DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the second frame is provided with two or more of the support post” and claim 3 recites “the second frame is provided with a support post.” Claim 4 is therefore unclear if the two or more support posts in claim 4 includes the support post listed in claim 3 or if they are in addition to. For examination purposes, the support post in claim 3 is interpreted to be part of the two or more support posts.
Claim 4 recites “the support post,” however, claim 4 already recites “two or more support posts.” Claim 4 is therefore unclear if the support post is one of the two or more support posts or what does “the support post” refer to. For examination purposes, claim 4 is interpreted to read “one of the support posts of the two or more support posts.”
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2022/0011331, hereinafter Gilligan.
Regarding claim 1, Gilligan teaches a microplate transfer apparatus (item 99) for transferring a microplate in a modularized liquid-phase equipment, the microplate transfer apparatus comprising: a first frame (item 404) extendable into the modularized liquid-phase equipment (figures 29a and 29b); a second frame (the straight section of item 160) connected to the first frame (figures 29a and 29b) and fixed in place by being supported by the first frame in a state that the first frame extends into the modularized liquid-phase equipment (figures 29a and 29b); a chuck (item 162) and a push-pull mechanism (the extension part item 160), the chuck and the push-pull mechanism being connected to the second frame (figures 29a and 29b), the chuck configured to be detachably connected to a microplate tray into which the microplate can be placed (paragraph [0234]), the push-pull mechanism (item 160) is configured to drive the chuck to push or pull the microplate tray to enter or exit the modularized liquid-phase equipment, to transfer the microplate (figure 3a).
Regarding claim 2, Gilligan teaches the push-pull mechanism is a linearly movable mechanism arranged in the second frame (figures 3a, 29a and 29b), the chuck is connected to a movable member of the push-pull mechanism such that the chuck is movable in the push-pull mechanism along a straight-line advancing route (figures 3a, 29a and 29b).
Regarding claim 3, Gilligan teaches the second frame (the straight section of item 160) is provided with a support post (the central axis support arm, paragraph [0234]) that is liftable and lowerable, the support post in a lifted state supports the microplate tray (figure 29b).
Regarding claim 4, Gilligan teaches the second frame (the straight section of item 160) is provided with two or more of the support post (item 408) arranged to be symmetrical with respect to an advancing route of the chuck (figures 29a and 29b), and the support post is disposed at an end of the second frame close to the modularized liquid-phase equipment (figures 29a and 29b).
Regarding claim 5, Gilligan teaches the chuck (item 162) comprises a first column (one of item 168) and a second column (the other of item 168).
The microplate tray is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the microplate tray has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115). The claim is therefore taught by Gilligan.
Regarding claim 6, Gilligan teaches a signal collection and transmission apparatus (paragraph [0019]) is integrated into the microplate transfer apparatus (paragraph [0119]), when the chuck runs to a position of its operation track that is closest to a microplate attachment position in the modularized liquid-phase equipment (figure 3a), the signal collection and transmission apparatus is capable of acquiring a position signal of the chuck (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraphs [0019] and [0183]) and transmits, to the modularized liquid-phase equipment, a signal of detecting a sample in the microplate (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraphs [0019] and [0183]); when the chuck runs to a position of its operation track that is farthest to the microplate attachment position in the modularized liquid-phase equipment, the signal collection and transmission apparatus is capable of acquiring a position signal of the chuck and transmits, to an external equipment, a signal of replacing the microplate (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraphs [0019] and [0183]).
Regarding claim 7, Gilligan teaches the first frame is configured to be attached below a sample feeder of the microplate transfer apparatus (the sample feeder is not positively recited (MPEP § 2115) and is further taught in figure 29b).
Regarding claim 8, Gilligan teaches the chuck (item 162) and the push-pull mechanism (the extension part of item 160) drives the microplate tray to extend into or exit the sample feeder (figure 3a).
Regarding claim 9, Gilligan teaches a modularized liquid-phase equipment (figures 29a and 29b), comprising the microplate transfer apparatus of claim 1 (see supra) and the microplate tray (item 116).
Regarding claim 10, Gilligan teaches a modularized liquid-phase equipment (figures 29a and 29b), comprising the microplate transfer apparatus according to claim 5 (see supra) and the microplate tray (item 116), wherein a loose plate (item 108) is arranged in the push-pull slot (figures 29a and 29b), an interlock apparatus is arranged between the microplate tray (paragraph [0176]) and a microplate tray attachment position in the modularized liquid-phase equipment (paragraph [0176]), the interlock apparatus is unlockable when the first column presses the loose plate towards the slot wall such as to enable the microplate tray to leave the microplate tray attachment position in the modularized liquid-phase equipment (paragraph [0176]).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796