DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 11/18/2024.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims(s) 1-13 is/are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 11/15/2024 and 11/15/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 8/30/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11350359. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As to claim 1:
U.S. Application 18821727
U.S. Patent No. 11350359
A data transmission method comprising:
sending, by an access point, signaling for indicating a channel set available to a station,
wherein the available channel set is used for the station to receive and transmit data only on the available channel set; and
sending, by the access point, (i) a trigger frame for triggering the station to send data using an operating channel that is a subset of the available channel set, or
(ii) a physical layer
protocol data unit (PPDU) by using the operating channel.
An access point comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores program code, and the processor invokes the program code stored in the memory to execute the following operations:
sending signaling for indicating a first channel set available to a first station,
wherein the first channel set is used for the first station to receive and transmit data only on the first channel set, and
wherein a total bandwidth of the first channel set is less than a bandwidth of channels of the access point available to the first station; and
sending at the same time (i) a trigger frame to each of the first station and a second station for triggering the first and second stations to send data using first and second operating channels, respectively, or
(ii) first and second physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) by using the first and second operating channels, respectively,
wherein the first operating channel is among the first channel set and the second operating channel is among a second available channel set, wherein the first and second operating channels do not overlap, and wherein the second channel set includes the channels available to the first station that are not part of the first channel set. (claim 1)
As to claim 2:
U.S. Application 18821727
U.S. Patent No. 11350359
The method according to claim 1, wherein the available channel set does not
include a primary channel.
The access point according to claim 1, wherein the second available channel set does not include a primary channel. (claim 2)
As to claim 3:
U.S. Application 18821727
U.S. Patent No. 11350359
The method according to claim 1,
wherein a bandwidth of the available channel set is less than a bandwidth of an available channel of the access point.
An access point comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores program code, and the processor invokes the program code stored in the memory to execute the following operations:
sending signaling for indicating a first channel set available to a first station,
wherein the first channel set is used for the first station to receive and transmit data only on the first channel set, and
wherein a total bandwidth of the first channel set is less than a bandwidth of channels of the access point available to the first station; and
sending at the same time (i) a trigger frame to each of the first station and a second station for triggering the first and second stations to send data using first and second operating channels, respectively, or
(ii) first and second physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) by using the first and second operating channels, respectively,
wherein the first operating channel is among the first channel set and the second operating channel is among a second available channel set, wherein the first and second operating channels do not overlap, and wherein the second channel set includes the channels available to the first station that are not part of the first channel set. (claim 1)
As to claim 4:
U.S. Application 18821727
U.S. Patent No. 11350359
The method according to claim 1,
wherein the station and the operating channel are a first station and a first operating channel, respectively, wherein the trigger frame also triggers a second station to send data using a second operating channel, and wherein the first and second operating channels do not overlap.
An access point comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores program code, and the processor invokes the program code stored in the memory to execute the following operations:
sending signaling for indicating a first channel set available to a first station,
wherein the first channel set is used for the first station to receive and transmit data only on the first channel set, and
wherein a total bandwidth of the first channel set is less than a bandwidth of channels of the access point available to the first station; and
sending at the same time (i) a trigger frame to each of the first station and a second station for triggering the first and second stations to send data using first and second operating channels, respectively, or
(ii) first and second physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) by using the first and second operating channels, respectively,
wherein the first operating channel is among the first channel set and the second operating channel is among a second available channel set, wherein the first and second operating channels do not overlap, and wherein the second channel set includes the channels available to the first station that are not part of the first channel set. (claim 1)
As to claim 5:
U.S. Application 18821727
U.S. Patent No. 11350359
A non-transitory, computer readable medium storing a program code that, when executed by a computer, executes instructions that provide the following operations:
sending, by an access point, signaling for indicating a channel set available to a station,
wherein the available channel set is used for the station to receive and transmit
data only on the available channel set; and
sending, by the access point, (i) a trigger frame for triggering the station to send data using an operating channel that is a subset of the available channel set, or
(ii) a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) by using the operating channel.
An access point comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores program code, and the processor invokes the program code stored in the memory to execute the following operations:
sending signaling for indicating a first channel set available to a first station,
wherein the first channel set is used for the first station to receive and transmit data only on the first channel set, and
wherein a total bandwidth of the first channel set is less than a bandwidth of channels of the access point available to the first station; and
sending at the same time (i) a trigger frame to each of the first station and a second station for triggering the first and second stations to send data using first and second operating channels, respectively, or
(ii) first and second physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) by using the first and second operating channels, respectively,
wherein the first operating channel is among the first channel set and the second operating channel is among a second available channel set, wherein the first and second operating channels do not overlap, and wherein the second channel set includes the channels available to the first station that are not part of the first channel set. (claim 1)
As to claim 6:
U.S. Application 18821727
U.S. Patent No. 11350359
The non-transitory, computer readable medium according to claim 5, wherein
the available channel set does not include a primary channel.
The access point according to claim 1, wherein the second available channel set does not include a primary channel. (claim 2)
As to claim 7:
U.S. Application 18821727
U.S. Patent No. 11350359
The non-transitory, computer readable medium according to claim 5,
wherein a bandwidth of the available channel set is less than a bandwidth of an available channel of the
access point.
An access point comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores program code, and the processor invokes the program code stored in the memory to execute the following operations:
sending signaling for indicating a first channel set available to a first station,
wherein the first channel set is used for the first station to receive and transmit data only on the first channel set, and
wherein a total bandwidth of the first channel set is less than a bandwidth of channels of the access point available to the first station; and
sending at the same time (i) a trigger frame to each of the first station and a second station for triggering the first and second stations to send data using first and second operating channels, respectively, or
(ii) first and second physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) by using the first and second operating channels, respectively,
wherein the first operating channel is among the first channel set and the second operating channel is among a second available channel set, wherein the first and second operating channels do not overlap, and wherein the second channel set includes the channels available to the first station that are not part of the first channel set. (claim 1)
As to claim 8:
U.S. Application 18821727
U.S. Patent No. 11350359
The non-transitory, computer readable medium according to claim 5,
wherein the station and the operating channel are a first station and a first operating channel, respectively, wherein the trigger frame also triggers a second station to send data using a second
operating channel, and wherein the first and second operating channels do not overlap.
An access point comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores program code, and the processor invokes the program code stored in the memory to execute the following operations:
sending signaling for indicating a first channel set available to a first station,
wherein the first channel set is used for the first station to receive and transmit data only on the first channel set, and
wherein a total bandwidth of the first channel set is less than a bandwidth of channels of the access point available to the first station; and
sending at the same time (i) a trigger frame to each of the first station and a second station for triggering the first and second stations to send data using first and second operating channels, respectively, or
(ii) first and second physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) by using the first and second operating channels, respectively,
wherein the first operating channel is among the first channel set and the second operating channel is among a second available channel set, wherein the first and second operating channels do not overlap, and wherein the second channel set includes the channels available to the first station that are not part of the first channel set. (claim 1)
Claim (s) 9, 10 and 12 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11350359 in view of Josiam et al. US 20150373587 (U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #20, listed on IDS dated 2024-11-15).
As to claim 9:
U.S. Application 18821727
U.S. Patent No. 11350359
A non-transitory, computer readable medium storing a program code that, when executed by a computer, executes instructions that provide the following operations:
sending a first frame to an access point (AP), wherein the first frame comprises a first channel set, wherein a total bandwidth of channels in the first channel set is less than an available transmission bandwidth of a system, and
wherein the first channel set comprises an available channel for a first station to perform data transmission with the AP; and
An access point comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores program code, and the processor invokes the program code stored in the memory to execute the following operations:
sending signaling for indicating a first channel set available to a first station,
wherein the first channel set is used for the first station to receive and transmit data only on the first channel set, and
wherein a total bandwidth of the first channel set is less than a bandwidth of channels of the access point available to the first station; and
sending at the same time (i) a trigger frame to each of the first station and a second station for triggering the first and second stations to send data using first and second operating channels, respectively, or
(ii) first and second physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) by using the first and second operating channels, respectively,
wherein the first operating channel is among the first channel set and the second operating channel is among a second available channel set, wherein the first and second operating channels do not overlap, and wherein the second channel set includes the channels available to the first station that are not part of the first channel set. (claim 1)
U.S. Patent No. 11350359 as described above does not explicitly teach:
receiving a second frame, wherein the second frame is a response to the first frame.
However, Josiam et al. further teaches a CTS capability which includes:
receiving a second frame, wherein the second frame is a response to the first frame.
(see CTS FIG. 10)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CTS capability of Josiam et al. into U.S. Patent No. 11350359. By modifying the processing/communications of U.S. Patent No. 11350359 to include the CTS capability as taught by the processing/communications of Josiam et al., the benefits of improved bandwidth efficiency (Josaim et al.; 0004) are achieved.
As to claim 10:
U.S. Patent No. 11350359 as described above does not explicitly teach:
The non-transitory, computer readable medium according to claim 9, wherein the second frame comprises a second channel set comprising an available channel indicated by the AP to perform data transmission with the first STA, and wherein a total bandwidth of channels in the second channel set is less than the available transmission bandwidth of the system.
However, Josiam et al. further teaches a CTS capability which includes:
The non-transitory, computer readable medium according to claim 9, wherein the second frame comprises a second channel set comprising an available channel indicated by the AP to perform data transmission with the first STA, and wherein a total bandwidth of channels in the second channel set is less than the available transmission bandwidth of the system.
(see CTS FIG. 10 and FIG. 12)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CTS capability of Josiam et al. into U.S. Patent No. 11350359. By modifying the processing/communications of U.S. Patent No. 11350359 to include the CTS capability as taught by the processing/communications of Josiam et al., the benefits of improved bandwidth efficiency (Josaim et al.; 0004) are achieved.
As to claim 12:
U.S. Application 18821727
U.S. Patent No. 11350359
The non-transitory, computer readable medium according to claim 9, wherein
the operations further comprise:
receiving a first trigger frame sent by the AP, wherein the first trigger frame indicates a first operating channel of the first station, and wherein the first operating channel is among the first channel set; and
sending data using the first operating channel.
An access point comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores program code, and the processor invokes the program code stored in the memory to execute the following operations:
sending signaling for indicating a first channel set available to a first station,
wherein the first channel set is used for the first station to receive and transmit data only on the first channel set, and
wherein a total bandwidth of the first channel set is less than a bandwidth of channels of the access point available to the first station; and
sending at the same time (i) a trigger frame to each of the first station and a second station for triggering the first and second stations to
send data using first and second operating channels, respectively, or
(ii) first and second physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) by using the first and second operating channels, respectively,
wherein the first operating channel is among the first channel set and the second operating channel is among a second available channel set, wherein the first and second operating channels do not overlap, and wherein the second channel set includes the channels available to the first station that are not part of the first channel set. (claim 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Josiam et al. US 20150373587 embodiment #1 (hereinafter “Josiam1”, U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #20, listed on IDS dated 2024-11-15) in view of Josiam et al. US 20150373587 embodiment #2 (hereinafter “Josiam2”, U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #20, listed on IDS dated 2024-11-15).
As to claim 1:
Josiam1 discloses:
A data transmission method comprising:
sending, by an access point, signaling for indicating a channel set available to a station,
(“The modified CTS mechanism 1000 includes a primary channel 1002 having a bandwidth of 20 MHz, a secondary channel 1004 having a bandwidth of 20 MHz, and a secondary-40 channel 1006 having a bandwidth of 40 MHz (the sum of an upper first segment 1008 having a bandwidth of 20 MHz and a lower second segment 1010 having a bandwidth of 20 MHz). The modified CTS mechanism 1000 includes a source station (STA) or source access point (AP) gaining access to the channel and sensing primary and secondary channels free for a duration specified in the protocol. In this embodiment, the source is an AP and the destination is a STA. In alternative embodiments, the source and the destination can each be either an AP or a STA. With the primary channel 1002 and secondary channels 1004, 1006 sensed free, the AP transmits the RTS 1012 unmodified on the primary channel 1002 and secondary channels 1004, 1006 that were sensed free. One bit is used to indicate dynamic or static bandwidth operation and 2 bits are used to indicate the bandwidth itself, thereby accounting for a total of three bits out of the first seven bits of the scrambling sequence. When communicating with non-legacy devices, if the one bit to indicate dynamic or static bandwidth operation is set to dynamic bandwidth, it indicates that the STA can respond with a modified CTS that cannot be read by legacy devices. If a STA receives an RTS with dynamic bandwidth indication, then the STA can respond with a modified CTS and the CTS can use the first seven bits of the scrambling sequence to indicate which portion of the bandwidth signaled in the RTS can be used for data transmission. The number of bits of the scrambling sequence required for indicating choice of bandwidth in increments of 20 MHz depends on the bandwidth being aggregated and is indicated in the RTS.”; Josiam et al.; 0073)
(where
RTS’s associated with “RTS 1012”/FIG. 10 maps to “sending, by an access point, signaling for indicating a channel set available to a station”, where “primary channel 1002”/”secondary channel 1004”/”secondary-40 channel 1006”/”upper setment 1008”/”lower second segment 1010” maps to “channel set available to a station”
wherein the available channel set is used for the station to receive and … data only on the available channel set; and
(“Next, transmission 1016 begins on cleared channels, namely, primary channel 1002, secondary channel 1004, and the lower channel segment 1010 of the secondary-40 channel 1006. When the RTS indicates a 80 MHz channel bandwidth and the receiver responds with a CTS with a three bit bitmap that indicates only 60 MHz of the 80 MHz are available as shown in FIG. 10, in the orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) physical layer (PHY), the OFDM mask is set to 80 MHz bandwidth with 256 subcarriers. In the example shown in FIG. 10, since only 60 MHz of the 80 MHz are indicated in the CTS 1014, 96 subcarriers are left unused including the 64 subcarriers of the upper channel segment 1008 of the secondary 40 channel 1006.”; Josiam et al.; 0078)
(where
“In this embodiment, the source is an AP”/”transmission 1016”/”Data Transmission on only those channels for which CTS is sent”/FIG. 10/FIG. 12 maps to “wherein the available channel set is used for the station to receive and … data only on the available channel set”, where “source is an AP”/”transmission 1016/”Data Transmission” maps to “station to receive… data”
Where FIG. 10 illustrates “receive and…data” being performed only on “primary channel 1002”/”secondary channel 1004”/”lower segment 1010” which is only being performed on channels which are in the available channel set
Where FIG. 12 illustrates “upper segment 1212”/”first segment 1214”/”fourth segment 1220” not having associated “RTS’s” and not performing data transmission 1226 on those setments which further maps to “only on the available channel set”
sending, by the access point, (i) … an operating channel that is a subset of the available channel set, ….
(where
FIG. 10 illustrates “Data Transmission”/”transmission 1016” only being performed on “primary channel 1002”/”secondary channel 1004”/”lower channel segment 1010” and not being performed on “upper segment 1008” maps to “sending, by the access point, (i) … an operating channel that is a subset of the available channel set”
Josaim1 teaches an AP sending RTSs on available channels/channel segments and a STA responding with CTSs on a subset of available channels/channel segments and the AP transmitting data to the STA via the subset of available channels/channel segments.
Josiam1 as described above does not explicitly teach:
(ii) a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) by using the operating channel
However, Josiam2 further teaches a PPDU capability which includes:
(ii) a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) by using the operating channel
(“After a source AP or STA gains channel access using the appropriate sensing rules that govern both primary and secondary channels of a given bandwidth, the source can initiate a transmission by transmitting a clear-to-transmit message where the recipient address is the same as that of the sources transmitted address. This message, called the CTS-2-SELF, is transmitted over the cleared channels using a duplicated OFDM structure (where the duplication is in units of 20 MHz). After transmitting the CTS-2-SELF message, the source can initiate a PPDU transmission over the cleared channels addressed to a single destination in case of a SU-PPDU and multiple destinations in case of a MU-PPDU. The CTS-2-SELF message can use the first seven bits of the scrambling sequence to indicate which portion of the bandwidth signaled is to be used for data transmission.”; Josiam et al.; 0101)
(where
“After transmitting the CTS-2-SELF message, the source can initiate a PPDU transmission over the cleared channels addressed to a single destination in case of a SU-PPDU” maps to “(ii) a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) by using the operating channel”, where “cleared channels” maps to “operating channel”
Josiam2 teaches performing PPDU communication via cleared channels.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PPDU capability of Josiam2 into Josiam1. By modifying the processing/communications of Josiam1 to include the PPDU capability as taught by the processing/communications of Josiam2, the benefits of improved bandwidth efficiency (Josaim1; 0004) with improved CTS messaging (Josiam2; 0101) are achieved.
As to claim 3:
Josiam1 discloses:
wherein a bandwidth of the available channel set is less than a bandwidth of an available channel of the access point.
(“In an alternative embodiment, when an RTS indicates a 160 MHz channel bandwidth, the receiver response with a CTS with a seven bit bitmap to indicate which of the seven 20 MHz channels or channel segments are available for transmission. The same bitmap convention used for 80 MHz RTS for indicated availability for each 20 MHz segment in secondary channel 1004, secondary-40 channel 1006, and secondary-80 channels. Further, CTS is transmitted and replicated only on channels selected for transmission. Accordingly, in the embodiment of FIG. 10, the CTS 1014 transmitted and replicated only on primary channel 1002, secondary channel 1004, and the lower channel segment 1010 of the secondary-40 channel 1006 when, as shown in FIG. 10, only 60 MHz of the 80 MHz indicated in the RTS is available at a STA or AP.”; Josiam et al.; 0077)
As to claim 5:
Josiam1 discloses:
A non-transitory, computer readable medium storing a program code that, when executed by a computer, executes instructions that provide the following operations:
sending, by an access point, signaling for indicating a channel set available to a station,
(“The modified CTS mechanism 1000 includes a primary channel 1002 having a bandwidth of 20 MHz, a secondary channel 1004 having a bandwidth of 20 MHz, and a secondary-40 channel 1006 having a bandwidth of 40 MHz (the sum of an upper first segment 1008 having a bandwidth of 20 MHz and a lower second segment 1010 having a bandwidth of 20 MHz). The modified CTS mechanism 1000 includes a source station (STA) or source access point (AP) gaining access to the channel and sensing primary and secondary channels free for a duration specified in the protocol. In this embodiment, the source is an AP and the destination is a STA. In alternative embodiments, the source and the destination can each be either an AP or a STA. With the primary channel 1002 and secondary channels 1004, 1006 sensed free, the AP transmits the RTS 1012 unmodified on the primary channel 1002 and secondary channels 1004, 1006 that were sensed free. One bit is used to indicate dynamic or static bandwidth operation and 2 bits are used to indicate the bandwidth itself, thereby accounting for a total of three bits out of the first seven bits of the scrambling sequence. When communicating with non-legacy devices, if the one bit to indicate dynamic or static bandwidth operation is set to dynamic bandwidth, it indicates that the STA can respond with a modified CTS that cannot be read by legacy devices. If a STA receives an RTS with dynamic bandwidth indication, then the STA can respond with a modified CTS and the CTS can use the first seven bits of the scrambling sequence to indicate which portion of the bandwidth signaled in the RTS can be used for data transmission. The number of bits of the scrambling sequence required for indicating choice of bandwidth in increments of 20 MHz depends on the bandwidth being aggregated and is indicated in the RTS.”; Josiam et al.; 0073)
(where
RTS’s associated with “RTS 1012”/FIG. 10 maps to “sending, by an access point, signaling for indicating a channel set available to a station”, where “primary channel 1002”/”secondary channel 1004”/”secondary-40 channel 1006”/”upper setment 1008”/”lower second segment 1010” maps to “channel set available to a station”
wherein the available channel set is used for the station to receive and … data only on the available channel set; and
(“Next, transmission 1016 begins on cleared channels, namely, primary channel 1002, secondary channel 1004, and the lower channel segment 1010 of the secondary-40 channel 1006. When the RTS indicates a 80 MHz channel bandwidth and the receiver responds with a CTS with a three bit bitmap that indicates only 60 MHz of the 80 MHz are available as shown in FIG. 10, in the orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) physical layer (PHY), the OFDM mask is set to 80 MHz bandwidth with 256 subcarriers. In the example shown in FIG. 10, since only 60 MHz of the 80 MHz are indicated in the CTS 1014, 96 subcarriers are left unused including the 64 subcarriers of the upper channel segment 1008 of the secondary 40 channel 1006.”; Josiam et al.; 0078)
(where
“In this embodiment, the source is an AP”/”transmission 1016”/”Data Transmission on only those channels for which CTS is sent”/FIG. 10/FIG. 12 maps to “wherein the available channel set is used for the station to receive and … data only on the available channel set”, where “source is an AP”/”transmission 1016/”Data Transmission” maps to “station to receive… data”
Where FIG. 10 illustrates “receive and…data” being performed only on “primary channel 1002”/”secondary channel 1004”/”lower segment 1010” which is only being performed on channels which are in the available channel set
Where FIG. 12 illustrates “upper segment 1212”/”first segment 1214”/”fourth segment 1220” not having associated “RTS’s” and not performing data transmission 1226 on those setments which further maps to “only on the available channel set”
sending, by the access point, (i) … an operating channel that is a subset of the available channel set, ….
(where
FIG. 10 illustrates “Data Transmission”/”transmission 1016” only being performed on “primary channel 1002”/”secondary channel 1004”/”lower channel segment 1010” and not being performed on “upper segment 1008” maps to “sending, by the access point, (i) … an operating channel that is a subset of the available channel set”
Josaim1 teaches an AP sending RTSs on available channels/channel segments and a STA responding with CTSs on a subset of available channels/channel segments and the AP transmitting data to the STA via the subset of available channels/channel segments.
Josiam1 as described above does not explicitly teach:
(ii) a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) by using the operating channel
However, Josiam2 further teaches a PPDU capability which includes:
(ii) a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) by using the operating channel
(“After a source AP or STA gains channel access using the appropriate sensing rules that govern both primary and secondary channels of a given bandwidth, the source can initiate a transmission by transmitting a clear-to-transmit message where the recipient address is the same as that of the sources transmitted address. This message, called the CTS-2-SELF, is transmitted over the cleared channels using a duplicated OFDM structure (where the duplication is in units of 20 MHz). After transmitting the CTS-2-SELF message, the source can initiate a PPDU transmission over the cleared channels addressed to a single destination in case of a SU-PPDU and multiple destinations in case of a MU-PPDU. The CTS-2-SELF message can use the first seven bits of the scrambling sequence to indicate which portion of the bandwidth signaled is to be used for data transmission.”; Josiam et al.; 0101)
(where
“After transmitting the CTS-2-SELF message, the source can initiate a PPDU transmission over the cleared channels addressed to a single destination in case of a SU-PPDU” maps to “(ii) a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) by using the operating channel”, where “cleared channels” maps to “operating channel”
Josiam2 teaches performing PPDU communication via cleared channels.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PPDU capability of Josiam2 into Josiam1. By modifying the processing/communications of Josiam1 to include the PPDU capability as taught by the processing/communications of Josiam2, the benefits of improved bandwidth efficiency (Josaim1; 0004) with improved CTS messaging (Josiam2; 0101) are achieved.
As to claim 7:
Josiam1 discloses:
wherein a bandwidth of the available channel set is less than a bandwidth of an available channel of the access point.
(“In an alternative embodiment, when an RTS indicates a 160 MHz channel bandwidth, the receiver response with a CTS with a seven bit bitmap to indicate which of the seven 20 MHz channels or channel segments are available for transmission. The same bitmap convention used for 80 MHz RTS for indicated availability for each 20 MHz segment in secondary channel 1004, secondary-40 channel 1006, and secondary-80 channels. Further, CTS is transmitted and replicated only on channels selected for transmission. Accordingly, in the embodiment of FIG. 10, the CTS 1014 transmitted and replicated only on primary channel 1002, secondary channel 1004, and the lower channel segment 1010 of the secondary-40 channel 1006 when, as shown in FIG. 10, only 60 MHz of the 80 MHz indicated in the RTS is available at a STA or AP.”; Josiam et al.; 0077)
As to claim 9:
Josiam1 discloses:
A non-transitory, computer readable medium storing a program code that, when executed by a computer, executes instructions that provide the following operations:
sending a first frame to an access point (AP), wherein the first frame comprises a first channel set,
(“The modified CTS mechanism 1000 includes a primary channel 1002 having a bandwidth of 20 MHz, a secondary channel 1004 having a bandwidth of 20 MHz, and a secondary-40 channel 1006 having a bandwidth of 40 MHz (the sum of an upper first segment 1008 having a bandwidth of 20 MHz and a lower second segment 1010 having a bandwidth of 20 MHz). The modified CTS mechanism 1000 includes a source station (STA) or source access point (AP) gaining access to the channel and sensing primary and secondary channels free for a duration specified in the protocol. In this embodiment, the source is an AP and the destination is a STA. In alternative embodiments, the source and the destination can each be either an AP or a STA. With the primary channel 1002 and secondary channels 1004, 1006 sensed free, the AP transmits the RTS 1012 unmodified on the primary channel 1002 and secondary channels 1004, 1006 that were sensed free. One bit is used to indicate dynamic or static bandwidth operation and 2 bits are used to indicate the bandwidth itself, thereby accounting for a total of three bits out of the first seven bits of the scrambling sequence. When communicating with non-legacy devices, if the one bit to indicate dynamic or static bandwidth operation is set to dynamic bandwidth, it indicates that the STA can respond with a modified CTS that cannot be read by legacy devices. If a STA receives an RTS with dynamic bandwidth indication, then the STA can respond with a modified CTS and the CTS can use the first seven bits of the scrambling sequence to indicate which portion of the bandwidth signaled in the RTS can be used for data transmission. The number of bits of the scrambling sequence required for indicating choice of bandwidth in increments of 20 MHz depends on the bandwidth being aggregated and is indicated in the RTS.”; Josiam et al.; 0073)
(where
RTS’s associated with “RTS 1012”/FIG. 10 maps to “sending, by an access point, signaling for indicating a channel set available to a station”, where “primary channel 1002”/”secondary channel 1004”/”secondary-40 channel 1006”/”upper setment 1008”/”lower second segment 1010” maps to “channel set available to a station”
wherein the first channel set comprises an available channel for a first station to perform data transmission with the AP; and
(“Next, transmission 1016 begins on cleared channels, namely, primary channel 1002, secondary channel 1004, and the lower channel segment 1010 of the secondary-40 channel 1006. When the RTS indicates a 80 MHz channel bandwidth and the receiver responds with a CTS with a three bit bitmap that indicates only 60 MHz of the 80 MHz are available as shown in FIG. 10, in the orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) physical layer (PHY), the OFDM mask is set to 80 MHz bandwidth with 256 subcarriers. In the example shown in FIG. 10, since only 60 MHz of the 80 MHz are indicated in the CTS 1014, 96 subcarriers are left unused including the 64 subcarriers of the upper channel segment 1008 of the secondary 40 channel 1006.”; Josiam et al.; 0078)
(where
“In this embodiment, the source is an AP”/”transmission 1016”/”Data Transmission on only those channels for which CTS is sent”/FIG. 10/FIG. 12 maps to “wherein the available channel set is used for the station to receive and … data only on the available channel set”, where “source is an AP”/”transmission 1016/”Data Transmission” maps to “station to receive… data”
Where FIG. 10 illustrates “receive and…data” being performed only on “primary channel 1002”/”secondary channel 1004”/”lower segment 1010” which is only being performed on channels which are in the available channel set
Where FIG. 12 illustrates “upper segment 1212”/”first segment 1214”/”fourth segment 1220” not having associated “RTS’s” and not performing data transmission 1226 on those setments which further maps to “only on the available channel set”
receiving a second frame, wherein the second frame is a response to the first frame.
(where
“CTSs”/FIG. 10 maps to “receiving a second frame, wherein the second frame is a response to the first frame”
Josaim1 teaches an AP sending RTSs on available channels/channel segments and a STA responding with CTSs on a subset of available channels/channel segments and the AP transmitting data to the STA via the subset of available channels/channel segments.
Josiam1 as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein a total bandwidth of channels in the first channel set is less than an available transmission bandwidth of a system, and
However, Josiam2 further teaches a channel bandwidth capability which includes:
wherein a total bandwidth of channels in the first channel set is less than an available transmission bandwidth of a system, and
(where
FIG. 12 illustrates “wherein a total bandwidth of channels in the first channel set is less than an available transmission bandwidth of a system”
Josiam2 teaches communicating RTSs for channel bandwidth with is less than the total available channel bandwidth.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the channel bandwidth capability of Josiam2 into Josiam1. By modifying the processing/communications of Josiam1 to include the channel bandwidth capability as taught by the processing/communications of Josiam2, the benefits of improved bandwidth efficiency (Josaim1; 0004) with improved CTS messaging (Josiam2; 0101) are achieved.
As to claim 10:
Josiam1 discloses:
wherein the second frame comprises a second channel set comprising an available channel indicated by the AP to perform data transmission with the first STA, and wherein a total bandwidth of channels in the second channel set …
(see FIG. 10)
Josiam1 as described above does not explicitly teach:
is less than the available transmission bandwidth of the system
However, Josiam2 further teaches a channel bandwidth capability which includes:
is less than the available transmission bandwidth of the system
(where
FIG. 12 illustrates “wherein a total bandwidth of channels in the first channel set is less than an available transmission bandwidth of a system”
Josiam2 teaches communicating RTSs for channel bandwidth with is less than the total available channel bandwidth.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the channel bandwidth capability of Josiam2 into Josiam1. By modifying the processing/communications of Josiam1 to include the channel bandwidth capability as taught by the processing/communications of Josiam2, the benefits of improved bandwidth efficiency (Josaim1; 0004) with improved CTS messaging (Josiam2; 0101) are achieved.
As to claim 12:
Josiam1 as described above does not explicitly teach:
receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) sent by the AP using a first operating channel, wherein the first operating channel is among the first channel set.
However, Josiam2 further teaches a PPDU capability which includes:
receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) sent by the AP using a first operating channel, wherein the first operating channel is among the first channel set.
(“After a source AP or STA gains channel access using the appropriate sensing rules that govern both primary and secondary channels of a given bandwidth, the source can initiate a transmission by transmitting a clear-to-transmit message where the recipient address is the same as that of the sources transmitted address. This message, called the CTS-2-SELF, is transmitted over the cleared channels using a duplicated OFDM structure (where the duplication is in units of 20 MHz). After transmitting the CTS-2-SELF message, the source can initiate a PPDU transmission over the cleared channels addressed to a single destination in case of a SU-PPDU and multiple destinations in case of a MU-PPDU. The CTS-2-SELF message can use the first seven bits of the scrambling sequence to indicate which portion of the bandwidth signaled is to be used for data transmission.”; Josiam et al.; 0101)
(where
“After transmitting the CTS-2-SELF message, the source can initiate a PPDU transmission over the cleared channels addressed to a single destination in case of a SU-PPDU” maps to receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU)”, where “cleared channels” maps to “first channel channel”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PPDU capability of Josiam2 into Josiam1. By modifying the processing/communications of Josiam1 to include the PPDU capability as taught by the processing/communications of Josiam2, the benefits of improved bandwidth efficiency (Josaim1; 0004) with improved CTS messaging (Josiam2; 0101) are achieved.
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Josiam et al. US 20150373587 embodiment #1 (hereinafter “Josiam1”, U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #20, listed on IDS dated 2024-11-15) in view of Josiam et al. US 20150373587 embodiment #2 (hereinafter “Josiam2”, U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #20, listed on IDS dated 2024-11-15) and in further view of Nguyen et al. US 20130121337 (U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #19, listed on IDS dated 2024-11-15).
As to claim 2:
Josiam1 as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the available channel set does not include a primary channel.
However, Nguyen et al. further teaches a control capability which includes:
wherein the available channel set does not include a primary channel.
(“In particular, the node 102C may maintain/update the busy device list by, at block 504, listening on a control channel (i.e., tuning radio 108 to the control channel to receive any communications transmitted on the control channel). At block 506, the node 102C may overhear one or more messages, such as RTS messages or CTS messages, transmitted by other nodes on the network. The overheard messages may contain reservation information including availability information (e.g., that particular nodes intend to transmit or receive data on one or more specified data channels) and duration information (e.g., a size of data to be transmitted, a time of transmission, and/or a starting time for the transmission). At block 508, the node 102C may update its busy device list to include the availability and duration of availability of the other nodes associated with the overheard messages.”; Nguyen et al.; 0070)
(where
“control channel” maps to “primary channel”,
“test data on channel...”/FIG. 4 maps to “available channel set”,
Where Nguyen et al. does not teach that the “test data on channel...”/FIG. 4 includes the “primary channel” which maps to “does not include”)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PPDU capability of Nguyen et al. into Josiam1. By modifying the processing/communications of Josiam1 to include the PPDU capability as taught by the processing/communications of Nguyen et al., the benefits of improved bandwidth efficiency (Josaim1; 0004) with improved routing (Nguyen et al.; 0005) are achieved.
As to claim 6:
Josiam1 as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the available channel set does not include a primary channel.
However, Nguyen et al. further teaches a control capability which includes:
wherein the available channel set does not include a primary channel.
(“In particular, the node 102C may maintain/update the busy device list by, at block 504, listening on a control channel (i.e., tuning radio 108 to the control channel to receive any communications transmitted on the control channel). At block 506, the node 102C may overhear one or more messages, such as RTS messages or CTS messages, transmitted by other nodes on the network. The overheard messages may contain reservation information including availability information (e.g., that particular nodes intend to transmit or receive data on one or more specified data channels) and duration information (e.g., a size of data to be transmitted, a time of transmission, and/or a starting time for the transmission). At block 508, the node 102C may update its busy device list to include the availability and duration of availability of the other nodes associated with the overheard messages.”; Nguyen et al.; 0070)
(where
“control channel” maps to “primary channel”,
“test data on channel...”/FIG. 4 maps to “available channel set”,
Where Nguyen et al. does not teach that the “test data on channel...”/FIG. 4 includes the “primary channel” which maps to “does not include”)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PPDU capability of Nguyen et al. into Josiam1. By modifying the processing/communications of Josiam1 to include the PPDU capability as taught by the processing/communications of Nguyen et al., the benefits of improved bandwidth efficiency (Josaim1; 0004) with improved routing (Nguyen et al.; 0005) are achieved.
Claim(s) 4, 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Josiam et al. US 20150373587 embodiment #1 (hereinafter “Josiam1”, U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #20, listed on IDS dated 2024-11-15) in view of Josiam et al. US 20150373587 embodiment #2 (hereinafter “Josiam2”, U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #20, listed on IDS dated 2024-11-15) and in further view of Kim et al. US 20180020475 (U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #21, listed on IDS dated 2024-11-15).
As to claim 4:
Josiam1 as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the station and the operating channel are a first station and a first operating channel, respectively, wherein the trigger frame also triggers a second station to send data using a second operating channel, and wherein the first and second operating channels do not overlap.
However, Kim et al. further teaches a trigger frame capability which includes:
wherein the station and the operating channel are a first station and a first operating channel, respectively, wherein the trigger frame also triggers a second station to send data using a second operating channel, and wherein the first and second operating channels do not overlap.
(“The AP transmits a trigger frame 520 that triggers a PS-Poll 540 transmission of at least one STA indicated by the TIM 500 after transmission of the TIM 500. According to an embodiment of the present invention, the trigger frame 520 may trigger PS-Poll 540 transmissions of multiple STAs through multiple channels. According to an embodiment, the trigger frame 520 may be transmitted only on a primary channel.”; Kim et al.; 0082)
(“Similar to the above-described channel allocation rule, the subchannel on which downlink data 560 is to be transmitted to each STA may be determined based on the order of STAs indicated by TIM 500. That is, the AP may allocate the available subchannels in an idle state in a round-robin manner based on the order of the STAs indicated by the TIM 500. If one channel is composed of n subchannels, each subchannel can be allocated to a maximum of n STAs in one available channel.”; Kim et al.; 0102)
(“If one channel of the 20 MHz band is divided into four subchannels having a bandwidth of 5 MHz, the channel indicator may be composed of at least four bits B1, B2, B3 and B4.”; Kim et al.; 0129)
(where
“trigger frame 520” maps to “trigger frame”,
“trigger PS-Poll 540 transmissions of multiple STAs through multiple channels” maps to “trigger frame also triggers a second station to send data using a second operating channel”, where “PS-Poll 540” maps to “send data”, “multiple channels” maps to “using a second operating channel”,
“20 MHz band is divided into four subchannels having a bandwidth of 5 MHz” maps to “the first and second operating channels do not overlap”)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the trigger frame capability of Kim et al. into Josiam1. By modifying the processing/communications of Josiam1 to include the trigger frame capability as taught by the processing/communications of Kim et al., the benefits of improved bandwidth efficiency (Josaim1; 0004) with improved efficiency (Kim et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 8:
Josiam1 as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the station and the operating channel are a first station and a first operating channel, respectively, wherein the trigger frame also triggers a second station to send data using a second operating channel, and wherein the first and second operating channels do not overlap.
However, Kim et al. further teaches a trigger frame capability which includes:
wherein the station and the operating channel are a first station and a first operating channel, respectively, wherein the trigger frame also triggers a second station to send data using a second operating channel, and wherein the first and second operating channels do not overlap.
(“The AP transmits a trigger frame 520 that triggers a PS-Poll 540 transmission of at least one STA indicated by the TIM 500 after transmission of the TIM 500. According to an embodiment of the present invention, the trigger frame 520 may trigger PS-Poll 540 transmissions of multiple STAs through multiple channels. According to an embodiment, the trigger frame 520 may be transmitted only on a primary channel.”; Kim et al.; 0082)
(“Similar to the above-described channel allocation rule, the subchannel on which downlink data 560 is to be transmitted to each STA may be determined based on the order of STAs indicated by TIM 500. That is, the AP may allocate the available subchannels in an idle state in a round-robin manner based on the order of the STAs indicated by the TIM 500. If one channel is composed of n subchannels, each subchannel can be allocated to a maximum of n STAs in one available channel.”; Kim et al.; 0102)
(“If one channel of the 20 MHz band is divided into four subchannels having a bandwidth of 5 MHz, the channel indicator may be composed of at least four bits B1, B2, B3 and B4.”; Kim et al.; 0129)
(where
“trigger frame 520” maps to “trigger frame”,
“trigger PS-Poll 540 transmissions of multiple STAs through multiple channels” maps to “trigger frame also triggers a second station to send data using a second operating channel”, where “PS-Poll 540” maps to “send data”, “multiple channels” maps to “using a second operating channel”,
“20 MHz band is divided into four subchannels having a bandwidth of 5 MHz” maps to “the first and second operating channels do not overlap”)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the trigger frame capability of Kim et al. into Josiam1. By modifying the processing/communications of Josiam1 to include the trigger frame capability as taught by the processing/communications of Kim et al., the benefits of improved bandwidth efficiency (Josaim1; 0004) with improved efficiency (Kim et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 11:
Josiam1 as described above does not explicitly teach:
receiving a first trigger frame sent by the AP, wherein the first trigger frame indicates a first operating channel of the first station, and wherein the first operating channel is among the first channel set; and
sending data using the first operating channel.
However, Kim et al. further teaches a trigger frame capability which includes:
receiving a first trigger frame sent by the AP, wherein the first trigger frame indicates a first operating channel of the first station, and wherein the first operating channel is among the first channel set; and
sending data using the first operating channel.
(“The AP transmits a trigger frame 520 that triggers a PS-Poll 540 transmission of at least one STA indicated by the TIM 500 after transmission of the TIM 500. According to an embodiment of the present invention, the trigger frame 520 may trigger PS-Poll 540 transmissions of multiple STAs through multiple channels. According to an embodiment, the trigger frame 520 may be transmitted only on a primary channel.”; Kim et al.; 0082)
(“Similar to the above-described channel allocation rule, the subchannel on which downlink data 560 is to be transmitted to each STA may be determined based on the order of STAs indicated by TIM 500. That is, the AP may allocate the available subchannels in an idle state in a round-robin manner based on the order of the STAs indicated by the TIM 500. If one channel is composed of n subchannels, each subchannel can be allocated to a maximum of n STAs in one available channel.”; Kim et al.; 0102)
(“If one channel of the 20 MHz band is divided into four subchannels having a bandwidth of 5 MHz, the channel indicator may be composed of at least four bits B1, B2, B3 and B4.”; Kim et al.; 0129)
(where
“trigger frame 520” maps to “trigger frame”,
“trigger PS-Poll 540 transmissions of multiple STAs through multiple channels” maps to “trigger frame also triggers a second station to send data using a second operating channel”, where “PS-Poll 540” maps to “send data”, “multiple channels” maps to “using a second operating channel”,
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the trigger frame capability of Kim et al. into Josiam1. By modifying the processing/communications of Josiam1 to include the trigger frame capability as taught by the processing/communications of Kim et al., the benefits of improved bandwidth efficiency (Josaim1; 0004) with improved efficiency (Kim et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Josiam et al. US 20150373587 embodiment #1 (hereinafter “Josiam1”, U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #20, listed on IDS dated 2024-11-15) in view of Josiam et al. US 20150373587 embodiment #2 (hereinafter “Josiam2”, U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #20, listed on IDS dated 2024-11-15) and in further view of Wang et al. 20130229996 (U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #30, listed on IDS dated 2024-11-15).
As to claim 13:
Josiam1 as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first and second channel sets may be the same or different channel sets, depending on a load condition of the first channel set as determined by the AP.
However, Wang et al. et al. further teaches a loading capability which includes:
wherein the first and second channel sets may be the same or different channel sets, depending on a load condition of the first channel set as determined by the AP.
(“The above examples described in FIGS. 23-25 show a solution to communicate with STA2/User 2 with wider bandwidth. System spectral efficiency may be higher when using wider bandwidth, therefore a scheduler may be aware of whether channel aggregation is done contiguously or not, and may try to assign users with heavy traffic load to the contiguously aggregated channels. In another example, STA2/User 2 may communicate with the normal single channel bandwidth but occupy two normal channels. The IFFT/IDFT size for STA2/User 2 may be the same as that for STA1 and STA3. In this case, a segment parser may be utilized to split the traffic to two parts (similar to the examples of FIGS. 21 and 22). Depending on the channel quality and STA feedback capability, both equal MCS and unequal MCS may be applied. This solution may be less efficient than the STA2/User 2 operating with wider bandwidth), but may be easier to implement. “; Wang et al.; 0211)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the loading capability of Wang et al. into Josiam1. By modifying the processing/communications of Josiam1 to include the loading capability as taught by the processing/communications of Wang et al., the benefits of improved bandwidth efficiency (Josaim1; 0004) with improved bandwidth (Wang et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20180132278 – teaches a trigger frame (see para. 0210).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464