Claim Objections
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, “a process” should read “a processor”. In line 17, “recording the each copy token” should read “recording each copy token”. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 2, Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, “the generate” should read “generate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 9, Claim 9 is objected to a redundant and unclear in scope because claim 1 already recites “managing a digital asset”, However claim 9 further recites “the asset comprising a digital asset”, which does not further limit claim 1. Examiner suggests applicant to clarify/amend claim 9 to provide meaningful limitation over claim 1 or cancel claim 9 if no additional limitation is intended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Independent claim 1:
Step1:
Claims 1 is drawn to “a method, therefore each of these claim groups falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter).
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Claim 1 is directed to a judicially recognized exception of an abstract idea without significantly more. Each of claim 1 recites limitations “receiving, by the ledger service, a request to generate a plurality of non-fungible tokens associated with an asset, the request comprising one or more token minting parameters, the token minting parameters comprising an indication that N non-fungible tokens should be minted by the ledger service in response to the request”, generating, by the ledger service based on the request, a master token, the master token comprising a token identifier associated with the master token and metadata associated with the asset“, “recording the generated master token in a trusted ledger managed by the ledger service”, “generating, by the ledger service based on the request, a set of N-1 copy tokens, wherein each copy token of the set of N-1 copy tokens comprises a copy token identifier associated the respective copy token and a reference to the master token”, and “recording the each copy token of the set of N-1 copy tokens in a trusted ledger managed by the ledger service” that under its broadest reasonable interpretation, enumerates abstract ideas. Other than reciting a generic “a processor” nothing in the claims preclude the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, other than the “computer processors” language, the claims encompass a user visually and manually receiving request to generate non fungible tokens, generating master token with token identifier, recoding the generated master token in trusted ledger, generating copy of tokens , and recording the each copy token in a trusted ledger. The mere nominal recitation of a generic computer component (computer processor) to automate the mental steps are nothing more than abstract ideas (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(III)).
Step 2A, Prong 2:
Claim 1 recites additional element “ledger service”, “trusted ledger/block chain ledger” to perform ordinary function as data repository, “one or more computer readable storage medium” to store computer program instructions, “a processor” to execute the computer program instructions. The ledger and block chain are used only to store and record information. The computer readable storage media and the computer processor are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions to store and to process data respectively). These generic computer functions are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The combination of these additional elements does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B:
The additional elements “ledger service”, “trusted ledger/block chain ledger”. To perform ordinary function as data repository , “one or more computer readable storage medium” to store computer program instructions and “a processor” to execute the computer program instructions are no more than generic, off-the-shelf computer components, and the Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs, and Versata court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere collection/receipt of data over a network and/or storing and retrieving information in memory are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(IV)). As such, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-17:
Step 1:
Claims 2-17 are drawn to “a method” therefore each of these claims falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter).
Steps 2A-2B:
Dependent claims 2-17 are also ineligible for the same reasons given with respect to claim 1. Claims 2-17 recite further abstract ideas of specifying the source of the request (token rights management service, blockchain connector) which are conventional integrations, defining content of metadata and references, adding serial numbers, defining asset to digital content, some encryption information but do not claim any improvement to encryption technology or computer security, narrowed the ledger to a cryptographically linked, immutable, blockchain based ledger (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)). Claims 2-17 fail to recite any additional elements/steps that might integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As such, claims 2-17 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khandelwal (US 20220229883 A1) in view of Marks (US 20230037728 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Khandelwal teaches a method for managing a digital asset performed by a ledger service executing on a system comprising a process and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the processor (Khandelwal, method and system for protecting, managing and monetizing creative works using blockchain, [0007] The system 100 may be stored or implemented via a server 90 (such as a web server) that may be in communication with a file server, a database and a blockchain. The system 100 includes at least one processor for executing a program or programs that implement the functionality, [0033] a computer program product stored in a machine-readable medium, [0224]), cause the system to perform the method, the method comprising:
receiving, by the ledger service, a request to generate a plurality of non-fungible tokens associated with an asset, the request comprising one or more token minting parameters, the token minting parameters comprising an indication that N non-fungible tokens should be minted by the ledger service in response to the request (Khandelwal, The system then determines if the user has requested an NFT to be minted as a result of the validated submission (1210), [0046], If the user requests an NFT to be minted, the system passes the submission to the validated NFTs component 126 of the encapsulating trust mechanisms component 108 for minting of the validated NFT, [0047] Once a validated NFT is minted for IP owners of a creative work, one or more child NFTs can be minted. These child NFTs can be minted and used to provide rights to owners of the validated NFTs or third parties, [0157] the system then sends the package of proof, among other information to a Validated NFT smart contract component. In one embodiment, the other information that is sent to the Validated NFT Smart Contract may include at least one of: ID Number, Owners Information (Owner Address, Number of Shares), Creator Names, Creation Date, File to hash, including the original creation file and/or a zip file of the Package of Proof, and/or Payment Plan (Percentage Type and Value to Parties or Fixed Value or Free), [0181]) [Examiner interprets that system receiving a user submissions requesting of NFTs and system minting a validated NFT and one or more child NFTs based on a predetermined number of tokes or shares as limitation above];
generating, by the ledger service based on the request, a master token, the master token comprising a token identifier associated with the master token and metadata associated with the asset (Khandelwal, a unique non-fungible token (NFT) can be minted (e.g. ERC-721) to represent the creative work. This NFT can then be stored in the blockchain and placed in a marketplace where it can be monetized, [0010] minting a validated non-fungible token (NFT), the validated NFT (i.e., a master token) including at least the creative work and the package of proof, [0016] a validated NFT may represent ownership of the underlying creative work associated with the NFT (musical works, literary works, visual works, etc.)., [0174] the system then sends the package of proof, among other information to a Validated NFT smart contract component. In one embodiment, the other information that is sent to the Validated NFT Smart Contract may include at least one of: ID Number, Owners Information (Owner Address, Number of Shares), Creator Names, Creation Date, File to hash, including the original creation file and/or a zip file of the Package of Proof, and/or Payment Plan (Percentage Type and Value to Parties or Fixed Value or Free) (i.e. token identifier + metadata associated with the asset) [0181]) [Examiner interprets that system generating unique validated NFT (i.e., master token with token ID) containing data describing creative works, creator names, date etc., (i.e., metadata) as limitation above];
recording the generated master token in a trusted ledger managed by the ledger service (Khandelwal, a unique non-fungible token (NFT) can be minted (e.g. ERC-721) to represent the creative work. This NFT can then be stored in the blockchain and placed in a marketplace where it can be monetized, [0010] each time a creative work is validated, an NFT may be minted for that creative work. This validated NFT (i.e., the generated master token) may be seen as a creator's immutable claim to the creation and registered on a blockchain, he NFT may be associated, or include, the creator's package of proof, stored on the blockchain, for example as a hash of one or more files or the like. This combination of the profile pages, packages of proof, and NFTs allows the creator to manage the creative content/work. [0047]) [Examiner interprets that system storing the validated NFT in the blockchain in a public, immutable record on a blockchain (i.e., trusted ledger) as limitation above];
generating, by the ledger service based on the request, a set of N-1 copy tokens, wherein each copy token of the set of N-1 copy tokens comprises a copy token identifier associated the respective copy token and a reference to the master token (Khandelwal, Once a validated NFT is minted for IP owners of a creative work, one or more child NFTs can be minted. These child NFTs can be minted and used to provide rights to owners of the validated NFTs or third parties, [0157] the child NFTs are linked to the validated NFT using a dual link, where each child NFT stores the connected validated NFT contract address and NFT ID; and that corresponding Validated NFT stores the child NFT's smart contract address the NFT ID, [0166] A validated NFT can be minted for the source creative work (e.g. image or video clip) and collectible NFTs can be minted that reference the master, [0216] Through Collectible NFTs, copies of the creative work can be sold without transferring the underlying ownership in the creative work, [0183]) [Examiner interprets that system generating child NFTs that are derived from the validated NFT (i.e., master token) and child NFT storing the connected validated NFT contract address and NFT ID as limitation above]; and
recording the each copy token of the set of N-1 copy tokens in a trusted ledger managed by the ledger service (Khandelwal, a unique non-fungible token (NFT) can be minted (e.g. ERC-721) to represent the creative work. This NFT can then be stored in the blockchain and placed in a marketplace where it can be monetized, [0010] Once a validated NFT is minted for IP owners of a creative work, one or more child NFTs can be minted. These child NFTs can be minted and used to provide rights to owners of the validated NFTs or third parties, [0157] the child NFTs are linked to the validated NFT using a dual link, where each child NFT stores the connected validated NFT contract address and NFT ID; and that corresponding Validated NFT stores the child NFT's smart contract address the NFT ID, [0166] the system may then generate collectible NFTs based on the Validated NFT. Through Collectible NFTs, copies of the creative work can be sold without transferring the underlying ownership in the creative work, [0166]) [Minted NFTs are inherently recorded on the blockchain ledger].
Although Khandelwal discloses minting NFTs using ERC 1155 standard and explicitly teaches minting predetermined number (X) of shares for a validated NFT, [0182] it is well known in the art that ERC 1155 supports mint operations in which mint request includes parameters specifying token quantities, But, Khandelwal does not explicitly teach:
Receiving a request to generate a plurality of non-fungible tokens associated with an asset, the request comprising token minting parameters comprising an indication that N non-fungible tokens should be minted by the ledger service in response to the request (Marks, The method may include receiving, from a verified seller with a UIAM minter account, a request to mint a Parent UIAM token and at least one Child UIAM token, [0010] seller 103 may designate how many units of the physical assets are to be sold in the batch, [0114] Child UIAM token(s) may be minted, the number of which may correspond with the number of UIAM-linked assets provided by seller 103, [0122]) [Examiner interprets that system designating how many units of non-fungible tokens and total number of child tokens corresponding to the number based on request as limitation above];
generating, by the ledger service based on the request, a set of N-1 copy tokens, wherein each copy token of the set of N-1 copy tokens (Marks, The method may include receiving, from a verified seller with a UIAM minter account, a request to mint a Parent UIAM token and at least one Child UIAM token, [0010] seller 103 may designate how many units of the physical assets are to be sold in the batch, [0114] Child UIAM token(s) may be minted, the number of which may correspond with the number of UIAM-linked assets provided by seller 103, [0122]) [Examiner interprets that system minting the number of child tokens corresponding with the number of UIAM linked assets provided as limitation above];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date to modify the teaching of Khandelwal to include a concept of Receiving a request to generate a plurality of non-fungible tokens associated with an asset, the request comprising token minting parameters comprising an indication that N non-fungible tokens should be minted by the ledger service in response to the request, and generating, by the ledger service based on the request, a set of N-1 copy tokens, wherein each copy token of the set of N-1 copy tokens and as taught by Marks for the purpose of receiving, from a verified seller with a UIAM minter account, a request to mint a Parent UIAM token and at least one Child UIAM token, [Marks:0010] designating how many units of the physical assets are to be sold in the batch, [Marks:0114] and minting Child UIAM token(s) the number of which may correspond with the number of UIAM-linked assets provided by seller 103, [Marks:0122].
Regarding claim 2, Khandelwal and Marks teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the request to generate the plurality of non-fungible tokens is received from a token rights management service (Marks, a UIAM may provide its owner with permissioned access to proprietary digital data. UIAM-linked proprietary data may be stored in a centralized or decentralized database, Corresponding UIAM token ownership may authorize viewing and/or modification access to such proprietary data. Further, permissioned access to the UIAM-linked proprietary data may be similarly documented in and/or enabled by transactions published in a public blockchain, a private blockchain, and/or a decentralized digital ledger, [0052] UIAM Application Entity 120 may substantially comprise the back-end of UIAM system 100, [0076] UIAM Application Entity 120 may additionally comprise a plurality of functional software blocks, such as, for example, a data intake engine, an analytics engine, a token distribution block, a blockchain integration block, a financial transaction block, and/or other functional software blocks.. further comprise a private blockchain network and/or a public blockchain network, [0077]) [Examiner interprets that UIAM Application Entity 120 managing minting, controlling permissions, and enforcing rights via smart contracts as the request to generate the plurality of non-fungible tokens is received from a token rights management service].
Regarding claim 3, Khandelwal and Marks teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the request to generate the plurality of non-fungible tokens is received from a blockchain connector service of the token rights management service (Marks, UIAM Application Entity 120 may additionally comprise a plurality of functional software blocks, such as, for example, a data intake engine, an analytics engine, a token distribution block, a blockchain integration block, a financial transaction block, and/or other functional software blocks.. further comprise a private blockchain network and/or a public blockchain network, [0077] certain functional software blocks of UIAM Application Entity 120 may interface with one or more third party services directly and/or over a communications network(s), via, for example, API calls, ABI calls, and/or the like to obtain data or other information; facilitate financial transactions with financial exchange entity 180; and record data in, for example, a blockchain associated with blockchain entity 160. Such data to be obtained may include, for example, ownership-related data, permission access data, financial data, proof of transactions, other data referenced herein, and/or the like, [0078]) [Examiner interprets that blockchain integration block interfacing between application logic and blockchain as blockchain connecter service].
Regarding claim 4, Khandelwal and Marks teaches method of claim 1, wherein the metadata comprises one or more of title information associated with the asset, description information associated with the asset, ownership information associated with the asset, and an indication of a location of the asset (Khandelwal, For validated NFTs, details are stored (e.g. as components of the NFT or externally and linked by reference data stored in the NFT) about the creative work, including supporting documents, and other details about the creative work, the creator, and the current owner(s) of the IP in the work, including information collected in validation component 102. In an embodiment, author details are stored in the NFT, a hash of the supporting documents is stored in the NFT and a reference link to externally stored documents/information is stored in the NFT, [0156] a validated NFT allows for key information to be stored within the NFT and/or hashed in the NFT record. In one embodiment, a validated NFT may represent ownership of the underlying creative work associated with the NFT (musical works, literary works, visual works, etc.), [0174] the system then sends the package of proof, among other information to a Validated NFT smart contract component. In one embodiment, the other information that is sent to the Validated NFT Smart Contract may include at least one of: ID Number, Owners Information (Owner Address, Number of Shares), Creator Names, Creation Date, File to hash, including the original creation file and/or a zip file of the Package of Proof, and/or Payment Plan (Percentage Type and Value to Parties or Fixed Value or Free) (i.e. token identifier + metadata associated with the asset) [0181]) [Examiner interprets that Validated NFTs containing ownership information, description of creative works, owner information, and link by reference data stored in NFT (i.e., location) as limitation above].
Regarding claim 5, Khandelwal and Marks teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the indication of the location of the asset comprises a URL location for accessing the asset (Khandelwal, For validated NFTs, details are stored (e.g. as components of the NFT or externally and linked by reference data stored in the NFT) about the creative work, including supporting documents, and other details about the creative work, the creator, and the current owner(s) of the IP in the work, including information collected in validation component 102. In an embodiment, author details are stored in the NFT, a hash of the supporting documents is stored in the NFT and a reference link to externally stored documents/information is stored in the NFT, [0156]) [Examiner interprets that link by reference data stored in NFT (i.e., URL location) as limitation above].
Regarding claim 6, Khandelwal and Marks teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the reference to the master token comprises the token identifier associated with the master token (Khandelwal, the child NFTs are linked to the validated NFT using a dual link, where each child NFT stores the connected validated NFT contract address and NFT ID; and that corresponding Validated NFT stores the child NFT's smart contract address the NFT ID. Similar to the method described above for validated NFTs, the legal rights of a child NFT can be specified in a legal contract/document, [0166]) [Examiner interprets that contact address + NFT ID as token identifier].
Regarding claim 7, Khandelwal and Marks teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the master token further comprises a token serial number corresponding to an initial token serial number for the asset (Khandelwal, a unique non-fungible token (NFT) can be minted (e.g. ERC-721) to represent the creative work. This NFT can then be stored in the blockchain and placed in a marketplace where it can be monetized, [0010] the child NFTs are linked to the validated NFT using a dual link, where each child NFT stores the connected validated NFT contract address and NFT ID; and that corresponding Validated NFT stores the child NFT's smart contract address the NFT ID, [0166] the system then sends the package of proof, among other information to a Validated NFT smart contract component. In one embodiment, the other information that is sent to the Validated NFT Smart Contract may include at least one of: ID Number, Owners Information (Owner Address, Number of Shares), Creator Names, Creation Date, File to hash, including the original creation file and/or a zip file of the Package of Proof, and/or Payment Plan (Percentage Type and Value to Parties or Fixed Value or Free), [0181]) [Examiner interprets that validated NFT i.e., the master token) containing Token ID number (i.e., initial token serial number) as limitation above].
Regarding claim 8, Khandelwal and Marks teaches method of claim 7, wherein each copy token of the set of N-1 copy tokens comprises a token serial number for the respective copy token (Khandelwal, the child NFTs are linked to the validated NFT using a dual link, where each child NFT stores the connected validated NFT contract address and NFT ID; and that corresponding Validated NFT stores the child NFT's smart contract address the NFT ID, [0166] the system may then generate collectible NFTs based on the Validated NFT. Through Collectible NFTs, copies of the creative work can be sold without transferring the underlying ownership in the creative work. The owner of the validated NFT can mint new collectible NFTs, [0183]) [Examiner interprets that each child /collect NFT having its own NFT ID (i.e., token serial number for respective copy token) as limitation above].
Regarding claim 9, Khandelwal and Marks teaches method of claim 1, wherein the asset comprises a digital asset (Khandelwal, method for protecting, managing and/or monetizing creative works. Examples of creative works include, but are not limited to, trademarks, industrial designs, patents, music, videos, e-books, manuscripts, photographs, digital art, software code, websites, inventions, trademarks, copyrights, designs, different digital files types (mp3, mp4, epub, txt, jpeg, pdf, html) and the like, [0032])
Regarding claim 10, Khandelwal and Marks teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the digital asset comprises a content asset (Khandelwal, method for protecting, managing and/or monetizing creative works. Examples of creative works include, but are not limited to, trademarks, industrial designs, patents, music, videos, e-books, manuscripts, photographs, digital art, software code, websites, inventions, trademarks, copyrights, designs, different digital files types (mp3, mp4, epub, txt, jpeg, pdf, html) and the like, [0032])
Regarding claim 11, Khandelwal and Marks teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the content asset comprises one or more of text content, audio content, and video content (Khandelwal, method for protecting, managing and/or monetizing creative works. Examples of creative works include, but are not limited to, trademarks, industrial designs, patents, music, videos, e-books, manuscripts, photographs, digital art, software code, websites, inventions, trademarks, copyrights, designs, different digital files types (mp3, mp4, epub, txt, jpeg, pdf, html) and the like, [0032])
Regarding claim 12, Khandelwal and Marks teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the content asset comprises a plurality of content segments (Marks, permissioned access to the UIAM-linked proprietary data may be similarly documented in and/or enabled by transactions published in a public blockchain, a private blockchain, and/or a decentralized digital ledger, [0052] UIAM-linked proprietary data may, be published to the blockchain, using, for example, the ERC 998, ERC 1155, and/or ERC 721 token standard on the polygon blockchain. Such proprietary data may be published in an encrypted manner on a public (and/or private) blockchain. Holders of digital wallets in possession of corresponding UIAM tokens may be able to view and/or modify such proprietary data as appropriate, [0053] a Digital Medical Identity Parent UIAM token may be minted for an individual patient. The token may provide access to and broadly correspond to a person's medical data, including their genetic fingerprint, which may also serve to verify the patient's identification as appropriate. The medical data may include sensitive information such as an individual's genomic data, medical history medical diagnosis and interpretations, predispositions to a particular disease, metabolic data, allergy information, lab blood work, and/or the like. In certain embodiments, such sensitive medical data may be placed in a SHA 256 or similar encryption algorithm vault and/or cryptographically secure tokenized data container, [0200] medical identity Child UIAMs may provide full or partial access to an individual's medical record and related data to a medical or wellness professional (or medical or professional algorithm) for a limited amount of time or until access is withdrawn by the Parent UIAM, [0202]) [Examiner interprets that system using tokenized data containers , partial access vs full access, and different child tokens granting different scopes of access as limitation above].
Regarding claim 13, Khandelwal and Marks teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the plurality of content segments comprise encrypted content segments (Marks, permissioned access to the UIAM-linked proprietary data may be similarly documented in and/or enabled by transactions published in a public blockchain, a private blockchain, and/or a decentralized digital ledger, [0052] UIAM-linked proprietary data may, be published to the blockchain, using, for example, the ERC 998, ERC 1155, and/or ERC 721 token standard on the polygon blockchain. Such proprietary data may be published in an encrypted manner on a public (and/or private) blockchain. Holders of digital wallets in possession of corresponding UIAM tokens may be able to view and/or modify such proprietary data as appropriate, [0053] a Digital Medical Identity Parent UIAM token may be minted for an individual patient. The token may provide access to and broadly correspond to a person's medical data, including their genetic fingerprint, which may also serve to verify the patient's identification as appropriate. The medical data may include sensitive information such as an individual's genomic data, medical history medical diagnosis and interpretations, predispositions to a particular disease, metabolic data, allergy information, lab blood work, and/or the like. In certain embodiments, such sensitive medical data may be placed in a SHA 256 or similar encryption algorithm vault and/or cryptographically secure tokenized data container, [0200] medical identity Child UIAMs may provide full or partial access to an individual's medical record and related data to a medical or wellness professional (or medical or professional algorithm) for a limited amount of time or until access is withdrawn by the Parent UIAM, [0202]) [Examiner interprets that system encrypting proprietary data and cryptographically secure containers for storing that data as limitation above].
Regarding claim 14, Khandelwal and Marks teaches method of claim 13, wherein a first subset of the content segments are encrypted with one or more common encryption keys and a second subset of the content segments are encrypted with one or more copy encryption keys (Marks, permissioned access to the UIAM-linked proprietary data may be similarly documented in and/or enabled by transactions published in a public blockchain, a private blockchain, and/or a decentralized digital ledger, [0052] UIAM-linked proprietary data may, be published to the blockchain, using, for example, the ERC 998, ERC 1155, and/or ERC 721 token standard on the polygon blockchain. Such proprietary data may be published in an encrypted manner on a public (and/or private) blockchain. Holders of digital wallets in possession of corresponding UIAM tokens may be able to view and/or modify such proprietary data as appropriate, [0053] a Digital Medical Identity Parent UIAM token may be minted for an individual patient. The token may provide access to and broadly correspond to a person's medical data, including their genetic fingerprint, which may also serve to verify the patient's identification as appropriate. The medical data may include sensitive information such as an individual's genomic data, medical history medical diagnosis and interpretations, predispositions to a particular disease, metabolic data, allergy information, lab blood work, and/or the like. In certain embodiments, such sensitive medical data may be placed in a SHA 256 or similar encryption algorithm vault and/or cryptographically secure tokenized data container, [0200] medical identity Child UIAMs may provide full or partial access to an individual's medical record and related data to a medical or wellness professional (or medical or professional algorithm) for a limited amount of time or until access is withdrawn by the Parent UIAM, [0202]) [Examiner interprets that system having multiple child tokens, each child token controlling access scope and permissioned access enforced cryptographically as limitation above].
Regarding claim 15, Khandelwal and Marks teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the trusted ledger comprises cryptographically linked entries (Khandelwal, With respect to the timestamping component 104, the timestamping component 104 enables creators to post a permanent record (with a timestamp) of their creative work to the blockchain, in a short period of time, such as in minutes. The timestamping component 104 records the claim, or submission, of the creative work as a public, immutable record on a blockchain that the creator can use to prove the creative work is theirs. In one embodiment, the decentralized timestamping of intellectual property component 104 allow claims of ownership to be made quickly and inexpensively by creating, for example, a one-way hash of a submitted creative work on a blockchain (for example, a public blockchain such as Ethereum). This may be seen as a process of decentralized timestamping of intellectual property, [0035]) [Blockchain record are inherently cryptographically linked].
Regarding claim 16, Khandelwal and Marks teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the trusted ledger comprises a trusted immutable distributed assertion ledger (Khandelwal, With respect to the timestamping component 104, the timestamping component 104 enables creators to post a permanent record (with a timestamp) of their creative work to the blockchain, in a short period of time, such as in minutes. The timestamping component 104 records the claim, or submission, of the creative work as a public, immutable record on a blockchain that the creator can use to prove the creative work is theirs. In one embodiment, the decentralized timestamping of intellectual property component 104 allow claims of ownership to be made quickly and inexpensively by creating, for example, a one-way hash of a submitted creative work on a blockchain (for example, a public blockchain such as Ethereum). This may be seen as a process of decentralized timestamping of intellectual property, [0035]).
Regarding claim 17, Khandelwal and Marks teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the trusted immutable distributed assertion ledger comprises a blockchain ledger (Khandelwal, a unique non-fungible token (NFT) can be minted (e.g. ERC-721) to represent the creative work. This NFT can then be stored in the blockchain and placed in a marketplace where it can be monetized, [0010]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250156828 A1: “relates in part to decentralized tokenization systems and methods that leverage smart contracts and blockchains to facilitate cross-chain interoperability, including cross-chain bridging of fungible and non-fungible tokens (NFTs) across different blockchains and cross-chain orchestration of blockchain-based functions involving NFTs”
US 20230342767 A1: “relates to an architecture and method that allows a user to interact with and selectively freeze a dynamically evolving cryptographic asset/digital collectable”
US 20230259640 A1: “relates generally to the field of non-fungible assets stored in a blockchain, and enforceable non-fungible token having linked custodial chain of property transfers prior to minting using a token-based encryption determination process”
US 20230102525 A1: “relates generally to systems and methods for managing cryptographic tokens. Relates for managing non-fungible tokens (“NFT”) and rights to associated content in an NFT marketplace using trusted ledgers”
/S.N.P./
Examiner, Art Unit 2436
/SHEWAYE GELAGAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2436