DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 10 August 2026 amends claims 1, 2, 11, and 18. Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on page 1 of the response, “Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the relevant fields would recognize that the ‘access control key’ is more than access control in general; and more specifically it is about controlling access to a particular memory region. In contrast, a decryption key in Wane is about controlling access to the clear text of encrypted content, which is different from controlling access to a particular memory region.” This argument is not persuasive because the claims do not define how the claimed access control is performed. Instead, the claims require general access control of a particular memory region. Wane discloses a that UICC implements secure storage wherein files are encrypted and stored in the random-access memory such that decryption is required for access to the files ([0110] & [0121]). Therefore, the decryption keys of Wane effectively control access to the particular memory locations by controlling access to the files stored at those particular memory locations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wane, U.S. Publication No. 2020/0236533, in view of Yoo, WO 2020/162739, and further in view of Toyoshima, U.S. Publication No. 2020/0357754. Referring to claim 1, Wane discloses a universal integrated circuit chip (UICC) that includes random access memory ([0076]: random access memory is configured to store data which could include device identity data), which meets the limitation of integrated circuit memory cells formed on one or more integrated circuit dies, including a first memory region of memory cells configured to store device identity data. The UICC can be implemented on an application processor ([0076]), which meets the limitation of a controller. The UICC implements secure storage wherein files are encrypted and stored in the random access memory such that decryption is required for access to the files ([0110] & [0121]: decryption key would be considered the claimed access control key), which meets the limitation of a controller configured to [generate device identity data representative of the memory device based at least in part on a root secret of the memory device and] control access to the first memory region based on an access control key. The UICC includes the storage of multiple virtual SIMs that allow for the mobile device to operate on a variety of networks ([0073] & [0083] & [0085] & [0112]: virtual SIMs emulate actual SIM cards), which meets the limitation of wherein the controller is further configured to store a card profile in the integrated circuit memory cells to emulate a function of a smart card based on the card profile.
Wane discloses a UICC ID (EID), but does not specify that the EID is generated by the mobile device using a root secret. Yoo discloses a mobile device that generates a virtual code using an internal value such as chip-specific value provided during manufacture (Page 7, last paragraph – Page 8, third paragraph & Page 9, last paragraph – Page 10, third paragraph: virtual code reads on the claimed device identity data, internal value reads on the claimed root secret), which meets the limitation of a controller configured to generate device identity data representative of the memory device based at least in part on a root secret of the memory device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the EID of Wane to have been generated by the device using an internal device value in order to provide an accurate device identifier as suggested by Yoo (Page 6: Advantageous Effects).
Wane discloses a UICC ID (EID), but does not specify that the EID is generated by the mobile device using a root secret. Toyoshima discloses the utilization of a PUF value provided during manufacturing to generate an identifier ([0394], which meets the limitation of a controller configured to generate device identity data representative of the memory device based at least in part on a root secret of the memory device, a physical unclonable function (PUF) to generate the root secret. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the EID of Wane to have been generated using a PUF value provided during manufacturing in order to provide a unique device identifier as suggested by Toyoshima ([0394]).
Referring to claim 18, Wane discloses a device that includes a baseband processor and a universal integrated circuit chip (UICC)(Figure 2: baseband processor reads on the claimed processor; UICC reads on the claimed memory device) that includes random access memory ([0076]: random access memory is configured to store data which could include device identity data), which meets the limitation of a plurality of components, including a memory device and a processor connected to the memory device, wherein the memory device includes integrated circuit memory cells formed on one or more integrated circuit dies, including a first memory region of memory cells configured to store device identity data. The UICC implements secure storage wherein files are encrypted and stored in the random access memory such that decryption is required for access to the files ([0110] & [0121]: decryption key would be considered the claimed access control key), which meets the limitation of a controller configured to [generate device identity data representative of the memory device based at least in part on a root secret of the memory device and] control access to the first memory region based on an access control key. The UICC includes the storage of multiple virtual SIMs that allow for the mobile device to operate on a variety of networks ([0073] & [0083] & [0085] & [0112]: virtual SIMs emulate actual SIM cards), which meets the limitation of wherein the controller is further configured to store a card profile in the integrated circuit memory cells to emulate a function of a smart card based on the card profile.
Wane discloses a UICC ID (EID), but does not specify that the EID is generated by the mobile device using a root secret. Yoo discloses a mobile device that generates a virtual code using an internal value such as chip-specific value provided during manufacture (Page 7, last paragraph – Page 8, third paragraph & Page 9, last paragraph – Page 10, third paragraph: virtual code reads on the claimed device identity data, internal value reads on the claimed root secret), which meets the limitation of a controller configured to generate device identity data representative of the memory device based at least in part on a root secret of the memory device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the EID of Wane to have been generated by the device using an internal device value in order to provide an accurate device identifier as suggested by Yoo (Page 6: Advantageous Effects).
Wane discloses a UICC ID (EID), but does not specify that the EID is generated by the mobile device using a root secret. Toyoshima discloses the utilization of a PUF value provided during manufacturing to generate an identifier ([0394], which meets the limitation of a controller configured to generate device identity data representative of the memory device based at least in part on a root secret of the memory device, a physical unclonable function (PUF). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the EID of Wane to have been generated using a PUF value provided during manufacturing in order to provide a unique device identifier as suggested by Toyoshima ([0394]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-17 are allowed.
Claims 2-10, 19, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437