DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3, 6-8, 10, 13-15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Altman et al (US20170251515A1).
Regarding claim 1, Altman’515 discloses a method (see, Fig. 1, bidirectional bonding channels between a first bonding device and a second bonding device, par 0026, 0051, 0054) comprising:
monitoring an amount of data exchanged (bidirectional communication of between the first and second bonding device can be equated to data exchanged, par 0054) by a client device (see, Fig. 1, first bonding device (terminal) can be equated to client device, par 0051-0052) via a bonded connection comprising a first channel and a second channel (bonding group including bonding channels can be equated to bonded connection comprising a first channel and a second channel, par 0041) used to simultaneously transfer data between the client device and one or more other network devices (see, Fig. 1, virtualization manager in first bonding device (terminal) monitors packet usage over each of the bonding channels (links) including bonding group comprises bonding channels for simultaneous bidirectional communication between first bonding device and second bonding device (server), par 0051-0055, 0140. Noted, second bonding device (server) can be equated to one or more other network devices, par 0055);
determining a first amount of data used on the first channel and second amount of data used on the second channel (see, Fig. 1, virtualization manager on first bonding device monitors and collects actual usage communicated over each of the links of bonding channels, par 0135, 0140);
comparing the amount of data used on the first channel (one cellular channel, par 0140) to a data usage threshold (see, Fig. 1, virtualization manager on first bonding device offloads data at transmission performance (data package and volume) threshold from cellular channel, par 0106, 0140);
reducing a data rate of subsequent transfers of data by the client device on the first channel and maintaining a data rate of the second channel (see, Fig. 1 and 3, virtualization manager on first bonding device offloads data in terms of performance (link throughput) from one cellular channel without degradation other channels (including cellular channels and Wi-Fi channels), par 0106, 0140. Noted, Fig. 3, multiple cellular channels and multiple Wi-Fi channels, par 0106. Noted, without degradation other channels can be equated to maintaining a data rate of the second channel) ; and
transmitting and receiving data simultaneously by the client device on the first and second channels (see, Fig. 1, bidirectionally communicates data simultaneously from first bonding device through bonding channels, par 0026, 0053-0054), wherein the reduced data rate of the first channel is less than a data rate of the second channel (see, completely offload link throughput from one cellular channel to Wi-Fi channel without degradation other channels (including cellular channels and Wi-Fi channels), and thus cellular channel being completely offload data has 0 throughput and another cellular channel without degradation performance has none zero link throughput, par 0106, 0140).
Regarding claim 3, Altman’515 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, bidirectional bonding channels between a first bonding device and a second bonding device, par 0026, 0051, 0054), wherein the monitoring of the amount of data exchanged is performed to both the first and the second channels (see, Fig. 1, virtualization manager on first bonding device monitors actual usage on each of the links, par 0140).
Regarding claim 6, Altman’515 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, bidirectional bonding channels between a first bonding device and a second bonding device, par 0026, 0051, 0054), wherein the first channel is cellular and second channel is Wi-Fi (see, offload from cellular link (channel) to wi-fi link (channel), par 0140).
Regarding claim 7, Altman’515 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, bidirectional bonding channels between a first bonding device and a second bonding device, par 0026, 0051, 0054), comprising exchanging the data via the first channel, the second channel and at least one additional channel (see, Fig. 1 and 3, bidirectionally communicates through data channels between first and second bonding device, par 0054, 0106), and wherein the first channel is cellular, the second channel is cellular and the at least one additional channel is a Wi-Fi channel (see, Fig. 3, data channels between first and second bonding device including cellular channels and Wi-Fi channels, par 0054, 0106).
Regarding claim 8, Claim 8 recites a system performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Claim 10 recites a system performing the steps recited in claim 3 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, Claim 13 recites a system performing the steps recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, Claim 14 recites a system performing the steps recited in claim 7 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Claim 15 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Claim 17 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium performing the steps recited in claim 3 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium performing the steps recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 9, 12, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altman’515 in view of Yong et al (US20080291927A1).
Regarding claim 2, Altman’515 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, bidirectional bonding channels between a first bonding device and a second bonding device, par 0026, 0051, 0054), comprising.
Altman’515 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: after a period of time, reducing a data rate of the second channel.
However Yong’927 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, transports traffic from a plurality of nodes to another location using link aggregation in system comprises first nodes, second node, network and aggregated link) discloses: after a period of time, reducing a data rate of the second channel (see, Fig. 2 step 220-230, reducing the EIRs to transmission rates (adjust the traffic rates for connection oriented paths) after periodically monitor the aggregated link's bandwidth capacity of individual links' capacities, par 0016, 0035, 0038-0039. Noted, EIRs may be adjusted to allow each upstream node or ingress port to transmit traffic at a rate equal to a percentage above the node's or port′ CIR, here port(s) can be taken as path(s) in aggregated link, par 0041. Noted further, method implemented by node (mobile device) coupled to ingress of an aggregated link, par 0017, 0029).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Yong’927 into that of Altman’515. The motivation would have been to provide adequate error control mechanisms in WLAN (par 0002).
Regarding claim 5, Altman’515 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, bidirectional bonding channels between a first bonding device and a second bonding device, par 0026, 0051, 0054).
Altman’515 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein after the data rate is reduced on the first channel, reducing a data rate of the first channel again and reducing a data rate of the second channel.
However Yong’927 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, transports traffic from a plurality of nodes to another location using link aggregation in system comprises first nodes, second node, network and aggregated link) discloses: wherein after the data rate is reduced on the first channel, reducing a data rate of the first channel again and reducing a data rate of the second channel (see, Fig. 2 step 220->230->240->210 and return to 220 in loop, periodically monitor the transmission rate at the aggregated link and reducing the EIRs to transmission rates (adjust the traffic rates for connection oriented paths), then repeating periodic monitoring and reducing transmission rate for connection oriented paths, par 0016, 0035, 0038-0039. Noted, reduce the EIRs at ports with transmission rates above their CIRS with dynamic traffic flow, and thus adjust only to certain port(s), par 0032, 0043).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Yong’927 into that of Altman’515. The motivation would have been to provide adequate error control mechanisms in WLAN (par 0002).
Regarding claim 9, Claim 9 recites a system performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, Claim 12 recites a system performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, Claim 16 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, Claim 19 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altman’515 in view of Jung et al (US20180069606A1).
Regarding claim 4, Altman’515 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, bidirectional bonding channels between a first bonding device and a second bonding device, par 0026, 0051, 0054).
Altman’515 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the monitoring of the amount of data exchanged is performed only to the first channel.
However Jung’606 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 6, cell selection for a terminal that supports CA (carrier aggregation), par 0237) discloses: wherein the monitoring of the amount of data exchanged (data throughput (transmitted/received through the cell) can be equated to amount of data exchanged to the channel, par 0107) is performed only to the first channel (see, data throughput (transmitted/received through the cell) of one scell measured according to measurement configuration, and thus another scell not measured, par 0107, 0227, 0242. Noted, Fig. 13, pcell, scell and additional Scell for CA, par 0238, 0242. Noted further, data throughput can be taken as data amount, please refer to CHOI et al (US20150358969A1) in conclusion part).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Yong’927 into that of Altman’515. The motivation would have been to select cell for terminal supporting CA (par 0238).
Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 recites a system performing the steps recited in claim 4 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, Claim 18 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium performing the steps recited in claim 4 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CHOI et al (US20150358969A1) discloses: the amount of data used includes at least one of the following: a data transmission rate, traffic, type of data, and the amount of data to be transmitted/received (par 0082). This applies to claim 4.
Uchino et al (US20170238204A1) discloses: CGs (cell groups) (par 0065); UE may perform measurement using a measurement condition based on a DRX/non-DRX state of a CG in which the traffic amount is the largest among a plurality of CGs. In this example using the traffic amount, any method can be used as a method for calculating the traffic amount. For example, the user apparatus UE can calculate a traffic amount by measuring data amount (example: buffered data amount), non-DRX state period, Activate time of SCell, TA timer running period, resource assignment number of times and the like of each CG. Alternatively, a CG where a period from the last scheduling timing is shorter than a predetermined period may be determined as a CG where traffic amount is large (par 0075). This applies to claim 4.
/XUAN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473