DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Marshall et al. (US 20140221005 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Marshall teaches a method to support position determination (method of Fig. 8) comprising:
receiving a first signal source information for a plurality of signal sources over a period of time (based on an estimated position of an MS 120, map data pertaining to the estimated position of MS 120 may be obtained, [0136]), wherein the first signal source information comprises, for each of the plurality of signal sources, a corresponding signal source position information, a corresponding signal blockage probability information, a corresponding signal source observation position, and a timestamp indicating a time of observation (the maps may comprise information and/or layers pertaining to absolute signal strength, observed relative signal strength, observed long multipath, observed short multipath, observed body blockage, likelihood of line of sight, likelihood of long multipath, likelihood of short multipath, observed visibility, and timing/muting pattern information for antennas in an area around MS, [0136]);
generating at least one set of signal source information corresponding to at least one signal source in the plurality of signal sources by aggregating the first signal source information corresponding to the at least one signal source (aggregating each measurement set in the subset with stored BSA data for the corresponding location in the BSA data, [0175]); and
updating Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information with the at least one set of signal source information (a stored Base Station Almanac (BSA) data for the antenna may be updated by aggregating a subset of the plurality of the measurement sets with stored BSA data for the antenna based, at least in part, on the corresponding measurement location estimate and the measurement location uncertainty estimate associated with each measurement set in the subset, [0175]).
Regarding claim 2, Marshall teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: providing the updated WAP almanac information to one or more user equipments (UEs) as location assistance information (One or more of the map layers may be sent to the MS 120 based, in part, on the capabilities of MS 120 and/or the information requested by MS 120 and/or information available to server 150. In some embodiments, the map layers may comprise spatially variable FLC values and/or OTDOA assistance data, [0137]).
Regarding claim 3, Marshall teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a first user equipment (UE) position information, wherein the first UE position information comprises a probability density function of UE position (For example, a probability density function (pdf) may be used to estimate particle likelihood based upon the agreement of the observed measurements with what would be expected at the particle position. This agreement may be in the form of a comparison of observed minus predicted range measurements and/or signal strengths, or it may take into account other factors, such as contextual clues. For example, if contextual clues point to the fact that the user is in a quiet location when a lot of noise would be expected, that particle likelihood might be reduced, [0146]); and determining a set of visible signal sources including virtual signal sources based on: the first UE position information and the updated WAP almanac information (the measurement set and/or the position and position uncertainty estimate may also be reported to a server such as a BSA server, which may aggregate the measurements, position and uncertainty estimate provided by MS 120 with stored measurements and update one or more maps based on the updated aggregated data, [0148]).
Regarding claim 4, Marshall teaches the method of claim 3, wherein first UE position information is received as part of a location assistance request from a user equipment (UE) (the spatially variable FLC values may be provided as a map layer in location assistance data provided to and/or requested by MS 120, [0066]), the method further comprising: providing, in response to the location assistance request, location assistance information to the UE, wherein the location assistance information comprises the set of visible signal sources (the spatially variable FLC values may be provided as a map layer in location assistance data provided to and/or requested by MS 120, [0066]).
Regarding claim 5, Marshall teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed by one or more of: a location server; a user equipment (UE); or a combination thereof (method 800 may be performed by one or more servers 150, [0135]).
Regarding claim 7, Marshall teaches an entity in a wireless network (server 150 of Figs. 1 and 12) configured to support position determination comprising:
an external interface (communication interface 1290) configured to communicate with entities in the wireless network;
at least one memory (memory 1254); and
at least one processor (processing unit 1252) coupled to the external interface and the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to:
receive a first signal source information for a plurality of signal sources over a period of time (based on an estimated position of an MS 120, map data pertaining to the estimated position of MS 120 may be obtained, [0136]), wherein the first signal source information comprises, for each of the plurality of signal sources, a corresponding signal source position information, a corresponding signal blockage probability information, a corresponding signal source observation position, and a timestamp indicating a time of observation (the maps may comprise information and/or layers pertaining to absolute signal strength, observed relative signal strength, observed long multipath, observed short multipath, observed body blockage, likelihood of line of sight, likelihood of long multipath, likelihood of short multipath, observed visibility, and timing/muting pattern information for antennas in an area around MS, [0136]);
generate at least one set of signal source information corresponding to at least one signal source in the plurality of signal sources by aggregating the first signal source information corresponding to the at least one signal source (aggregating each measurement set in the subset with stored BSA data for the corresponding location in the BSA data, [0175]); and
update Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information with the at least one set of signal source information (a stored Base Station Almanac (BSA) data for the antenna may be updated by aggregating a subset of the plurality of the measurement sets with stored BSA data for the antenna based, at least in part, on the corresponding measurement location estimate and the measurement location uncertainty estimate associated with each measurement set in the subset, [0175])..
Regarding claim 8, Marshall teaches the entity of claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: provide the updated WAP almanac information to one or more user equipments (UEs) as location assistance information (One or more of the map layers may be sent to the MS 120 based, in part, on the capabilities of MS 120 and/or the information requested by MS 120 and/or information available to server 150. In some embodiments, the map layers may comprise spatially variable FLC values and/or OTDOA assistance data, [0137]).
Regarding claim 9, Marshall teaches the entity of claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a first user equipment (UE) position information, wherein the first UE position information comprises a probability density function of UE position (For example, a probability density function (pdf) may be used to estimate particle likelihood based upon the agreement of the observed measurements with what would be expected at the particle position. This agreement may be in the form of a comparison of observed minus predicted range measurements and/or signal strengths, or it may take into account other factors, such as contextual clues. For example, if contextual clues point to the fact that the user is in a quiet location when a lot of noise would be expected, that particle likelihood might be reduced, [0146]); and determine a set of visible signal sources including virtual signal sources based on: the first UE position information and the updated WAP almanac information (the measurement set and/or the position and position uncertainty estimate may also be reported to a server such as a BSA server, which may aggregate the measurements, position and uncertainty estimate provided by MS 120 with stored measurements and update one or more maps based on the updated aggregated data, [0148]).
Regarding claim 10, Marshall teaches the entity of claim 9, wherein first UE position information is received as part of a location assistance request from a user equipment (UE), the at least one processor is further configured to: provide, in response to the location assistance request (the spatially variable FLC values may be provided as a map layer in location assistance data provided to and/or requested by MS 120, [0066]), location assistance information to the UE, wherein the location assistance information comprises the set of visible signal sources (the spatially variable FLC values may be provided as a map layer in location assistance data provided to and/or requested by MS 120, [0066]).
Regarding claim 11, Marshall teaches the entity of claim 7, wherein the entity is one of: a location server; or a user equipment (UE) (method 800 may be performed by one or more servers 150, [0135]).
Regarding claim 13, Marshall teaches a non-transitory storage medium including program code stored thereon (server 150 of Figs. 1 and 12), the program code is operable to configure at least one processor in an entity in a wireless network to support position determination (), the program code comprising instructions to:
receive a first signal source information for a plurality of signal sources over a period of time (based on an estimated position of an MS 120, map data pertaining to the estimated position of MS 120 may be obtained, [0136]), wherein the first signal source information comprises, for each of the plurality of signal sources, a corresponding signal source position information, a corresponding signal blockage probability information, a corresponding signal source observation position, and a timestamp indicating a time of observation (the maps may comprise information and/or layers pertaining to absolute signal strength, observed relative signal strength, observed long multipath, observed short multipath, observed body blockage, likelihood of line of sight, likelihood of long multipath, likelihood of short multipath, observed visibility, and timing/muting pattern information for antennas in an area around MS, [0136]);
generate at least one set of signal source information corresponding to at least one signal source in the plurality of signal sources by aggregating the first signal source information corresponding to the at least one signal source (aggregating each measurement set in the subset with stored BSA data for the corresponding location in the BSA data, [0175]); and
update Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information with the at least one set of signal source information (a stored Base Station Almanac (BSA) data for the antenna may be updated by aggregating a subset of the plurality of the measurement sets with stored BSA data for the antenna based, at least in part, on the corresponding measurement location estimate and the measurement location uncertainty estimate associated with each measurement set in the subset, [0175]).
Regarding claim 14, Marshall teaches the non-transitory storage medium of claim 13, wherein the program code further comprises instructions to: provide the updated WAP almanac information to one or more user equipments (UEs) as location assistance information (One or more of the map layers may be sent to the MS 120 based, in part, on the capabilities of MS 120 and/or the information requested by MS 120 and/or information available to server 150. In some embodiments, the map layers may comprise spatially variable FLC values and/or OTDOA assistance data, [0137]).
Regarding claim 15, Marshall teaches the non-transitory storage medium of claim 13, wherein the program code further comprises instructions to: receive a first user equipment (UE) position information, wherein the first UE position information comprises a probability density function of UE position (For example, a probability density function (pdf) may be used to estimate particle likelihood based upon the agreement of the observed measurements with what would be expected at the particle position. This agreement may be in the form of a comparison of observed minus predicted range measurements and/or signal strengths, or it may take into account other factors, such as contextual clues. For example, if contextual clues point to the fact that the user is in a quiet location when a lot of noise would be expected, that particle likelihood might be reduced, [0146]); and determine a set of visible signal sources including virtual signal sources based on: the first UE position information and the updated WAP almanac information (the measurement set and/or the position and position uncertainty estimate may also be reported to a server such as a BSA server, which may aggregate the measurements, position and uncertainty estimate provided by MS 120 with stored measurements and update one or more maps based on the updated aggregated data, [0148]).
Regarding claim 16, Marshall teaches the non-transitory storage medium of claim 15, wherein first UE position information is received as part of a location assistance request from a user equipment (UE) (the spatially variable FLC values may be provided as a map layer in location assistance data provided to and/or requested by MS 120, [0066]), the program code further comprises instructions to: provide, in response to the location assistance request, location assistance information to the UE, wherein the location assistance information comprises the set of visible signal sources (the spatially variable FLC values may be provided as a map layer in location assistance data provided to and/or requested by MS 120, [0066]).
Regarding claim 17, Marshall teaches the non-transitory storage medium of claim 13, wherein the entity is one of : a location server; or a user equipment (UE) (method 800 may be performed by one or more servers 150, [0135]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall et al. (US 20140221005 A1) in view of Modarres et al. (US 20200169336 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Marshall teaches the method of claim 5.
However, Marshall does not teach wherein the location server forms part of a 5G Core Network (5GCN) and comprises a Location Management Function (LMF).
In an analogous art, Modarres teaches wherein the location server forms part of a 5G Core Network (5GCN) and comprises a Location Management Function (LMF) (Positioning in New Radio (NR) is to be supported by the architecture shown in FIG. 3. Location Management Function (LMF) is the location server in NR, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning of Marshall with the positioning in New Radio of Modarres to provide a method and a system to improve the positioning accuracy and reduce the network overhead as suggested, Modarres [0019].
Regarding claim 12, Marshall teaches the entity of claim 11.
However, Marshall does not teach wherein the location server forms part of a 5G Core Network (5GCN) and comprises a Location Management Function (LMF).
In an analogous art, Modarres teaches wherein the location server forms part of a 5G Core Network (5GCN) and comprises a Location Management Function (LMF) (Positioning in New Radio (NR) is to be supported by the architecture shown in FIG. 3. Location Management Function (LMF) is the location server in NR, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning of Marshall with the positioning in New Radio of Modarres to provide a method and a system to improve the positioning accuracy and reduce the network overhead as suggested, Modarres [0019].
Regarding claim 18, Marshall teaches the non-transitory storage medium of claim 17.
However, Marshall does not teach wherein the location server forms part of a 5G Core Network (5GCN) and comprises a Location Management Function (LMF).
In an analogous art, Modarres teaches wherein the location server forms part of a 5G Core Network (5GCN) and comprises a Location Management Function (LMF) (Positioning in New Radio (NR) is to be supported by the architecture shown in FIG. 3. Location Management Function (LMF) is the location server in NR, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning of Marshall with the positioning in New Radio of Modarres to provide a method and a system to improve the positioning accuracy and reduce the network overhead as suggested, Modarres [0019].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gunnarsson et al. (US 20200037145 A1): A method by a first node (101) for handling assistance data about a location of a second node (102) is described herein. The first and the second node (102) operate in a wireless communications network (100). The first node (101) determines (305) a first set of the assistance data to be provided to the second node (102) via unicast, and a second set of the assistance data to be provided via broadcast.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643