DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-3, 6-7, 10-11, 17-19 and 22-25, 30, 36, 39, 41, 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, claim 1-2, 10-11 and 24-25, 39, 51 respectively recite “alkaline-rich mineral materials”. The term “alkaline-rich mineral materials” in such claims is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “alkaline-rich mineral materials” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree of what can be considered as “alkaline-rich mineral materials”, such as how much content of what specific alkaline compound need be included thereof to be considered as “alkaline-rich mineral materials”. Furthermore, the recited “the alkaline-rich mineral materials have been collected from flue gas treatments as a sorbent, scrubber, or byproduct generated during industrial processes” does not help define or specify how much content of what specific alkaline compound need be included thereof to be considered as “alkaline-rich mineral materials” either. Hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, such limitations render claims indefiniteness. Secondly, claim 1 recites “the alkaline-rich mineral materials at least partially carbonated”, one of ordinary skill in the art is uncertain alkaline-rich mineral materials can be considered as “at least partially carbonated”, such as alkaline-rich mineral material comprising how much content of what compound or material can be considered as “at least partially carbonated”. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot ascertain the metes and bounds of such claimed limitation. All claim 1’s depending claims are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, claim 17 recites “the carbonation products are mainly calcium carbonates”, one of ordinary skill in the art is uncertain what is the exact scope of “the carbonation products are mainly calcium carbonates”, such as how much carbonation product need be calcium carbonates to be considered as “mainly” calcium carbonates? Therefore, such limitation renders claim indefiniteness.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, claim 22 recites “ a concentrated CO2 gas stream”, one of ordinary skill in the art is uncertain what concentration level of CO2 gas stream can be considered as a “a concentrated CO2 gas stream”, nor the specification provides exact description what concentration ranges of CO2 gas stream can be considered as “ a concentrated CO2 gas stream”, therefore, such limitation renders claim indefiniteness. Secondly, claim 22 recites “atmospherically-derived CO2 (direct air capture)”, one of ordinary skill in the art is uncertain whether the parenthesis recited limitation of “direct air capture” is part of claimed invention or not, therefore, such limitation renders claim indefiniteness.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 25 recites “the alkaline-rich mineral materials are fully carbonated”, one of ordinary skill in the art is uncertain alkaline-rich mineral materials can be considered as “fully carbonated”, such as alkaline-rich mineral material comprising how much content of what compound or material can be considered as “fully carbonated”. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot ascertain the metes and bounds of such claimed limitation.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, claim 36 recites “the alkaline-rich mineral residues” and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, claim 36 recite “alkaline-rich mineral residues”, such term of “alkaline-rich mineral residues” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “alkaline-rich mineral residues” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. One of ordinary skill in the art is uncertain how much content of alkali metal or alkaline earth metal need be included in such mineral residue to be “alkaline-rich”. Therefore, such limitations render claims indefiniteness.
Claim 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In this case, claim 6 and 7 respectively recited “further comprising using the calcium carbonate …... to make concrete” and “further comprising using the calcium carbonate …… as dry powder” does not further limit its parent claim 1 recited the process of making calcium carbonate. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10-11,17-19, 22-25, 36, 39, 41 and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zajac (EP3778525) in view of Harris (US3920800).
Zajac teaches a method producing calcium carbonate containing supplementary cementitious material (SCM) comprising: providing a waste material rich in carbonatable Ca and/or Mg phases, e.g., hydrates and preferably with high specific surface area, preferably selected from RCA (recycled concrete aggregates and RCF (recycled concrete fines), fly ashes, slags and mixtures thereof (para. [0001], [0011]-[0014], table 1, example 1-2), fractioning the waste material to remove non-mineral mineral components while grinding RCF and residues from cleaning RCA as starting material (para. [0014]), stirring the grounded RCF or RCA materials when contacting CO2 with such waste material under temperature 0 to 90 ºC, preferably 10- 80 ºC, most preferred from 15- 60 ºC with CO2 volume concentration from 5 to 100 % in gas stream (para. [0019]). Zajac further discloses carbonation time depending on CO2 concentration wherein higher concentration allows shorter carbonation time while lower concentration requires longer carbonation time (para. [0019]).
Zajac further teaches water and waste solid material can be mixed together with stirring and injecting CO2 into such mixed slurry for carbonation (para. [0019], [0028], claim 1, 3), wherein the water content in the starting material for mixing with waster material (e.g. RCF/RCP) being 5 to 30 wt% (para. [0018]). Zajac further teaches the suspension has a water: solid (i.e. liquid: solid) mass ratio in the range from 100 to 0.5, preferably from 50 to 1, most preferably from 5 to 2 (para. [0019]).
Zajac disclosed carbonation temperature and CO2 concentration respectively overlap with that of instantly claimed carbonation temperature and CO2 concentration, thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP § 2144. 05 I). Furthermore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a same CO2 concentration as that of instantly claimed via routine optimization for help obtaining suitable carbonation time as suggested by Zajac.
As for the claimed “the alkaline-rich mineral materials have been collected from flue gas treatments as a sorbent, scrubber, or byproduct generated during industrial processes”, this is a product by process limitation, but such limitation does not define or specify how much content of what specific alkaline compound need be included thereof to be considered as “alkaline-rich mineral materials”. Zajac already teaches a material containing Mg and Ca(para. [0011], table 1, examples), i.e. an alkaline-rich mineral materials.
As for the claimed “the alkaline-rich mineral material being at least partially carbonated”, Zajac already teaches the waste material rich in carbonate, i.e. comprising carbonate material(para. [0011], table 1), wherein such material being at least partially carbonated as that of instantly claimed is expected.
Regarding claim 1, Zajac does not expressly teach carbonation pressure being ambient pressure or simultaneously fractioning alkaline-rich mineral materials while contacting the alkaline-rich mineral material with a CO2 containing gas.
However, Zajac does not require any particular/specific pressure for such carbonation reaction. Therefore, practicing such carbonation under ambient pressure appears expected. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt ambient atmosphere for a reaction pressure because such reaction pressure readily available and economically cheap. Furthermore, such ambient pressure reaction atmosphere is just a design parameter, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a proper atmosphere e.g. ambient pressure for obtaining desired product via routine optimization (see MPEP § 2144. 05 II).
Harris teaches a process of producing calcium carbonate comprising grinding calcium oxide/hydroxide containing slurry while contacting such slurry with CO2 gas (col.2 line 65- col. 3 line 8, col. 4 line 36-60), wherein such grinding and contacting slurry with CO2 gas can be performed in three sand mill reactors (Fig. 1, col. 11-64). It is readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that the milk of lime slurry after contacting with first two stage of sand mill, the alkaline earth rich material has been at least partially carbonated. Harris further teaches the reaction temperature ranging from 30-80 ºC (col. 6 lines 10-32, table 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt the simultaneously fractioning and carbonation as shown by Harris to modify the carbonation process of Zajac because adopting such well-known simultaneously milling/fractioning and carbonation to modify a well-known carbonation process for help obtaining desired calcium carbonate from alkaline-rich mineral material for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP § 2143 KSR).
Regarding claim 2, Harris teaches carbonating alkaline earth rich material in slurry and the obtained calcium carbonate product can be separated from water via filtering (co.4 lines 57-64).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known filtering the calcium carbonate as shown by Harris to modify calcium carbonate producing process of Zajac because adopting such well-known filtering technique would have predictable results for one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2143 KSR), i.e., help obtaining desired calcium carbonate product from carbonated alkaline rich material slurry.
Regarding claim 3, such limitations have been met as discussed above.
Regarding claim 6-7, the claimed limitation of “further comprising using the calcium carbonate made by the process as a reactive filler or supplementary cementitious material to make concrete” or “further comprising using the calcium carbonate …… as dry powder”, does not structurally limit the instantly claimed method of making calcium carbonate, rather just an intended use for the obtained calcium carbonate, therefore, such limitation cannot render the claimed process patentable distinct. It is also noted that Zajac already teaches such calcium carbonate being used as SCM (para. [0029], [0030], example 1-2).
Regarding claim 10-11, Zajac also teaches conditioning the CO2 such as adjusting CO2 concentration, flow rate, carbonation time or adding additional material into the carbonation process (para. [0018]-[0029]), wherein such conditioning CO2 is same as that of instant application (see instant published application US2025/0066214 para. [0048]). Zajac also teaches the carbonation degree can be adjusted from 1 to 100% (para. [0028]), while carbonation process can be accelerated or adjusted (para. [0018]-[0020]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust such CO2 carbonation conditions into alkaline earth rich material slurry as shown by Zajac thus help obtaining an extent of carbonation conversion and carbonation rate of alkaline earth rich material being at desired degree of about 25% to 100% via routine experimentation (see MPEP § 2144.05 II).
Regarding claim 17, as for the claimed carbonation products that are mainly calcium carbonate, Zajac further teaches the obtained SCM contains mainly calcium and magnesium carbonate, and amorphous silica and alumina gels or alumina-silica gel (para. [0029]) while the starting alkaline waste rich material already containing calcite (table 1). Therefore, Zajac disclosed carbonation product of calcium carbonate containing calcite. Furthermore, Zajac teaches a same or substantially the same process of carbonating same or substantially the same alkaline rich mineral material under same or substantially the same temperature with same or substantially the same carbon dioxide concentration, therefore, same or substantially the same product as that instantly claimed would be expected.
Regarding claim 18-19, Zajac already teaches carbonation process with stirring and teaches carbonation in the presence of wet slurry as discussed above, wherein a stirring reactor for carbonation reaction and such reactor has a reaction chamber with aqueous reaction medium presented thereof.
Regarding claim 22, Zajac also teaches the CO2 can be exhaust gas from a cement plant (para. [0019]) such CO2 reads onto the claimed a flue gas effluent from an industrial CO2-cotaining gas stream, and/or a dilute flue gas stream. Harris also teaches CO2 resources can be exhaust gas or being pure CO2 (i.e. concentrated) or diluted CO2 with air (col. 5 line 65-col. 6 line 9).
Regarding claim 23, it is noted that “atmospherically-derived CO2 is direct air capture CO2” is not necessary presented in the instant method if other CO2 source, e.g. dilute flue gas stream, concentrated CO2gas stream, commercially available CO2source, liquefied CO2 or bio-mass derived CO2 being used in the process because claim 23 does not positively recite CO2 being atmospherically-derived CO2. Furthermore, directly air capture CO2 is well-known choice for CO2 source for mitigating greenhouse effect into the environment while Zajac needs a CO2 source for carbonation. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a well-known direct air capture CO2 to practice the carbonation process of Zajac for help obtaining desired calcium carbonate product.
Regarding claim 24, Zajac teaches milling, i.e. fraction the waste material (alkaline-rich mineral material) to smaller size (para. [0013]-[0015]) while Harris teaches fractioning calcium hydroxide into smaller particles size (col. 4 lines 10-20) while carbonation. Zajac in view of Harris already teaches a same or substantially the same fractioning as that of instantly claimed, therefore, same or substantially the same fractioning increasing the surface area of the alkaline-rich mineral material as that of instantly claimed is expected.
Regarding claim 25, Zajac already teaches the waste material rich in carbonate, i.e. comprising carbonate material (para. [0011], table 1), wherein such material particles surface being fully carbonated as that of instantly claimed is expected.
Regarding claim 36 and 50, Zajac already teaches such limitations as discussed above.
Regarding claim 39, Zajac already teaches a slew of residues from cement or concrete, slag, lime containing CaO, MgO can be carbonated while Harris teaches Ca(OH)2 ( i.e. portlandite) can be used in carbonation forming calcium carbonate. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a Portlandite residue as starting material for carbonation thus recovering portlandite residue and help obtaining valuable calcium carbonate product for intended application.
Regarding claim 41, Zajac already does not require any specific temperature for CO2 gas stream, therefore, an ambient CO2 gas stream is expected. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt ambient temperature for CO2 gas stream for a carbonation reaction because such temperature of CO2 gas readily available and economically cheap.
Regarding claim 51, Zajac further teaches the carbonation time can be from 1 seconds to 10 hours, specifically 6 hours (para. [0019],[0038]).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zajac (EP3778525) in view of Harris (US3920800) as applied above, and further in view of Maijala(US2008/0069757).
Regarding claim 30, Zajac in view of Harris does not expressly teach a flow-through reactor.
However, Maijala teaches continuously flowing reactant calcium hydroxide sludge and CO2 stream while continuously removing calcium carbonate product away from the reactor (claim 5, para.[0018], [0058], [0072],[0111] Fig. 1), wherein a flow-through reactor is used.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a flow-through reactor as shown by Maijala to modify the carbonation reactor of Zajac in view of Harris because adopting such flow-through reactor can help simultaneous feeding and use of various additives for obtaining desired calcium carbonate product as suggested by Maijala (para. [0008]-[0010]). Furthermore, adopting a well-known flow-through reactor to modify a well-known carbonation process for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP § 2143 KSR).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3, 6-7, 10-11, 17-19 and 22-25, 30, 36, 39, 41, 50-51 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12157709 (previously copending application S/N 18/470396). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US’709 teaches a same or substantially the same process as that of instantly claimed, which comprises using an alkaline-rich mineral material, the alkaline-rich mineral material is partially carbonated; simultaneously fractioning the mixture, while contacting the mixture with a CO2-containing gas in a reaction medium; thereby making a binder system; wherein the binder system, after simultaneously fractioning the mixture, while contacting the mixture with a CO.sub.2-containing gas, comprises less than 85% by weight (w/w) carbonates reaction products selected from vaterite, aragonite, calcite, alumina-silica gel, or a combination thereof; wherein the reaction medium is, either: (a) aqueous, and the liquid-to-solid weight ratio (w/w) ranges from 0.1 to about 10; or (b) semi-dry, and the water-to-solid weight ratio (w/w) ranges from 0 to about 0.5.
Conclusion
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732