DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the original filing on 08/30/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9-11, 13, and 16-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 16 recite ‘selection of the explanation user interface element’; however, they should recite - - a selection of the explanation user interface element - -.
Claims 1 and 16 recite ‘user selection of the explanation user interface element’; however, they should recite - - a user selection of the explanation user interface element - -.
Claim 9 recites ‘user selection of the expansion user interface object’; however, it should recite - - a user selection of the expansion user interface object - -.
Claim 9 recites ‘user selection of a respective expansion user interface object’; however, it should recite - - a user selection of a respective expansion user interface object - -.
Claim 10 recites ‘the process for determining the value of the field in the above level’; however, it should recite - - a process for determining a value of a field in an above level - -.
Claim 11 recites ‘the computation processes’; however, it should recite - - computation processes- -.
Claim 13 recites ‘user selection of the history user interface element’; however, it should recite - - a user selection of the history user interface element - -.
Claim 15 recites ‘the user’; however, it should recite - - a user - -.
Claims 17-20 recite ‘The method’; however, they should recite - - The computer-implemented method - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “the underlying parameters used to generate the first field”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited plurality of underlying parameters. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: underlying parameters used to generate the first field
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claims 2-15 and 17-20, claims 2-15 and 17-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for depending on an indefinite parent claim.
Regarding claims 4 and 19, claims 4 and 19 recite “one or more calculation steps, each respective calculation step including two or more fields and calculation logic used to perform the respective calculation step”. The relationship between one or more calculation steps, each respective calculation step, and the respective calculation step is unclear. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: one or more calculation steps, each respective calculation step of the one or more calculation steps including two or more fields and calculation logic used to perform the each respective calculation step of the one or more calculation steps
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites “its associated value”. It is unclear which specific limitation “its” is intended to refer. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: an associated value
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sylvester (US 20080312776 A1, published 12/18/2008).
Regarding claim 1, Sylvester teaches the claim comprising:
A computing system, the system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that collectively store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to perform operations, the operations comprising (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0015], Another advantageous embodiment includes a data processing system comprising a bus, a communications unit connected to the bus, a storage device connected to the bus, in which the storage device includes a computer usable program code, and a processor unit connected to the bus. The processor unit executes the computer usable program to display first level flight plan data):
displaying a first field in a data structure within a user interface, wherein the first field is automatically determined by the computing system based on a plurality of underlying parameters (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0002], The present disclosure relates generally to an improved data processing system and in particular to a method and apparatus for processing data; [0056], Turning now to FIG. 4, a diagram of a display of first level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 400 is an example of a display presented through a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. Display 400 presents the flight planning information in a tree structure or architecture in which different nodes may be selected to present information related to those nodes on a lower level in the tree; [0057], In this particular example, display 400 includes a node for fuel remaining 402. As can be seen, fuel remaining 402 includes value 404 as well as an explanation in section 406. Value 404 is the fuel remaining. In these examples, the fuel remaining is derived from the initial fuel minus the takeoff fuel minus the leg fuel as shown in section 406. As can be seen, value 404 is presented in association with a description of this value; see also [0058-0066]);
displaying an explanation user interface element in the user interface proximate to the first field; receiving user input indicating selection of the explanation user interface element; and in response to receiving user selection of the explanation user interface element, updating the user interface to display one or more data objects representing the underlying parameters used to generate the first field (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0053], user interface 302 also presents explanations, such as the calculations or equations used with the values so that the user can understand how the selected value was derived; [0058], the flight plan information presented in display 400 is presented using a tree hierarchy or structure. In other words, a user may select fuel remaining 402 to see additional related information in nodes that are located in the level below fuel remaining 402. In particular, a user may select fuel remaining 402 to display second level flight plan data. Further, the flight plan displayed on display 400 includes additional information not shown in this example. Only fuel remaining 402 is shown for purposes of illustrating the different features in the advantageous embodiments. Other values and explanations are not shown to avoid obscuring the explanation of these features; [0059], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0060], initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506 are nodes that branch off of fuel remaining 402. As can be seen with this second level flight plan data, each of these components is displayed with a value. Initial fuel 502 is displayed in association with value 508, takeoff fuel 504 is displayed in association with value 510, and leg fuel 506 is displayed in association with value 512; [0061], The manner in which these values are derived are illustrated in sections 514 and 518. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 are derived from additional flight plan data as shown in section 514, 516, and 518. Takeoff fuel 504 is derived from the aircraft setup as shown in section 516. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 include explanations as to how these values were derived in sections 514 and 518. For example, initial fuel 502 has value 508 that is generated by subtracting taxi fuel from the ramp fuel in section 514. Leg fuel 506 has value 512, which is derived by subtracting fuel burn rate from estimated time en route (ETE))
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 2, Sylvester teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the underlying parameters include one or more parameters with associated values and computational logic to determine the first field based on the one or more parameters (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0053], user interface 302 also presents explanations, such as the calculations or equations used with the values so that the user can understand how the selected value was derived; [0058], the flight plan information presented in display 400 is presented using a tree hierarchy or structure. In other words, a user may select fuel remaining 402 to see additional related information in nodes that are located in the level below fuel remaining 402. In particular, a user may select fuel remaining 402 to display second level flight plan data. Further, the flight plan displayed on display 400 includes additional information not shown in this example. Only fuel remaining 402 is shown for purposes of illustrating the different features in the advantageous embodiments. Other values and explanations are not shown to avoid obscuring the explanation of these features; [0059], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0060], initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506 are nodes that branch off of fuel remaining 402. As can be seen with this second level flight plan data, each of these components is displayed with a value. Initial fuel 502 is displayed in association with value 508, takeoff fuel 504 is displayed in association with value 510, and leg fuel 506 is displayed in association with value 512; [0061], The manner in which these values are derived are illustrated in sections 514 and 518. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 are derived from additional flight plan data as shown in section 514, 516, and 518. Takeoff fuel 504 is derived from the aircraft setup as shown in section 516. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 include explanations as to how these values were derived in sections 514 and 518. For example, initial fuel 502 has value 508 that is generated by subtracting taxi fuel from the ramp fuel in section 514. Leg fuel 506 has value 512, which is derived by subtracting fuel burn rate from estimated time en route (ETE))
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 2. Consequently, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 3, Sylvester teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein updating the interface includes displaying an explanation interface (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0053], user interface 302 also presents explanations, such as the calculations or equations used with the values so that the user can understand how the selected value was derived; [0058], the flight plan information presented in display 400 is presented using a tree hierarchy or structure. In other words, a user may select fuel remaining 402 to see additional related information in nodes that are located in the level below fuel remaining 402. In particular, a user may select fuel remaining 402 to display second level flight plan data. Further, the flight plan displayed on display 400 includes additional information not shown in this example. Only fuel remaining 402 is shown for purposes of illustrating the different features in the advantageous embodiments. Other values and explanations are not shown to avoid obscuring the explanation of these features; [0059], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0060], initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506 are nodes that branch off of fuel remaining 402. As can be seen with this second level flight plan data, each of these components is displayed with a value. Initial fuel 502 is displayed in association with value 508, takeoff fuel 504 is displayed in association with value 510, and leg fuel 506 is displayed in association with value 512; [0061], The manner in which these values are derived are illustrated in sections 514 and 518. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 are derived from additional flight plan data as shown in section 514, 516, and 518. Takeoff fuel 504 is derived from the aircraft setup as shown in section 516. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 include explanations as to how these values were derived in sections 514 and 518. For example, initial fuel 502 has value 508 that is generated by subtracting taxi fuel from the ramp fuel in section 514. Leg fuel 506 has value 512, which is derived by subtracting fuel burn rate from estimated time en route (ETE))
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 3. Consequently, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4, Sylvester teaches all the limitations of claim 3, further comprising:
wherein the explanation interface includes a trace tree that displays one or more calculation steps, each respective calculation step including two or more fields and calculation logic used to perform the respective calculation step (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0053], user interface 302 also presents explanations, such as the calculations or equations used with the values so that the user can understand how the selected value was derived; [0058-0059], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0060], initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506 are nodes that branch off of fuel remaining 402. As can be seen with this second level flight plan data, each of these components is displayed with a value. Initial fuel 502 is displayed in association with value 508, takeoff fuel 504 is displayed in association with value 510, and leg fuel 506 is displayed in association with value 512; [0061], The manner in which these values are derived are illustrated in sections 514 and 518. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 are derived from additional flight plan data as shown in section 514, 516, and 518. Takeoff fuel 504 is derived from the aircraft setup as shown in section 516. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 include explanations as to how these values were derived in sections 514 and 518. For example, initial fuel 502 has value 508 that is generated by subtracting taxi fuel from the ramp fuel in section 514. Leg fuel 506 has value 512, which is derived by subtracting fuel burn rate from estimated time en route (ETE); [0062], Turning now to FIG. 6, an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. Display 600 is an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected initial fuel 502. As a result, third level flight plan data is identified for initial fuel 502; [0063], Turning now to FIG. 7, a diagram illustrating a display of multiple levels of flight planning data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 700 is an example of a display presented through a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected the node leg fuel 506, resulting in forth level flight plan data being presented; [0064-0065], display 800 is presented in response to a user selecting ETE 702. In response to a selection of this portion of fourth level flight plan data, fifth level flight plan data is displayed. In this example, the fifth level flight plan data includes leg distance 802 and ground speed 804. Leg distance 802 is displayed with value 806 in association with an explanation in section 808. Ground speed 804 is displayed with value 810 in association with an explanation in section 812; [0066], With reference to FIGS. 9A and 9B, a diagram illustrating multiple levels of flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 900 is an example of a display generated for user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, fifth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of leg distance 802 and ground speed 804 in sections 902 and 904. Fourth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of fuel burn rate 704 in section 906)
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 4. Consequently, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, Sylvester teaches all the limitations of claim 4, further comprising:
wherein the data structure and the trace tree represents a hierarchical structure in which fields at lower levels of the hierarchical structure provide values used to calculate fields at higher levels (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0058-0059], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0060], initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506 are nodes that branch off of fuel remaining 402. As can be seen with this second level flight plan data, each of these components is displayed with a value. Initial fuel 502 is displayed in association with value 508, takeoff fuel 504 is displayed in association with value 510, and leg fuel 506 is displayed in association with value 512; [0061], The manner in which these values are derived are illustrated in sections 514 and 518. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 are derived from additional flight plan data as shown in section 514, 516, and 518. Takeoff fuel 504 is derived from the aircraft setup as shown in section 516. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 include explanations as to how these values were derived in sections 514 and 518. For example, initial fuel 502 has value 508 that is generated by subtracting taxi fuel from the ramp fuel in section 514. Leg fuel 506 has value 512, which is derived by subtracting fuel burn rate from estimated time en route (ETE); [0062], Turning now to FIG. 6, an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. Display 600 is an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected initial fuel 502. As a result, third level flight plan data is identified for initial fuel 502; [0063], Turning now to FIG. 7, a diagram illustrating a display of multiple levels of flight planning data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 700 is an example of a display presented through a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected the node leg fuel 506, resulting in forth level flight plan data being presented; [0064-0065], display 800 is presented in response to a user selecting ETE 702. In response to a selection of this portion of fourth level flight plan data, fifth level flight plan data is displayed. In this example, the fifth level flight plan data includes leg distance 802 and ground speed 804. Leg distance 802 is displayed with value 806 in association with an explanation in section 808. Ground speed 804 is displayed with value 810 in association with an explanation in section 812; [0066], With reference to FIGS. 9A and 9B, a diagram illustrating multiple levels of flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 900 is an example of a display generated for user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, fifth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of leg distance 802 and ground speed 804 in sections 902 and 904. Fourth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of fuel burn rate 704 in section 906)
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 5. Consequently, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 6, Sylvester teaches all the limitations of claim 5, further comprising:
wherein one or more levels in the hierarchical structure are initially hidden in the display (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0058-0059], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0060], initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506 are nodes that branch off of fuel remaining 402. As can be seen with this second level flight plan data, each of these components is displayed with a value. Initial fuel 502 is displayed in association with value 508, takeoff fuel 504 is displayed in association with value 510, and leg fuel 506 is displayed in association with value 512; [0061], The manner in which these values are derived are illustrated in sections 514 and 518. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 are derived from additional flight plan data as shown in section 514, 516, and 518. Takeoff fuel 504 is derived from the aircraft setup as shown in section 516. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 include explanations as to how these values were derived in sections 514 and 518. For example, initial fuel 502 has value 508 that is generated by subtracting taxi fuel from the ramp fuel in section 514. Leg fuel 506 has value 512, which is derived by subtracting fuel burn rate from estimated time en route (ETE); [0062], Turning now to FIG. 6, an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. Display 600 is an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected initial fuel 502. As a result, third level flight plan data is identified for initial fuel 502; [0063], Turning now to FIG. 7, a diagram illustrating a display of multiple levels of flight planning data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 700 is an example of a display presented through a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected the node leg fuel 506, resulting in forth level flight plan data being presented; [0064-0065], display 800 is presented in response to a user selecting ETE 702. In response to a selection of this portion of fourth level flight plan data, fifth level flight plan data is displayed. In this example, the fifth level flight plan data includes leg distance 802 and ground speed 804. Leg distance 802 is displayed with value 806 in association with an explanation in section 808. Ground speed 804 is displayed with value 810 in association with an explanation in section 812; [0066], With reference to FIGS. 9A and 9B, a diagram illustrating multiple levels of flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 900 is an example of a display generated for user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, fifth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of leg distance 802 and ground speed 804 in sections 902 and 904. Fourth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of fuel burn rate 704 in section 906)
Regarding claim 7, Sylvester teaches all the limitations of claim 6, further comprising:
wherein a respective field in a visible level has an associated expansion user interface object for displaying one or more fields from a lower level of the hierarchical structure (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0058-0059], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0060], initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506 are nodes that branch off of fuel remaining 402. As can be seen with this second level flight plan data, each of these components is displayed with a value. Initial fuel 502 is displayed in association with value 508, takeoff fuel 504 is displayed in association with value 510, and leg fuel 506 is displayed in association with value 512; [0061], The manner in which these values are derived are illustrated in sections 514 and 518. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 are derived from additional flight plan data as shown in section 514, 516, and 518. Takeoff fuel 504 is derived from the aircraft setup as shown in section 516. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 include explanations as to how these values were derived in sections 514 and 518. For example, initial fuel 502 has value 508 that is generated by subtracting taxi fuel from the ramp fuel in section 514. Leg fuel 506 has value 512, which is derived by subtracting fuel burn rate from estimated time en route (ETE); [0062], Turning now to FIG. 6, an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. Display 600 is an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected initial fuel 502. As a result, third level flight plan data is identified for initial fuel 502; [0063], Turning now to FIG. 7, a diagram illustrating a display of multiple levels of flight planning data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 700 is an example of a display presented through a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected the node leg fuel 506, resulting in forth level flight plan data being presented; [0064-0065], display 800 is presented in response to a user selecting ETE 702. In response to a selection of this portion of fourth level flight plan data, fifth level flight plan data is displayed. In this example, the fifth level flight plan data includes leg distance 802 and ground speed 804. Leg distance 802 is displayed with value 806 in association with an explanation in section 808. Ground speed 804 is displayed with value 810 in association with an explanation in section 812; [0066], With reference to FIGS. 9A and 9B, a diagram illustrating multiple levels of flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 900 is an example of a display generated for user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, fifth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of leg distance 802 and ground speed 804 in sections 902 and 904. Fourth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of fuel burn rate 704 in section 906)
Regarding claim 8, Sylvester teaches all the limitations of claim 7, further comprising:
wherein the one or more fields from a lower level of the hierarchical structure include underlying parameters used to determine the respective field (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0058-0059], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0060], initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506 are nodes that branch off of fuel remaining 402. As can be seen with this second level flight plan data, each of these components is displayed with a value. Initial fuel 502 is displayed in association with value 508, takeoff fuel 504 is displayed in association with value 510, and leg fuel 506 is displayed in association with value 512; [0061], The manner in which these values are derived are illustrated in sections 514 and 518. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 are derived from additional flight plan data as shown in section 514, 516, and 518. Takeoff fuel 504 is derived from the aircraft setup as shown in section 516. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 include explanations as to how these values were derived in sections 514 and 518. For example, initial fuel 502 has value 508 that is generated by subtracting taxi fuel from the ramp fuel in section 514. Leg fuel 506 has value 512, which is derived by subtracting fuel burn rate from estimated time en route (ETE); [0062], Turning now to FIG. 6, an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. Display 600 is an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected initial fuel 502. As a result, third level flight plan data is identified for initial fuel 502; [0063], Turning now to FIG. 7, a diagram illustrating a display of multiple levels of flight planning data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 700 is an example of a display presented through a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected the node leg fuel 506, resulting in forth level flight plan data being presented; [0064-0065], display 800 is presented in response to a user selecting ETE 702. In response to a selection of this portion of fourth level flight plan data, fifth level flight plan data is displayed. In this example, the fifth level flight plan data includes leg distance 802 and ground speed 804. Leg distance 802 is displayed with value 806 in association with an explanation in section 808. Ground speed 804 is displayed with value 810 in association with an explanation in section 812; [0066], With reference to FIGS. 9A and 9B, a diagram illustrating multiple levels of flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 900 is an example of a display generated for user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, fifth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of leg distance 802 and ground speed 804 in sections 902 and 904. Fourth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of fuel burn rate 704 in section 906)
Regarding claim 9, Sylvester teaches all the limitations of claim 8, further comprising:
the operations further comprising: receiving user selection of the expansion user interface object associated with a respective field that is currently visible; and in response to receiving user selection of a respective expansion user interface object associated with a respective field that is currently visible, displaying the one or more fields from a lower level of the hierarchical structure within the explanation interface (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0053], user interface 302 also presents explanations, such as the calculations or equations used with the values so that the user can understand how the selected value was derived; [0058-0059], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0060], initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506 are nodes that branch off of fuel remaining 402. As can be seen with this second level flight plan data, each of these components is displayed with a value. Initial fuel 502 is displayed in association with value 508, takeoff fuel 504 is displayed in association with value 510, and leg fuel 506 is displayed in association with value 512; [0061], The manner in which these values are derived are illustrated in sections 514 and 518. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 are derived from additional flight plan data as shown in section 514, 516, and 518. Takeoff fuel 504 is derived from the aircraft setup as shown in section 516. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 include explanations as to how these values were derived in sections 514 and 518. For example, initial fuel 502 has value 508 that is generated by subtracting taxi fuel from the ramp fuel in section 514. Leg fuel 506 has value 512, which is derived by subtracting fuel burn rate from estimated time en route (ETE); [0062], Turning now to FIG. 6, an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. Display 600 is an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected initial fuel 502. As a result, third level flight plan data is identified for initial fuel 502; [0063], Turning now to FIG. 7, a diagram illustrating a display of multiple levels of flight planning data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 700 is an example of a display presented through a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected the node leg fuel 506, resulting in forth level flight plan data being presented; [0064-0065], display 800 is presented in response to a user selecting ETE 702. In response to a selection of this portion of fourth level flight plan data, fifth level flight plan data is displayed. In this example, the fifth level flight plan data includes leg distance 802 and ground speed 804. Leg distance 802 is displayed with value 806 in association with an explanation in section 808. Ground speed 804 is displayed with value 810 in association with an explanation in section 812; [0066], With reference to FIGS. 9A and 9B, a diagram illustrating multiple levels of flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 900 is an example of a display generated for user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, fifth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of leg distance 802 and ground speed 804 in sections 902 and 904. Fourth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of fuel burn rate 704 in section 906)
Regarding claim 10, Sylvester teaches all the limitations of claim 5, further comprising:
wherein a particular level in the hierarchical structure describes the process for determining the value of the field in the above level based on one or more field values of the particular level and one or more computational processes associated with the particular level (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0058-0059], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0060], initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506 are nodes that branch off of fuel remaining 402. As can be seen with this second level flight plan data, each of these components is displayed with a value. Initial fuel 502 is displayed in association with value 508, takeoff fuel 504 is displayed in association with value 510, and leg fuel 506 is displayed in association with value 512; [0061], The manner in which these values are derived are illustrated in sections 514 and 518. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 are derived from additional flight plan data as shown in section 514, 516, and 518. Takeoff fuel 504 is derived from the aircraft setup as shown in section 516. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 include explanations as to how these values were derived in sections 514 and 518. For example, initial fuel 502 has value 508 that is generated by subtracting taxi fuel from the ramp fuel in section 514. Leg fuel 506 has value 512, which is derived by subtracting fuel burn rate from estimated time en route (ETE); [0062], Turning now to FIG. 6, an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. Display 600 is an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected initial fuel 502. As a result, third level flight plan data is identified for initial fuel 502; [0063], Turning now to FIG. 7, a diagram illustrating a display of multiple levels of flight planning data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 700 is an example of a display presented through a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected the node leg fuel 506, resulting in forth level flight plan data being presented; [0064-0065], display 800 is presented in response to a user selecting ETE 702. In response to a selection of this portion of fourth level flight plan data, fifth level flight plan data is displayed. In this example, the fifth level flight plan data includes leg distance 802 and ground speed 804. Leg distance 802 is displayed with value 806 in association with an explanation in section 808. Ground speed 804 is displayed with value 810 in association with an explanation in section 812; [0066], With reference to FIGS. 9A and 9B, a diagram illustrating multiple levels of flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 900 is an example of a display generated for user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, fifth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of leg distance 802 and ground speed 804 in sections 902 and 904. Fourth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of fuel burn rate 704 in section 906)
Regarding claim 11, Sylvester teaches all the limitations of claim 10, further comprising:
wherein the computation processes include one or more of: arithmetic operations, Boolean parameters, conditional operations, and policy parameters (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0058-0059], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0060], initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506 are nodes that branch off of fuel remaining 402. As can be seen with this second level flight plan data, each of these components is displayed with a value. Initial fuel 502 is displayed in association with value 508, takeoff fuel 504 is displayed in association with value 510, and leg fuel 506 is displayed in association with value 512; [0061], The manner in which these values are derived are illustrated in sections 514 and 518. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 are derived from additional flight plan data as shown in section 514, 516, and 518. Takeoff fuel 504 is derived from the aircraft setup as shown in section 516. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 include explanations as to how these values were derived in sections 514 and 518. For example, initial fuel 502 has value 508 that is generated by subtracting taxi fuel from the ramp fuel in section 514. Leg fuel 506 has value 512, which is derived by subtracting fuel burn rate from estimated time en route (ETE); [0062], Turning now to FIG. 6, an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. Display 600 is an example of a display that may be presented in a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected initial fuel 502. As a result, third level flight plan data is identified for initial fuel 502; [0063], Turning now to FIG. 7, a diagram illustrating a display of multiple levels of flight planning data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 700 is an example of a display presented through a user interface, such as user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, the user has selected the node leg fuel 506, resulting in forth level flight plan data being presented; [0064-0065], display 800 is presented in response to a user selecting ETE 702. In response to a selection of this portion of fourth level flight plan data, fifth level flight plan data is displayed. In this example, the fifth level flight plan data includes leg distance 802 and ground speed 804. Leg distance 802 is displayed with value 806 in association with an explanation in section 808. Ground speed 804 is displayed with value 810 in association with an explanation in section 812; [0066], With reference to FIGS. 9A and 9B, a diagram illustrating multiple levels of flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, display 900 is an example of a display generated for user interface 302 in FIG. 3. In this example, fifth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of leg distance 802 and ground speed 804 in sections 902 and 904. Fourth level flight plan data is displayed in response to a selection of fuel burn rate 704 in section 906)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sylvester in view of Croft (US 20180068470 A1, published 03/08/2018).
Regarding claim 12, Sylvester teaches all the limitations of claim 3, further comprising:
wherein the explanation interface includes a history (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0053], user interface 302 also presents explanations, such as the calculations or equations used with the values so that the user can understand how the selected value was derived; [0046], The different advantageous embodiments include an ability to present information about how selected values are derived. Further, the different advantageous embodiments also allow a user to change these values in a manner that the changes to other values derived from the changed values are updated automatically without having to recalculate the entire flight plan; [0055], The user may change specific values based on the user's knowledge of actual conditions to see how these values affect the upper level flight plan data derived from the changed values; [0058], the flight plan information presented in display 400 is presented using a tree hierarchy or structure. In other words, a user may select fuel remaining 402 to see additional related information in nodes that are located in the level below fuel remaining 402; [0059-0060], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0068], With each of these levels of flight plan data, the user may alter some of the displayed values. In response to altering the displayed values, the flight planning process recalculates all of the upper level flight plan data that is used or is derived directly or indirectly from the changed value. As a result, a user may see changes immediately without having to recalculate the entire flight plan. By seeing the different explanations for the values in this type of user interface, a user may more intelligently select values to be changed, rather than changing values to see how those values effect the first level flight plan data; [0075-0076], With reference again to operation 1010, if the user input is not selection to collapse a view, a determination is made as to whether the user input changes a value for a portion of the flight plan data (operation 1014). If the user input changes a value for a portion of flight plan data, the process recalculates values for all flight plan data derived from the portion of the flight plan data with the changed value (operation 1016); see also [0061-0066])
However, Sylvester fails to expressly disclose a history user interface element. In the same field of endeavor, Croft teaches:
a history user interface element (Croft Figs. 1-5; [0052], A treemap visualization system and method are described herein. The system and method integrate a plurality of discrete variable modifier interfaces. The system and method enable real time visualization of the impact of adjustments in emphasis of the data input values on the attributes of a treemap visualization; [0080], Only in the most recent versions of conventional treemaps has a time element been added to the treemap display. This has typically been performed through color coding, with changes to the given color's gradient to illustrate a sense of age. For example, in FIG. 1B, the age of the story may be reflected by the gradient of the given color assigned to a given type of story. Generally, the brighter the color, the more recent the story is and the darker the gradient of the color, the older the news story may be. This relationship, although dynamic over time, has no effect on positioning and size and depth of a given treemap item and there is no way to see the effect as time changes. On the contrary, it is merely an instant snapshot of where things are with added gradients; [0081], In the illustrated embodiment, the layout module 121 generates a time or history slider 170 to enable manual adjustment of the instant in time which is presently being visualized by the treemap visualization. Thus, by moving the slider 170, the location, color and size of the tiles may change based on the value of the underlying data item at whatever point in time is represented by the instant location of the slider. This also allows the user to position the slider 170 at a given location, thereby fixing the point in time, and then perform additional modifications of the data through techniques, e.g., dynamic criteria weighting, importance stacking and drill down, to examine or approximate various “what ifs,” contingencies, and conditions that have occurred or even may occur a future point in time. Accordingly, not only may a user perform a priori and a posteriori evaluation of existing data visualized by the treemap visualization, but a user may be able to estimate changes to incomplete historic data given the user's specified changes and prospective future data for the treemap visualization; see also [0073-0077], drill down)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated a history user interface element as suggested in Croft into Sylvester. Doing so would be desirable because previous systems have no way to see effect of changes over time (see Croft [0080]). The system and method described herein may provide an ability to visualize a priori and a posteriori treemap items, as temporal positioning is varied, and discover patterns, trends and associations among treemap items over time. This can be shown historically or via provided projections or estimations of future treemap item relevance/importance (see Croft [0040]). Croft’s history user interface element allows the user to position the slider 170 at a given location, thereby fixing the point in time, and then perform additional modifications of the data through techniques, e.g., dynamic criteria weighting, importance stacking and drill down, to examine or approximate various “what ifs,” contingencies, and conditions that have occurred or even may occur a future point in time. Accordingly, not only may a user perform a priori and a posteriori evaluation of existing data visualized by the treemap visualization, but a user may be able to estimate changes to incomplete historic data given the user's specified changes and prospective future data for the treemap visualization. The systems of Croft and Sylvester are directed toward displaying data in a hierarchal form (see Croft [0003], Sylvester [0002], [0058]). The system of Croft would improve the system of Sylvester by providing a flexible and easy to use user interface element that would allow a user to see a history of changes (see Croft [0080-0081], see Sylvester [0068], [0075-0076]), thereby providing additional desired detail and context to the user.
Regarding claim 13, Sylvester in view of Croft teaches all the limitations of claim 12, further comprising:
changes to a value of a respective field (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0053], user interface 302 also presents explanations, such as the calculations or equations used with the values so that the user can understand how the selected value was derived; [0046], The different advantageous embodiments include an ability to present information about how selected values are derived. Further, the different advantageous embodiments also allow a user to change these values in a manner that the changes to other values derived from the changed values are updated automatically without having to recalculate the entire flight plan; [0055], The user may change specific values based on the user's knowledge of actual conditions to see how these values affect the upper level flight plan data derived from the changed values; [0058], the flight plan information presented in display 400 is presented using a tree hierarchy or structure. In other words, a user may select fuel remaining 402 to see additional related information in nodes that are located in the level below fuel remaining 402; [0059-0060], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0068], With each of these levels of flight plan data, the user may alter some of the displayed values. In response to altering the displayed values, the flight planning process recalculates all of the upper level flight plan data that is used or is derived directly or indirectly from the changed value. As a result, a user may see changes immediately without having to recalculate the entire flight plan. By seeing the different explanations for the values in this type of user interface, a user may more intelligently select values to be changed, rather than changing values to see how those values effect the first level flight plan data; [0075-0076], With reference again to operation 1010, if the user input is not selection to collapse a view, a determination is made as to whether the user input changes a value for a portion of the flight plan data (operation 1014). If the user input changes a value for a portion of flight plan data, the process recalculates values for all flight plan data derived from the portion of the flight plan data with the changed value (operation 1016); see also [0061-0066])
Croft further teaches:
in response to detecting user selection of the history user interface element, displaying a historical log of changes to a value of a respective field (Croft Figs. 1-5; [0052], A treemap visualization system and method are described herein. The system and method integrate a plurality of discrete variable modifier interfaces. The system and method enable real time visualization of the impact of adjustments in emphasis of the data input values on the attributes of a treemap visualization; [0080], Only in the most recent versions of conventional treemaps has a time element been added to the treemap display. This has typically been performed through color coding, with changes to the given color's gradient to illustrate a sense of age. For example, in FIG. 1B, the age of the story may be reflected by the gradient of the given color assigned to a given type of story. Generally, the brighter the color, the more recent the story is and the darker the gradient of the color, the older the news story may be. This relationship, although dynamic over time, has no effect on positioning and size and depth of a given treemap item and there is no way to see the effect as time changes. On the contrary, it is merely an instant snapshot of where things are with added gradients; [0081], In the illustrated embodiment, the layout module 121 generates a time or history slider 170 to enable manual adjustment of the instant in time which is presently being visualized by the treemap visualization. Thus, by moving the slider 170, the location, color and size of the tiles may change based on the value of the underlying data item at whatever point in time is represented by the instant location of the slider. This also allows the user to position the slider 170 at a given location, thereby fixing the point in time, and then perform additional modifications of the data through techniques, e.g., dynamic criteria weighting, importance stacking and drill down, to examine or approximate various “what ifs,” contingencies, and conditions that have occurred or even may occur a future point in time. Accordingly, not only may a user perform a priori and a posteriori evaluation of existing data visualized by the treemap visualization, but a user may be able to estimate changes to incomplete historic data given the user's specified changes and prospective future data for the treemap visualization; see also [0073-0077], drill down)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in response to detecting user selection of the history user interface element, displaying a historical log of changes to a value of a respective field as suggested in Croft into Sylvester. Doing so would be desirable because previous systems have no way to see effect of changes over time (see Croft [0080]). The system and method described herein may provide an ability to visualize a priori and a posteriori treemap items, as temporal positioning is varied, and discover patterns, trends and associations among treemap items over time. This can be shown historically or via provided projections or estimations of future treemap item relevance/importance (see Croft [0040]). Croft’s history user interface element allows the user to position the slider 170 at a given location, thereby fixing the point in time, and then perform additional modifications of the data through techniques, e.g., dynamic criteria weighting, importance stacking and drill down, to examine or approximate various “what ifs,” contingencies, and conditions that have occurred or even may occur a future point in time. Accordingly, not only may a user perform a priori and a posteriori evaluation of existing data visualized by the treemap visualization, but a user may be able to estimate changes to incomplete historic data given the user's specified changes and prospective future data for the treemap visualization. The systems of Croft and Sylvester are directed toward displaying data in a hierarchal form (see Croft [0003], Sylvester [0002], [0058]). The system of Croft would improve the system of Sylvester by providing a flexible and easy to use user interface element that would allow a user to see a history of changes (see Croft [0080-0081], see Sylvester [0068], [0075-0076]), thereby providing additional desired detail and context to the user.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sylvester in view of Berry et al. (US 20150261791 A1, published 09/17/2015), hereinafter Berry.
Regarding claim 14, Sylvester teaches all the limitations of claim 5, further comprising:
users are permitted to view a particular field in the data structure (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0010], pilot, dispatcher, or other user; [0041], a pilot, dispatcher, or other user may find that the total time in route or fuel consumption for a flight plan is different than what is actually observed; [0042], the current methods and applications for flight planning make it difficult for a pilot or user to determine the root cause of difference in values in a flight plan; [0046], The different advantageous embodiments include an ability to present information about how selected values are derived; [0058], the flight plan information presented in display 400 is presented using a tree hierarchy or structure. In other words, a user may select fuel remaining 402 to see additional related information in nodes that are located in the level below fuel remaining 402. In particular, a user may select fuel remaining 402 to display second level flight plan data. Further, the flight plan displayed on display 400 includes additional information not shown in this example. Only fuel remaining 402 is shown for purposes of illustrating the different features in the advantageous embodiments. Other values and explanations are not shown to avoid obscuring the explanation of these features; [0059], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0060], initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506 are nodes that branch off of fuel remaining 402. As can be seen with this second level flight plan data, each of these components is displayed with a value. Initial fuel 502 is displayed in association with value 508, takeoff fuel 504 is displayed in association with value 510, and leg fuel 506 is displayed in association with value 512; see also [0061-0066])
However, Sylvester fails to expressly disclose wherein user access policies define which users are permitted to view a particular field in the data structure. In the same field of endeavor, Berry teaches:
wherein user access policies define which users are permitted to view a particular field in the data structure (Berry Figs. 1-5; [0055], FIG. 3 illustrates an example of an interface 216a generated by the interface module 215 of the automatic property information accumulation application 110. The user interface 216a may be referred to as a `Characteristic Display` interface that presents property information relative to a subject property through a set of twenty selectable fields 301-320, each selectable field corresponding to one of the sub-stacks curated by the stacking and selection module 218 and presenting a corresponding collapsed result to that sub-stack; [0057], the selectable fields 301-320 may be a mechanism for receiving input (e.g., user selection or identification of a field) that triggers additional operations by the application 110, such as causing the interface module 215 to generate a sub-interface. A sub-interface presents instances of the underlying property information or values of the sub-stack corresponding to the identified field on a per record basis, where each instance is further selectable through the sub-interface. For example, in response to an input identifying `GLA` 304, the interface module 215 may generate a sub-interface 330 that includes eleven instances of property information accumulated from eleven records. Each instance of property information is selectable, and upon selection may cause the application 110 to generate the Record Display interface; [0058], FIG. 4 illustrates an example of an interface 216b generated by the interface module 215 of the automatic property information accumulation application 110. This interface 216b may be generated by the interface module 215 in response to the selection of an instance of property information from the set of instances of the sub-interface 330; [0068], The stacking and selection module 218 may also evaluate and/or refine property information for presentation by providing evaluation filtering based on privileges to view property information, such as according to user credentials filter records. Certain users may view all records in the comprehensive data stack, while other users may only view tax record property information and/or records based upon a set of appraisals filtered by their user identification number; [0069], privileges may be implemented via privacy filters that hide particular data. Privacy filters may be related to who has a right to the view property information, e.g., when a first party does not have access to a second party's information (such as sharing a first bank's information with a second bank). As illustrated in FIG. 3, the interface module 215 may generate a sub-interface 330 that includes eleven instances of property information accumulated from eleven records. However, while five of these instances are hidden as a `Private Record` because the current user does not have the right to view those instances, the collapsed value may still be calculated from each of the eleven instances. Another mechanism for implementing a privacy filter may be when a portion of the property information of the instance is viewable (e.g., the property information is presented while the bank name is hidden); [0075], Tax records 223, MLS documents 225, and electronic appraisals 222 are different record types that digitally relate to real properties. For example, electronic appraisals 227 may that represent the uniform residential appraisal report form and include multiple sections with multiple data fields, each of which may memorialize characteristics that contribute to the valuation of the subject property. Tax records 223, MLS documents 225, and electronic appraisals 222 may also include user data, which may be held by the application 110. User data may include identification information of the individual creating the records 221-229, inputting property information, etc. The user data may also be stored and based on privileges (e.g., licenses, security right, etc.) enable different users to access and review the information that is associated with the user data; [0078], property information of each group may be filtered 530 based on privilege settings, e.g., to eliminate irrelevant and/or to hide private property information)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein user access policies define which users are permitted to view a particular field in the data structure as suggested in Berry into Sylvester. Doing so would be desirable because there are issues with prior art systems (see Berry [0001-0002]) and it would be desirable to provide comprehensive display of information (see Berry [0003]). The systems of Croft and Sylvester are directed toward displaying data in a hierarchal form (see Berry [0004], [0034], see Sylvester [0002], [0058]). The privileges of Berry would improve the system of Sylvester by refining the displayed information (see Berry [0068]) and eliminating irrelevant or private information (see Berry [0078]). Berry’s privileges would ensure that each of Sylvester’s different users (see Sylvester [0010], [0041-0042]) sees only data that they are authorized to view, thereby providing improved information security, refining the display (see Berry [0068]), and increasing the flexibility and usefulness of the system.
Regarding claim 15, Sylvester in view of berry teaches all the limitations of claim 14, further comprising:
receiving, based on user input, a request to display a respective field in the data structure; and displaying the respective field and its associated value (Sylvester Figs. 1-10; [0010], pilot, dispatcher, or other user; [0041], a pilot, dispatcher, or other user may find that the total time in route or fuel consumption for a flight plan is different than what is actually observed; [0042], the current methods and applications for flight planning make it difficult for a pilot or user to determine the root cause of difference in values in a flight plan; [0046], The different advantageous embodiments include an ability to present information about how selected values are derived. Further, the different advantageous embodiments also allow a user to change these values in a manner that the changes to other values derived from the changed values are updated automatically without having to recalculate the entire flight plan; [0055], The user may change specific values based on the user's knowledge of actual conditions to see how these values affect the upper level flight plan data derived from the changed values; [0058], the flight plan information presented in display 400 is presented using a tree hierarchy or structure. In other words, a user may select fuel remaining 402 to see additional related information in nodes that are located in the level below fuel remaining 402. In particular, a user may select fuel remaining 402 to display second level flight plan data. Further, the flight plan displayed on display 400 includes additional information not shown in this example. Only fuel remaining 402 is shown for purposes of illustrating the different features in the advantageous embodiments. Other values and explanations are not shown to avoid obscuring the explanation of these features; [0059], Turning now to FIG. 5, a diagram illustrating first level flight plan data and second level flight plan data is depicted in accordance with an advantageous embodiment. In this example, the user has selected fuel remaining 402. By selecting this node, additional related nodes in the tree are presented in display 500. These related nodes are for values used to derive fuel remaining 402. The flight planning process identifies second level flight plan data used to generate the first level flight plan data in fuel remaining 402. The second level flight plan data is displayed as initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506; [0060], initial fuel 502, takeoff fuel 504, and leg fuel 506 are nodes that branch off of fuel remaining 402. As can be seen with this second level flight plan data, each of these components is displayed with a value. Initial fuel 502 is displayed in association with value 508, takeoff fuel 504 is displayed in association with value 510, and leg fuel 506 is displayed in association with value 512; [0061], The manner in which these values are derived are illustrated in sections 514 and 518. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 are derived from additional flight plan data as shown in section 514, 516, and 518. Takeoff fuel 504 is derived from the aircraft setup as shown in section 516. Initial fuel 502 and leg fuel 506 include explanations as to how these values were derived in sections 514 and 518. For example, initial fuel 502 has value 508 that is generated by subtracting taxi fuel from the ramp fuel in section 514. Leg fuel 506 has value 512, which is derived by subtracting fuel burn rate from estimated time en route (ETE))
Berry further teaches:
receiving, based on user input, a request to display a respective field in the data structure; determining, based on the user access policies, that the user is permitted to view the respective field; and displaying the respective field and its associated value (Berry Figs. 1-5; [0055], FIG. 3 illustrates an example of an interface 216a generated by the interface module 215 of the automatic property information accumulation application 110. The user interface 216a may be referred to as a `Characteristic Display` interface that presents property information relative to a subject property through a set of twenty selectable fields 301-320, each selectable field corresponding to one of the sub-stacks curated by the stacking and selection module 218 and presenting a corresponding collapsed result to that sub-stack; [0057], the selectable fields 301-320 may be a mechanism for receiving input (e.g., user selection or identification of a field) that triggers additional operations by the application 110, such as causing the interface module 215 to generate a sub-interface. A sub-interface presents instances of the underlying property information or values of the sub-stack corresponding to the identified field on a per record basis, where each instance is further selectable through the sub-interface. For example, in response to an input identifying `GLA` 304, the interface module 215 may generate a sub-interface 330 that includes eleven instances of property information accumulated from eleven records. Each instance of property information is selectable, and upon selection may cause the application 110 to generate the Record Display interface; [0058], FIG. 4 illustrates an example of an interface 216b generated by the interface module 215 of the automatic property information accumulation application 110. This interface 216b may be generated by the interface module 215 in response to the selection of an instance of property information from the set of instances of the sub-interface 330; [0068], The stacking and selection module 218 may also evaluate and/or refine property information for presentation by providing evaluation filtering based on privileges to view property information, such as according to user credentials filter records. Certain users may view all records in the comprehensive data stack, while other users may only view tax record property information and/or records based upon a set of appraisals filtered by their user identification number; [0069], privileges may be implemented via privacy filters that hide particular data. Privacy filters may be related to who has a right to the view property information, e.g., when a first party does not have access to a second party's information (such as sharing a first bank's information with a second bank). As illustrated in FIG. 3, the interface module 215 may generate a sub-interface 330 that includes eleven instances of property information accumulated from eleven records. However, while five of these instances are hidden as a `Private Record` because the current user does not have the right to view those instances, the collapsed value may still be calculated from each of the eleven instances. Another mechanism for implementing a privacy filter may be when a portion of the property information of the instance is viewable (e.g., the property information is presented while the bank name is hidden); [0075], Tax records 223, MLS documents 225, and electronic appraisals 222 are different record types that digitally relate to real properties. For example, electronic appraisals 227 may that represent the uniform residential appraisal report form and include multiple sections with multiple data fields, each of which may memorialize characteristics that contribute to the valuation of the subject property. Tax records 223, MLS documents 225, and electronic appraisals 222 may also include user data, which may be held by the application 110. User data may include identification information of the individual creating the records 221-229, inputting property information, etc. The user data may also be stored and based on privileges (e.g., licenses, security right, etc.) enable different users to access and review the information that is associated with the user data; [0078], property information of each group may be filtered 530 based on privilege settings, e.g., to eliminate irrelevant and/or to hide private property information)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated receiving, based on user input, a request to display a respective field in the data structure; determining, based on the user access policies, that the user is permitted to view the respective field; and displaying the respective field and its associated value. as suggested in Berry into Sylvester. Doing so would be desirable because there are issues with prior art systems (see Berry [0001-0002]) and it would be desirable to provide comprehensive display of information (see Berry [0003]). The systems of Croft and Sylvester are directed toward displaying data in a hierarchal form (see Berry [0004], [0034], see Sylvester [0002], [0058]). The privileges of Berry would improve the system of Sylvester by refining the displayed information (see Berry [0068]) and eliminating irrelevant or private information (see Berry [0078]). Berry’s privileges would ensure that each of Sylvester’s different users (see Sylvester [0010], [0041-0042]) sees only data that they are authorized to view, thereby providing improved information security, refining the display (see Berry [0068]), and increasing the flexibility and usefulness of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Brocato (US 10860163 B1) see Figs. 1-12 and col. 19 [line 28], – col. 22 [line 64].
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143