, 0155 and 0156].
As to claim 25, Piechowiak discloses a method according to claim 22 further comprising processing the first and second electric input signals to provide a combined signal as a linear combination of the first and second electric input signals, wherein the combined signal comprises an estimate of the user’s own voice [“The voice of the user is streamed to the second user and vice versa.” Paragraph 0008].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No12,108,214 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least one claim of the instant application is being taught by the claims of the U.S. Patent.
Patented claim 1 recites a hearing device which perform the feature of one of the beamformers is an own voice beamformer and wherein the spatially filtered signal comprises an estimate of the user's own voice.
The pending claim 1 recites a hearing device which perform the similar feature of wherein the processor comprises one or more beamformers, each providing a spatially filtered signal by filtering and summing at least the first and second electric input signals.
Therefore, the patented claim 1 anticipates the pending 1.
Pending claims 2-25 have similar limitations comparing the patented claims 2- 26 as shown on the table below.
Pending claims
Patented claims
1. A hearing device adapted to be worn by a user, the hearing device comprising: an input unit comprising first and second input transducers for providing first and second electric input signals, respectively; and a processor connected to the input unit, wherein said first input transducer is a vibration sensor and said second input transducer is a microphone, wherein said hearing device is configured to provide that said first and second input transducers are located on said user so that they experience first and second acoustic environments, respectively, when the user wears the hearing device, the first and second acoustic environments being acoustically different than one another, and wherein the processor comprises one or more beamformers, each providing a spatially filtered signal by filtering and summing at least the first and second electric input signals.
2. A hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first acoustic environment is defined as an environment where an own voice signal of the user primarily originates from vibrating parts of the bones and skin or tissue.
3. A hearing device according to claim 2, wherein more than 50% of the own voice signal originates from vibrating parts of the bones and skin or tissue.
4. A hearing device according to claim 2, wherein an airborne transmission channel exists between said vibrating parts and said first input transducer.
5. A hearing device according to claim 4, wherein said airborne transmission channel between said vibrating parts and said first input transducer is between 0 and 10 mm long.
6. A hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the second acoustic environment is defined as an environment where the own voice signal primarily originates from the user's mouth or nose and is transmitted through air from said mouth or nose to the second input transducer(s).
7. A hearing device according to claim 1 comprising an in the ear (ITE) part that fully or partially acoustically blocks the ear canal between the first and second acoustic environments.
8. A hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first and second acoustic environments are acoustically different from each other in that the first and second acoustic environments are separated by one or more objects that prohibit or diminish exchange of acoustic energy between them.
9. A hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first and second acoustic environments are acoustically different from each other in that the first and second acoustic environments are at least partially isolated from each other.
10. A hearing device according to claim 9 wherein the first and second acoustic environments are separated by an object for attenuating acoustic transmission between the first and second acoustic environments.
11. A hearing device according to claim 10 wherein said object comprises a seal.
12. A hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first and second acoustic environments are acoustically different from each other in that a transition region between the first and second acoustic environments is implemented by a minimum distance in the ear canal between the first and second input transducers.
13. A hearing device according to claim 12 wherein said minimum distance in the ear canal between the first and second input transducers is in the region between 5 mm and 20 mm.
14. A hearing device according to claim 12 wherein said transition region between the first and second acoustic environments is configured to change the acoustic conditions of an acoustic signal impinging on an input transducer located on each side of the transition region.
15. A hearing device according to claim 14 wherein said change of the acoustic conditions of an acoustic signal impinging on an input transducer located on each side of the transition region comprises a change of directional properties, and/or spectral properties, and/or signal-to-noise-ratio (SNR).
16. A hearing device according to claim 12 wherein said transition region between the first and second acoustic environments is implemented by an object which fully or partially occludes the ear canal.
17. A hearing device according to claim 14 wherein said object comprises a sealing element.
18. A hearing device according to claim 17 wherein said sealing element comprises one or more openings allowing a certain exchange of air and sound with the environment to decrease a sense of occlusion by the user.
19. A hearing device according to claim 1 wherein the processor is configured to receive the first and second electric input signals and to provide a combined signal as a linear combination of the first and second electric input signals, wherein the combined signal comprises an estimate of the user's own voice.
20. A hearing device according to claim 1 wherein one of the beamformers is an own voice beamformer and wherein the spatially filtered signal comprises an estimate of the user's own voice.
21. A hearing device according to claim 1 comprising a hearing aid, a headset, an earphone or headphone, an ear protection device or a combination thereof.
22. A method of operating a hearing device adapted to be worn by a user, the hearing device comprising an input unit comprising first and second input transducers for providing first and second electric input signals, respectively, and a processor connected to the input unit, wherein said first input transducer is a vibration sensor and said second input transducer is a microphone, and wherein the processor comprises one or more beamformers, the method comprising: providing that said first and second input transducers are located on said user so that the user experiences first and second acoustic environments, respectively, when the user wears the hearing device, the first and second acoustic environments being acoustically different than one another; and providing from each beamformer a spatially filtered signal by filtering and summing at least the first and second electric input signals.
23. A method according to claim 22 wherein the first acoustic environment is defined as an environment where the own voice signal primarily originates from vibrating parts of the bones and skin or tissue, and wherein the second acoustic environment is defined as an environment where the own voice signal primarily originates from the user's mouth or nose and is transmitted through air from said mouth or nose to the second input transducer(s).
24. A method according to claim 22 wherein the first and second acoustic environments are acoustically different from each other in that the first and second acoustic environments are separated by one or more objects that prohibit or diminish exchange of acoustic energy between them.
25. A method according to claim 22 further comprising processing the first and second electric input signals to provide a combined signal as a linear combination of the first and second electric input signals, wherein the combined signal comprises an estimate of the user's own voice.
1. A hearing device adapted to be worn by a user and for picking up sound containing the user's own voice, the hearing device comprising: an input unit comprising first and second input transducers for converting sound to first and second electric input signals, respectively, representing said sound; wherein said hearing device is configured to provide that said first and second input transducers are located on said user so that the user experiences first and second, acoustically different, acoustic environments, respectively, when the user wears the hearing device; and further comprising a processor connected to the input unit; wherein the processor comprises one or more beamformers, each providing a spatially filtered signal by filtering and summing at least the first and second electric input signals; and one of the beamformers is an own voice beamformer and wherein the spatially filtered signal comprises an estimate of the user's own voice.
2. A hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first acoustic environment is defined as an environment where the own voice signal primarily originates from vibrating parts of the bones and skin or tissue.
3. A hearing device according to claim 2, wherein more than 50% of the own voice signal originates from vibrating parts of the bones and skin or tissue.
4. A hearing device according to claim 2, wherein an airborne transmission channel exists between said vibrating parts and said first input transducer.
5. A hearing device according to claim 4, wherein said airborne transmission channel between said vibrating parts and said first input transducer is between 0 and 10 mm long.
6. A hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the second acoustic environment is defined as an environment where the own voice signal primarily originates from the user's mouth or nose and is transmitted through air from said mouth or nose to the second input transducer(s).
7. A hearing device according to claim 1 comprising an in the ear (ITE-) part that fully or partially acoustically blocks the ear canal between the first and second acoustic environments.
8. A hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first and second acoustic environments are acoustically different from each other in that the first and second acoustic environments are separated by one or more objects that prohibit or diminish exchange of acoustic energy between them.
9. A hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first and second acoustic environments are acoustically different from each other in that the first and second acoustic environments are at least partially isolated from each other.
10. A hearing device according to claim 9, wherein the first and second acoustic environments are separated by an object for attenuating acoustic transmission between the first and second acoustic environments.
11. A hearing device according to claim 10, wherein said object comprises a seal.
12. A hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first and second acoustic environments are acoustically different from each other in that a transition region between the first and second acoustic environments is implemented by a minimum distance in the ear canal between the first and second input transducers.
13. A hearing device according to claim 12, wherein said minimum distance in the ear canal between the first and second input transducers is in the region between 5 mm and 20 mm.
14. A hearing device according to claim 12, wherein said transition region between the first and second acoustic environments is configured to change the acoustic conditions of an acoustic signal impinging on an input transducer located on each side of the transition region.
15. A hearing device according to claim 14, wherein said change of the acoustic conditions of an acoustic signal impinging on an input transducer located on each side of the transition region comprises a change of its directional properties, and/or its spectral properties, and/or its signal-to-noise-ratio (SNR).
16. A hearing device according to claim 12, wherein said transition region between the first and second acoustic environments is implemented by an object which fully or partially occludes the ear canal.
17. A hearing device according to claim 14, wherein said object comprises a sealing element.
18. A hearing device according to claim 17, wherein said sealing element comprises one or more openings allowing a certain exchange of air and sound with the environment to decrease a sense of occlusion by the user.
19. A hearing device according to claim 1 wherein, the processor is configured to receive the first and second electric input signals and to provide a combined signal as a linear combination of the first and second electric input signals, wherein the combined signal comprises an estimate of the user's own voice.
20. A hearing device according to claim 1, wherein said first and second input transducer comprises at least one microphone.
21. A hearing device according to claim 1, wherein said first and second input transducer comprises at least one vibration sensor.
22. A hearing device according to claim 1 comprising a hearing aid, a headset, an earphone or headphone, an ear protection device or a combination thereof.
23. A method of operating a hearing device adapted to be worn by a user and for picking up sound containing the user's own voice, the hearing device comprising: an input unit comprising first and second input transducers for converting sound to first and second electric input signals, respectively, representing said sound; and a processor connected to the input unit, the processor comprising one or more beamformers, the method comprising: providing that said first and second input transducers are located on said user so that the user experiences first and second, acoustically different, acoustic environments, respectively, when the user wears the hearing device; and providing from each beamformer a spatially filtered signal by filtering and summing at least the first and second electric input signals, wherein one of the beamformers is an own voice beamformer and wherein the spatially filtered signal comprises an estimate of the user's own voice.
24. A method according to claim 23, wherein the first acoustic environment is defined as an environment where the own voice signal primarily originates from vibrating parts of the bones and skin or tissue, and wherein the second acoustic environment is defined as an environment where the own voice signal primarily originates from the user's mouth or nose and is transmitted through air from said mouth or nose to the second input transducer(s).
25. A method according to claim 23, wherein the first and second acoustic environments are acoustically different from each other in that the first and second acoustic environments are separated by one or more objects that prohibit or diminish exchange of acoustic energy between them.
26. A method according to claim 23 configured to process the first and second electric input signals and to provide a combined signal as a linear combination of the first and second electric input signals, wherein the combined signal comprises an estimate of the user's own voice.
.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Sprague et al. (US 2015/0230033 A1) discloses a present universal wearable computing device relates to a hearing assistance system, device, method, and apparatus that provide a discreet approach to user hearing assistance.
/GERALD GAUTHIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692
April 28, 2026