Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 11/10/25 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 and 21-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11219270 or 11540592 or 12114726. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all claim footwear comprising an upper, strobel board, first midsole layer, second midsole layer, an outsole, a plate, and varying thicknesses of the midsole layers with specifics as claimed.
Claim Interpretation
In reference to the phrase “substantially flat”, in view of applicants arguments and applicants’ specification page 16 which states “the Strobel board comprises a substantially flat piece of flexible, relatively inelastic material…or the like configured to provide a barrier… The Strobel board may be cut, machined, or otherwise shaped to obtain its final form.”, this phrase “substantially flat” has been considered to be referring to the material of the element prior to shaping and is essentially a product by process limitation, i.e. the Strobel/substantially flat element is “an element which is capable of being made from a flat material”. It is noted that the finished product clearly shows the Strobel element as being shaped/curved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12, 15, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bruce (2018/0132564).
Bruce shows An article of footwear comprising:
an upper (100) coupled to a substantially flat element (220D and 300 which are considered to form a “flat element” inasmuch as applicant has disclosed such in that 220D and 300 are clearly capable of being formed from a flat material), wherein a lower edge of the upper is directly attached to the substantially flat element and directly contacts at least a peripheral edge of the substantially flat element, such that the upper and the substantially flat element collectively define a foot compartment of the article of footwear, the foot compartment configured to contain a foot of a wearer (see figures 18 and 19);
an internal midsole layer (270) positioned within the foot compartment (see figures 18 and 19), a bottom surface of the internal midsole layer in direct contact with a top surface of the substantially flat element (see figure 19); and
an external midsole layer (250d) positioned outside of the foot compartment, a top surface of the external midsole layer coupled to a bottom surface of the substantially flat element (see figure 19), a full extent of the external midsole layer extending from a forefoot region of the article of footwear (as shown in figure 18 the external midsole layer 250d extends the complete length of the footwear);
wherein the substantially flat element is configured to provide a barrier between the internal midsole layer and the external midsole layer (as shown in figure 19 the internal midsole 270 is completely separated from the external midsole 250d by element 220D and 300), and
wherein a thickness of the internal midsole layer varies along a length of the article of footwear (see figure 18 as the heel part of the internal midsole is clearly thinner than other areas and therefore varies) as claimed.
In reference to claims 2-7, see figures 18 and 19.
In reference to claim 8, the substantially flat element is considered to be a Strobel board.
In reference to claims 10 and 11, see figure 19 which clearly shows the external midsole layer (250d) with a thicker heel.
In reference to claim 12, see paragraph [0105] lines 29-32 which teaches providing a sockliner.
In reference to claim 15, see outsole element 210d.
In reference to claims 21-23, see heel portion of 270 which is considered a first point and a point located forward of that point as a second point and the internal and external midsole is curved as shown in figures 18 and 19 between the points as noted below in marked up figure.
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-15, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farina (2017/0095033).
Farina shows An article of footwear comprising:
an upper (100) coupled to a substantially flat element (220a-h) which is considered to form a “flat element” inasmuch as applicant has disclosed such), wherein a lower edge of the upper is directly attached to the substantially flat element and directly contacts at least a peripheral edge of the substantially flat element, such that the upper and the substantially flat element collectively define a foot compartment of the article of footwear, the foot compartment configured to contain a foot of a wearer (see figures 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, 32, 34, 36, and/or 39);
an internal midsole layer (260) positioned within the foot compartment (see figures 18 and 19), a bottom surface of the internal midsole layer in direct contact with a top surface of the substantially flat element (see figures 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, 32, 34, 36, and/or 39); and
an external midsole layer (250a-e) positioned outside of the foot compartment, a top surface of the external midsole layer coupled to a bottom surface of the substantially flat element (see figures 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, 32, 34, 36, and/or 39) a full extent of the external midsole layer extending from a forefoot region of the article of footwear (as shown in figures 3-9 the external midsole layer 250 and 250a-e extends the complete length of the footwear);
wherein the substantially flat element is configured to provide a barrier between the internal midsole layer and the external midsole layer (as shown in figures 3-9), and
wherein a thickness of the internal midsole layer varies along a length of the article of footwear (see figures 3, 6, and 9 as the heel part of the internal midsole is clearly thinner than other areas and therefore varies) as claimed.
In reference to claims 2-7, see figures 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, 32, 34, 36, and/or 39.
In reference to claim 8, element 220a-h is considered to be a Strobel inasmuch as applicant has claimed such.
In reference to claims 10 and 11, see figure 12 which clearly shows the external midsole layer (250c) with a thicker heel.
In reference to claims 13 and 14, see figure 12 which shows a plate (326) which is considered to be integral with the external midsole layer (250c).
In reference to claim 15, see outsole elements 210 and/or 210a-h.
In reference to claims 21-23, see heel portion of 260 which is considered a first point and a point located forward of that point as a second point and the internal and external midsole is curved as shown in figures 3, 6, and 9 between the points as noted below in marked up figure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruce further in view of Cin (2015/0342300).
Bruce as discussed above shows an article of footwear substantially as claimed except for the internal midsole layer having a varied thickness. Bruce teaches contouring the first midsole (270) to the profile of the bottom surface of the foot (see paragraph [0106]). Cin teaches providing a first midsole layer (18, see figure 9) with a thickness that varies so that the top surface is contoured to the bottom of a foot. It would have been obvious to vary the thickness of the first midsole layer as taught by Cin in the footwear of Bruce so that the contour of the first midsole layer more closely matches the contour of a foot and thereby increases comfort and support.
Claim(s) 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farina further in view of Cin (2015/0342300).
Farina as discussed above shows an article of footwear substantially as claimed except for the internal midsole layer having a varied thickness. Cin teaches providing a first midsole layer (18, see figure 9) with a thickness that varies so that the top surface is contoured to the bottom of a foot. It would have been obvious to vary the thickness of the first midsole layer as taught by Cin in the footwear of Farina so that the contour of the first midsole layer more closely matches the contour of a foot and thereby increases comfort and support.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In reference to applicants’ arguments directed towards the phrase “substantially flat” see above interpretation in view of applicants’ arguments and specification and drawings.
In response to applicants’ arguments directed towards Bruce, it is noted that Bruce does show the substantially flat element is configured to provide a barrier between the internal midsole layer and the external midsole layer (as shown in figure 19 the internal midsole 270 is completely separated from the external midsole 250d by element 220D and 300), and teaches a thickness of the internal midsole layer varies along a length of the article of footwear (see figure 18 as the heel part of the internal midsole is clearly thinner than other areas and therefore varies) as claimed.
In response to applicants’ arguments directed towards Farina, Farina shows a full extent of the external midsole layer extending from a forefoot region of the article of footwear (as shown in figures 3-9 the external midsole layer 250 and 250a-e extends the complete length of the footwear); wherein the substantially flat element is configured to provide a barrier between the internal midsole layer and the external midsole layer (as shown in figures 3-9), and wherein a thickness of the internal midsole layer varies along a length of the article of footwear (see figures 3, 6, and 9 as the heel part of the internal midsole is clearly thinner than other areas and therefore varies) as claimed.
In response to applicants’ arguments directed towards Cin, it is first noted that Cin has only been applied as a modifying reference to teach forming an internal midsole with a varying thickness. In reference to the motivation to combine such. Bruce clearly provides such motivation Bruce teaches contouring the first midsole (270) to the profile of the bottom surface of the foot (see paragraph [0106]). Also, it is extremely well known and conventional to contour internal midsoles such as orthotics to cushion the foot, correct deformities, correct gait issues, etc.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art cited and not relied upon by the Examiner for the above rejections are considered to be pertinent in that the references cited are considered to be the nearest prior art to the subject matter defined in the claims as required by MPEP707.05.
In order to avoid potential delays, Technology Center 3700 is encouraging FAXing of responses to Office Actions directly into the Center at (571)273-8300 (FORMAL FAXES ONLY). Please identify Examiner Marie Bays of Art Unit 3732 at the top of your cover sheet.
Any inquiry concerning the MERITS of this examination from the examiner should be directed to Marie Bays whose telephone number is (571) 272-4559. The examiner can normally be reached from Mon-Thurs 6-4. Alternatively if the Examiner cannot be reached, please contact the Examiners SPE Alissa Tompkins at 571-272-3425.
/MARIE D BAYS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732