DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-13 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a power supply apparatus configured to supply power in claim 9,
a display apparatus configured to display in claim 9,
a processing apparatus configured to control in claim 9,
a processing apparatus configured to control in claim 9,
a processing apparatus configured to control in claim 9.
The structure
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara (US 20110161694) in view over Chen (US 20140122770) and Jeon et al. (US 20190069244).
Regarding claim 1, Fujiwara teaches
A processing method comprising:
in response to a first electronic device (Fig. 1 (personal computer - 1)) being in a first status, the first electronic device being in a powered status, a second electronic device (Fig. 1 (USB device – 2) being in a powered status through a first power supply path of the first electronic device, and the first electronic device obtaining and outputting image data output by the second electronic device; and ([0010], “ According to the wakeup function, when receiving a wakeup signal from an external device connected to a USB connector, the personal computer automatically returns to a power-on state. the supply to a controller (i.e., USB host controller) for controlling an exchange with an external device connected to a USB connector must be continued when a personal computer is in a standby state even if it is in a power-off state. In other words, if the personal computer is in a hibernation state or shutdown state, it is possible to stop the supply to a USB host controller.” And [0025], “A USB device 2 connected to the foregoing external USB port 18 is operable by power from the computer 1. Further, a battery built into the USB device 2 is chargeable by power from the computer 1. Moreover, the computer 1 includes a sleep-and-charge function of always supplying power to a USB device 2 connected to the foregoing external USB port 18 even when the computer 1 is in a power-off state.” And [0007], “Many of these mobile devices are configured so that they are connectable to a USB connector for data exchange with a personal computer.” Where exchanging data via the USB is interpreted as exchanging image data such as downloading a picture or streaming a video)
in response to the first electronic device being in a second status, the first electronic device being in an unpowered status, and the second electronic device being in the powered status through a second power supply path of the first electronic device, the second power supply path being different from the first power supply path and including a voltage increase circuit; ([0076], “even if the computer 1 is in a hibernation state or in a shutdown state, according to the combination condition of "Full-time supply: ON" and "Wakeup: OFF", a supply source to the USB host controller 117, that is, "SV" is turned off so that a full-time supply function is provided.”)
wherein the first status and the second status are able to be switched; ([0010], “ According to the wakeup function, when receiving a wakeup signal from an external device connected to a USB connector, the personal computer automatically returns to a power-on state.”)
power consumption of the first electronic device in the first status is greater than in the second status. ([0009], “The foregoing three mode power-off states are expressed as "S3", "S4" and "S5" to make a distinction between these three states according to Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI). In this case, a power-on state is expressed as "S0".”, where the S0 (power on state) consumes more power than S3 (sleep), S4 (hibernation), and S5 (shutdown) states, which are lower power states)
Fujiwara teaches a second electronic device being powered by a first power supply path but does not teach the second electronic device being powered by a second power supply path. Chen teaches
the second electronic device being in the powered status through a second power supply path of the first electronic device, the second power supply path being different from the first power supply path and including a voltage increase circuit; ((Fig. 1, [0012-13], “when the motherboard 5 is in the work mode, the MOSFETs Q1 and Q2 are turned on, and the MOSFET Q3 is turned off. In this state, the system power supply 5V_SYS supplies the 5V_USB power supply for the front USB interface 1 and for the rear USB interface 2 through the MOSFETs Q1 and Q2. … When the motherboard 5 is in the sleep mode or when the motherboard 5 is powered off, the MOSFETs Q1 and Q2 are turned off, and the MOSFETs Q3 is turned on. In this state, the 5V_SB standby power supply supplies the 5V_USB power supply for the front USB interface 1 and for the rear USB interface 2.”)
Fujiwara and Chen are analogous art. Fujiwara and Chen are cited to teach a similar concept of power management and control in electronic system. Chen teaches using switching power supplies when to power a second device when the first device enters a power saving/off mode. Based on Chen, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Fujiwara to supply power to the second device which is still operating when the first device is in a low power/off mode. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous because to maintain power supply to the second device while the first device is in a low power/off mode, thereby allowing the second device to continue to operate.
Fujiwara and Chen teach voltage supplies but do not specifically teach a voltage increase circuit.
Jeon teaches
and including a voltage increase circuit; ([0047], “The power regulator 220 may generate a plurality of power signals having different voltages or different current levels by adjusting the voltage level or the current level of the power supplied from the external power source or the battery 189. The power regulator 220 may adjust the power of the external power source or the battery 189 to a voltage or current level suitable for each of the components”)
Fujiwara, Chen, and Joen are cited to teach a similar concept of power management and control in electronic system. Jeon teaches using commands/signals to control the enabling and disabling of electronic devices and regulates voltage to devices to supply a voltage level suitable to the device. Based on Jeon, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Fujiwara and Chen to regulate voltage to devices to supply a voltage level suitable to the device. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because “power regulator 220 may adjust the power of the external power source or the battery 189 to a voltage or current level suitable for each of the component”.
Regarding claim 2, Fujiwara teaches further comprises: obtaining a first control instruction output by the second electronic device; and in response to the first control instruction, controlling the first electronic device to enter the first status. ([0026], “ the computer 1 further includes a wakeup function of automatically returning to a power-on state when receiving a wakeup signal from a USB device 2 connected to the external USB port 18 in a standby state.”)
Regarding claim 3, Jeon teaches further comprising:
obtaining a second control instruction, the second control instruction being used to control the first electronic device to switch from the first status to the second status; ([0087-88], “the display 360 may be activated or deactivated by a signal/command/information (e.g., a wake up signal, a sleep signal … display driver IC (DDI) ON command, or DDI OFF command”), [0066], “The processor 320 may be automatically turned off within/after a predetermined time period from a time point when the display 360 is deactivated or immediately after the display 360 is deactivated.”)
in response to the second control instruction, outputting a third control instruction to the second electronic device, the third control instruction being used to control the second electronic device to switch from a third status to a fourth status, and power consumption of the second electronic device in the third status is higher than in the fourth status. ([0066], “The processor 320 may be automatically turned off within/after a predetermined time period from a time point when the display 360 is deactivated or immediately after the display 360 is deactivated.”)
Regarding claim 4, Jeon teaches further comprising:
further comprising: obtaining an indication signal, the indication signal being used to indicate a status of the second electronic device; ([0066], “The processor 320 may be automatically turned off within/after a predetermined time period from a time point when the display 360 is deactivated or immediately after the display 360 is deactivated.”)
in response to the indication signal indicating that the second electronic device is in the third status, the second electronic device being in the powered status; and in response to the indication signal indicating that the second electronic device is in the fourth status, the second electronic device being in the unpowered status; wherein the power consumption of the second electronic device in the third status is greater than in the fourth status. ([0099-0100], “the display 360 and to be electrically connected to the power management circuit 388 through the switch 381 that is turned on when the processor is in a first mode and turned off when the processor 320 (e.g., the processor 120) is in a second mode … the display 360, to be turned on in a first mode, and to be turned off in a second mode, wherein, in the second mode, the motion detection sensor circuit 376 detects a first motion associated with the electronic device 301 and provides image data to the display 360 in response to the detection of the first motion.”)
Regarding claim 5, Jeon teaches wherein the indication signal includes a plurality of sub-signals, each sub-signal indicating a status of the second electronic device. ([0069], “in the normal mode or the active/activated state, the display 360 may be in a power/display ON state. In the sleep mode or the inactive/deactivated state, the display 360 may be in a power/display OFF state. … in the second mode, the power management module 388 may cut off the power supply to the processor 320 through the switch 381 disposed on power supply wiring between the power management module 388 and the processor 320. ” and [0085], “the display 360 may be activated or deactivated by signal/information (e.g., a wakeup signal, a sleep signal,”)
Regarding claim 7, Fujiwara teaches wherein the second electronic device being in the powered status includes: in response to the first electronic device being in the first status, causing the second electronic device to be in the powered status through a third power supply path; and in response to the first electronic device being in the second status, causing the second electronic device to be in the powered status through the third power supply path. ([0003], “Embodiments described herein relate generally to a power saving control technique in a personal computer including a function of always supplying power to an external device connected by means of a Universal Serial Bus (USB) connector.”, [0011], “In this case, they do not recognize the difference between a standby state, a hibernation state and a shutdown state. Thus, in a power-off state, the personal computer supports a function of always supplying power to an external device connected to a USB connector (hereinafter, referred to as a sleep-and-charge function). In this case, the computer must continue the supply to a USB host controller in a hibernation state or a shutdown state.”, and [0025], “Moreover, the computer 1 includes a sleep-and-charge function of always supplying power to a USB device 2 connected to the foregoing external USB port 18 even when the computer 1 is in a power-off state.”)
Regarding claim 9, Fujiwara teaches
A first electronic device comprising: (Fig. 1, (Computer – 1))
a first interface connected to a second electronic device (Fig. 1, USB device 2); ([0025], “ A USB device 2 connected to the foregoing external USB port 18”)
a power supply apparatus configured to supply power to the first electronic device (Fig. 2 (battery, AC adapter, and power controller – 123) and supply power to the second electronic device through the first interface; the power supply apparatus including: a power source module configured to supply power; and ([0037], “ a VBUS power-supply switch 151 is a circuit for supplying power (i.e., "VBUS" described later) to the external USB port 18” and claim 1, “ a power supply controller configured to control a supply of power to the external device through the power supply line;”)
a display apparatus configured to display image data output by the second electronic device obtained through the first interface; and ([0023], “ computer 1 includes a computer body 11 and a display unit 12.”, [0032], “The USB host controller 117 built into the south bridge 115 functions a controller for performing a communication with a USB device 2 connected to the USB port 18 using a data line derived by means of the external USB port 18.”)
a processing apparatus configured to: in response to the first electronic device being in a first status, control the power supply apparatus to supply power to the first electronic device to cause the first electronic device to be in a powered status and control the power supply apparatus to supply power to the second electronic device through first circuit via the first interface to cause the second electronic device to be in the powered status; and ([0010], “ According to the wakeup function, when receiving a wakeup signal from an external device connected to a USB connector, the personal computer automatically returns to a power-on state. the supply to a controller (i.e., USB host controller) for controlling an exchange with an external device connected to a USB connector must be continued when a personal computer is in a standby state even if it is in a power-off state. In other words, if the personal computer is in a hibernation state or shutdown state, it is possible to stop the supply to a USB host controller.” And [0025], “A USB device 2 connected to the foregoing external USB port 18 is operable by power from the computer 1. Further, a battery built into the USB device 2 is chargeable by power from the computer 1. Moreover, the computer 1 includes a sleep-and-charge function of always supplying power to a USB device 2 connected to the foregoing external USB port 18 even when the computer 1 is in a power-off state.” And [0007], “Many of these mobile devices are configured so that they are connectable to a USB connector for data exchange with a personal computer.” Where exchanging data via the USB is interpreted as exchanging image data such as downloading a picture or streaming a video)
in response to the first electronic device being in a second status, control the power supply apparatus to stop supplying power to the first electronic device to cause the first electronic device to be in an unpowered status and control the power supply apparatus to convert a voltage output by the power source module into an operation voltage through the second circuit and then supply the operation voltage to the second electronic device through the first interface to cause the second electronic device to be in the powered status; ([0076], “even if the computer 1 is in a hibernation state or in a shutdown state, according to the combination condition of "Full-time supply: ON" and "Wakeup: OFF", a supply source to the USB host controller 117, that is, "SV" is turned off so that a full-time supply function is provided.”)
wherein: the first status and the second status are able to be switched; and ([0010], “ According to the wakeup function, when receiving a wakeup signal from an external device connected to a USB connector, the personal computer automatically returns to a power-on state.”)
power consumption of the first electronic device in the first status is greater than in the second status. ([0009], “The foregoing three mode power-off states are expressed as "S3", "S4" and "S5" to make a distinction between these three states according to Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI). In this case, a power-on state is expressed as "S0".”, where the S0 (power on state) consumes more power than S3 (sleep), S4 (hibernation), and S5 (shutdown) states, which are lower power states)
Fujiwara teaches a second electronic device being powered by a first power supply path but does not teach the second electronic device being powered by a second power supply path. Chen teaches
an output circuit connected to the power source module and the first interface, the output circuit being configured to cause the power source module to supply power to the second electronic device via the output circuit through the first interface, the output circuit including a first circuit and a second circuit connected to the first interface, and second circuit including a voltage increase circuit; ; ((Fig. 1, [0012-13], “when the motherboard 5 is in the work mode, the MOSFETs Q1 and Q2 are turned on, and the MOSFET Q3 is turned off. In this state, the system power supply 5V_SYS supplies the 5V_USB power supply for the front USB interface 1 and for the rear USB interface 2 through the MOSFETs Q1 and Q2. … When the motherboard 5 is in the sleep mode or when the motherboard 5 is powered off, the MOSFETs Q1 and Q2 are turned off, and the MOSFETs Q3 is turned on. In this state, the 5V_SB standby power supply supplies the 5V_USB power supply for the front USB interface 1 and for the rear USB interface 2.”)
Fujiwara and Chen are analogous art. Fujiwara and Chen are cited to teach a similar concept of power management and control in electronic system. Chen teaches using switching power supplies when to power a second device when the first device enters a power saving/off mode. Based on Chen, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Fujiwara to supply power to the second device which is still operating when the first device is in a low power/off mode. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous because to maintain power supply to the second device while the first device is in a low power/off mode, thereby allowing the second device to continue to operate.
Fujiwara and Chen teach voltage supplies but do not specifically teach a voltage increase circuit.
Jeon teaches
second circuit including a voltage increase circuit; ([0047], “The power regulator 220 may generate a plurality of power signals having different voltages or different current levels by adjusting the voltage level or the current level of the power supplied from the external power source or the battery 189. The power regulator 220 may adjust the power of the external power source or the battery 189 to a voltage or current level suitable for each of the components”)
convert a voltage output by the power source module into an operation voltage through the second circuit and then supply the operation voltage ([0047], “The power regulator 220 may generate a plurality of power signals having different voltages or different current levels by adjusting the voltage level or the current level of the power supplied from the external power source or the battery 189. The power regulator 220 may adjust the power of the external power source or the battery 189 to a voltage or current level suitable for each of the components”)
Fujiwara, Chen, and Joen are cited to teach a similar concept of power management and control in electronic system. Jeon teaches using commands/signals to control the enabling and disabling of electronic devices and regulates voltage to devices to supply a voltage level suitable to the device. Based on Jeon, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Fujiwara and Chen to regulate voltage to devices to supply a voltage level suitable to the device. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because “power regulator 220 may adjust the power of the external power source or the battery 189 to a voltage or current level suitable for each of the component”.
As to claim 12, Fujiwara, Chen, and Jeon teach this claim according to the reasoning provided in claims 6-7.
As to claim 13, Fujiwara, Chen, and Jeon teach this claim according to the reasoning provided in claim 1 and 3.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara, Chen, and Jeon in view over Kim (KR 101926184).
Regarding claim 8, Fujiwara, Chen, and Jeon do not teach but Kim teaches further comprising: in response to the first electronic device being in the first status, obtaining and outputting the image data; and p.6, lines 6-8, “That is, when a video signal (for example, Hsync as an analog signal or a + 5V HDMI signal as a digital signal) is input from the PC at a high level (ON mode operation), the driving power of the power supply unit 12 and the image processing unit 11 Power is consumed basically when switch drive and + 5Vdc are supplied.”)
in response to the first electronic device not obtaining the image data, controlling the first electronic device to switch to the second status. (p. 6, lines, “At this time, when the input of the video signal from the PC is input at a low level (including a minute power supply) (sleep mode operation), only the power applied to the backlight board of the LCD 1 is cut off, And the FET switch Drive and the + 5Vdc that supply the driving power to the image processing unit 11 are maintained for the set time.”)
Fujiwara, Chen, Jeon and Kim are analogous art. Fujiwara and Kim are cited to teach a similar concept of power management and control in electronic system. Kim teaches using disabling the display when video to the display is stopped. Based on Kim, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Fujiwara, Chen, and Jeon to disable power to the display when image data is to the display is stopped. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous because “the microcomputer 13b interrupts power supply to the backlight board from the power supply unit 12, The power of the monitor 11 may be cut off to reduce the power consumption of the monitor.”, p.3, lines 31-32
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara, Chen, and Jeon in view over Zhao (US 20150134992)
Regarding claim 10, Fujiwara, Chen, and Jeon do not teach but Zhao teaches further comprising at least two of a first pin, a second pin, and a third pin, wherein: the first pin configured to detect a status of a fourth pin of the second electronic device; the second pin configured to detect a status of a fifth pin of the second electronic device; the third pin configured to detect a status of a sixth pin of the second electronic device; and the first electronic device is further configured to obtain an indication signal indicating the status of the second electronic device according to a detection result of the at least two of the first pin, the second pin, and the third pin. (Fig. 2, [0019], “the controller 31 outputs a low voltage level signal to the suspend signal pin SLP_S3# of the host 300 to activate the suspend signal pin SLP_S3#, thereby proceeding the host 300 into a sleep mode. When the time period of the absence of the external object reaches a third predetermined time period, such as 30 minutes, the controller 31 outputs a low voltage level signal to the suspend signal pin SLP_S4# of the host 300 to activate the suspend signal pin SLP_S4#, thereby proceeding the host 300 into a hibernate mode. When the time period of the absence of the external object reaches a third predetermined time period, such as 60 minutes, the controller 31 outputs a low voltage level signal to the suspend signal pin SUSWARN# of the host 300 to activate the suspend signal pin SUSWARN#, thereby proceeding the host 300 into a deep hibernate mode.”)
Fujiwara, Chen, Jeon and Zhao are cited to teach a similar concept of power management and control in electronic system. Zhao teaches using pins to communicate low power modes between devices. Based on Zhao, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Fujiwara, Chen, and Jeon to use pins to communicate signals to enter low power modes. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification improve the speed of communication of the low power modes by direct connections between devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant’s representative argues for claims 1 and 9 that Chen does not teach a “voltage increase circuit” and also does not constitute a first electronic device because it does not obtain or output image data. The Examiner does not use the Chen reference to teach either of these concepts but uses Jeon and Fujiwara respectively. Fujiwara teaches image data exchange between two electronic devices in paragraph [0007] and Jeon teaches a voltage regulator (i.e. a voltage increase circuit) in paragraph [0047] which is used to set the voltage to the appropriate level for the electronic component. Therefore, the Applicant’s representatives arguments are not persuasive.
As to claim 13, the Applicant’s representative argues that Jeon does not teach supplying power to the second device/processor nor does it (the display device) operate as an independent device. The plain claim language does not recite acting as an independent device. It only states a “first” electronic device and a “second” electronic device and based on broadest reasonable interpretation both the display device and processor are electronic devices. While it is true that Joen does not teach supplying power to the second device, Fujiwara and Chen are used to teach this limitation as described above in the U.S.C. 103 rejection. Additionally, Joen is applied to teach using commands to cause a change in power states between the display and processor (first and second electronic devices) which it does. Therefore, the Applicant’s representatives arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHERI L HARRINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2176 August 25, 2026
/JAWEED A ABBASZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2176