Claim Objections
Claims 9-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 8, “the designation parameter” must have been --the additional designation parameter-- and line 9, “the subfolder name” must have been the --the additional subfolder name--. Further, line 11, “the peer nodes” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 10, line 6, “the instruction” must have been --the additional instruction-- and line 8, “the designation parameter” must have been --the additional designation parameter--.
Claim 12, line 4: “include” must have been --includes--.
Claim 11 is objected to for being dependent on claim 10.
Claims 13-20 are objected to for being dependent on claim 12.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “a management device” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 12, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (US10075385, Thompson hereinafter), in view of Zeng (CN108549673) and Yu et al. (US20110047537, Yu hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Thompson discloses: A method of executable storage in a peer-to-peer based software package distribution system (Thompson, see col 4 lines 43-47, “…A managed node 120 may be configured to more efficiently obtain resources 118 needed to provision a managed node 120 by attempting to obtain the resources 118 from other peer nodes 116 instead of directly from an administrative system 102…”), the method comprising:
receiving, at a first node of a managed network, an instruction to install a first software package (Thompson, see col 5 lines 13-18, “…the administrative system 102 may include and/or send data that indicates a set of resources to be downloaded. For example, the designated configuration 108 may be used to create the data indicating a set of resources 118 to be downloaded by a managed node 120 for provisioning…”), (Thompson, see col 4 lines 57-60, “…the designated configuration 108 may include software (e.g., executable code and/or data) and/or information indicating software for installation on the one or more managed nodes 120…”),
responsive to the first executable being unavailable at the local cache folder, searching for the first executable in a peer cache folder of a peer node based on the subfolder name (Thompson, see col 12 lines 1-8, “…If there are any discrepancies between the resources 418 the managed node 420 has and the data obtained through the configuration request utility, the managed node 420 may then request the resources 418 from one or more other managed nodes 420 and/or peer nodes 416 within the managed network 400 before attempting to obtain the resources from the administrative system 402.”), (Thompson, see col 8 lines 44-46, “…the resource existence request may include a relative path to a file in a cache directory.”); and
responsive to the first executable being unavailable at the peer cache folder, downloading the first executable (Thompson, see col 9 lines 43-48, “…if it is determined 206 the managed node 120 does not receive a response to the parallel resource existence requests indicating that one or more peer nodes has a requested resource 118, the managed node 120 may optionally download 208 the resource from the administrative system 102…”);
Thompson does not appear to distinctly disclose:
wherein a first executable configured to execute installation of the first software package is available at a network location that corresponds to a first uniform resource location (URL);
responsive to the instruction, detecting a designation parameter from a characteristic of the first executable or the first URL;
generating a subfolder name based on the designation parameter;
searching a local cache folder for the first executable based on the subfolder name;
generating a subfolder for the first executable in the local cache folder, the subfolder having the generated subfolder name; and
storing the first executable in the generated subfolder.
However, Zeng discloses:
(Zeng, see page 9 paragraph 26-page 10 paragraph 1, “the target webpage is deployed on network server address: https: //xx.cn/activity/111/index.html.”);
responsive to the instruction, detecting a designation parameter from a characteristic of the first executable or the first URL (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23, “It in this example, can be by the resource load path of web page resources for example:“https:// xx.cn/activity/ 111/2.css”;Path " the https that removal filename obtains:// xx.cn/activity/111/ " is then based on hash algorithm Or unique value is calculated as file directory title in MD5 algorithms, web page resources is stored under this document catalogue…”);
generating a subfolder name based on the designation parameter (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23);
searching a local cache folder for the first executable based on the subfolder name (Zeng, see page 11 paragraph 4, “…according to the resource load address URL of web page resources, MD5 values… are calculated after filename can be removed… Corresponding file directory address is obtained after uncommon value, corresponding file name is obtained after calculating MD5 values or cryptographic Hash to URL, Under this document catalogue, it can search whether that there are the web page resources of corresponding file name.”);
(Zeng, see page 11 paragraph 8, “Step S415, client 300 load target webpage resource from network.”);
generating a subfolder for the first executable in the local cache folder, the subfolder having the generated subfolder name (Zeng, see page 7 paragraph 19, “According to the resource load path of web page resources, generate corresponding exclusive path mark, by web page resources be stored in The exclusive path identifies under corresponding file directory.”); and
storing the first executable in the generated subfolder (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23, “…web page resources is stored under this document catalogue…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include a network location that corresponds to a first uniform resource location, responsive to the instruction, detecting a designation parameter from a characteristic of the first executable or the first URL, generating a subfolder name based on the designation parameter, searching a local cache folder for the first executable based on the subfolder name, downloading the first executable from the first URL, generating a subfolder for the first executable in the local cache folder, the subfolder having the generated subfolder name, and storing the first executable in the generated subfolder as taught by Zeng, for the result of allowing all nodes to find and download a cached installer.
Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
wherein a first executable configured to execute installation of the first software package is available
However, Yu discloses:
wherein a first executable configured to execute installation of the first software package is available (Yu, see paragraph [0038], “…the update computer program may perform the updating process, by unpackaging the self-describing automatic installation package, and causing the executable files within the package to be executed or run in the order indicated by the metadata within the package.”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include a first executable configured to execute installation of the first software package as taught by Yu, for the result of allowing all nodes to find and download a cached installer.
Regarding claim 2, Thompson does not appear to distinctly disclose:
wherein the generating the subfolder name includes performing an operation on the designation parameter.
However, Zeng discloses:
wherein the generating the subfolder name includes performing an operation on the designation parameter (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23, “It in this example, can be by the resource load path of web page resources for example:“https:// xx.cn/activity/ 111/2.css”;Path " the https that removal filename obtains:// xx.cn/activity/111/ " is then based on hash algorithm Or unique value is calculated as file directory title in MD5 algorithms, web page resources is stored under this document catalogue…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include wherein the generating the subfolder name includes performing an operation on the designation parameter as taught by Zeng, for the result of assigning unique folder names.
Regarding claim 3, Thompson does not appear to distinctly disclose:
wherein: the characteristic is the first URL; the operation includes a hash operation to generate a first URL hash value; and
the subfolder name includes at least a portion of the first URL hash value.
However, Zeng discloses:
wherein: the characteristic is the first URL; the operation includes a hash operation to generate a first URL hash value (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23, “It in this example, can be by the resource load path of web page resources for example:“https:// xx.cn/activity/ 111/2.css”;Path " the https that removal filename obtains:// xx.cn/activity/111/ " is then based on hash algorithm Or unique value is calculated as file directory title in MD5 algorithms, web page resources is stored under this document catalogue…”); and
the subfolder name includes at least a portion of the first URL hash value (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include wherein: the characteristic is the first URL; the operation includes a hash operation to generate a first URL hash value; and the subfolder name includes at least a portion of the first URL hash value as taught by Zeng, for the result of assigning unique folder names.
Regarding claim 8, Thompson discloses:
receiving a request from the peer node for the first executable, the request being based on the subfolder name (Thompson, see col 8 lines 47-49, “One or more of the peer nodes 116 may receive the request and determine whether the requested resource(s) is included on the peer node(s) 116…”), (Thompson, see col 8 lines 44-46, “…the resource existence request may include a relative path to a file in a cache directory.”), (Thompson, see col 4 lines 47-49, “…any node may operate as either a managed node 120 or a peer node 116.”); and
responsive to the request, enabling access to the first executable stored in the generated subfolder (Thompson, see col 7 lines 61-63, “…the first peer node 116 to respond to the resource existence request may send the resource 118 (to the managed node 120).”), (Thompson, see col 8 lines 18-20, “… the response by the peer node 116 may include the location where the requested resource 118 is stored on a drive.”).
Regarding claim 9, Thompson discloses:
receiving an additional instruction to install a second software package, wherein a second executable (Thompson, see col 11 lines 38-47, “…The network configuration scan utility 432 may periodically send out provisioning configuration queries to the managed nodes 420 that are connected to the computer network 414. This may be done to allow the administrative system 402 to be aware of the current provisioning configuration status of the managed nodes 420 connected to the computer network 414 and to send data indicating a set of resources 418 to be downloaded by any managed node 420 that is not properly provisioned.”);
responsive to the second executable being unavailable at the local cache folder, searching for the second executable in the peer cache folder of the peer nodes based on the additional subfolder name (Thompson, see col 12 lines 1-8, “…If there are any discrepancies between the resources 418 the managed node 420 has and the data obtained through the configuration request utility, the managed node 420 may then request the resources 418 from one or more other managed nodes 420 and/or peer nodes 416 within the managed network 400 before attempting to obtain the resources from the administrative system 402.”), (Thompson, see col 8 lines 44-46, “…the resource existence request may include a relative path to a file in a cache directory.”); and
responsive to the second executable being available at the peer cache folder, accessing the second executable from the peer cache folder (Thompson, see col 14 lines 16-22, “…If the responses indicate the peer nodes 716a-b have one or more requested resources 718a-c, the managed node 720 may send 774, 776 a download request to the peer nodes 716a-b for the resources 718a, 718c the peer nodes 716a-b have. The managed node 720 may then download 778, 780 the resources 718a, 718c from the peer nodes 716a-b.”);
Thompson does not appear to distinctly disclose:
responsive to the additional instruction, detecting an additional designation parameter from a characteristic of the second executable or the second URL; generating an additional subfolder name based on the designation parameter;
searching the local cache folder for the second executable based on the subfolder name; and
executing the second executable to install the second software package.
However, Zeng discloses:
(Zeng, see page 10 paragraphs 5-7 , “{active:true,assets: [“https://xx.cn/activity/111/1.js”,“https://xx.cn/activity/111/ 2.css”, “https://xx.cn/activity/111/3.jpg”,“https://xx.cn/activity/111/ 4.mp4”]}”);
responsive to the additional instruction, detecting an additional designation parameter from a characteristic of the second executable or the second URL; generating an additional subfolder name based on the designation parameter (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23, “It in this example, can be by the resource load path of web page resources for example:“https:// xx.cn/activity/ 111/2.css”;Path " the https that removal filename obtains:// xx.cn/activity/111/ " is then based on hash algorithm Or unique value is calculated as file directory title in MD5 algorithms, web page resources is stored under this document catalogue…”); and
searching the local cache folder for the second executable based on the subfolder name (Zeng, see page 11 paragraph 4, “…according to the resource load address URL of web page resources, MD5 values… are calculated after filename can be removed… Corresponding file directory address is obtained after uncommon value, corresponding file name is obtained after calculating MD5 values or cryptographic Hash to URL, Under this document catalogue, it can search whether that there are the web page resources of corresponding file name.”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include an additional network location that corresponds to a second uniform resource location (URL), responsive to the additional instruction, detecting an additional designation parameter from a characteristic of the second executable or the second URL; generating an additional subfolder name based on the designation parameter, and searching the local cache folder for the second executable based on the subfolder name as taught by Zeng, for the result of allowing a node to install a second package without having to be downloaded again.
Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
executing the second executable to install the second software package.
However, Yu discloses:
(Yu, see paragraph [0038], “Execution of the update computer program results in the client node updating itself using the self-describing automatic installation package (124)… In particular, the update computer program may perform the updating process, by unpackaging the self-describing automatic installation package, and causing the executable files within the package to be executed or run in the order indicated by the metadata within the package.”); and
executing the second executable to install the second software package (Yu, see paragraph [0038], “Execution of the update computer program results in the client node updating itself using the self-describing automatic installation package (124)…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include a second executable configured to execute installation of the second software package is available at an additional network location that corresponds to an executable and executing the second executable to install the second software package as taught by Yu, for the result of for the result of allowing a node to install a second package without having to be downloaded again.
Regarding claim 12, Thompson discloses: A managed network configured for peer-to-peer based software package distribution (Thompson, see col 4 lines 43-47, “…A managed node 120 may be configured to more efficiently obtain resources 118 needed to provision a managed node 120 by attempting to obtain the resources 118 from other peer nodes 116 instead of directly from an administrative system 102…”), the managed network comprising:
a plurality of nodes including a first node and a second node, wherein the first node includes (Thompson, see col 4 lines 39-43, “…The administrative system 102 may manage other computing devices that are also connected to the computer network 114. These other computing devices may include one or more managed nodes 120 and one or more peer nodes 116…”), (Thompson, see col 8 lines 44-46, “…the resource existence request may include a relative path to a file in a cache directory.”);
a management device configured to communicate instructions to the plurality of nodes to install software packages (Thompson, see col 11 lines 38-47, “…The network configuration scan utility 432 may periodically send out provisioning configuration queries to the managed nodes 420 that are connected to the computer network 414. This may be done to allow the administrative system 402 to be aware of the current provisioning configuration status of the managed nodes 420 connected to the computer network 414 and to send data indicating a set of resources 418 to be downloaded by any managed node 420 that is not properly provisioned.”),
wherein the first node is configured to: receive a first instruction from the management device to install a first software package (Thompson, see col 5 lines 13-18, “…the administrative system 102 may include and/or send data that indicates a set of resources to be downloaded. For example, the designated configuration 108 may be used to create the data indicating a set of resources 118 to be downloaded by a managed node 120 for provisioning…”),
search for the first executable in the second cache folder of the second node based on the first subfolder name responsive to the first executable being unavailable at the first cache folder (Thompson, see col 12 lines 1-8, “…If there are any discrepancies between the resources 418 the managed node 420 has and the data obtained through the configuration request utility, the managed node 420 may then request the resources 418 from one or more other managed nodes 420 and/or peer nodes 416 within the managed network 400 before attempting to obtain the resources from the administrative system 402.”), (Thompson, see col 8 lines 44-46, “…the resource existence request may include a relative path to a file in a cache directory.”);
download the first executable from (Thompson, see col 9 lines 43-48, “…if it is determined 206 the managed node 120 does not receive a response to the parallel resource existence requests indicating that one or more peer nodes has a requested resource 118, the managed node 120 may optionally download 208 the resource from the administrative system 102…”);
the second node is configured to: receive a second instruction from the management device to install the first software package (Thompson, see col 11 lines 45-47, “…to send data indicating a set of resources 418 to be downloaded by any managed node 420 that is not properly provisioned.”), (Thompson, see col 4 lines 47-49, “…any node may operate as either a managed node 120 or a peer node 116.”);
search for the first executable in the first cache folder of the first node based on the first subfolder name responsive to the first executable being unavailable at the second cache folder (Thompson, see col 12 lines 1-8, “…If there are any discrepancies between the resources 418 the managed node 420 has and the data obtained through the configuration request utility, the managed node 420 may then request the resources 418 from one or more other managed nodes 420 and/or peer nodes 416 within the managed network 400 before attempting to obtain the resources from the administrative system 402.”), (Thompson, see col 8 lines 44-46, “…the resource existence request may include a relative path to a file in a cache directory.”); and
access the first executable in the first cache folder of the first node (Thompson, see col 9 lines 32-36, “If a response to the parallel resource existence requests indicating one or more peer nodes 116 has a requested resource 118 is received, the managed node 120 may download 210 at least one resource 118 from at least one of the peer nodes 116…”), (Thompson, see col 8 lines 18-20, “… the response by the peer node 116 may include the location where the requested resource 118 is stored on a drive.”);
Thompson does not appear to distinctly disclose:
the first software package is installed via execution of a first executable available at a first network location that corresponds to a first uniform resource location (URL);
detect a first designation parameter from a characteristic of the first executable or the first URL responsive to the first instruction;
generate a first subfolder name based on the first designation parameter;
search the first cache folder of the first node for the first executable based on the first subfolder name;
generate a first subfolder for the first executable in the first cache folder, the first subfolder having the first subfolder name; and
store the first executable in the first subfolder; and
detect the first designation parameter;
generate the first subfolder name based on the first designation parameter;
search the second cache folder of the second node for the first executable based on the first subfolder name; and
execute the first executable to install the first software package.
However, Zeng discloses:
(Zeng, see page 7 paragraph 13, “…web page resources can be stored in Client… local, for example, being stored in such as caching in read-write storage region in client.”);
(Zeng, see page 9 paragraph 26-page 10 paragraph 1, “the target webpage is deployed on network server address: https: //xx.cn/activity/111/index.html.”);
detect a first designation parameter from a characteristic of the first executable or the first URL responsive to the first instruction (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23, “It in this example, can be by the resource load path of web page resources for example:“https:// xx.cn/activity/ 111/2.css”;Path " the https that removal filename obtains:// xx.cn/activity/111/ " is then based on hash algorithm Or unique value is calculated as file directory title in MD5 algorithms, web page resources is stored under this document catalogue…”);
generate a first subfolder name based on the first designation parameter (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23);
search the first cache folder of the first node for the first executable based on the first subfolder name (Zeng, see page 11 paragraph 4, “…according to the resource load address URL of web page resources, MD5 values… are calculated after filename can be removed… Corresponding file directory address is obtained after uncommon value, corresponding file name is obtained after calculating MD5 values or cryptographic Hash to URL, Under this document catalogue, it can search whether that there are the web page resources of corresponding file name.”);
(Zeng, see page 11 paragraph 8, “Step S415, client 300 load target webpage resource from network.”);
generate a first subfolder for the first executable in the first cache folder, the first subfolder having the first subfolder name (Zeng, see page 7 paragraph 19, “According to the resource load path of web page resources, generate corresponding exclusive path mark, by web page resources be stored in The exclusive path identifies under corresponding file directory.”); and
store the first executable in the first subfolder (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23, “…web page resources is stored under this document catalogue…”); and
detect the first designation parameter (Zeng, see page 8 paragraph 8, “The destination path identifies, and the method that can be identified according to above-mentioned generation exclusive path generates…”);
generate the first subfolder name based on the first designation parameter (Zeng, see page 8 paragraph 8); and
search the second cache folder of the second node for the first executable based on the first subfolder name (Zeng, see page 8 paragraph 9, “Step S2302 is identified with destination path under the corresponding file directory of identical exclusive path mark, inquiry acquisition Target webpage resource.”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include a first cache folder and the second node include a second cache folder, a first network location that corresponds to a first uniform resource location (URL), detect a first designation parameter from a characteristic of the first executable or the first URL responsive to the first instruction, generate a first subfolder name based on the first designation parameter, search the first cache folder of the first node for the first executable based on the first subfolder name, generate a first subfolder for the first executable in the first cache folder, the first subfolder having the first subfolder name, store the first executable in the first subfolder, detect the first designation parameter, generate the first subfolder name based on the first designation parameter, and search the second cache folder of the second node for the first executable based on the first subfolder name as taught by Zeng, for the result of allowing the second node to install without going back to the source server.
Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
the first software package is installed via execution of a first executable available at a first network location that corresponds to a first uniform resource location (URL); and
execute the first executable to install the first software package.
However, Yu discloses:
the first software package is installed via execution of a first executable available at (Yu, see paragraph [0038], “Execution of the update computer program results in the client node updating itself using the self-describing automatic installation package (124)…”), (Yu, see paragraph [0032], “…The update computer program may be stored on the logical depot node implemented by the management server, or on the management server apart from the logical depot node…”); and
execute the first executable to install the first software package (Yu, see paragraph [0038], “Execution of the update computer program results in the client node updating itself using the self-describing automatic installation package (124)… In particular, the update computer program may perform the updating process, by unpackaging the self-describing automatic installation package, and causing the executable files within the package to be executed or run in the order indicated by the metadata within the package.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include the first software package is installed via execution of a first executable and execute the first executable to install the first software package as taught by Yu, for the result of allowing the second node to install without going back to the source server.
Regarding claim 13, Thompson discloses:
wherein the first node is further configured to: receive an additional instruction to install a second software package from the management device, wherein a second executable (Thompson, see col 11 lines 38-47, “…The network configuration scan utility 432 may periodically send out provisioning configuration queries to the managed nodes 420 that are connected to the computer network 414. This may be done to allow the administrative system 402 to be aware of the current provisioning configuration status of the managed nodes 420 connected to the computer network 414 and to send data indicating a set of resources 418 to be downloaded by any managed node 420 that is not properly provisioned.”);
responsive to the second executable being unavailable at the first cache folder of the first node, search for the second executable in the second cache folder of the second node based on the additional subfolder name (Thompson, see col 12 lines 1-8, “…If there are any discrepancies between the resources 418 the managed node 420 has and the data obtained through the configuration request utility, the managed node 420 may then request the resources 418 from one or more other managed nodes 420 and/or peer nodes 416 within the managed network 400 before attempting to obtain the resources from the administrative system 402.”), (Thompson, see col 8 lines 44-46, “…the resource existence request may include a relative path to a file in a cache directory.”); and
responsive to the second executable being available at the second cache folder of the second node, access the second executable from the second cache folder of the second node (Thompson, see col 14 lines 16-22, “…If the responses indicate the peer nodes 716a-b have one or more requested resources 718a-c, the managed node 720 may send 774, 776 a download request to the peer nodes 716a-b for the resources 718a, 718c the peer nodes 716a-b have. The managed node 720 may then download 778, 780 the resources 718a, 718c from the peer nodes 716a-b.”);
Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
responsive to the additional instruction, detect an additional designation parameter from a characteristic of the second executable or the second URL;
generate an additional subfolder name based on the additional designation parameter;
search the first cache folder of the first node for the second executable based on the first subfolder name; and
execute the second executable to install the second software package.
However, Zeng discloses:
(Zeng, see page 10 paragraphs 5-7 , “{active:true,assets: [“https://xx.cn/activity/111/1.js”,“https://xx.cn/activity/111/ 2.css”, “https://xx.cn/activity/111/3.jpg”,“https://xx.cn/activity/111/ 4.mp4”]}”);
responsive to the additional instruction, detect an additional designation parameter from a characteristic of the second executable or the second URL (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23, “It in this example, can be by the resource load path of web page resources for example:“https:// xx.cn/activity/ 111/2.css”;Path " the https that removal filename obtains:// xx.cn/activity/111/ " is then based on hash algorithm Or unique value is calculated as file directory title in MD5 algorithms, web page resources is stored under this document catalogue…”);
generate an additional subfolder name based on the additional designation parameter (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23); and
search the first cache folder of the first node for the second executable based on the first subfolder name (Zeng, see page 11 paragraph 4, “…according to the resource load address URL of web page resources, MD5 values… are calculated after filename can be removed… Corresponding file directory address is obtained after uncommon value, corresponding file name is obtained after calculating MD5 values or cryptographic Hash to URL, Under this document catalogue, it can search whether that there are the web page resources of corresponding file name.”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include an additional network location that corresponds to a second uniform resource location (URL), responsive to the additional instruction, detect an additional designation parameter from a characteristic of the second executable or the second URL, generate an additional subfolder name based on the additional designation parameter, and search the first cache folder of the first node for the second executable based on the first subfolder name as taught by Zeng, for the result of allowing the first node to install a second package without it having to be downloaded again.
Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
is configured to install the second software package
execute the second executable to install the second software package.
However, Yu discloses:
(Yu, see paragraph [0038], “Execution of the update computer program results in the client node updating itself using the self-describing automatic installation package (124)… In particular, the update computer program may perform the updating process, by unpackaging the self-describing automatic installation package, and causing the executable files within the package to be executed or run in the order indicated by the metadata within the package.”); and
execute the second executable to install the second software package (Yu, see paragraph [0038], “Execution of the update computer program results in the client node updating itself using the self-describing automatic installation package (124)…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include a second executable is configured to install the second software package and is available at an additional network location and execute the second executable to install the second software package as taught by Yu, for the result of allowing the first node to install a second package without it having to be downloaded again.
Regarding claim 16, Thompson does not appear to distinctly disclose:
wherein: the first node generates the first subfolder name based on performance of an operation on the first designation parameter;
the characteristic is the first URL;
the operation includes a hash operation to generate a first URL hash value; and
the first subfolder name includes at least a portion of the first URL hash value.
However, Zeng discloses:
wherein: the first node generates the first subfolder name based on performance of an operation on the first designation parameter (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23, “It in this example, can be by the resource load path of web page resources for example:“https:// xx.cn/activity/ 111/2.css”;Path " the https that removal filename obtains:// xx.cn/activity/111/ " is then based on hash algorithm Or unique value is calculated as file directory title in MD5 algorithms, web page resources is stored under this document catalogue…”);
the characteristic is the first URL (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23);
the operation includes a hash operation to generate a first URL hash value (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23); and
the first subfolder name includes at least a portion of the first URL hash value (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include wherein: the first node generates the first subfolder name based on performance of an operation on the first designation parameter; the characteristic is the first URL; the operation includes a hash operation to generate a first URL hash value; and the first subfolder name includes at least a portion of the first URL hash value as taught by Zeng, for the result of allowing nodes to find the same cached file.
Claims 4, 10, 11, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson, Zeng, and Yu as applied to claim 1, 3, 12, and 16 above, and further in view of Grier et al. (US20020019972, Grier hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Thompson does not appear to distinctly disclose:
wherein: the hash operation is performed using secured hash algorithm 1 (SHA-1); and
the subfolder name includes a first seven characters of the first URL hash value.
However, Zeng discloses:
the subfolder name includes a first seven characters of the first URL hash value (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23, “It in this example, can be by the resource load path of web page resources for example:“https:// xx.cn/activity/ 111/2.css”;Path " the https that removal filename obtains:// xx.cn/activity/111/ " is then based on hash algorithm Or unique value is calculated as file directory title in MD5 algorithms, web page resources is stored under this document catalogue…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include the subfolder name includes a first seven characters of the first URL hash value as taught by Zeng, for the result of for the result of assigning unique folder names.
Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
wherein: the hash operation is performed using secured hash algorithm 1 (SHA-1);
However, Grier discloses:
wherein: the hash operation is performed using secured hash algorithm 1 (SHA-1) (Grier, see paragraph [0042], “A sample assembly manifest is set forth in TABLE3 below… hashalg="SHA1"…”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include wherein: the hash operation is performed using secured hash algorithm 1 (SHA-1) as taught by Grier, for the result of for the result of assigning unique folder names.
Regarding claim 10, Thompson discloses:
receiving an additional instruction to install a second software package, wherein a second executable available at an additional network location (Thompson, see col 11 lines 38-47, “…The network configuration scan utility 432 may periodically send out provisioning configuration queries to the managed nodes 420 that are connected to the computer network 414. This may be done to allow the administrative system 402 to be aware of the current provisioning configuration status of the managed nodes 420 connected to the computer network 414 and to send data indicating a set of resources 418 to be downloaded by any managed node 420 that is not properly provisioned.”) and
responsive to the second executable being unavailable at the local cache folder and the second executable being unavailable at the peer cache folder (Thompson, see col 9 lines 43-48, “…if it is determined 206 the managed node 120 does not receive a response to the parallel resource existence requests indicating that one or more peer nodes has a requested resource 118, the managed node 120 may optionally download 208 the resource from the administrative system 102…”).
Thompson does not appear to distinctly disclose:
the second executable having a same name as the first executable;
responsive to the instruction, detecting an additional designation parameter from a characteristic of the second executable or the second URL;
generating an additional subfolder name based on the designation parameter;
generating an additional subfolder for the second executable in the local cache folder, the additional subfolder having the additional subfolder name; and
storing the second executable in the additional subfolder
such that the first executable and the second executable include unique full paths via which the first executable and the second executable are accessible despite having the same name.
However, Zeng discloses:
(Zeng, see page 10 paragraphs 5-7 , “{active:true,assets: [“https://xx.cn/activity/111/1.js”,“https://xx.cn/activity/111/ 2.css”, “https://xx.cn/activity/111/3.jpg”,“https://xx.cn/activity/111/ 4.mp4”]}”) and
responsive to the instruction, detecting an additional designation parameter from a characteristic of the second executable or the second URL (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23, “It in this example, can be by the resource load path of web page resources for example:“https:// xx.cn/activity/ 111/2.css”;Path " the https that removal filename obtains:// xx.cn/activity/111/ " is then based on hash algorithm Or unique value is calculated as file directory title in MD5 algorithms, web page resources is stored under this document catalogue…”);
generating an additional subfolder name based on the designation parameter (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23); and
generating an additional subfolder for the second executable in the local cache folder, the additional subfolder having the additional subfolder name (Zeng, see page 7 paragraph 19, “According to the resource load path of web page resources, generate corresponding exclusive path mark, by web page resources be stored in The exclusive path identifies under corresponding file directory.”); and
storing the second executable in the additional subfolder (Zeng, see page 7 paragraph 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include an additional network location that corresponds to a second Zeng, for the result of preventing installers from being overwritten when two installers are cached on the same node.
Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
the second executable having a same name as the first executable; and
such that the first executable and the second executable include unique full paths via which the first executable and the second executable are accessible despite having the same name.
However, Yu discloses:
(Yu, see paragraph [0038], “Execution of the update computer program results in the client node updating itself using the self-describing automatic installation package (124)… In particular, the update computer program may perform the updating process, by unpackaging the self-describing automatic installation package, and causing the executable files within the package to be executed or run in the order indicated by the metadata within the package.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include a second executable configured to execute installation of the second software package is available at an additional network location as taught by Yu, for the result of preventing installers from being overwritten when two installers are cached on the same node.
Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
the second executable having a same name as the first executable; and
such that the first executable and the second executable include unique full paths via which the first executable and the second executable are accessible despite having the same name.
However, Grier discloses:
the second executable having a same name as the first executable (Grier, see paragraph [0030], “The present invention is generally directed to isolating versions of components (including code and/or data) per-application program or the like, in a manner that allows multiple versions of the same component to exist and operate side-by-side on a system… components may be collected into an assembly, which, when referring to items such as a component, is the lowest unit of storage packaged for activation, distribution and versioning, and isolation…”); and
such that the first executable and the second executable include unique full paths via which the first executable and the second executable are accessible despite having the same name (Grier, see paragraph [0036], “…to provide side-by-side existence of assembly versions, any existing assembly versions are not overwritten in the assembly cache 208 when another version is installed, (although a version can be removed by other means, at the risk of breaking an application that depends on that version)…”), (Grier, see paragraph [0050], “…The DLL redirector section 404 includes a record or the like for each DLL dependency that includes fields… that relate the DLL name used by an application to the exact pathname of the version specified in the application manifest and/or assembly manifest…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include the second executable having a same name as the first executable and the first executable and the second executable include unique full paths via which the first executable and the second executable are accessible despite having the same name as taught by Grier, for the result of preventing installers from being overwritten when two installers are cached on the same node.
Regarding claim 11, Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
wherein execution of the first executable and execution of the second executable occur concurrently or at least partially concurrently.
However, Grier discloses:
wherein execution of the first executable and execution of the second executable occur concurrently or at least partially concurrently (Grier, see paragraph [0061], “…The operating system also maps any uses of this named object to the appropriate version to allow for multiple versions of the code module to run simultaneously without interfering with each other, whereby, for example COM object data is isolated per object…”), (Grier, see paragraph [0031], “…an application program is not limited to any particular type of software product, but includes any executable code such as operating system components, drivers and so on that in turn use other assemblies…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include wherein execution of the first executable and execution of the second executable occur concurrently or at least partially concurrently as taught by Grier, for the result of decreasing the total installation time.
Regarding claim 14, Thompson discloses:
wherein the first node is further configured to: receive an additional instruction to install a second software package from the management device, wherein a second executable (Thompson, see col 11 lines 38-47, “…The network configuration scan utility 432 may periodically send out provisioning configuration queries to the managed nodes 420 that are connected to the computer network 414. This may be done to allow the administrative system 402 to be aware of the current provisioning configuration status of the managed nodes 420 connected to the computer network 414 and to send data indicating a set of resources 418 to be downloaded by any managed node 420 that is not properly provisioned.”), and
responsive to the second executable being unavailable at the first cache folder at the first node and the second executable being unavailable at the second cache folder of the second node (Thompson, see col 9 lines 43-48, “…if it is determined 206 the managed node 120 does not receive a response to the parallel resource existence requests indicating that one or more peer nodes has a requested resource 118, the managed node 120 may optionally download 208 the resource from the administrative system 102…”).
Thompson does not appear to distinctly disclose:
the second executable has a same name as the first executable;
responsive to the additional instruction, detect an additional designation parameter from a characteristic of the second executable or the second URL; generate an additional subfolder name based on the additional designation parameter;
generate an additional subfolder for the second executable in the first cache folder of the first node, the additional subfolder having the additional subfolder name; and
store the second executable in the additional subfolder and
such that the first executable and the second executable include unique full paths via which the first executable and the second executable are accessible despite having the same name.
However, Zeng discloses:
(Zeng, see page 10 paragraphs 5-7 , “{active:true,assets: [“https://xx.cn/activity/111/1.js”,“https://xx.cn/activity/111/ 2.css”, “https://xx.cn/activity/111/3.jpg”,“https://xx.cn/activity/111/ 4.mp4”]}”), and
responsive to the additional instruction, detect an additional designation parameter from a characteristic of the second executable or the second URL (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23, “It in this example, can be by the resource load path of web page resources for example:“https:// xx.cn/activity/ 111/2.css”;Path " the https that removal filename obtains:// xx.cn/activity/111/ " is then based on hash algorithm Or unique value is calculated as file directory title in MD5 algorithms, web page resources is stored under this document catalogue…”);
generate an additional subfolder name based on the additional designation parameter (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23);
generate an additional subfolder for the second executable in the first cache folder of the first node, the additional subfolder having the additional subfolder name (Zeng, see page 7 paragraph 19, “According to the resource load path of web page resources, generate corresponding exclusive path mark, by web page resources be stored in The exclusive path identifies under corresponding file directory.”); and
store the second executable in the additional subfolder name (Zeng, see page 7 paragraph 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include an additional network location that corresponds to a second uniform resource location (URL), responsive to the additional instruction, detect an additional designation parameter from a characteristic of the second executable or the second URL, generate an additional subfolder name based on the additional designation parameter, generate an additional subfolder for the second executable in the first cache folder of the first node, the additional subfolder having the additional subfolder name, and store the second executable in the additional subfolder name as taught by Zeng, for the result of preventing installers from being overwritten when two installers are cached on the same node.
Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
the second executable has a same name as the first executable; and
such that the first executable and the second executable include unique full paths via which the first executable and the second executable are accessible despite having the same name.
However, Yu discloses:
(Yu, see paragraph [0038], “Execution of the update computer program results in the client node updating itself using the self-describing automatic installation package (124)… In particular, the update computer program may perform the updating process, by unpackaging the self-describing automatic installation package, and causing the executable files within the package to be executed or run in the order indicated by the metadata within the package.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include a second executable is configured to install the second software package, the second executable is available at an additional network location as taught by Yu, for the result of preventing installers from being overwritten when two installers are cached on the same node.
Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
the second executable has a same name as the first executable; and
such that the first executable and the second executable include unique full paths via which the first executable and the second executable are accessible despite having the same name.
However, Grier discloses:
the second executable has a same name as the first executable (Grier, see paragraph [0030], “The present invention is generally directed to isolating versions of components (including code and/or data) per-application program or the like, in a manner that allows multiple versions of the same component to exist and operate side-by-side on a system… components may be collected into an assembly, which, when referring to items such as a component, is the lowest unit of storage packaged for activation, distribution and versioning, and isolation…”); and
such that the first executable and the second executable include unique full paths via which the first executable and the second executable are accessible despite having the same name (Grier, see paragraph [0036], “…to provide side-by-side existence of assembly versions, any existing assembly versions are not overwritten in the assembly cache 208 when another version is installed, (although a version can be removed by other means, at the risk of breaking an application that depends on that version)…”), (Grier, see paragraph [0050], “…The DLL redirector section 404 includes a record or the like for each DLL dependency that includes fields… that relate the DLL name used by an application to the exact pathname of the version specified in the application manifest and/or assembly manifest…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include the second executable has a same name as the first executable and the first executable and the second executable include unique full paths via which the first executable and the second executable are accessible despite having the same name as taught by Grier, for the result of preventing installers from being overwritten when two installers are cached on the same node.
Regarding claim 15, Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
wherein execution of the first executable and execution of the second executable occur concurrently or at least partially concurrently.
However, Grier discloses:
wherein execution of the first executable and execution of the second executable occur concurrently or at least partially concurrently (Grier, see paragraph [0061], “…The operating system also maps any uses of this named object to the appropriate version to allow for multiple versions of the code module to run simultaneously without interfering with each other, whereby, for example COM object data is isolated per object…”), (Grier, see paragraph [0031], “…an application program is not limited to any particular type of software product, but includes any executable code such as operating system components, drivers and so on that in turn use other assemblies…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include wherein execution of the first executable and execution of the second executable occur concurrently or at least partially concurrently as taught by Grier, for the result of decreasing the total installation time.
Regarding claim 17, Thompson does not appear to distinctly disclose:
wherein: the hash operation is performed using secured hash algorithm 1 (SHA-1); and
the subfolder name includes a first seven characters of the first URL hash value.
However, Zeng discloses:
the subfolder name includes a first seven characters of the first URL hash value (Zeng, see page 10 paragraph 23, “It in this example, can be by the resource load path of web page resources for example:“https:// xx.cn/activity/ 111/2.css”;Path " the https that removal filename obtains:// xx.cn/activity/111/ " is then based on hash algorithm Or unique value is calculated as file directory title in MD5 algorithms, web page resources is stored under this document catalogue…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include the subfolder name includes a first seven characters of the first URL hash value as taught by Zeng, for the result of assigning unique folder names.
Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
wherein: the hash operation is performed using secured hash algorithm 1 (SHA-1);
However, Grier discloses:
wherein: the hash operation is performed using secured hash algorithm 1 (SHA-1) (Grier, see paragraph [0042], “A sample assembly manifest is set forth in TABLE3 below… hashalg="SHA1"…”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include wherein: the hash operation is performed using secured hash algorithm 1 (SHA-1) as taught by Grier, for the result of assigning unique folder names.
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson, Zeng, and Yu as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Watson et al. (US20050149941, Watson hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
wherein the characteristic includes an identifier assigned to a package including the first software package; and the subfolder name includes at least a portion of the identifier.
However, Watson discloses:
wherein the characteristic includes an identifier assigned to a package including the first software package; and the subfolder name includes at least a portion of the identifier (Watson, see paragraphs [0087-0091], “First a directory for storing the programming code for the project is created. The directory structure as follows… iwmyproject… iwmyproject/src… where myproject is the name of the adapter to be constructed… The src subdirectory should match the java package name and should follow the software naming convention which, in the case of iWay software would be com.ibi.iwprojectname.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include wherein the characteristic includes an identifier assigned to a package including the first software package; and the subfolder name includes at least a portion of the identifier as taught by Watson, for the result of allowing the first software package and the first subfolder to be located.
Regarding claim 18, Thompson as modified does not appear to distinctly disclose:
wherein: the characteristic includes an identifier assigned to a package including the first software package; and the first subfolder name includes at least a portion of the identifier.
However, Watson discloses:
wherein: the characteristic includes an identifier assigned to a package including the first software package; and the first subfolder name includes at least a portion of the identifier (Watson, see paragraphs [0087-0091], “First a directory for storing the programming code for the project is created. The directory structure as follows… iwmyproject… iwmyproject/src… where myproject is the name of the adapter to be constructed… The src subdirectory should match the java package name and should follow the software naming convention which, in the case of iWay software would be com.ibi.iwprojectname.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include wherein: the characteristic includes an identifier assigned to a package including the first software package; and the first subfolder name includes at least a portion of the identifier as taught by Watson, for the result of allowing the first software package and the first subfolder to be located.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson, Zeng, and Yu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guo et al. (US20200285609, Guo hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, Thompson does not appear to distinctly disclose:
after the subfolder is generated, creating a hard link to the first executable in the local cache folder or in a working folder.
However, Guo discloses:
after the subfolder is generated, creating a hard link to the first executable in the local cache folder or in a working folder (Guo, see paragraph [0049], “…The files 107′ can include a first subset of files 107a′ identified individually by a symbolic link 172, and a second subset of files 107b′ identified individually by a hard link 174. The hard links 174 can identify files 107b′ that are unique to the container 114. In the illustrated example, a hard link 174 identifies an application executable file “application.exe” under directory “application\.”…”), (Guo, see paragraph [0051], “…the file manager 106 can also be configured to create a new folder on a different drive (e.g., “C:\”) of the host 102 and copy and/or otherwise making available the files 107′ from the container image 124…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified a system for discovering and downloading configuration files as taught by Thompson, to include after the subfolder is generated, creating a hard link to the first executable in the local cache folder or in a working folder as taught by Guo, for the result of ensuring that the first executable is accessible.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but
would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to Joshua Tran whose telephone number is (571)272-5460.
The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9-5.
supervisor, Hyung Sough can be reached on (571)272-6799. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JOSHUA TRAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2192
/S. Sough/SPE, Art Unit 2192