DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed 01/06/2025, cancelled claims 2-5, 10, 14, 18-21, 24, 26-28, 30, 32, 34, 36, and 38.
Claims 1, 6-9, 11-13, 15-17, 22-23, 25, 29, 31, 33, 35, 37, and 39-40 are pending and examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 6-7, 29, 31, 33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 6-7, 29, 31, 33, and 35, the phrase “Method III (Cone-and-Plate Rheometers) described in USP <912>” renders the claims indefinite. Since the United States Pharmacopeia National Formulary is continually revised, i.e., three times per year, it is not clear what standard of “Method III (Cone-and-Plate Rheometers) described in USP <912>” is being referenced and adhered to, in order to achieve the instantly claimed viscosity measurements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 11-13, 15-17, 22-23, 25, 37, and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Translation of WO 2016/178,053 to Lozinsky (published 2016, TRANSLATION, PTO-892) in view of Drugs.com (Tranexamic Acid Dosage, published 2021, PTO-892), as evidenced by IMCD (Natrosol 250 HHX, published 2026, PTO-892).
Lozinsky teaches compositions for the treatment of epistaxis (title, pg. 4).
Lozinksy exemplifies a gel composition comprising about 10% tranexamic acid, about 0.6% hydroxyethylcellulose (Natrosol HHX), and water (pg. 21).
Lozinsky differs from instant claim 1 in that it does not teach the concentration of tranexamic acid.
Drugs teaches tranexamic acid dosages for use in bleeding (title; pg. 1).
Drugs teaches a range of dosages based on the age of the patient, the disorder being treated, and renal function, such as 10mg/kg infused at 1mL/minute and 3900mg/day (pgs. 2-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to select about 250mg/mL to about 300mg/mL as the concentration of tranexamic acid in the compositions of Lozinsky, to arrive at the instant claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Lozinsky teaches its compositions for the treatment of a bleeding disorder (i.e., epistaxis),
-Drugs teaches that tranexamic acid can be administered in a range of dosages based on the age of the patient, the disorder being treated, and the patient’s renal function, to treat bleeding disorders, and
-"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," MPEP 2144.05(II).
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a selection to predictably arrive at a an aqueous tranexamic acid composition that it optimized to stop or inhibit epistaxis.
The optimization of known amounts for known active agents is considered well within the competence level of an artisan of ordinary skill in the pharmaceutical sciences; it has been held that the selection of optimal parameters, such as amounts of active agents, to achieve a beneficial effect, is within the skill in the art of an ordinary artisan. See In re Boesch, 205 USPT 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 9, Lozinsky teaches 0.6% hydroxyethylcellulose.
Regarding claims 11-13, as evidenced by IMCD, Natrosol HHX has a viscosity range of 3400-5000cps, and "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 15, Lozinsky teaches that its composition may further comprise a buffer (pg. 21).
Regarding claim 16, Lozinksky teaches that the pH buffer can be a citrate buffer (pg. 8).
Regarding claim 17, though Lozinsky does not teach the concentration of citrate buffer, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify the concentration to predictably arrive at a concentration that is effective to stabilize the composition and be safely administered to a patient with epistaxis; "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," MPEP 2144.05(II).
The optimization of known amounts for known active agents is considered well within the competence level of an artisan of ordinary skill in the pharmaceutical sciences; it has been held that the selection of optimal parameters, such as amounts of active agents, to achieve a beneficial effect, is within the skill in the art of an ordinary artisan. See In re Boesch, 205 USPT 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 22-23 and 25, Lozinsky teaches its compositions as having a pH of about 3.5 to about 5; in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 37, Lozinsky teaches its compositions as sterile (pg. 24).
Regarding claim 39, Lozinsky teaches kits comprising a container (pg. 2, claim 18).
Regarding claim 40, while Lozinsky does not teach the volume of the composition of the kit, Lozinsky teaches its kits as single-use. As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify the volume of the kit to predictably arrive at a volume that is optimized for a single use application to treat epistaxis.
Claims 6-8, 29, 31, 33, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/178,053 to Lozinsky (published 2016, TRANSLATION, PTO-892) in view of Drugs.com (Tranexamic Acid Dosage, published 2021, PTO-892), as evidenced by IMCD (Natrosol 250 HHX, published 2026, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1, 9, 11-13, 15-17, 22-23, 25, 37, and 39-40, and further in view of Hapgood (Hydroxyethyl Cellulose, published 2009, PTO-892).
Lozinsky and Drugs are applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claims 6-7, 29, 31, 33, and 35, the composition of Lozinsky and Drugs differs in that it does not teach the viscosity of the composition.
Hapgood teaches hydroxyethyl cellulose as a nonionic, water-soluble polymer widely used in topical cosmetic formulations (pg. 311, Cols. 1-2).
Hapgood teaches that hydroxyethyl cellulose is available in a wide range of viscosity types and grades, wherein the grades differ principally in their aqueous solution viscosities which range from 2-20,000mPa s for a 2% w/v aqueous solution. Aqueous solutions made using a rapidly dispersing material may be prepared by dispersing the hydroxethyl cellulose in mildly agitated water at 20-25 C. Complete dispersion may be achieved by controlling the temperature, pH, and rate of stirring (pg. 311, Col. 2). Increasing the temperature reduces the viscosity of aqueous hydroxyethyl cellulose solutions (pg. 312, Col. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the viscosity of the hydroxyethyl cellulose, to arrive at a composition with 1-50 cps, measured at 21 C using the rotational viscosity Method III (Cone-and-Plate Rheometers described in <912>. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Hapgood teaches that it is known in the art to modify the viscosity of hydroxyethyl cellulose, and hence the viscosity of compositions comprising the hydroxyethyl cellulose, in pharmaceutical formulations.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such modifications to predictably arrive at a formulation that is optimized for viscosity and hence spreadability and ease of application.
Regarding claim 8, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify the concentration of the hydroxyethyl cellulose to about 1mg/mL to about 2 mg/mL, to predictably arrive at a concentration optimized to achieve a enhanced spreadability and ease of application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-9, 11-13, 15-17, 22-23, 25, 29, 31, 33, 35, 37, and 39-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,642,324 (PTO-892).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1, 6-7, 8-11, 22-23, 25, 29, 31, 33, and 35, ‘234 claims:
(claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, see claim 4 of ‘234.
Regarding claims 15-16, see claims 7-8 of ‘234.
Regarding claim 37, see claims 22-25.
Regarding claims 39-40, see claims 17-19 of ‘234.
Regarding claims 9 and 17, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify the % weight of the hydroxyethyl cellulose and/or the concentration of the citrate buffer, to predictably arrive at a formulation wherein the viscosity of the hydroxyethyl cellulose is 300-6500cps and the viscosity of the composition is 1-50 cps, and/or wherein the pH of the composition is about 3 to 5. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." MPEP 2144.05(II)
The optimization of known amounts for known active agents is considered well within the competence level of an artisan of ordinary skill in the pharmaceutical sciences; it has been held that the selection of optimal parameters, such as amounts of active agents, to achieve a beneficial effect, is within the skill in the art of an ordinary artisan. See In re Boesch, 205 USPT 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAUREN WELLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1622