DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This Final Rejection is in response to the amendment submitted on 3/19/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 3/19/2026, with respect to interpretation of Claims 1-18 under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claims are now directed to a practical application and the rejection pertaining to 35 USC 101 has been withdrawn.
Examiner notes wherein the prior art reference US 2018/0143645 ("Lee et al") was used and properly cited in the last office action, was not provided in the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited form, and now has been added for the sake of clarity on the record. It should also be noted that US 2018/0143645 ("Lee et al") was not used as prior art for this final office action.
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 3/19/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-18 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection provided below, which was necessitated based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims, which changed the scope of the claims. Examiner notes wherein Applicant’s arguments are directed towards the newly amended claim limitation(s), which are addressed by the newly found prior art, as indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 11-13, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Hayashi (US 20190143528 A1)
Claim 1:
Hayashi teaches the following limitations:
A robot comprising: a head; a torso; (Hayashi - [0053] The main body frame 310 is formed of a resin material, and includes a head portion frame 316 and a trunk portion frame 318. The head portion frame 316 is of a hollow hemispherical form, and forms a head portion framework of the robot 100. The trunk portion frame 318 is of a stepped cylindrical form, and forms a trunk portion framework of the robot 100. …) a motor operably coupled to the head to drive the head to rotate relative to the torso; (Hayashi - [0054] Three shafts, those being a yaw shaft 320, a pitch shaft 322, and a roll shaft 324, and an actuator 326 for driving each shaft so as to rotate, are provided in the head portion frame 316. The actuator 326 includes a multiple of servo motors for driving each shaft individually. The yaw shaft 320 is driven for a head shaking action, the pitch shaft 322 is driven for a nodding action, and the roll shaft 324 is driven for a head tilting action.) a speaker; (Hayashi -[0043] … Also, a speaker is incorporated, and the robot 100 is also capable of simple speech. ; [0206] The robot 100 includes a speech output unit 134. The speech output unit 134 outputs speech. The robot 100 in this embodiment can output wordless speech like an animal's cry, such as a yawn, a shriek, or a purr, using the speech output unit 134. ) a memory in which an action is registered in advance by a user, (Hayashi - [0066] The emotion map 116 is a data table stored in the server 200. The robot 100 selects an action in accordance with the emotion map 116. the action being an action that the robot is caused to execute as a response to a predetermined external stimulus, and the action including a plurality of action elements; and (Hayashi - [0035] The robot 100 in this embodiment is an autonomously acting robot that determines an action or gesture based on an external environment and an internal state. The external environment is recognized using various kinds of sensor, such as a camera or a thermosensor. …) at least one processor which selectively controls the robot to execute the action in one of a first mode and a second mode, (Hayashi - [0066] The emotion map 116 is a data table stored in the server 200. The robot 100 selects an action in accordance with the emotion map 116. The emotion map 116 shown in FIG. 5 shows a magnitude of an emotional attachment or aversion to a place of the robot 100. … ; [0133] The familiarity managing unit 220 of the server 200 changes the familiarity toward a user in accordance with a responsive action recognized by the recognizing unit 156. Essentially, the familiarity toward a user who carries out a pleasant action increases, while the familiarity toward a user who carries out an unpleasant action decreases.) wherein: the at least one processor: in the first mode, controls the robot to correctly execute the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user; and (Hayashi - … Meanwhile, an affection expression level estimates an emotion of an owner from a responsive action, particularly a contact action, with respect to the robot 100. The operation control unit 150 selects various motions in accordance with the affection expression level. Normally, it is often the case that a contact action with a high affection expression level is a pleasant action.) in the second mode, controls the robot to execute a modified action that is based on the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user by changing, in correspondence with an operational state of the robot, a number of action elements to be executed correctly from among the action elements of the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user, and (Hayashi – [0173] … When an unpleasant action is detected, the familiarity managing unit 220 reduces familiarity with respect to the user. Also, when an unpleasant action continues, and when an unpleasant action such as violence is recognized, the operation control unit 150 issues an instruction for an action of moving away from the user. …; [0145] …When the effect of the action maps is removed, or when in an internal state in which the effect of the action maps is small, the robot 100 essentially attempts to approach a person with high familiarity, and attempts to move away from a person with low familiarity. ; [0240] … In order to escape from the continuous touch, the operation control unit 150 may cause the robot 100 to move in a direction away from the user. When the head is touched, the operation control unit 150 may execute a motion of disliking the touch by causing the neck to move. …) the action is expressed by at least one of (i) driving the motor such that the head rotates relative to the torso and (Hayashi – [0240] … A refusal motion may be defined as a combination of unit motions such as, for example, staring at the owner, emitting a voice, repeatedly moving the arm 106, shaking the head left and right, repeatedly moving the front wheel 102 in and out, …) (ii) outputting a sound from the speaker. (Hayashi -[0043] … Also, a speaker is incorporated, and the robot 100 is also capable of simple speech. ; [0206] The robot 100 includes a speech output unit 134. The speech output unit 134 outputs speech. The robot 100 in this embodiment can output wordless speech like an animal's cry, such as a yawn, a shriek, or a purr, using the speech output unit 134. ; [0239] … outputting a shrieking sound, … and the like, are conceivable as a motion expressing fear.)
Examiner’s Note:
Examiner notes wherein that the following opposite states of the robot referenced in Hayashi correspond to a first mode and a second mode of the applicant’s specification in which machine behavior is modified based on its current state.
Familiar and Unfamiliar correspond to First Mode and Second Mode
Pleasant and Unpleasant correspond to First Mode and Second Mode
Attachment and Aversion correspond to First Mode and Second Mode
Claim 5:
Hayashi teaches the following limitations:
The robot according to claim 1, wherein one of the plurality of action elements is one of a rotation direction, a rotation angle, a rotation speed, and a rotation start timing of the head relative to the torso.
(Hayashi - [0053] … The head portion frame 316 is attached to an upper end portion of the trunk portion frame 318 so as to be relatively displaceable. ; [0054] Three shafts, those being a yaw shaft 320, a pitch shaft 322, and a roll shaft 324, and an actuator 326 for driving each shaft so as to rotate, are provided in the head portion frame 316. The actuator 326 includes a multiple of servo motors for driving each shaft individually. The yaw shaft 320 is driven for a head shaking action, the pitch shaft 322 is driven for a nodding action, and the roll shaft 324 is driven for a head tilting action. ; [0243] … Meanwhile, when the robot 100 is touched when the front wheel 102 is housed, the operation control unit 150 may execute a motion of orienting the head toward the user, without moving the body 104.)
Claim 6:
Hayashi teaches the following limitations:
The robot according to claim 1, wherein one of the plurality of action elements is one of a content of a sound, an output timing of the sound, and a volume of the sound to be output from the speaker.
(Hayashi -[0043] … Also, a speaker is incorporated, and the robot 100 is also capable of simple speech. ; [0206] The robot 100 includes a speech output unit 134. The speech output unit 134 outputs speech. The robot 100 in this embodiment can output wordless speech like an animal's cry, such as a yawn, a shriek, or a purr, using the speech output unit 134. ; [0231] … At this time, the speech control unit 154 may regularly output sleeping noises at a low volume. When a further predetermined time elapses after starting the sleeping expression, the operation control unit 150 may save power by changing the processor 122 to a suspended state. … )
Claim 7:
Hayashi teaches the following limitations:
A control method executed by a robot including a head, a torso, (Hayashi - [0053] The main body frame 310 is formed of a resin material, and includes a head portion frame 316 and a trunk portion frame 318. The head portion frame 316 is of a hollow hemispherical form, and forms a head portion framework of the robot 100. The trunk portion frame 318 is of a stepped cylindrical form, and forms a trunk portion framework of the robot 100. …) a motor operably coupled to the head to drive the head to rotate relative to the torso, (Hayashi - [0054] Three shafts, those being a yaw shaft 320, a pitch shaft 322, and a roll shaft 324, and an actuator 326 for driving each shaft so as to rotate, are provided in the head portion frame 316. The actuator 326 includes a multiple of servo motors for driving each shaft individually. The yaw shaft 320 is driven for a head shaking action, the pitch shaft 322 is driven for a nodding action, and the roll shaft 324 is driven for a head tilting action.) a speaker, and (Hayashi -[0043] … Also, a speaker is incorporated, and the robot 100 is also capable of simple speech. ; [0206] The robot 100 includes a speech output unit 134. The speech output unit 134 outputs speech. The robot 100 in this embodiment can output wordless speech like an animal's cry, such as a yawn, a shriek, or a purr, using the speech output unit 134. ) a memory in which an action is registered in advance by a user, (Hayashi - [0066] The emotion map 116 is a data table stored in the server 200. The robot 100 selects an action in accordance with the emotion map 116.) the action being an action that the robot is caused to execute as a response to a predetermined external stimulus, the action including a plurality of action elements, and (Hayashi - [0035] The robot 100 in this embodiment is an autonomously acting robot that determines an action or gesture based on an external environment and an internal state. The external environment is recognized using various kinds of sensor, such as a camera or a thermosensor. …) the method comprising: performing control processing to selectively control the robot to execute the action in one of a first mode and a second mode, (Hayashi - [0066] The emotion map 116 is a data table stored in the server 200. The robot 100 selects an action in accordance with the emotion map 116. The emotion map 116 shown in FIG. 5 shows a magnitude of an emotional attachment or aversion to a place of the robot 100. … ; [0133] The familiarity managing unit 220 of the server 200 changes the familiarity toward a user in accordance with a responsive action recognized by the recognizing unit 156. Essentially, the familiarity toward a user who carries out a pleasant action increases, while the familiarity toward a user who carries out an unpleasant action decreases.) wherein: in the first mode, the control processing controls the robot to correctly execute the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user, (Hayashi - … Meanwhile, an affection expression level estimates an emotion of an owner from a responsive action, particularly a contact action, with respect to the robot 100. The operation control unit 150 selects various motions in accordance with the affection expression level. Normally, it is often the case that a contact action with a high affection expression level is a pleasant action.) in the second mode, the control processing controls the robot to execute a modified action that is based on the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user by changing, in correspondence with an operational state of the robot, a number of action elements to be executed correctly from among the action elements of the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user, and (Hayashi – [0173] … When an unpleasant action is detected, the familiarity managing unit 220 reduces familiarity with respect to the user. Also, when an unpleasant action continues, and when an unpleasant action such as violence is recognized, the operation control unit 150 issues an instruction for an action of moving away from the user. …; [0145] …When the effect of the action maps is removed, or when in an internal state in which the effect of the action maps is small, the robot 100 essentially attempts to approach a person with high familiarity, and attempts to move away from a person with low familiarity. ; [0240] … In order to escape from the continuous touch, the operation control unit 150 may cause the robot 100 to move in a direction away from the user. When the head is touched, the operation control unit 150 may execute a motion of disliking the touch by causing the neck to move. …) the action is expressed by at least one of (i) driving the motor such that the head rotates relative to the torso and (Hayashi – [0240] … A refusal motion may be defined as a combination of unit motions such as, for example, staring at the owner, emitting a voice, repeatedly moving the arm 106, shaking the head left and right, repeatedly moving the front wheel 102 in and out, …) (ii) outputting a sound from the speaker. (Hayashi -[0043] … Also, a speaker is incorporated, and the robot 100 is also capable of simple speech. ; [0206] The robot 100 includes a speech output unit 134. The speech output unit 134 outputs speech. The robot 100 in this embodiment can output wordless speech like an animal's cry, such as a yawn, a shriek, or a purr, using the speech output unit 134. ; [0239] … outputting a shrieking sound, … and the like, are conceivable as a motion expressing fear.)
Examiner’s Note:
Examiner notes wherein that the following opposite states of the robot referenced in Hayashi correspond to a first mode and a second mode of the applicant’s specification in which machine behavior is modified based on its current state.
Familiar and Unfamiliar correspond to First Mode and Second Mode
Pleasant and Unpleasant correspond to First Mode and Second Mode
Attachment and Aversion correspond to First Mode and Second Mode
Claim 11:
Hayashi teaches the following limitations:
The control method according to claim 7, wherein one of the plurality of action elements is one of a rotation direction, a rotation angle, a rotation speed, and a rotation start timing of the head relative to the torso.
(Hayashi - [0053] … The head portion frame 316 is attached to an upper end portion of the trunk portion frame 318 so as to be relatively displaceable. ; [0054] Three shafts, those being a yaw shaft 320, a pitch shaft 322, and a roll shaft 324, and an actuator 326 for driving each shaft so as to rotate, are provided in the head portion frame 316. The actuator 326 includes a multiple of servo motors for driving each shaft individually. The yaw shaft 320 is driven for a head shaking action, the pitch shaft 322 is driven for a nodding action, and the roll shaft 324 is driven for a head tilting action. ; [0243] … Meanwhile, when the robot 100 is touched when the front wheel 102 is housed, the operation control unit 150 may execute a motion of orienting the head toward the user, without moving the body 104.)
Claim 12:
Hayashi teaches the following limitations:
The control method according to claim 7, wherein one of the plurality of action elements is one of a content of a sound, an output timing of the sound, and a volume of the sound to be output from the speaker.
(Hayashi -[0043] … Also, a speaker is incorporated, and the robot 100 is also capable of simple speech. ; [0206] The robot 100 includes a speech output unit 134. The speech output unit 134 outputs speech. The robot 100 in this embodiment can output wordless speech like an animal's cry, such as a yawn, a shriek, or a purr, using the speech output unit 134. ; [0231] … At this time, the speech control unit 154 may regularly output sleeping noises at a low volume. When a further predetermined time elapses after starting the sleeping expression, the operation control unit 150 may save power by changing the processor 122 to a suspended state. … )
Claim 13:
Hayashi teaches the following limitations:
A non-transitory recording medium storing a program executable by a robot including a head, a torso, (Hayashi - [0053] The main body frame 310 is formed of a resin material, and includes a head portion frame 316 and a trunk portion frame 318. The head portion frame 316 is of a hollow hemispherical form, and forms a head portion framework of the robot 100. The trunk portion frame 318 is of a stepped cylindrical form, and forms a trunk portion framework of the robot 100. …) a motor operably coupled to the head to drive the head to rotate relative to the torso, (Hayashi - [0054] Three shafts, those being a yaw shaft 320, a pitch shaft 322, and a roll shaft 324, and an actuator 326 for driving each shaft so as to rotate, are provided in the head portion frame 316. The actuator 326 includes a multiple of servo motors for driving each shaft individually. The yaw shaft 320 is driven for a head shaking action, the pitch shaft 322 is driven for a nodding action, and the roll shaft 324 is driven for a head tilting action.) a speaker, and (Hayashi -[0043] … Also, a speaker is incorporated, and the robot 100 is also capable of simple speech. ; [0206] The robot 100 includes a speech output unit 134. The speech output unit 134 outputs speech. The robot 100 in this embodiment can output wordless speech like an animal's cry, such as a yawn, a shriek, or a purr, using the speech output unit 134. ) a memory in which an action is registered in advance by a user, (Hayashi - [0066] The emotion map 116 is a data table stored in the server 200. The robot 100 selects an action in accordance with the emotion map 116.) the action being an action that the robot is caused to execute as a response to a predetermined external stimulus, and the action including a plurality of action elements, (Hayashi - [0035] The robot 100 in this embodiment is an autonomously acting robot that determines an action or gesture based on an external environment and an internal state. The external environment is recognized using various kinds of sensor, such as a camera or a thermosensor. …) the program being executable to control the robot to execute processes comprising: a control process of selectively controlling the robot to execute the action in one of a first mode and a second mode, (Hayashi - [0066] The emotion map 116 is a data table stored in the server 200. The robot 100 selects an action in accordance with the emotion map 116. The emotion map 116 shown in FIG. 5 shows a magnitude of an emotional attachment or aversion to a place of the robot 100. … ; [0133] The familiarity managing unit 220 of the server 200 changes the familiarity toward a user in accordance with a responsive action recognized by the recognizing unit 156. Essentially, the familiarity toward a user who carries out a pleasant action increases, while the familiarity toward a user who carries out an unpleasant action decreases.) wherein: in the first mode, the control process controls the robot to correctly execute the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user, (Hayashi - … Meanwhile, an affection expression level estimates an emotion of an owner from a responsive action, particularly a contact action, with respect to the robot 100. The operation control unit 150 selects various motions in accordance with the affection expression level. Normally, it is often the case that a contact action with a high affection expression level is a pleasant action.) in the second mode, the control process controls the robot to execute a modified action that is based on the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user by changing, in correspondence with an operational state of the robot, a number of action elements to be executed correctly from among the action elements of the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user, and (Hayashi – [0173] … When an unpleasant action is detected, the familiarity managing unit 220 reduces familiarity with respect to the user. Also, when an unpleasant action continues, and when an unpleasant action such as violence is recognized, the operation control unit 150 issues an instruction for an action of moving away from the user. …; [0145] …When the effect of the action maps is removed, or when in an internal state in which the effect of the action maps is small, the robot 100 essentially attempts to approach a person with high familiarity, and attempts to move away from a person with low familiarity. ; [0240] … In order to escape from the continuous touch, the operation control unit 150 may cause the robot 100 to move in a direction away from the user. When the head is touched, the operation control unit 150 may execute a motion of disliking the touch by causing the neck to move. …) the action is expressed by at least one of (i) driving the motor such that the head rotates relative to the torso and (Hayashi – [0240] … A refusal motion may be defined as a combination of unit motions such as, for example, staring at the owner, emitting a voice, repeatedly moving the arm 106, shaking the head left and right, repeatedly moving the front wheel 102 in and out, …) (ii) outputting a sound from the speaker. (Hayashi -[0043] … Also, a speaker is incorporated, and the robot 100 is also capable of simple speech. ; [0206] The robot 100 includes a speech output unit 134. The speech output unit 134 outputs speech. The robot 100 in this embodiment can output wordless speech like an animal's cry, such as a yawn, a shriek, or a purr, using the speech output unit 134. ; [0239] … outputting a shrieking sound, … and the like, are conceivable as a motion expressing fear.)
Examiner’s Note:
Examiner notes wherein that the following opposite states of the robot referenced in Hayashi correspond to a first mode and a second mode of the applicant’s specification in which machine behavior is modified based on its current state.
Familiar and Unfamiliar correspond to First Mode and Second Mode
Pleasant and Unpleasant correspond to First Mode and Second Mode
Attachment and Aversion correspond to First Mode and Second Mode
Claim 17:
Hayashi teaches the following limitations:
The non-transitory recording medium according to claim 13, wherein one of the plurality of action elements is one of a rotation direction, a rotation angle, a rotation speed, and a rotation start timing of the head relative to the torso.
(Hayashi - [0053] … The head portion frame 316 is attached to an upper end portion of the trunk portion frame 318 so as to be relatively displaceable. ; [0054] Three shafts, those being a yaw shaft 320, a pitch shaft 322, and a roll shaft 324, and an actuator 326 for driving each shaft so as to rotate, are provided in the head portion frame 316. The actuator 326 includes a multiple of servo motors for driving each shaft individually. The yaw shaft 320 is driven for a head shaking action, the pitch shaft 322 is driven for a nodding action, and the roll shaft 324 is driven for a head tilting action. ; [0243] … Meanwhile, when the robot 100 is touched when the front wheel 102 is housed, the operation control unit 150 may execute a motion of orienting the head toward the user, without moving the body 104.)
Claim 18:
Hayashi teaches the following limitations:
The non-transitory recording medium according to claim 13, wherein one of the plurality of action elements is one of a content of a sound, an output timing of the sound, and a volume of the sound to be output from the speaker.
(Hayashi -[0043] … Also, a speaker is incorporated, and the robot 100 is also capable of simple speech. ; [0206] The robot 100 includes a speech output unit 134. The speech output unit 134 outputs speech. The robot 100 in this embodiment can output wordless speech like an animal's cry, such as a yawn, a shriek, or a purr, using the speech output unit 134. ; [0231] … At this time, the speech control unit 154 may regularly output sleeping noises at a low volume. When a further predetermined time elapses after starting the sleeping expression, the operation control unit 150 may save power by changing the processor 122 to a suspended state. … )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190143528 A1) as modified by Funazukuri (US 20180366121 A1)
Claim 2:
Hayashi does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Funazukuri teaches:
The robot according to claim 1, wherein the operational state of the robot is at least one selected from a pseudo-emotion of the robot expressed by a value of an emotion parameter, a pseudo-personality of the robot expressed by a value of a personality parameter, a battery level of the robot, a current location of the robot, and a current time of the robot.
(Funazukuri - [0074] As described above, the subject emotion is a certain emotion that is associated, in a pseudo manner, with a parameter indicating a state of the robot 100. In the present embodiment, the remaining capacity of the battery 111 is associated with “tired.” That is to say, when the robot 100 expresses only the subject emotion, the robot 100 expresses the more bored facial expression as the remaining capacity of the battery 111 decrease …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi with the ability to match the current robot state with an emotion and/or robot condition (such as battery life) as taught in Funazukuri. Having the ability to match the robot’s state with clearly defined emotions or conditions allows the robot to have a more life-like responses to the user or environment.
Claim 8:
Hayashi does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Funazukuri teaches:
The control method according to claim 7, wherein the operational state of the robot is at least one selected from a pseudo-emotion of the robot expressed by a value of an emotion parameter, a pseudo-personality of the robot expressed by a value of a personality parameter, a battery level of the robot, a current location of the robot, and a current time of the robot.
(Funazukuri - [0074] As described above, the subject emotion is a certain emotion that is associated, in a pseudo manner, with a parameter indicating a state of the robot 100. In the present embodiment, the remaining capacity of the battery 111 is associated with “tired.” That is to say, when the robot 100 expresses only the subject emotion, the robot 100 expresses the more bored facial expression as the remaining capacity of the battery 111 decrease …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi with the ability to match the current robot state with an emotion and/or robot condition (such as battery life) as taught in Funazukuri. Having the ability to match the robot’s state with clearly defined emotions or conditions allows the robot to have a more life-like responses to the user or environment.
Claim 14:
Hayashi does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Funazukuri teaches:
The non-transitory recording medium according to claim 13, wherein the operational state of the robot is at least one selected from a pseudo-emotion of the robot expressed by a value of an emotion parameter, a pseudo-personality of the robot expressed by a value of a personality parameter, a battery level of the robot, a current location of the robot, and a current time of the robot.
(Funazukuri - [0074] As described above, the subject emotion is a certain emotion that is associated, in a pseudo manner, with a parameter indicating a state of the robot 100. In the present embodiment, the remaining capacity of the battery 111 is associated with “tired.” That is to say, when the robot 100 expresses only the subject emotion, the robot 100 expresses the more bored facial expression as the remaining capacity of the battery 111 decrease …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi with the ability to match the current robot state with an emotion and/or robot condition (such as battery life) as taught in Funazukuri. Having the ability to match the robot’s state with clearly defined emotions or conditions allows the robot to have a more life-like responses to the user or environment.
Claims 3, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190143528 A1) as modified by Funazukuri (US 20180366121 A1) in view of Tappeiner (US 20180207541 A1)
Claim 3:
Hayashi in combination with Funazukuri does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Tappeiner teaches:
The robot according to claim 2, wherein the at least one processor changes the number of action elements to be executed correctly from among the action elements of the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user such that the number of action elements increases as the value of the emotion parameter increases.
(Tappeiner – {0173] … In other cases, emotional responses to events may bear consequence on the sequence or execution of tasks whether in process or those planned. ; [0180] Referring now also to FIG. 2, there is shown a table 201 depicting a set of responses and parameters that inform actions at various steps in the process according to a generalized personality type. For instance, a mobile agent 104 fitting the “extroverted positive” personality type exhibits emotional responses that exhibit greater patience, friendlier engagement and is more likely to yield the favored outcome than a mobile agent whose personality profile is “sensitive negative”. ; [see also Figure 2])
Examiner Note:
Figure 2 of Tappeiner shows a table with increasing scores associated with “correct” or positive behaviors, therefore increased values for emotion parameters are associated with an increase in “correct” behaviors.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi and Funazukuri with the ability to associate higher emotion parameter scores with a greater number of positive behaviors as taught in Tappeiner. Having the ability to reward a robot for exhibiting positive emotions and actions provides a more life-like reaction from the robot and encourages robot behaviors that will result in successful actions.
Claim 9:
Hayashi in combination with Funazukuri does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Tappeiner teaches:
The control method according to claim 8, wherein the control processing changes the number of action elements to be executed correctly from among the action elements of the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user such that the number of action elements increases as the value of the emotion parameter increases.
(Tappeiner – {0173] … In other cases, emotional responses to events may bear consequence on the sequence or execution of tasks whether in process or those planned. ; [0180] Referring now also to FIG. 2, there is shown a table 201 depicting a set of responses and parameters that inform actions at various steps in the process according to a generalized personality type. For instance, a mobile agent 104 fitting the “extroverted positive” personality type exhibits emotional responses that exhibit greater patience, friendlier engagement and is more likely to yield the favored outcome than a mobile agent whose personality profile is “sensitive negative”. ; [see also Figure 2])
Examiner Note:
Figure 2 of Tappeiner shows a table with increasing scores associated with “correct” or positive behaviors, therefore increased values for emotion parameters are associated with an increase in “correct” behaviors.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi and Funazukuri with the ability to associate higher emotion parameter scores with a greater number of positive behaviors as taught in Tappeiner. Having the ability to reward a robot for exhibiting positive emotions and actions provides a more life-like reaction from the robot and encourages robot behaviors that will result in successful actions.
Claim 15:
Hayashi in combination with Funazukuri does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Tappeiner teaches:
The non-transitory recording medium according to claim 14, wherein the control process changes the number of action elements to be executed correctly from among the action elements of the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user such that the number of action elements increases as the value of the emotion parameter increases.
(Tappeiner – {0173] … In other cases, emotional responses to events may bear consequence on the sequence or execution of tasks whether in process or those planned. ; [0180] Referring now also to FIG. 2, there is shown a table 201 depicting a set of responses and parameters that inform actions at various steps in the process according to a generalized personality type. For instance, a mobile agent 104 fitting the “extroverted positive” personality type exhibits emotional responses that exhibit greater patience, friendlier engagement and is more likely to yield the favored outcome than a mobile agent whose personality profile is “sensitive negative”. ; [see also Figure 2])
Examiner Note:
Figure 2 of Tappeiner shows a table with increasing scores associated with “correct” or positive behaviors, therefore increased values for emotion parameters are associated with an increase in “correct” behaviors.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi and Funazukuri with the ability to associate higher emotion parameter scores with a greater number of positive behaviors as taught in Tappeiner. Having the ability to reward a robot for exhibiting positive emotions and actions provides a more life-like reaction from the robot and encourages robot behaviors that will result in successful actions.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190143528 A1) as modified by Funazukuri (US 20180366121 A1) in view of Ozaki (JP 2005074593 A)
Claim 4:
Hayashi in combination with Funazukuri does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Ozaki teaches:
The robot according to claim 2, wherein; the value of the personality parameter includes a plurality of personality values that express degrees of mutually different personalities, and (Ozaki – [PDF Translation, Pg. 3 , paragraph 3] In the robot control device and method and the program of the present invention, an external stimulus is detected, a plurality of psychological parameters are changed based on the detected stimulus, and an operation state is determined based on the detected external stimulus. Are transitioned, and an action is selected based on a combination of the transitioned operation state and a plurality of psychological parameters.) the at least one processor changes, based on the personality value of the plurality of personality values for which a value is greatest, the number of action elements to be executed correctly from among the action elements of the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user. (Ozaki – [PDF Translation, Pg. 2 , paragraph 5] The present invention has been made in view of such a situation, and in particular, a psychological parameter and an operating state are changed based on an external stimulus, and an action is determined based on a combination of the operating state and the psychological parameter. This is to make the expression of emotions by the robot more natural. ; [PDF Translation, Pg. 6 , paragraph 3] In step S <b> 3, the psychological parameter generation unit 42 determines whether or not the self-reactive power corresponding to the stimulus is based on the voice recognition result, the pressure detection recognition result, the battery remaining amount recognition result, or the heat recognition result by the state recognition unit 41. The value of the psychological parameter is changed, and the process returns to step S1, and the subsequent processes are repeated. )
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi and Funazukuri with the ability to associate higher personality parameter scores with a greater number of positive behaviors as taught in Ozaki. Having the ability to reward a robot for exhibiting positive personality traits and actions provides a more life-like reaction from the robot and encourages robot behaviors that will result in successful actions.
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 20190143528 A1) as modified by Ozaki (JP 2005074593 A)
Claim 10:
Hayashi does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Ozaki teaches:
The control method according to The control method according to the value of the personality parameter includes a plurality of personality values that express degrees of mutually different personalities, and (Ozaki – [PDF Translation, Pg. 3 , paragraph 3] In the robot control device and method and the program of the present invention, an external stimulus is detected, a plurality of psychological parameters are changed based on the detected stimulus, and an operation state is determined based on the detected external stimulus. Are transitioned, and an action is selected based on a combination of the transitioned operation state and a plurality of psychological parameters.) the control processing changes, based on the personality value of the plurality of personality values for which a value is greatest, the number of action elements to be executed correctly from among the action elements of the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user. (Ozaki – [PDF Translation, Pg. 2 , paragraph 5] The present invention has been made in view of such a situation, and in particular, a psychological parameter and an operating state are changed based on an external stimulus, and an action is determined based on a combination of the operating state and the psychological parameter. This is to make the expression of emotions by the robot more natural. ; [PDF Translation, Pg. 6 , paragraph 3] In step S <b> 3, the psychological parameter generation unit 42 determines whether or not the self-reactive power corresponding to the stimulus is based on the voice recognition result, the pressure detection recognition result, the battery remaining amount recognition result, or the heat recognition result by the state recognition unit 41. The value of the psychological parameter is changed, and the process returns to step S1, and the subsequent processes are repeated. )
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi with the ability to associate higher personality parameter scores with a greater number of positive behaviors as taught in Ozaki. Having the ability to reward a robot for exhibiting positive personality traits and actions provides a more life-like reaction from the robot and encourages robot behaviors that will result in successful actions.
Claim 16:
Hayashi does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Ozaki teaches:
The non-transitory recording medium according to The non-transitory recording medium according to the value of the personality parameter includes a plurality of personality values that express degrees of mutually different personalities, and (Ozaki – [PDF Translation, Pg. 3 , paragraph 3] In the robot control device and method and the program of the present invention, an external stimulus is detected, a plurality of psychological parameters are changed based on the detected stimulus, and an operation state is determined based on the detected external stimulus. Are transitioned, and an action is selected based on a combination of the transitioned operation state and a plurality of psychological parameters.) the control process changes, based on the personality value of the plurality of personality values for which a value is greatest, the number of action elements to be executed correctly from among the action elements of the action as registered in the memory in advance by the user. (Ozaki – [PDF Translation, Pg. 2 , paragraph 5] The present invention has been made in view of such a situation, and in particular, a psychological parameter and an operating state are changed based on an external stimulus, and an action is determined based on a combination of the operating state and the psychological parameter. This is to make the expression of emotions by the robot more natural. ; [PDF Translation, Pg. 6 , paragraph 3] In step S <b> 3, the psychological parameter generation unit 42 determines whether or not the self-reactive power corresponding to the stimulus is based on the voice recognition result, the pressure detection recognition result, the battery remaining amount recognition result, or the heat recognition result by the state recognition unit 41. The value of the psychological parameter is changed, and the process returns to step S1, and the subsequent processes are repeated.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi with the ability to associate higher personality parameter scores with a greater number of positive behaviors as taught in Ozaki. Having the ability to reward a robot for exhibiting positive personality traits and actions provides a more life-like reaction from the robot and encourages robot behaviors that will result in successful actions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure or directed to the state of the art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Toussaint (WO 2021037776 A1) describes a robot (10) comprising: a navigation unit, which is designed to determine a suitable movement route (20) of the robot (10) from a starting point A to a destination point B, a state-determining unit, which is designed to determine an internal state of the robot (10), and a behavior control unit, which is designed to adapt the movement route (20) and/or the movement dynamics of the robot (10) on the basis of the determined internal state of the robot (10) in order to communicate the internal state of the robot to a user.
Sabe (JP 2001154707 A) describes a robot device capable of an amusement characteristic and a control method for the robot device. The robot device having a feeling model consisting of plural kinds of feelings and capable of generating action corresponding to a feeling selected by a prescribed condition out of respective feelings of the feeling model and a method for controlling the robot device, the feeling mode is formed from a probability state transition model and a feeling is selected by the prescribed condition as probability on the basis of the probability state transition model.
Chen (WO 2024148737 A1) describes a robot perceiving a user and then determining the error signal in light of the intention set obtained on the basis of the personality and emotion of the interactive robot itself. Thereby adjusting the affective state of the interactive robot according to the error signal and highly simulating the human affective processes.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN LINDSAY OSTROW/
Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/JONATHAN L SAMPLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657