Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,7-8,13-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO et al (US 20230239714 A1) hereinafter as FUJISHIRO in view of KAWANO et al (US 20240147344 A1) hereinafter as KAWANO.
Regarding claim(s) 1,7 and 13, FUJISHIRO discloses a method for notification message transmission (See Fig(s). 9 PC5 messaging between 100a and 100b), comprising:
performing, by a UE-to-UE (U2U) relay UE, a discovery procedure (See Fig(s). 7, step S1, See ¶ 66, the remote UE 100A and the relay UE 100B perform a relay UE discovery procedure. );
establishing a U2U relay UE a first PC5 Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection with a first remote UE (See Fig(s). 6, Relay UE with RRc to 100a, See ¶ .. 63.. The U2U relay is a mode in which the relay UE 100B performs relay between the remote UE 100A and another UE 100C. Here, sidelink connection is established between the relay UE 100B and the remote UE 100A and between the relay UE 100B and another UE 100C.),
and establishes one or more second PC5 RRC connections with one or more additional remote UEs (See Fig(s). 7 steps S2-S3, See ¶ 67) so that the first remote UE can communicate with the one or more additional remote UEs via the U2U relay UE (again See Fig(s). 6, See ¶ .. 63, 66-68, 79. A PC5-RRC message for various configurations is transmitted between the PC5-RRC layer of the remote UE 100A and the PC5-RRC layer of the relay UE 100B. When a connection (PC5-RRC connection) between the PC5-RRC of the remote UE 100A and the PC5-RRC of the relay UE 100B is present, the remote UE 100A may be in a PC5-RRC connected state);
detecting a PC5 radio link failure (RLF) of a second PC5 RRC connection established with a second remote UE among the one or more additional remote UEs (See Fig(s). 6, See ¶ 182, ; a case of the U2U relay, the relay UE 100B may detect at least one of an RLF in sidelink connection with another UE 100C, PC5-RRC connection release, PC5-S connection release, a failure in PC5-RRC connection establishment, and a failure in PC5-S connection establishment.);
transmitting the U2U relay UE a notification message to the first remote UE (See Fig(s). 6-7, See ¶ .. 66.. in Step S1, the remote UE 100A and the relay UE 100B perform a relay UE discovery procedure. The relay UE discovery procedure has a method in which the relay UE 100B gives a notification of presence of the relay UE 100B itself through transmission of a discovery message, and a method in which the remote UE 100A searches for the relay UE 100B through transmission of a discovery message.).
an indication of a PC5 RLF with the second remote UE (See ¶ .. 182.. in a case of the U2U relay, the relay UE 100B may detect at least one of an RLF in sidelink connection with another UE 100C, PC5-RRC connection release, PC5-S connection release, a failure in PC5-RRC connection establishment, and a failure in PC5-S connection establishment.).
FUJISHIRO fails to disclose, after the first PC5 RRC connection between the U2U relay UE and the first remote UE has been established wherein the notification message includes a sidelink indication type and information identifying a second remote UE among the one or more additional remote UEs…and the information identifying the second remote UE is a layer-2 identity of the second remote UE.
KAWANO discloses wherein notification is sent after the first PC5 RRC connection between the U2U relay UE and the first remote UE has been established (See ¶ 71 The PC5-RRC connection is a logical connection between two UEs corresponding to a pair of source L2ID and destination L2ID, and is considered to be established after a corresponding PC5 unicast link is established.) the notification message includes a sidelink indication type and information identifying a second remote UE among the one or more additional remote UEs (See ¶ .. 101.. there may be a type other than ProSe Direct Discovery for discovering another UE in order to perform direct communication with another UE, specifically, there may be Group member Discovery for discovering one or more UEs in order to perform communication within a group using a sidelink, 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay Discovery for discovering candidate relay UEs…. See Fig(s). 6, 8, See ¶ .. 157.. The information may be notified to one remote UE, or may be notified to multiple remote UEs. The U2U relay UE may notify the remote UE of the information by transmitting a PC5-RRC message including the information to the remote UE, or by transmitting a MAC CE to the remote UE. The information may be information simply indicating the proximity, may additionally include information capable of identifying a remote UE in proximity, may include information indicating a degree of proximity, and may include the SL-RSRP-1 and/or the SL-RSRP-2 ).
Kawano further also discloses an indication of a PC5 radio link failure (RLF) with the second remote UE (See Fig(s). 1, See ¶ 71, 157).
Kawano further discloses UE, and the information identifying the second remote UE is a layer-2 identity (ID) of the second remote UE (See ¶ 33, SL communication is performed in one of the transmission modes using a pair of a source layer-2 (L2) identifier (ID) and a destination layer-2 (L2) identifier (ID). The source layer-2 identifier and the destination layer-2 identifier may be referred to as a source L2ID and a destination L2ID).
The U2U relay terminal apparatus is responsible to relay communication between the first terminal apparatus and the second terminal apparatus successfully with proper configuration parameters for all UEs without interruption and delay.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of KAWANO within FUJISHIRO, so as to enhance overall UEs performance by ensuring proper PC5 link establishment for all UEs concerned.
Regarding claim(s) 2, 8, KAWANO discloses wherein each PC5 RRC connection of the first PC5 RRC connection and the one or more second PC5 RRC connections is a Layer-2 link over PC5 reference point (See ¶ .. 71.. the PC5-RRC connection, and in a case that a layer 2 link release procedure is completed, the UE releases the PC5-RRC connection). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 14, FUJISHIRO discloses and one or more second PC5 RRC connections are established between the U2U relay UE and the one or more additional remote UEs (again See Fig(s). 6, See ¶ .. 63, 66-68, 79. A PC5-RRC message for various configurations is transmitted between the PC5-RRC layer of the remote UE 100A and the PC5-RRC layer of the relay UE 100B. When a connection (PC5-RRC connection) between the PC5-RRC of the remote UE 100A and the PC5-RRC of the relay UE 100B is present, the remote UE 100A may be in a PC5-RRC connected state).
Regarding claim(s) 16, FUJISHIRO discloses wherein the notification message is transmitted when the PC5 RLF with the second remote UE is detected by the U2U relay UE (See Fig(s). 16 step S404, See ¶ .. 182, 184... The relay UE 100B may detect that received power (RSRP) of a reference signal received from another UE 100C or throughput of sidelink communication with another UE 100C has fallen below a threshold, or that resource utilization (occupancy) of sidelink communication with another UE 100C has exceeded a threshold).
Conclusion
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411