Election/Restrictions
Claims 20 and 25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II and Species A, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/9/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 27 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 27 recites: “wherein a the length. . . .”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the term “substantially parallel” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially parallel” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
In order to expedite prosecution, the term “substantially parallel” is construed as how it might be interpreted by a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 11, 23-24 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Soelberg” (US 3,833,755).
Regarding claim 1, Soelberg discloses 1. A ribbon cable, comprising: a plurality of wires, wherein each one of the plurality of wires comprises: a conductor (Figs. 3 and 6-7, Col. 5, lines 1-6; the conductors 13 are a plurality of wires);
and an outer insulating layer surrounding a perimeter of the conductor, wherein the outer insulating layer of a first wire comprises a portion located between the conductor of the first wire and the conductor of a second wire adjacent to the first wire (Figs. 3 and 6-7, Col. 5, lines 1-6; each of the conductors 13 has an outer insulating later surrounding a perimeter of the conductor 13, wherein the outer insulating layer of a first wire 13 comprises a portion located between the conductor of the first wire 13 and the conductor of a second wire 13 adjacent to the first wire13 );
and an adhesive material exterior to the outer insulating layer of each wire of the plurality of wires and bonding together the plurality of wires (Figs. 3 and 6-7, Col. 5, lines 1-6; the segment 17 is an adhesive material exterior to the outer insulating layer of each wire 13 of the plurality of wires and bonding together the plurality of wires 13).
Soelberg does not disclose each wire of the plurality of wires being a different wire type of a plurality of wire types relative to a wire type of at least another wire of the plurality of wires.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Soelberg’s ribbon cable with different wire types since Soelberg discloses that the wires can be individual conductors as in Fig. 6 or twisted pair conductors as in Fig. 7. Combining Soelberg’s different wire types with Soelberg’s ribbon cable would have involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 2, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Soelberg discloses 2. The ribbon cable of claim 1, wherein the plurality of wire types comprises at least one of the following: solid wire, stranded wire, coaxial cable, twisted pair cable, fiber optic cable, or any combination thereof comprising: a plurality of wires, wherein each one of the plurality of wires comprises: a conductor (Figs. 3 and 6-7, Col. 5, lines 1-6; the conductors 13 are a solid wire).
Regarding claim 5, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Soelberg discloses 5. The ribbon cable of claim 1, wherein a first wire of the plurality of wires is arranged substantially parallel and co-planar with a second wire of the plurality of wires (Figs. 3 and 6-7, Col. 5, lines 1-6; the first conductor 13 of the plurality of conductors 13 is arranged substantially parallel and co-planar with a second conductor 13 of the plurality of conductors 13. Examiner’s Note: see the 112 rejection above for the construction of this limitation.).
Regarding claim 7, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Soelberg does not disclose the limitations of claim 7.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Soelberg’s ribbon cable with different wire types such that a plurality of wires comprise one or more wires located between two twisted wires since Soelberg discloses that the wires can be individual conductors as in Fig. 6 or twisted pair conductors as in Fig. 7. Arranging the plurality of wires located between two twisted wires would have involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 11, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Soelberg discloses 11. The ribbon cable of claim 1, wherein the adhesive material bonds together the plurality of wires intermittently along a length of the ribbon cable (Figs. 3 and 6-7, Col. 5, lines 1-6; the insulation segments 17 bonds together the plurality of conductors 13 intermittently along a length of the ribbon cable).
Regarding claim 23, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Soelberg discloses 23. The ribbon cable of claim 1, wherein a total width of the ribbon cable is not less than 0.12 mm and not greater than 3.9 mm (Figs. 3 and 6-7, Col. 5, lines 49-51; the ribbon cable is formed with two tapes, each having a thickness or width of 0.006 inches (which is 0.1524 mm), therefore the total width is 0.3048 mm which reads on this limitation).
Regarding claim 24, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Soelberg discloses 24. The ribbon cable of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of ribboned portions, along which the adhesive material bonds together the plurality of wires, and a plurality of non-ribboned portions, along which the plurality of wires are not bonded together by the adhesive material (Figs. 3 and 6-7, Col. 5, lines 1-6; the plurality of ribboned portions, along which the insulation segments 17 bonds together the plurality of conductors 13, and a plurality of non-ribboned portions, along which the plurality of conductors 13are not bonded together by the insulation segments 17),
wherein the plurality of ribboned portions and the plurality of non-ribboned portions alternate along a length of the ribbon cable (Figs. 3 and 6-7, Col. 5, lines 1-6; the plurality of ribboned portions and the plurality of non-ribboned portions alternate along a length of the ribbon cable).
Regarding claim 26, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 24, above.
Soelberg discloses 26. The ribbon cable of claim 24, wherein: each one of the plurality of ribboned portions has a first length; each one of the plurality of non-ribboned portions has a second length; and the first length is different than the second length (Figs. 3 and 6-7, Col. 5, lines 1-6; each one of the plurality of ribboned portions has a first length; each one of the plurality of non-ribboned portions has a second length; and the first length is different than the second length).
Regarding claim 27, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 24, above.
Soelberg discloses a the length of each one of the plurality of ribboned portions is not less than 5 millimeters (Figs. 3 and 6-7, Col. 5, lines 49-57; the segments are 2.125 inches long, which is not less than 5 millimeters. Examiner’s note: see the claim objection above regarding phrase: “a the length”).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soelberg in view of “Glew” (US 2006/0237219).
Regarding claim 3, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Solberg does not disclose the limitations of claim 3.
Glew discloses 3. The ribbon cable of claim 1, wherein an outer insulating layer of a first wire of the plurality of wires is made of a first material and an outer insulating layer of a second wire of the plurality of wires is made of a second material different from the first material (Fig. 9C, [0232]-[0234]; the ribbon cable can include twisted pair jacketed or un-jacketed, RG-6, Category 6 or 7, optical fiber co-axial, WIFI antennae, power, and/or fiber optic conductors, which have different outer insulating materials).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Soelberg’s ribbon cable with Glew’s ribbon cable structure in order to allow for optionality for different forms of conductive media in the ribbon cable, as suggested by Glew at [0232].
Claims 4, 21-22 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soelberg in view of “Xu” (US 2006/0131059).
Regarding claim 4, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Solberg does not disclose the limitations of claim 4.
Xu discloses 4. The ribbon cable of claim 1, wherein the adhesive material comprises an acrylic, UV-curable material (Figs. 1, 3, [0139]; the adhesive include UV curable adhesive such as epoxies, acrylates and the like).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Soelberg’s ribbon cable with Xu’s ribbon cable structure in order to provide for a multiconductor cable assembly comprising two or more coated wires arranged in a side-by-side contiguous relation, as suggested by Xu at [0004].
Regarding claim 21, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Solberg does not disclose the limitations of claim 21.
Xu discloses 21. The ribbon cable of claim 1, wherein each one of the plurality of wires has a diameter that is not less than 0.0254 millimeters (mm) and not greater than 0.381 mm (Figs. 1, 3, [0113]; the conductor size may be less than or equal to 46 AWG which is 0.0648 mm in diameter).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Soelberg’s ribbon cable with Xu’s ribbon cable structure in order to provide for a multiconductor cable assembly comprising two or more coated wires arranged in a side-by-side contiguous relation, as suggested by Xu at [0004].
Regarding claim 22, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Solberg does not disclose the limitations of claim 22.
Xu discloses 22. The ribbon cable of claim 1, wherein each one of the plurality of wires has an American Wire Gauge (AWG) size of not more than 40 AWG and at least 50 AWG (Figs. 1, 3, [0113]; the conductor size may be less than or equal to 46 AWG).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Soelberg’s ribbon cable with Xu’s ribbon cable structure in order to provide for a multiconductor cable assembly comprising two or more coated wires arranged in a side-by-side contiguous relation, as suggested by Xu at [0004].
Regarding claim 28, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Solberg does not disclose the limitations of claim 28.
Xu discloses the adhesive material forms a plurality of fillets; and each one of the plurality of fillets is between adjacent ones of the plurality of wires (Fig. 3, [0137]; adhesive may be applied in the channel, 31, between adjacent coated wires),
and each one of the plurality of fillets is between and does not entirely cover the outer insulating layer of adjacent ones of the plurality of wires such that a portion of the outer insulating layer of each wire of the plurality of wires is exposed (Figs. 1, 3, [0137]; the adhesive bonding agent is between and does not entirely cover the outer insulating layer of adjacent ones of the plurality of wires such that a portion of the outer insulating layer of each wire of the plurality of wires is exposed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Soelberg’s ribbon cable with Xu’s ribbon cable structure in order to ensure adequate bonding, as suggested by Xu at [0136].
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soelberg in view of “Swanson” (US 7,073,255).
Regarding claim 6, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Solberg discloses at least one wire of the plurality of wires comprises a number of wires twisted together (Figs. 3 and 6-7, Col. 5, lines 1-13; the conductors are twisted pairs of wires 13A).
Soelberg does not disclose each wire of the number of wires comprises a conductor, a dielectric layer, and an outer insulating layer.
Swanson discloses each wire of the number of wires comprises a conductor, a dielectric layer, and an outer insulating layer (Fig. 6, col. 4, lines 4-7; the inner dielectric layer 22” and the outer dielectric layer 22’).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Soelberg’s ribbon cable with Swanson’s wires in order to accommodate a set of coax cables, as suggested by Swanson at col. 4, lines 4-5.
Regarding claim 10, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Soelberg does not disclose the limitations of claim 10.
Swanson discloses each wire of the plurality of wires further comprises: a metallic layer disposed between the outer insulating layer and the conductor (Fig. 6, col. 4, lines 4-7; the outer conductive layer 20’ is disposed between the outer dielectric layer 22’ and the inner conductor 20”);
and a dielectric material disposed between the metallic layer and the conductor (Fig. 6, col. 4, lines 4-7; the inner dielectric layer 22” and is disposed between the outer conductive layer 20’ and the inner conductor 20”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Soelberg’s ribbon cable with Swanson’s wires in order to accommodate a set of coax cables, as suggested by Swanson at col. 4, lines 4-5.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soelberg in view of “Howick” (US 2004/0094534).
Regarding claim 8, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Solberg does not disclose the limitations of claim 8.
Howick discloses 8. The ribbon cable of claim 1, wherein the outer insulating layer of at least one wire of the plurality of wires is made of polyethylene (Fig. 2, [0028]; the outer portion 64 of the conductor 50 is made of polyethylene).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Soelberg’s ribbon cable with Howick’s wires in order to provide an improved coated conductor that may be employed in a variety of articles of manufacture including, without limitation, electronic articles such as door panels, wheels, floormats, radios, televisions, calculators, computers or the like. The conductor, however, is particularly suitable for use in heaters, as suggested by Howick at [0012].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soelberg in view of “Fabian” (US 2005/0069272).
Regarding claim 9, Soelberg discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Solberg does not disclose the limitations of claim 9.
Fabian discloses 9. The ribbon cable of claim 1, wherein the adhesive material has a Young's modulus not greater than 4.0 ([0021], [0064]; a ribbon cable that includes the primary coating that has a Youngs modulus of about 1MPa or less).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Soelberg’s ribbon cable with Fabian’s ribbon cable in order to serve as a buffer to cushion and protect the cable during bending, processing, handling and use, as suggested by Fabian at [0005].
Conclusion
/STANLEY TSO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847