DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the Application filed on 8/30/2024. Claims 1-11 are pending in the case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 2 recites the limitation “the adding the event to the calendar associated with the user profile” in line 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11182055 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by claims 1,7, and 13 of the conflicting patent.
Instant Application 18/821794
US 11182055 B2
A method comprising:
causing display of a presentation of media at a client device, the presentation of the media including a display of an icon;
receiving an input that selects the icon from the client device;
determining a location of the client device responsive to the input that selects the icon;
selecting a set of menu options from among a plurality of menu options based on the location of the client device; and
causing display of a menu element that includes a display of the set of menu options.
A method comprising:
causing display of a presentation of media at a client device, the presentation of the media including a display of an icon that corresponds with a location of interest;
receiving an input that selects the icon from the client device, the input comprising an input attribute that includes an input duration;
accessing location data from the client device in response to the input that selects the icon, the location data identifying a location within a threshold distance of the location of interest that corresponds with the icon;
selecting one or more menu options from among a collection of menu options based on the input duration of the input and the location data from the client device;
generating a menu element based on the icon and the input attribute in response to the input that selects the icon, the menu element including the one or more menu options and a display of a map image that includes the location of interest and an indication of the location of the client device; and presenting the menu element at a position within the presentation of the media at the client device.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-11 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12105930 B2. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen et al. (US 2016/0085863 A1, hereinafter Allen) in view of Yokota (US 2010/0026526 A1).
As to independent claim 1, Allen teaches a method comprising:
causing display of a presentation of media at a client device, the presentation of the media including a display of an icon (“the media content 1806 (e.g., user 1816 takes a picture)” paragraph 0092), the presentation of the media including a display of an icon within the presentation of the media (Figs. 4D, 5F, 6B, 6D-6E, displaying a user-based media filter i.e. 440, 560 etc., applied to media content in a display of the mobile device 1802, paragraph 0080);
receiving an input that selects the icon from the client device (“the media filter application 122 provides an actionable media filter to the mobile device. For example, the actionable media filter can be a link to open a browser page in the mobile device to obtain a coupon. The actionable media filter can trigger other functions of the mobile device.” paragraph 0050).
Allen does not appear to expressly teach determining a location of the client device responsive to the input that selects the icon;
selecting a set of menu options from among a plurality of menu options based on the location of the client device; and
causing display of a menu element that includes a display of the set of menu options.
Yokota teaches determining a location of the client device responsive to the input that selects the icon (“message contents, a primary location, a secondary location, an effective time, and other information created in the reminder message data (FIG. 5) are evaluated in combination with a current time, a current location, a destination location, etc.” paragraph 0037. The user selects the location reminder message 31A in Fig 2A);
selecting a set of menu options from among a plurality of menu options based on the location of the client device (When the user activates the reminder message icon 29 indicating "Sam: Please buy milk", the navigation will show the list 33 of the suggested locations includes supermarkets and drug stores to buy milk indicated by the reminder message. Paragraph 0039-0044, Fig. 1-3); and
causing display of a menu element that includes a display of the set of menu options (Fig. 2b, list 33 displayed).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Allen to comprise determining a location of the client device responsive to the input that selects the icon; selecting a set of menu options from among a plurality of menu options based on the location of the client device; and causing display of a menu element that includes a display of the set of menu options. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience.
As to dependent claim 3, Allen teaches the method of claim 1, Allen further teaches wherein the media comprises image data (“the media content 1806 (e.g., user 1816 takes a picture)” paragraph 0092).
As to dependent claim 4, Allen teaches the method of claim 1, Allen further teaches wherein the causing display of the presentation of the media at the client device further comprises: receiving a message that includes the media at the client device; and causing display of the presentation of the media based on the message (“A data exchange platform, in an example, includes a messaging application 120 and a media filter application 122, and may provide server-side functionality via a network 104 (e.g., the Internet) to one or more clients. The one or more clients may include users that utilize the network system 100 and, more specifically, the messaging application 120 and the media filter application 122, to exchange data over the network 104.” Paragraph 0052).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen et al. in view of Yokota and Scott et al. (US 2010/0070877 A1, hereinafter Scott).
As to dependent claim 2, Allen teaches the method of claim 1, Allen does not appear to expressly teach wherein the menu element comprises a set of menu options, and wherein the selection of the menu element includes a selection of an option from among the set of menu options, and wherein the adding the event to the calendar associated with the user profile is based on the selection of the option.
Scott teaches wherein the menu element comprises a set of menu options, and wherein the selection of the menu element includes a selection of an option from among the set of menu options (“the electronic communication message is scanned and parsed to identify scheduling elements (e.g., time,, the menu element includes an indication of the location and the date” paragraph 0032), and wherein the adding the event to the calendar associated with the user profile is based on the selection of the option (“a context menu 403 which includes action buttons (e.g., "Add to calendar" button 405)” paragraph 0048).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Allen to comprise wherein the menu element comprises a set of menu options, and wherein the selection of the menu element includes a selection of an option from among the set of menu options, and wherein the adding the event to the calendar associated with the user profile is based on the selection of the option. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide “a completely automatic mode of operation, where the software is configured to convert all messages that contain scheduling information into a calendar event is provided” Scott paragraph 0013).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 are allowed over prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Dalonzo US 20190187880 A1 teaches systems and methods for augmenting content.
Cheng US 20160334972 A1 Content overlay or social network posts.
/MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171