DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Species C, and Species F in the reply filed on 25 September 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3, 9, and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, “the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper.” Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
4. The references listed in the specification but not in an information disclosure statement are:
a. U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/381,097 ([0081]);
b. U.S. Patent Application No. 18/449,589 ([0163]);
c. U.S. Patent No. 5,975,893 ([0218]);
d. U.S. Patent No. 10,537,406 ([0238]);
e. U.S. Application No. 17/249,218 ([0239]);
f. U.S. Application No. 16/366,686 ([0239]);
g. U.S. Application No. 15/674,662 ([0239]);
h. U.S. Application No. 14/963,527 ([0239]);
i. U.S. Application No. 14/939,246 ([0239]);
j. U.S. Application No. 14/939,252 ([0239]);
k. U.S. Application No. 16/380,801 ([0240]);
l. U.S. Application No. 16/022,552 ([0240]);
m. U.S. Application No. 15/831,159 ([0240]);
n. U.S. Patent No. 10,993,783 ([0240]); and
o. U.S. Patent No. 7,192,273 ([0240]).
Drawings
5. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 500a ([0133]).
6. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 500 (Figure 5A) and 1104 (Figure 11).
Specification
8. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. In [0048], “the second energy source can be scanned through a second scanning region” should be replaced with “the second energy beam can be scanned through a second scanning region”.
b. In [0083], “the energy from the energy sources 108a” should be replaced with “the energy from the energy sources 108”. Please note the change from “108a” to “108”.
c. In [0136], “overlap regions 524b, 524c” should be replaced with “overlap regions 524b, 524d” (Figure 5A). Please note the change from “524c” to “524d”.
d. In [0151], “other portions of the reservoir 804b” should be replaced with “other portions of the reservoir 804c” (Figure 8C). Please note the change from “804b” to “804c”.
9. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
10. Claim 1 recites “delivering a combined energy dosage to the one or more object locations with the first and second energy beams that is greater than or equal to a threshold dosage for solidifying the curable material”, and claim 10 recites that “a combined energy dosage delivered to the one or more other locations with the first and second energy beams is less than the threshold dosage for solidifying the curable material”.
11. The claims do not specify how the energy delivered by the first and second energy beams combines at a location, and they do not limit the curable material to one whose solidification depends only on the total energy received. The specification describes the threshold dosage in terms of solidification: an energy dosage greater than or equal to the threshold dosage cures the curable material past its gel point, so that it becomes solid at that location, while a lower dosage leaves it liquid ([0116]). The specification also contemplates energy sources that output different wavelengths ([0103]), and the use of two different wavelengths of light and photoinitiator systems, as in xolography, to induce polymerization where light beams of different wavelengths intersect ([0129]).
12. Accordingly, “a threshold dosage for solidifying the curable material” is being interpreted as a level of irradiation sufficient to solidify the curable material at a location. A combined energy dosage that is greater than or equal to the threshold dosage is one in which the irradiation delivered to a location by the first and second energy beams together is sufficient to solidify the curable material there. A combined energy dosage that is less than the threshold dosage is one in which it is not. Under this interpretation, the limitation is met both where the energies of the two beams are additive and where solidification results from the combined action of two beams of different wavelengths.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-12, 14, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2026/0011969 A1 (“Hall”).
16. Regarding claim 1, Hall discloses the following.
17. A method comprising:
18. Hall, [0058]: “a method of cross-linking the resin so as to fabricate the housing 102 can include the step of sweeping the first and second light beams 118 and 120 so as to move the location of intersection 122 in the resin.”
19. (a) forming a portion of an additively manufactured object within a reservoir of curable material by:
20. Hall, [0047]: “an additive fabrication system 100 is configured to crosslink a viscous polymeric resin 101 so as to solidify the resin 101 such that a plurality of electrical contacts 104 are supported by the resulting … polymeric housing 102 that is defined by the cross-linked resin 101”.
21. Hall, [0051]: “The resin 101 can be provided as a bath of viscous resin 101 that is disposed in a tank 124”.
22. Element mapping: additively manufactured object (housing 102), reservoir of curable material (tank 124 containing the bath of resin 101). The resin crosslinked in each crosslink plane is a portion of the housing 102, which is built up plane by plane ([0061]).
23. scanning a first energy beam of a first energy source through a first scanning region within the reservoir of the curable material,
24. Hall, [0051]: “The first light source 114 produces at least one first light beam 118 and directs the first light beam 118 toward the resin 101.”
25. Hall, [0052]: “The light sources 114 and 116 can be configured as lasers, such that the first and second light beams 118 and 120 are ultraviolet (UV) laser beams.”
26. Hall, [0059]: “The sweeping step can include the step of sweeping the first and second light beams 118 and 120 along respective first and second sweeping directions in first and second sweeping planes that intersect the location of intersection. … In another example, each of the first and second light sources 114 and 116 can be stationary but can have at least one mirror as described below that can angulate so as to cause the respective first and second light beams 118 and 120 to translate and/or pivot.”
27. The first light beam 118 is swept along the first sweeping plane. The part of that plane through which the beam is swept within the resin 101 in the tank 124 is a first scanning region.
28. scanning a second energy beam of a second energy source through a second scanning region within the reservoir of the curable material, wherein the second scanning region overlaps the first scanning region at one or more object locations, and
29. Hall, [0051]: “The second light source 116 produces at least one second light beam 120 and directs the second light beam 120 toward the resin 101.”
30. Hall, [0057]: “the respective lengths of first and second beams converge toward each other from the respective first and second light sources until they intersect at the location of beam intersection 122 in the resin 101.”
31. Hall, [0058]: “the location of beam intersection 122 can be translated or otherwise moved with respect to the resin along a path of beam intersection travel so as to crosslink the resin 101 along the beam intersection path of travel.”
32. The second light beam 120 is swept along the second sweeping plane in the same manner as the first light beam 118 ([0059], quoted above). The two sweeping planes intersect at the location of beam intersection 122 ([0059]). The locations along the path of beam intersection travel at which the resin 101 is crosslinked to form the housing 102 are object locations at which the second scanning region overlaps the first.
33. delivering a combined energy dosage to the one or more object locations with the first and second energy beams that is greater than or equal to a threshold dosage for solidifying the curable material,
34. Hall, [0052]: “In one example, the first light beam 118 has a first energy level that is below the energy level required to cross-link the resin 101. The second light beam 120 also can have a second energy level that is below the energy level required to cross-link the resin 101. However, when the light beams 118 and 120 intersect each other at a location of beam intersection 122, the first and second energy levels combine to produce a combined energy level at the location of beam intersection 122.”
35. Hall, [0052]: the energy levels “can be in a range from approximately 1 mJ/cm² to approximately 2000 mJ/cm² depending on the dwell time in which the resin is exposed”.
36. Hall, [0052]: “The combined energy level is greater than the energy level required to cross-link the resin 101. Thus, the first and second light beams 118 and 120 can cause the resin 101 to crosslink at the location of beam intersection 122.”
37. The energy level required to crosslink the resin 101, and thereby solidify it ([0047]), is a threshold dosage for solidifying the curable material, consistent with the interpretation set forth above.
38. (b) advancing the reservoir of curable material relative to the first and second energy sources; and
39. Hall, [0061]: “If the length of the location of beam intersection 122 is less than the desired dimension of the housing 102 along the first direction D1, the method of fabrication can include the steps of performing as many successive steps of moving the location of beam intersection 122 along the first direction D1 and sweeping the location of beam intersection 122 along the second direction D2 as many times as desired”.
40. Hall, [0061]: “The location of beam intersection can then be moved along a third direction D3 that is perpendicular to each of the first and second directions D1 and D2 so as to define a second crosslink plane, and the location of beam intersection 122 can be swept along the second crosslink plane so as to crosslink the resin 101 in the second crosslink plane.”
41. Hall, [0058]: “the first and second light sources 114 and 116 can be pivoted so as to correspondingly change the trajectory of the first and second light beams 118 and 120 with respect to the resin 101, thereby correspondingly translating the location of beam intersection 122. Alternatively or additionally, the first and second light sources 114 and 116 can be translatable with respect to the resin 101 so as to correspondingly translate the location of beam intersection 122.”
42. Hall, [0059]: “In other examples, it is envisioned that the tank 124 can be movable with respect to the light sources 114 and 116 so as to move the location of beam intersection 122 with respect to the resin 101.”
43. Hall does not expressly disclose moving the location of beam intersection 122 along the first direction D1 between successive sweeps, or to a successive crosslink plane, by moving the tank 124 relative to the light sources 114 and 116. Hall therefore does not expressly disclose advancing the reservoir of curable material relative to the first and second energy sources.
44. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have moved the location of beam intersection 122 of Hall along the first direction D1 between successive sweeps, and along the third direction D3 from one crosslink plane to the next, by moving the tank 124 relative to the light sources 114 and 116, while continuing to sweep the first and second light beams 118 and 120 within each crosslink plane. Hall identifies moving the tank 124 relative to the light sources as one way of moving the location of beam intersection 122 with respect to the resin 101, alongside pivoting and translating the light sources themselves ([0058]-[0059]), and contemplates using these means alternatively or in addition to one another ([0058]). Substituting one of Hall’s disclosed means of moving the location of beam intersection for another, for the same purpose, would have produced the predictable result of positioning the location of beam intersection 122 at the next position along the first direction D1 or in the successive crosslink plane, since the relative displacement between the resin 101 and the location of beam intersection 122 is the same whichever is moved. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
45. Hall as modified in this manner is referred to below as “modified Hall”.
46. (c) repeating the processes of (a) and (b) to fabricate the additively manufactured object.
47. Hall, [0061]: “The method can next include the successive steps of sweeping the location of [beam] intersection 122 in the crosslink plane so as to crosslink the resin 101 in the crosslink plane, and moving the location of beam intersection 122 in the third direction D3 to a further successive crosslink plane. Sweeping the location of beam intersection in successive crosslink planes can build the housing 102 to a desired height along the third direction D3.”
48. In modified Hall, the location of beam intersection 122 is moved along the first direction D1 between successive sweeps, and to each successive crosslink plane, by advancing the tank 124, as set forth above. The successive steps therefore repeat processes (a) and (b) to fabricate the housing 102.
49. Regarding claim 2, modified Hall discloses the following.
50. wherein the first and second energy beams are simultaneously scanned through at least one of the one or more object locations.
51. Hall, [0052]: “when the light beams 118 and 120 intersect each other at a location of beam intersection 122, the first and second energy levels combine to produce a combined energy level at the location of beam intersection 122.”
52. Hall, [0058]: “a method of cross-linking the resin so as to fabricate the housing 102 can include the step of sweeping the first and second light beams 118 and 120 so as to move the location of intersection 122 in the resin.”
53. The first and second light beams 118 and 120 are swept together so that their location of intersection 122 moves through the object locations. Both beams are therefore present at each object location at the same time as they pass through it.
54. Regarding claim 4, modified Hall discloses the following.
55. controlling an activation pattern of the first energy source while scanning the first energy beam through the first scanning region, and
56. Hall, [0064]: “some of the pixels of the DMD 240 can be on the ON state to allow the light beams 228 to reflect from those pixels and project from the light source 113. Other pixels of the DMD can be in the OFF state which prevents the light beams 228 from reflecting from those pixels. As a result, the corresponding output light beams 228 be patterned as desired. In particular, the output light beams 228 can define regions of light 126 and regions of light absence 128.”
57. Hall, [0064]: “each fabrication station 105 (see FIG. 2A) can control regions where the resin 101 crosslinks by modulating the corresponding light sources to define desired regions of light and desired regions of light absence.”
58. Hall, [0065]: “the first light beam 118 can be segmented so as to define a first segmented light beam 132 that is defined by a corresponding plurality of first light regions 126 that are aligned with each other along the first width, and first regions of light absence 128 disposed between the first light regions 126 along the first width direction.”
59. Hall, [0067]: the other locations “define one or more voids or openings in the resulting housing 102 during successive sweeps of the location of beam intersection 122.”
60. The ON and OFF states of the DMD pixels of the first light source 114, which determine where the source emits light and where it does not, are an activation pattern of the first light source 114. The pattern is controlled by modulating the light source while the first light beam 118 is swept.
61. controlling an activation pattern of the second energy source while scanning the second energy beam through the second scanning region.
62. Hall, [0065]: “the second light beam 120 can be segmented so as to define a second segmented light beam 134 is defined by a corresponding plurality of second light regions 136 that are aligned with each other along the second width, and second regions of light absence 138 disposed between the second light regions 136 along the second width direction.”
63. The activation pattern of the second light source 116 is controlled in the same manner as that of the first light source 114, as set forth above.
64. Regarding claim 5, modified Hall discloses the following.
65. wherein the activation patterns of the first and second energy sources are configured to cause the curable material to be selectively solidified at the one or more object locations.
66. Hall, [0067]: “when the first and second segmented light beams 132 and 134 are segmented and directed into the resin 101 (see FIG. 2A), the resin will be crosslinked only at locations where the first and second segmented light regions 126 and 136 intersect at the segmented elongate lines 130. In this manner, the resin 101 can be crosslinked at desired locations without being crosslinked at other locations where first and second segmented light regions do not intersect (i.e., at the intersected regions of light absence 139).”
67. Regarding claim 6, modified Hall discloses the following.
68. controlling an energy intensity of the first energy source while scanning the first energy beam through the first scanning region, and
69. Hall, [0052]: “the first light beam 118 has a first energy level that is below the energy level required to cross-link the resin 101.”
70. Hall, [0064]: “each fabrication station 105 (see FIG. 2A) can control regions where the resin 101 crosslinks by modulating the corresponding light sources to define desired regions of light and desired regions of light absence.”
71. Modulating the first light source 114 between regions of light 126 and regions of light absence 128 controls the energy intensity of the first light source 114 across the first light beam 118 while it is swept, as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
72. controlling an energy intensity of the second energy source while scanning the second energy beam through the second scanning region.
73. Hall, [0052]: “The second light beam 120 also can have a second energy level that is below the energy level required to cross-link the resin 101.”
74. The energy intensity of the second light source 116 is controlled in the same manner as that of the first light source 114, as set forth above.
75. Regarding claim 7, modified Hall discloses the following.
76. wherein the energy intensities of the first and second energy sources are configured to cause the curable material to be selectively solidified at the one or more object locations.
77. Please see the rejection of claim 5 above. The regions of light 126 and 136 and regions of light absence 128 and 138 that define where the resin 101 crosslinks are produced by the controlled energy intensities set forth in the rejection of claim 6.
78. Regarding claim 8, modified Hall discloses the following.
79. wherein the curable material is not solidified at one or more other locations different from the one or more object locations.
80. Hall, [0067]: “the resin 101 can be crosslinked at desired locations without being crosslinked at other locations where first and second segmented light regions do not intersect (i.e., at the intersected regions of light absence 139).”
81. Regarding claim 10, modified Hall discloses the following.
82. wherein the second scanning region overlaps the first scanning region at the one or more other locations, and wherein a combined energy dosage delivered to the one or more other locations with the first and second energy beams is less than the threshold dosage for solidifying the curable material.
83. Hall, [0066]: the location of beam intersection 122 includes “intersected regions of light absence 139 at locations along the location of beam intersection 122 between the segmented lines of light 130 where at least one or both of the first and second regions of light absence 128 and 138 occur.”
84. Hall, [0064]: “at least one or neither of the first and second light beams 118 and 120 applies energy at the segmented locations of intersection 122, and insufficient energy therefore exists at the segmented locations of intersection 122 to cause the resin 101 to cross-link.”
85. The intersected regions of light absence 139 lie along the location of beam intersection 122, where the second scanning region overlaps the first. The energy delivered there by the first and second light beams 118 and 120 together is insufficient to crosslink the resin 101, and is therefore less than the threshold dosage.
86. Regarding claim 11, modified Hall discloses the following.
87. scanning the first energy beam of the first energy source comprises directing the first energy beam onto a first rotating optical element, and
88. Hall, [0059]: “each of the first and second light sources 114 and 116 can be stationary but can have at least one mirror as described below that can angulate so as to cause the respective first and second light beams 118 and 120 to translate and/or pivot.”
89. The mirror of the first light source 114 rotates through an angle to sweep the first light beam 118, and is therefore a first rotating optical element.
90. scanning the second energy beam of the second energy source comprises directing the second energy beam onto a second rotating optical element.
91. The second light source 116 likewise has its own mirror that angulates to sweep the second light beam 120 ([0059], quoted above), which is a second rotating optical element.
92. Regarding claim 12, modified Hall discloses the following.
93. wherein the first and second scanning regions lie within the same plane.
94. Hall, [0056]: “in one example, in a single common plane, the light beams 118 and 120 can be oriented such that in the plane the second thickness is greater than the first thickness.”
95. The first and second light sources 114 and 116 are side by side, and the first and second light beams 118 and 120 lie in the plane of the figure and are swept within it toward the location of beam intersection 122, which extends along D1. Figures 3B-3D.
96. The first and second sweeping planes are therefore the same plane, and the first and second scanning regions lie within it.
97. Regarding claim 14, modified Hall discloses the following.
98. wherein one or more of the first or second scanning regions lie within a plane orthogonal to a movement direction of the reservoir.
99. Hall, [0061]: “The location of beam intersection 122 can be elongate along a first direction D1, and the location of beam intersection 122 can be movable along the resin 101 along a second direction D2 that is angularly offset, such as perpendicular, to the first direction D1.”
100. The location of beam intersection 122 extends along D1, perpendicular to the plane in which the first and second light beams 118 and 120 are swept. Figures 3B-3D. In modified Hall, the tank 124 is advanced along D1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1. The first and second scanning regions therefore lie within a plane orthogonal to a movement direction of the tank 124.
101. Regarding claim 15, modified Hall discloses the following.
102. wherein the first and second energy sources are arranged in an array orthogonal to a movement direction of the reservoir.
103. The first and second light sources 114 and 116 are arranged side by side along D2. Figures 3B-3D. D2 is perpendicular to D1, and D3 is perpendicular to both D1 and D2 ([0061]). In modified Hall, the tank 124 is advanced along D1 and D3, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, so the first and second light sources 114 and 116 are arranged in an array orthogonal to a movement direction of the tank 124.
104. Regarding claim 17, modified Hall discloses the following.
105. wherein the reservoir comprises an upper opening, and the first and second energy beams are directed through the upper opening of the reservoir to reach the curable material.
106. Hall, [0051]: “The resin 101 can be provided as a bath of viscous resin 101 that is disposed in a tank 124 that has an open or optically transparent end. The first and second beams 118 and 120 can extend through the open end or the optically transparent end.”
107. Hall, [0080]: “The tank 124 can have an open end 148 that is open to the first and second light beams 118 and 120 of the first initial fabrication station 106a.”
108. The first initial fabrication station 106a is above the tank 124, so the open end 148 is an upper opening. Figures 4A-4B.
109. Regarding claim 19, modified Hall discloses the following.
110. wherein the curable material comprises a resin including one or more polymerizable components.
111. Hall, [0047]: “an additive fabrication system 100 is configured to crosslink a viscous polymeric resin 101 so as to solidify the resin 101”.
112. Hall, [0052]: “the resin 101 can be any suitable UV transparent polymer resin.”
113. The resin 101 solidifies by crosslinking on exposure to UV light, so it includes components that polymerize to form the crosslinked housing 102.
114. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2022/0194005 A1 (“Sistach”).
115. Regarding claim 16, modified Hall discloses the following.
116. scanning a third energy beam of a third energy source through a third scanning region within the reservoir of the curable material, wherein the third scanning region overlaps the first and second scanning regions at the one or more object locations, and
117. Modified Hall does not disclose scanning a third energy beam of a third energy source through a third scanning region within the reservoir of the curable material, wherein the third scanning region overlaps the first and second scanning regions at the one or more object locations.
118. Sistach is directed to manufacturing parts by local irradiation of a material, including by photopolymerization of a resin-type material, using converging beams. Sistach, [0001]: “The present invention relates to the field of manufacturing parts by selective melting or selective sintering of a material in the form of powder or by photopolymerising a resin-type material in the form of powder or with a paste-like consistency.”
119. Sistach, [0015]: “the energy deposited in the target volume by each beam is less than a threshold energy, and the sum of energies introduced into the target volume by each of the beams is greater than or equal to a transformation threshold energy”.
120. Sistach, [0045]: “three beams of the same type are used for locally melting, sintering or photopolymerising a previously screened and compacted powder. The material could also be a resin with a paste-like consistency, which has possibly been previously compacted. By using three beams, there is an ideal precision on the area where one wishes to melt, sinter or photopolymerise the powder, since as in the case of a satellite triangulation, a precise point in space can be described from the three straight lines.”
121. Sistach, [0046]: “the three beams are directed simultaneously towards the powder so as to be converging and concentred on the same point, and more precisely on the same target volume of the powder. If three sources are available, they are of course placed at sufficient distances from one another to ensure that the desired area is processed with precision. These three beams are then moved to be concentrated on a different target volume of the powder and so on until the part is complete.”
122. Sistach, [0047]: “each of the three beams is configured so that the energy introduced into the target volume is equal to 1/3 of the energy necessary for melting the particles of the corresponding target volume. Thus, the melting of the particles only takes place in case of the simultaneous concentration of the three beams in the target volume, thus avoiding any undesired melting (or sintering) in case of a bad placement of the beams.”
123. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided modified Hall with a third light source whose third light beam is swept to converge with the first and second light beams 118 and 120 at the location of beam intersection 122, with the energy of each beam set so that the three beams together exceed the energy required to crosslink the resin 101. Sistach teaches that three converging beams of the same type, each delivering only a fraction of the energy needed to transform the material, define the location being processed with “ideal precision” ([0045]) and avoid undesired transformation if a beam is misplaced ([0047]). Modified Hall already crosslinks the resin 101 with converging beams whose individual energies are insufficient and whose combined energy is sufficient ([0052]). Adding a third such beam applies the technique Sistach used to improve its converging-beam method to the similar method of modified Hall, in the same way, with predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(C).
124. delivering a combined energy dosage to the one or more object locations with the first, second, and third energy beams that is greater than or equal to the threshold dosage for solidifying the curable material.
125. In modified Hall, the first, second, and third light beams together deliver an energy that exceeds the energy required to crosslink the resin 101 at the location of beam intersection 122, as set forth above. Sistach, [0015] and [0047], quoted above.
126. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2024/0316865 A1 (“Twietmeyer”).
127. Regarding claim 18, modified Hall discloses the following.
128. wherein the reservoir comprises or is coupled to one or more reflective elements that are configured to deflect at least one of the first or second energy beams.
129. Modified Hall does not disclose that the tank 124 comprises or is coupled to one or more reflective elements that are configured to deflect at least one of the first or second light beams 118 and 120.
130. Twietmeyer is directed to light sheet methods and apparatuses for forming an object in a volume of a photohardenable composition. Twietmeyer, [0169]: “the arrangement includes a light sheet generating system 31 for generating and/or directing a light sheet including first wavelength light through a workspace 34 configured to include a volume of a composition 35 (e.g., a photohardenable composition in a method or apparatus for forming an object) and reflection optics 36 positioned and configured to reflect the generated light sheet exiting the volume of the composition included the workspace back through the volume to form a combined light sheet 33.”
131. Twietmeyer, [0177]: “The reflection optics include a reflective optical element 36 including a reflecting surface 37, such as a mirror”.
132. Twietmeyer, [0175]: “The generated light sheet passing through and exiting the volume of the composition is reflected by reflection optics 36 and re-enters the container in the opposite direction and passes back through the volume, preferably along or substantially along the light sheet illumination axis and in such a way that the reflected light sheet rays retrace or substantially retrace the path of the generated light sheet rays. Reflection of the generated light sheet exiting the volume back through the volume can compensate for at least a portion of absorption of the generated light sheet by the volume of the photohardenable composition or other composition such that the combination of the generated light sheet and reflected light sheet can improve (e.g., increase) uniformity of light sheet intensity in the volume.”
133. Twietmeyer, [0178]: “if the light sheet is incident at a nonzero angle of incidence to the volume of the composition in the workspace, it may be desirable or preferred to include a reflective optical element including a curved reflecting surface or a reflective optical element including a planar reflective surface together with additional optical elements for preferably directing the reflected light sheet along a path through the volume that is the same or substantially the same as that of the generated light sheet on its initial pass.”
134. The reflective optical element 36 is positioned at and abuts an end of the workspace 34, which contains the composition 35. Figure 3. The workspace can be a container ([0171]).
135. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coupled to the tank 124 of modified Hall a reflective element, such as the reflective optical element 36 of Twietmeyer at an end of the tank, positioned to reflect at least one of the first and second light beams 118 and 120 exiting the resin 101 back through the resin 101 along the path of the incident beam. Twietmeyer teaches that reflecting a light beam back through an absorbing photohardenable composition in this way compensates for absorption of the beam and improves the uniformity of its intensity in the volume ([0175]), including for beams incident at a nonzero angle ([0178]). In modified Hall, the first and second light beams 118 and 120 each have an energy below that needed to crosslink the resin 101, and the resin crosslinks only where their combined energy exceeds that level ([0052]), so a more uniform beam intensity through the resin 101 would have been expected to make that combined energy more consistent at locations of beam intersection 122 at different positions in the tank 124. Because the reflected beam retraces the path of the incident beam ([0175], [0178]), it adds to the intensity along that path without forming new locations of intersection. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
136. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2023/0021953 A1 (“Choudhary”) (cited in an IDS).
137. Regarding claim 20, modified Hall discloses the following.
138. wherein the additively manufactured object comprises a dental appliance.
139. Modified Hall does not disclose that the additively manufactured object comprises a dental appliance. The object of Hall is the housing 102 of an electrical component ([0047]).
140. Choudhary is directed to photo-curable resins and their use in additively manufacturing orthodontic appliances, including by vat processes in which light cures a reservoir of curable resin. Choudhary, [0254]: “the methods disclosed herein include the use of additive manufacturing to produce a device comprising the cured polymeric material. Such device can be an orthodontic appliance. The orthodontic appliance can be a dental aligner, a dental expander or a dental spacer.”
141. Choudhary, [0254]: “Cured polymeric materials may also be fabricated by ‘vat’ processes in which light is used to selectively cure a vat or reservoir of the curable resin. Each layer of curable resin may be selectively exposed to light in a single exposure or by scanning a beam of light across the layer.”
142. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the method of modified Hall to fabricate a dental appliance, such as the dental aligner of Choudhary. Choudhary teaches that dental appliances are produced by additive manufacturing, including vat processes in which light selectively cures a reservoir of curable resin, with the light applied by scanning a beam ([0254]). The method of modified Hall is such a process: it crosslinks a bath of resin in a tank by sweeping light beams through it ([0051]-[0052], [0058]). Using a known additive manufacturing method to make a product known to be made by additive manufacturing of the same kind, with each performing the same function as it does separately, would have yielded the predictable result of a dental appliance formed of cured resin. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
143. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
144. US 2018/0250890 A1 (“Claussen”) discloses a volumetric printing method. First and second energy beams, such as laser beams, are steered to intersect in a build volume containing a liquid, resin, or powdered material. Each beam alone is insufficient to fabricate the object and the beams together are sufficient, and the intersecting point is rastered to form voxels (Figure 4; [0005], [0033]-[0034], [0043], [0045]).
145. US 2019/0016052 A1 (“Clark”) discloses two or three lasers positioned above a vat of photopolymer resin. Each is of insufficient power to cure the resin, and they converge so that their combined power cures the resin at the convergence point, with the lasers drawing vector paths through the resin (Figure 1; [0040], [0064]-[0066], [0122]).
146. DE 10 2005 003 218 A1 (“Greiner”) discloses a stereolithography method in which two beams intersect within the material and solidify it at the intersection, each being insufficient on its own to do so. Both beams are directed through the open top of the container and guided by scanner mirrors ([0010]-[0012], [0025]).
147. US 2015/0202805 A1 (“Saruhashi”) discloses forming a cured resin layer where a sheet light intersects a first light beam projected from above into an open-top tank of photocurable resin. The irradiation energy density of each is below the critical energy density at the gel point of the resin and their sum is above it, and the sheet light is moved and the process repeated to build the object ([0012], [0014], [0035]).
148. WO 2020/172899 A1 (“Kuang”) discloses curing a photocurable resin within a resin tank using several laser beams of the same wavelength. The beams form a light reference plane, and a cross-sectional projection of the same wavelength is directed into the tank from above by a reflector mounted on the device frame. The intensity of each beam is below that required for curing and their combined intensity is above it, and the light reference plane is raised by a lifting system (Figures 2 and 13; [0007]-[0009], [0019]).
149. US 2024/0198583 A1 (“Arndt”) discloses volumetric printing in a container that can be open at the top. A light sheet formed by a galvanometer or polygon scanning mirror intersects a second light projection in a printing zone. The container can be translated relative to the optical printing system, and a conveyor transports printed objects through the container ([0006], [0063], [0086], [0098]).
150. Citations to Greiner and Kuang are to the English translations made of record.
/John J. DeRusso/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744